Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
Wisconsin Works (W-2) Manual
184.108.40.206 CMC Participant Time Limit Extensions
The CMCCustodial Parent of an Infant placement is for eligible parents with newborns. (See 7.4.5) Whether an individual’s time in a CMC placement counts against a 24-month placement time limit or the 60-month state lifetime limit is determined by when the individual was first determined eligible for AFDCAid to Families with Dependent Children or a TEMPTrial Employment Match Program, CSJCommunity Service Job, or W-2 TW-2 Transition placement. The 60-month federal lifetime limit is determined by whether the payment received while in the CMC placement is considered ongoing cash assistance.
60-Month Federal Lifetime Limit
CMC placement months count toward the 60-month federal lifetime limit ONLY when the payment is considered ongoing cash assistance. The CMC payment is considered ongoing cash assistance when there is a W-2 T or CSJ placement immediately preceding the CMC placement.
CMC placement months do NOT count toward the federal lifetime limit when:
There is a gap after any previous W-2 Paid Employment Position A Community Service Job or W-2 Transition placement placement (CSJ or W-2 T) or there is no previous W-2 T or CSJ placement.
The individual moves to the CMC placement directly from a W-2 case management, TEMP, or ARPAt Risk Pregnancy placement.
60-Month State Lifetime Limit
CMC placement months count toward the 60-month state lifetime limit ONLY if the child is born more than 10 months (304 days) after the date the individual is first determined eligible for AFDC or a TEMP, CSJ, or W-2 T placement. The 304 day period must be counted from the first W-2 Employment Position Community Service Job, Trial Employment Match Program, and W-2 Transition placement begin date.
CMC placement months do NOT count toward the 60-month state lifetime limit when:
The CMC participant’s child is born less than 10 months from the date the individual was first determined eligible for AFDC or a TEMP, CSJ, or W-2 T placement;
Eligibility was determined prior to October 1, 1996; or
The birth was the result of sexual assault or incest and the incest or sexual assault has been reported to a physician and law enforcement authorities.
24-Month Placement Time Limit
CMC placement months count toward a 24-month placement time limit ONLY if the child is born more than 10 months (304 days) after the date the individual is first determined eligible for AFDC or a TEMP, CSJ, or W-2 T placement AND the participant moved directly into a CMC from a TEMP, W-2 T, or CSJ placement. The 304 day period must be counted from the first employment position placement begin date.
Months will count against the 24-month placement time limit of the employment position placement from which he or she moved. The participant will be in a CMC placement, but the 24-month placement time limit months used will reflect their previous employment position.
CMC participants are automatically eligible for 24-month placement time limit and 60-month state lifetime limit extensions. The FEP must enter a time limit extension covering the time until the child turns 8 weeks of age. The FEP must then review the CMC case prior to the end of the 8 week CMC time period to determine if the CMC participant wants and is eligible for continued W-2 services. If the person wants cash assistance or other W-2 services beyond when the child turns 8 weeks of age, the FEP would have to follow normal eligibility determination policies, including time limit extension eligibility, if necessary.
Last Updated: 08/07/17
Policy Effective Date: 08/07/17