Program Integrity for Wisconsin Shares Child Care Providers Child care providers should be aware of responsibilities and rules that may lead to overpayments and more serious enforcement options specific to MyWIChildCare EBT policy. The violation of Wisconsin Shares policies may result in an overpayment and recoupment. Refer to your Child Care Provider Guide for more information and assistance. New Program Integrity Requirements Effective June 1, 2018, all providers will be required to have a written payment agreement with each parent who receives subsidy for a child to attend their facility. Providers may use their own form or the template that is available on the DCF website. To access the template, go to the DCF Forms web page and select Provider Parent Payment Agreement DCF-F-5224-E. Effective March 11, 2018, providers are required to: Notify the local child care administrative agency if a child of a parent receiving Wisconsin Shares has not attended within the previous 30 days. Effective March 11, 2018, providers cannot: Charge a higher price for families receiving Wisconsin Shares than private pay families, unless the difference is due to the child’s age or special needs. Require a parent to disclose their subsidy account balance. Require a parent to provide their MyWIChildCare EBT card, account number, or personal identification number (PIN). Possess a photocopy, photo, or other image of a parent’s EBT card. Sell or purchase access to the parent’s subsidy account. Misrepresent provider information to receive a higher YoungStar rating. Ways to Prevent Child Care Subsidy Fraud. BPI Provider Newsletter If you wish to receive an email notice about the latest newsletter posted to this page, please submit your subscription request on the Child Care Email Signup page. Visit the Provider Newsletter page to view all DCF provider newsletters. Winter 2019-20 Spanish Summer 2019 Spanish December 2018 Spanish June 2018 March 2018 - Admin Rule Changes Spanish Wisconsin Shares Program Integrity - What Child Care Providers Need to Know A new training video about Wisconsin Shares Program Integrity for Wisconsin child care providers is now available! In order to be eligible to receive Wisconsin Shares as a child care provider, you must be licensed, and participate in the Youngstar Quality Rating system. There are various rules in place to ensure that child care subsidy is available for those who need it and that the funds are being spent and paid out appropriately. Provider Program Integrity ensures that those rules are followed, and it includes prevention, monitoring, and identification of improper payments and fraud of the Wisconsin Shares program. Download the Provider Program Integrity Training booklet. Learn about: Who is the Bureau of Program Integrity and how can they can help you? What does compliance mean for me? The anatomy of a site visit Violations and how to avoid them Various resources to help you understand statutes, rules, forms and more Written Payment Agreements Effective June 1, 2018, all providers who care for families receiving Wisconsin Shares must have a written Provider/Parent Payment Agreement. Providers are required to keep a written agreement for each Wisconsin Shares family at the location where care is provided. You must keep the agreement for at least three (3) years after the child’s last day of attendance at a location where it can be made available to the Department of Children and Families within 24 hours. Providers may utilize the Provider/Parent Payment Agreement form (DCF-F-5224-E) that is available on the DCF website. If you create your own Provider/Parent Agreement form, it must include the following information: Provider’s monthly or weekly child care price Days and hours of operation Deposit policy Any discounts or scholarships that are available to parents, and that the parent is receiving Parent’s payment schedule Payment dispute policy Provider’s anticipated closure dates and policy for payments during closures Payment expectations for the child’s anticipated/unanticipated absences Parent procedures for termination of a child’s enrollment Provider procedures for termination of a child’s enrollment Best Practices Communicate your child care prices to parents Keep your child care information current and accurate - check your Provider Portal often Give parents proper notification of any changes Visit ebtedge.com for direct, 24/7 access to track your payments Communicate regularly with families Never keep a client's MyWIChildCare EBT card, account number or PIN Regarding Payment Payment Disputes The Department and your local child care agency will not resolve payment disagreements between families and providers. Child care providers will be expected to work with families to deal with payment errors or disputes. Disagreements should be handled one-on-one and in a confidential and respectful manner with families. Providers should encourage parents to review your transaction amounts and payment dates online or by calling to speak to MyWIChildCare customer service 1-877-201-7753, who can also help track down any transaction or payment history. Provide receipts and log all payments received from parents. Make sure families know what they are paying for and the period of time it covers. You must communicate openly and regularly with your families to prevent disagreements. If the Parent Overpays First, talk with the family and try to discuss the billing error and why it occurred. Use receipt and payment records to discuss. Make sure families know what they are paying for and the period of time it covers. You should communicate openly and regularly with your families to prevent overpayments and payment disagreements. After discussing the error with the parent, the overpayment must be corrected. This will require the provider to call their local authorizing agency to initiate the Voluntary Repayment Process. Notice Currently, Provider’s future subsidy payments are deduced when subsidy funds are owed to the state and the program still has authorizations. The provider’s funds are decreased until the debt is paid off. After the release of the MyWIChildCare initiative, all overpayments will be repaid out-of-pocket directly to the state. Providers may work with the Public Assistance Collections Unit (PACU) to set a repayment amount that is manageable for them. The provider then will have to submit monthly payments to the PACU monthly to repay this amount until the debt is paid off. A notice was sent out to all participating child care providers during February of 2017. The notice is provided below. Provider Overpayment Notice Change Spanish Hmong Intentional Violations An intentional program violation (IPV) occurs when one knowingly acts against policy to maximize their subsidy and/or for economic gain. This may include, but is not limited to the following: Falsifying your attendance records Asking parents for their MyWIChildCare card, their card number, or their pin – providers found in possession of any of the following may result in permanent suspension from the Wisconsin Shares Program Providers who make payments on behalf of parents. If parents need assistance accessing their funds/account they should call 1-877-201-7753 or go to ebtedge.com for assistance Providing cash, goods, or any service besides child care to parents in return for payment Investigation The Department may conduct an audit to ensure the compliance with the Wisconsin Shares Program. Any provider who is receiving, or has received, Wisconsin Shares payments are subject to an audit at any time. Audit Process Monitoring Visits: the Department will conduct unannounced visits to collect records, interview the provider and/or employees, and to monitor the operation of the facility. Investigation: Is the gathering of documents and reviewing of a variety of systems and history with the Wisconsin Shares Program. Findings: The findings from the record collection and observations will be communicated both in writing and verbally. Outcomes There are various outcomes that can result from an audit. Technical Assistance (TA) TA can be provided by the agency to maintain compliance with the Program rules and policies. Overpayment Issuance Pay back the funds that have been determined as misapplied. Stipulation in Lieu of Termination This is a signed document acknowledging that you understand the rules and will follow the rules. The Department will return to conduct a follow-up audit to assess practice of policy. Permanent Suspension If found to be intentionally violating the Wisconsin Shares Program, the provider can be terminated and may not be allowed to participate in the Wisconsin Shares Program. Appeal Process All actions or penalties established by the Department are subject to an appeal. The client has the right to request a fair hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) who will review the findings, the decision, and the reason for appeal. Appeals Process Contact: Division of Hearings and Appeals 5005 University Avenue, Suite 201 P.O. Box 7875 Madison, WI 53707-7875 Or, fax it to 1-608-264-9885.