Wisconsin Department of Children and Families

Protecting Children, Strengthening Families, Building Communities




Background Information Disclosure Form (BID) Frequently Asked Questions - Certified Operators

Below is a list of frequently asked questions regarding the Background Information Disclosure Form (BID) for certified child care providers.


What is a BID form?

The Background Information Disclosure form (DCF-F-2978-E) gathers information required by the Wisconsin’s child care background check law, s. 48.685(6)(a), Wis. Stats. The BID form is used as an initial screening tool to determine if an individual is eligible to be certified, work with children or reside in a certified facility/home.

Where can I download a BID form?

The BID form is available here: https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2978.docx

Who is required to complete a BID form?

  • The certification applicant, which includes:
    • An individual, partnership or sole proprietor, or;
    • All members or managers of a Limited Liability Company (LLC), or;
    • The board president of a corporation or church, or other board member designated in writing by the president to fulfill the CBC requirement.
  • All caregiver employees, providers, volunteers and substitutes of a certified child care program.
  • All household members at least 12 years of age (including adults) that reside at a certified child care program.

What BID Forms need to be submitted to the certification agency?

The applicant/certified operator is responsible to submit completed BID forms to the certification agency for the applicant, household members at least 12 years of age (including adults), other adult caregivers (employees/substitutes/volunteers) and any minor employees 12 to 17 years of age.

How often does a BID form need to be completed?

BID forms shall be completed and submitted to the certification agency:

  • At initial application/prior to granting certification.
  • When a new individual age 12 or older moves into the home.
  • When a minor household member turns 12.
  • When there is a new caregiver/employee/substitute/volunteer. The new caregiver shall be approved by the certification agency before employment or volunteer work commences.
  • When there is a new student(s) or other temporary/seasonal employee at least 18 years of age. The new caregiver shall be approved by the certification agency before employment or volunteer work commences.

How are applicants/certified operators informed by the certification agency to submit the BID forms?

The BID form is included with the certification application materials. Some certification agencies will provide one copy of the BID form for the applicant to make additional copies as needed, while other agencies may include multiple copies of the form with application materials. The BID form may be downloaded here. The applicant must submit all required BID forms to the certification agency as part of the initial application process, when a new individual age 12+ moves into the home, when a household member turns age 12 or for any prospective employee caregivers. The requirement is outlined on the Standards and Checklist and DCF 202.

A child living at the certified home is turning 12 years old. Is a BID form required?

Yes. The certified operator shall submit a completed BID form to the certification agency by the agency’s next business day after the child turns 12 years old. The certified operator may submit the BID form up to 30 days prior to the child’s 12th birthday.

A child living at the certified home is turning 10 years old. Is a BID form required?

No. Certification agencies follow Wisconsin Statutes s. 48.685(6)(b)1., which requires BID forms from individuals at least 12 years of age.

Who is required to complete the BID form for a minor household member?

The child may complete their own BID form, or their parent/legal guardian may complete it on their behalf. If the form is completed by the minor, the parent/legal guardian should review the form to ensure the information that is provided is accurate.

An adult becomes a new household member (non-client resident) at a certified child care program. What needs to be done?

The certified operator must submit a completed BID form for that individual by the certification agency’s next business day.

What information is required to be disclosed on the BID form?

The individual must include all information and provide complete answers to every question on the BID form. The answers provided must be truthful and accurate to avoid possible sanctions and penalties. Questions on how to answer a question on the BID form should be directed to certification agency. Required information includes:

  • Identifying information at the top of the form including all aliases, maiden name, AKA’s
  • Complete answers to all questions in sections A and B, including
    • All felony convictions, misdemeanor criminal convictions
    • Pending criminal charges
    • Findings of abuse or neglect or findings of misappropriated client property

I have submitted a BID form for a new adult employee/caregiver. When can they begin to work with children?

The certification agency must review the BID form and complete a caregiver background check before they may approve the individual. The individual shall be approved by the certification agency before work commences.

My adult daughter will be moving back into my home. She resided with me a couple of years ago and submitted a BID form at that time. Does she need to submit it again when she moved back in?

Yes. As a “new again” household member she is required to complete and submit the form, even if she submitted it as a previous resident. She is still required to disclose all alias/previously known as names, maiden name and any pending charges, convictions or other offenses, even if they were disclosed on a previous BID form.

What happens if the applicant/operator fails to submit the required BID form for her/himself or other required individuals?

Failure to comply may lead to the imposition of sanctions that range from issuance of a noncompliance statement to denial or revocation of your certification.

Do I submit a background check fee along with the BID forms?

Contact your certification agency to determine the agency’s CBC fee policies.

I am applying for both licensing and certification. Must I submit BID forms to both agencies?

The application process will move along more smoothly and expeditiously if you submit the BID form(s) to both regulatory agencies along with the respective application materials. The certifier has authority to accept the BID forms submitted to DCF for licensing purposes but may also require the BID forms also be submitted to the certification agency. Please check with your certifier for what the agency requires.

I am both licensed and certified. Will both agencies conduct the annual caregiver background checks?

Caregiver background checks will be conducted by the DCF CBU (licensing) on the licensee / certified operator, adult household members and any minor caregiver employees. The certification agency or the licensee (certified operator) may conduct the CBC on adult employees, assistants or substitutes which are required by licensing rules to be kept at the center and available for review by the department. Please check with your certifier to determine if you or the certification agency will conduct the CBC for an employee, assistant or substitute.

Another certified provider in my neighborhood told me the BID form has to be completed and submitted every 12 months. Is this true?

On July 13, 2015, Governor Walker signed the biennial budget bill for state fiscal years 2015-2017. The budget included a provision that eliminated the previous requirement to complete Background Information Disclosure (BID) forms annually. However, the biennial budget bill did not change background check requirements. Certification agencies will continue to conduct initial and annual background checks for applicants for certification, certified operators, adult household members, and other caregivers. Certification agencies will also continue to conduct background checks for prospective caregivers before employment or volunteer work commences.