Council Meetings

workers sitting around a table

The council consists of 13 members appointed for three-year terms. Of those 13 members, nine are nominated by the governor, and appointed with the advice and consent of the senate. The other members are designated, for appointment by the governor, by the speaker of the assembly, and the senate majority leader and the minority leader in each house of the legislature. Persons appointed have a recognized interest in and knowledge of domestic abuse issues. 


  • Susan Perry, co-chair
  • Susan Sippel, co-chair
  • Senator Melissa Agard 
  • Representative Pat Snyder 
  • Representative Sue Conley 
  • Virginia Gittens Escudero, UNIDOS
  • Shannon Barry, Domestic Abuse Intervention Services 
  • Elizabeth Lucas, Wisconsin Department of Corrections
  • Rosalind McClain, Healing Starts Today 
  • Cyrena Martin, C.A.R.E.S.
  • Janan Najeeb, Milwaukee Muslim Women's Coalition 
  • Dr. Abdul Shour, Marshfield Clinic Research Institute
  • Alena Taylor, Turningpoint for Victims of Domestic and Sexual Violence

Council member list is updated quarterly. 

2024 Meetings and Materials

February 14, 2024 | 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 
April 10, 2024 | 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 
July 10, 2024 | 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 

Agenda and public meeting notice will be posted at a later date. 

October 9, 2024 | 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 

Agenda and public meeting notice will be posted at a later date. 

These dates may change due to unforeseen issues. All council meetings will be noticed at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting per Wis. Stat. § 19.84(3).

To view meeting materials from prior years, please visit our archive page


Disclaimer about council content

This content reflects the views and opinions of the council. It may not reflect the official policy or position of DCF.