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Wisconsin Act 20, which was signed into law in 2013, required all regulated child care and day camp providers 
eligible to accept Wisconsin Shares reimbursements to complete a one-time fingerprint-based caregiver 
background check by December 31, 2015. All licensees, adults that reside at the child care address, and all 
employees (18 years and older) required to have a caregiver background check were required to complete the 
one time fingerprint-based check by that date. This requirement was communicated through various memos 
and reminders, and was included in DCF Child Care Provider Newsletters between 2013 and 2015. The 
Department has a contract with Fieldprint to collect digital fingerprints to meet this requirement. 
 
During monitoring checks in 2016 and beyond, any program that is not in compliance with required 
fingerprint-based caregiver background checks will receive written notification that they have not complied 
with this law. Programs will be given 30 days from the date of this written notice to comply with 
the fingerprint-based background check requirements. If, at the end of that time, they are still 
not compliant, all current Wisconsin Shares Child Care authorizations will be ended and the 
program will be moved to a non-participation status in YoungStar. Programs that are not 
participating in YoungStar are not eligible for technical consultation, rating services, or micro-grant awards.  
 
Programs, whose participation in YoungStar is withdrawn, will have an opportunity to be 
reinstated in YoungStar at their former star rating level if they comply with all fingerprint-
based background check requirements within 30 days of the date they were withdrawn from 
YoungStar participation. Programs that comply with the fingerprint-based background check 
requirements after 30 days of being withdrawn from YoungStar participation will need to reapply to YoungStar 
as a new program that has never received an initial rating. 
 
Any questions regarding compliance with the one-time fingerprint-based caregiver background check should 
be directed towards: 

 Licensed providers should contact the Caregiver Background Unit at 608-266-8001 or 
DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov.  

 Certified providers should contact their certification agency. Details at: 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/ccregulation/cccertification/certifiers.pdf  

 
Information on scheduling an appointment with Fieldprint can be found at http://fieldprintwisconsin.com/. 
Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy questions should be directed to local county or tribal agencies. 
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