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Section 48.65, Stats., requires that persons who provide, for compensation, care and supervision for 
4 or more children under 7 years of age for less than 24 hours a day must be licensed by the 
department. 
 
The same statute directs the department to establish rules that must be met for a person to qualify for 
a license and that protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of the children in a child care 
center. Chapter DCF 252 establishes the minimum level of acceptable care that a licensee is to 
provide to children in a day camp in Wisconsin. DCF 250 is the rule for Family Child Care Centers 
where care and supervision is provided for between 4 and 8 children under age 7. DCF 251 is the 
rule governing Group Child Care Centers, where care and supervision is provided to 9 or more 
children.  
 
These rules should not be confused with accreditation by professional organizations which is based 
upon conformity with ideal rather than minimal standards. Licensing rules should also not be 
confused with certification for public funding of child care providers who care for between 1 and 3 
children under age 7. 
 
 
The fact that a day camp is licensed in no way diminishes the responsibility of parents for vigilance in 
ensuring that their children are receiving care that protects their physical well−being and encourages 
healthy intellectual and emotional development. 
 
Whenever the rules in this chapter indicate that materials such as an application for licensure, a 
request for exception to a specific rule, or a complaint about a camp are to be sent to or requested 
from the Department, please refer to Appendix A, which identifies the appropriate regional licensing 
office serving the county or tribe in which the camp is located. 
 
There is a header on each page that contains the rule cite for the section of the rule beginning on that 
page. A table of contents and an index are also included in this document as are appendices that 
contain key statutes related to the day camp rules and a copy of DCF 13 (administrative rules 
governing child care background checks). 
 
This publication may be duplicated. It is available from the Department’s web page 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules. 
 
 
 
The Department of Children and Families is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and 
need to access services, receive information in an alternate format, or need information translated to another language, please 
contact the Bureau of Early Care Regulation at dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov or (608) 421-7550. Individuals who are deaf, hard of 
hearing, deaf-blind or speech disabled can use the free Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 to contact the department. 
 
El Department of Children and Families es un empleador y proveedor de servicios que ofrece igualdad de oportunidades. Si 
tiene alguna discapacidad y necesita acceder a servicios, recibir información en un formato alternativo o necesita que le 
traduzcan la información a otro idioma, comuníquese con el Bureau of Early Care Regulation at dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov or 
(608) 421-7550. Las personas sordas, con dificultades auditivas, sordo-ciegas o con discapacidad del habla pueden utilizar el 
Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – llame al 711 para comunicarse con el departamento. 
 
Lub Department of Children and Families yog ib lub chaw hauj lwm thiab chaw muab kev pab uas muaj vaj huam sib luag. Yog 
koj muaj ib qho tsis taus thiab xav tau kev pab, xav tau cov ntaub ntawv muab sau ua ib hom ntawv, los sis xav kom muab cov 
ntaub ntawv txhais ua lwm hom lus, thov hu rau Bureau of Early Care Regulation ntawm dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov 608-421-
7550. Cov neeg uas lag ntseg, hnov lus tsis zoo, dig muag los sis muaj ib qho tsis taus tshwj xeeb tuaj yeem siv tus xov tooj hu 
dawb Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 hu mus rau lub chaw ua haujlwm. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
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252.02 

DCF 252.02 Authority and purpose. 
 

(1) AUTHORITY. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of s. 48.67, Stats., to establish 
licensing requirements under s. 48.65, Stats., for day camps for children. 
 

(2) PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to protect and promote the health, safety and welfare 
of children being cared for in day camps in Wisconsin. 
 

(3) CONSTRUCTION. This chapter shall be liberally construed to effect the objectives in sub. (2). 
 

(4) EXCEPTION TO A REQUIREMENT. The department may grant an exception to a requirement of 
this chapter when it is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the department that granting the exception 
will not jeopardize the health, safety or welfare of the children served. A request for an exception 
shall be in writing, shall be sent to the department, and shall include justification for the requested 
action and an explanation of the alternative provisions planned to meet the intent of the requirement. 

Note: A request for an exception to a requirement of this chapter should be sent to the appropriate regional 
office of the Department’s Division of Early Care and Education. See Appendix A for addresses of those 
regional offices. 
 

DCF 252.03 Included and excluded care arrangements. This chapter applies to all day camps 
but it does not include family child care centers regulated under ch. DCF 250, group child care 
centers regulated under ch. DCF 251 or to any of the following: 

Note: Section 48.65, Stats., exempts parents, guardians and certain other relatives; public and parochial 
(private) schools; persons employed to come to the home of the child’s parent to provide care for less than 24 
hours per day; and counties, cities, towns, school districts and libraries that provide programs for children 
primarily intended for social or recreational purposes from the requirement for a license. As specified under s. 
49.155 (4), Stats., or s. DCF 201.04 (1), programs, other than those operated by public schools, are required to 
be licensed by the department or certified by a county agency in order to be eligible to receive a child care 
subsidy. 
 

(1) Group lessons to develop a talent or skill, such as dance or music lessons, social group 
meetings and activities, and group athletic activities. 
 

(1m) Care and supervision of children in a program, including religious education classes, which 
operates no more than 4 hours a week. 
 

(2) Care and supervision while the parents are on the premises and are engaged in shopping, 
recreation or other non-work activities. 
 

(3) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any 3-month period, including day camps, 
vacation bible school and holiday child care programs. 
 

(4) Care and supervision in emergency situations. 
 

(5) Care and supervision while the parent is employed on the premises if the parent’s child 
receives care and supervision for no more than 3 hours a day. 
 

(6) Care and supervision at the site while the parent who is a recipient of temporary assistance to 
needy families or Wisconsin Works is involved in orientation, enrollment or initial assessment prior 
to the development of an employability plan. 
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DCF 252.04 Definitions. In this subchapter: 

 
(1) “Background check request form” means a form prescribed by the department on which a 

person completes required information for the child care background check under s. 48.686, Stats., and 
ch. DCF 13. 

Note: Form DCF-F-5296, Background Check Request, is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
 

(2) “Base camp” means the permanent or temporary premises, public or private, on which the day 
camp is operated. 
 

(3) “Camp director” means the individual on the campsite who is responsible for the 
administration of the camp, including program operations, staff supervision, business operations, food 
service, health service, and other supportive services. 
 

(3g) “Camp-provided transportation” means transportation provided in a vehicle owned, leased, 
or contracted for by the camp or transportation provided in volunteer or staff-owned vehicles 
regardless of whether the driver is reimbursed for the use of the vehicle. 
 

(4) “Care” means providing for the safety and the developmental needs of a child in a day camp. 
 

(4m) “Child care background check” means the requirements in s. 48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13. 
 

(5) “Complaint” means an allegation that a provision of this chapter or of ch. 48, Stats., has been 
violated. 
 

(8) “Counselor” or “camp counselor” means a staff member who works directly with children. 
 

(9) “Day camp” or “camp” means a program regulated under this chapter that provides care and 
supervision to 4 or more children 3 years of age and older in a seasonal program oriented to the out-
of-doors for periods less than 24 hours a day. 
 

(11) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of children and families. 
 

(11m) “Division” means the department’s division of early care and education. 
 

(12) “Emergency” means unforeseen circumstances that require immediate attention. 
 

(13) “Field trip” means any experience a child has away from the premises of the camp while 
under the care of camp staff whether the child walks or is transported. 
 

(13m) “Fit and qualified” means displaying the capacity to successfully nurture and care for 
children and may include consideration of any of the following: 

(a) Abuse of alcohol or drugs. 
(b) A history of a civil or criminal conviction or administrative rule violation that is substantially 

related to the care of children, as determined under s. DCF 13.05. 
(c) Exercise of unsound judgment. 
(d) A history of civil or criminal offenses or any other actions that demonstrate an inability to 

manage financial resources or the activities of a camp. 
 

(14) “Group” means a specific number of children who have a regularly assigned counselor 
responsible for the children’s well-being and meeting the children’s basic needs. 
 

(15) “Hazard” means a potential source of harm that can jeopardize the health, safety or well-
being of children in care. 
 

(15m) “In care” means enrolled in the camp, with the camp providing supervision, either on or 
off the premises, including during camp-provided transportation, for the safety and developmental 
needs of the child or children. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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252.04(16) 

 

(16) “Inclement weather” means stormy or severe weather such as any of the following: 
(a) Heavy rain. 
(b) Temperatures above 90 degrees Fahrenheit. 
(c) Wind chills of 0 degrees Fahrenheit or below. 

 
(16m) “Licensed hours” means the authorized hours specified on the license certificate and letter 

of transmittal within which the day camp may provide child care services. 
 

(17) “Licensee” means the corporation, individual, partnership or non-incorporated association or 
cooperative which has legal and financial responsibility for the operation of a day camp and for 
meeting the requirements of this chapter. 
 

(18) “Licensing representative” means a department employee responsible for licensing day camps. 
 

(19) “Parent” means either “parent” as defined in s. 48.02 (13), Stats., or “guardian” as defined in 
s. 48.02 (8), Stats. 
 

(21) “Parochial or private school” means an educational program which meets all the criteria 
specified under s. 118.165 (1), Stats., or as determined by the superintendent of public instruction 
under s. 118.167, Stats. 
 

(21g) “Pet” means an animal kept for amusement or companionship. 
 

(21r) “Physical restraint” means the use of physical force to restrict the free movement of all or 
part of a child’s body. 
 

(22) “Physician” has the meaning prescribed in s. 448.01 (5), Stats. 
 

(22m) “Pre-camp training” means a program developed by the licensee containing the elements 
specified in s. DCF 252.42 (3) and attended by camp staff prior to the opening of each year’s camp session. 
 

(23) “Premises” means a tract of land on which the camp is located, including all buildings, 
structures, or shelters on that land. 
 

(23m) “Regularly assigned counselor” means a person who meet the requirements of a counselor 
under s. DCF 252.42 and who is assigned to a specific group of children. 
 

(24) “Shaken baby syndrome” or “SBS” means a severe form of brain injury that occurs when an infant 
or young child is shaken or thrown forcibly enough to cause the brain to rebound against his or her skull. 
 

(25)  “Supervision of children” means guidance of the behavior and activities of children for their 
health, safety, and well-being by counselors who are close enough to prevent harm and ensure safety. 
 

(26) “Supervision of staff” means guidance of the behavior and activities of camp employees 
which may include provision of instructions to carry out activities for limited periods of time out of 
sight or hearing of the supervisor. 
 

(27) “Universal precautions” mean measures taken to prevent transmission of infection from 
contact with blood or other potentially infectious material, as recommended by the U.S. public health 
services centers for disease control and adopted by the U.S. occupational safety and health 
administration (OSHA) as 29 CFR 1910.1030. 

Note: “Standard precautions” for infection control measures incorporate universal precautions. Information 
on the OSHA requirements related to standard or universal precautions is available on the OSHA website at 
https://www.osha.gov. Information is also available from the Child Care Information Center, 1-800-362-7353. 
 

(28) “Volunteer” means a person who agrees to give time, with or without reimbursement for 
expenses, to provide transportation or to work in a day camp. 
 

(29) “Waterfront supervisor” means an adult present in a water activity area during times when 
children are using the water and who meets the requirements under s. DCF 252.44 (7) (b).   

https://www.osha.gov/
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DCF 252.05 Licensing administration. 

(1) LICENSING PROCEDURES. 
(a) A person making an inquiry to the department about obtaining a license to operate a day camp 

shall be provided with all of the following: 
1. A copy of this chapter. 
2. Written procedures on how to obtain a day camp license. 
2m. A copy of the background check request form. 
3. An opportunity to meet with a licensing representative to discuss the materials. 
4. The necessary forms if licensing is desired. 
5. Assistance to complete the licensing process by a licensing representative. 
Note: A packet of materials, including the Initial License Application — Day Camps for Children, is 

available from any of the regional offices listed in Appendix A. 
(b) An applicant shall submit an application and other materials required for day camp licensure 

and license continuation on forms provided by the department at least: 
1. Sixty days prior to the date proposed for the camp to begin operating. 
2. Thirty days prior to the end of the current license continuation period. 
(c) An applicant for an initial day camp license or a licensee continuing a regular license shall 

complete all forms truthfully and accurately, pay all fees and forfeitures due to the department, and 
submit all of the following materials to the department: 

1. A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to the provision of child care services. 
2. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee accepting legal responsibility for complying 

with this chapter. 
3. The articles of incorporation and by-laws if the camp is organized as a corporation, association 

or cooperative or, if the licensee is a limited liability company, a copy of the articles of organization 
and the operating agreement, if any. 

4. A signed authorization which permits the department to make whatever investigation it 
considers necessary for the verification of pertinent application information. 

5. A general description of the camp area, geographic location and size of the base camp or the 
proposed itinerary of field trips if a program will consist primarily of field trips. 

6. A written delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee. The delegation of 
administrative authority shall describe the organizational structure of the camp and identify by 
position or name those persons on the premises in charge of the camp for all hours of operation. 

7. The name, address, and telephone number of the person to be contacted by the licensing 
representative for the pre-camp licensing review. 

8. A statement from the state laboratory of hygiene or a state approved laboratory indicating that 
the water from a private well providing drinking water has been tested and found to be safe. 

9. The license fee required under s. 48.65, Stats., applicable fees for child care background checks 
under s. 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., Stats., and any 
unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats. 

10. For an initial license application, a completed background check request form for the applicant 
and if the camp will be located in a residence, any household member 10 years of age and above. 

Note: The background check request form is used for reporting background information. Information on 
how to request a background check is available on the department’s website http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

11. A statement from the applicant that indicates the camp is in compliance with this chapter. 
12. A copy of all the policies required under s. DCF 252.41 (1) (f) and a completed copy of the 

day camp policy checklist on a form provided by the department. 
Note: Information on how to obtain a copy of the form, Policy Checklist — Day Camp, is available on the 

department’s website http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any of the regional offices in Appendix A. 
13. The test results from the water on any beach on the premises of the camp that will be used for 

waterfront activities by the children in care. 
14. A report indicating that any building used primarily for day camp purposes is in compliance 

with applicable commercial building codes. 
15. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the department’s 

licensing investigation. 
(d) Upon submission of a complete application, a licensing representative shall conduct an 

investigation to determine whether the applicant is eligible for a license. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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252.05(1)(e) 

 
(e) If the department determines that the applicant for an initial license is eligible for a license, the 

department shall issue a probationary license having a 6-month duration. A probationary license may 
be renewed for one 6-month period. 

(f) If the department determines that an application for an initial license does not comply with the 
applicable requirements of this chapter or the department’s investigation determines that the applicant 
is not eligible for a license, the department may deny the application. 

(g) A regular license shall be valid indefinitely, unless suspended or revoked by the department or 
surrendered by the licensee. The department shall review a regular license every 2 years after the date 
of issuance. 

(h) If the department determines that the licensee continuing a regular license has met the minimum 
requirements for a license under this chapter, has paid the applicable fees referred to in ss. 48.65 and 
48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a) or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., Stats., and any unpaid 
penalty under s. 48.76, Stats., the department shall continue the license for an additional 2 years. 

(i) The department may refuse to issue or continue a license if another child care center or day camp 
operated by the licensee is in substantial non-compliance with the licensing rules or has any outstanding 
forfeiture or penalty.  

(j) The department may not process an application for a license if the applicant has had a child care 
license under s. 48.65, Stats., or a child care certification under s. 48.651, Stats., revoked or denied 
within the last 2 years. No person may submit an application for a licensee and no licensee may hire a 
person who had a child care license revoked or denied within the previous 2 years.  

(k) The department shall consider a licensee who fails to submit any of the materials described in 
par. (c) by the expiration or continuation date of a license to have surrendered his or her license and to 
no longer hold title to the license. The former licensee may not continue to operate the day camp. 

(2) AMENDMENT TO LICENSE. A written request for an amendment to the license shall be 
submitted to the department by the licensee before changes are made in the conditions of the current 
license such as a change in the licensed capacity of the camp, age range of children, hours, days of the 
week, months of the year in operation or change in the name of the camp. 

(3) TERMS OF LICENSE. 
(a) The number of children under 7 years of age in care of the center at any one time may not 

exceed the number for which the center is licensed. 
(b) The age of children served may not be younger or older than the age range specified in the 

terms of the license. 
(c) The hours, days and months of a center’s operation may not exceed those specified in the license. 

(4) ADDITIONAL LICENSE. A licensee seeking licensure for an additional day camp or child care 
center location shall demonstrate compliance with applicable parts of this chapter in the operation of 
the existing center. The licensee shall pay any fines, forfeitures or other fees due to the department 
under s. 48.715, Stats., on other facilities licensed by the department before the department issues an 
additional license. 

(5) CONDITION OF LICENSURE. The department may deny a license or may suspend or revoke a 
license, initiate other enforcement actions specified in this chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place 
conditions on a license if the licensee, applicant or proposed or current employee, volunteer, household 
member or any other person having regular contact with children is, or has been any of the following: 

(a) The subject of a pending criminal charge if the charge substantially relates to the care of 
children or activities of the camp. 

(b) Convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense which substantially relates to the care of 
children or activities of the camp. 

(c) Determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has been 
determined to have committed an offense which substantially relates to the care of children or the 
activities of the camp. 



DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 

 

6 
252.05(5)(d) 
 

(d) The subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his or her child, has inflicted 
sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to 
provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter so as to seriously endanger 
the physical health of a child. 

(e) The subject of a substantiated finding of misconduct in the department’s nurse aide registry 
under s. DHS 129.10. 

(f) Had a child care center license, day camp license or certification revoked or denied within the 
last 5 years. 

(g) Violated any provision of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats., or fails to meet the minimum 
requirements of this chapter. 

(h) Made false statements or withheld information. 

(6) SUMMARY SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE. 
(a) Under the authority of s. 227.51 (3), Stats., the department may order the summary suspension 

of a license and, therefore, close a day camp when the department finds the public health, safety or 
welfare requires emergency action and incorporates a finding to that effect into its order. A finding of 
the requirement for summary suspension of the license may be based on any of the following: 

1. Failure of the licensee to provide environmental protections for the children such as heat, 
water, electricity or telephone service. 

2. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer, a household member or any other person in regular 
contact with the children in care has been convicted of or has a pending charge for a crime against life 
or bodily injury. 

3. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer, a household member or any other person in regular 
contact with the children in care has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense or has 
a pending criminal charge which substantially relates to the circumstances of caring for children or 
activities of the camp. 

4. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer, a household member or any other person in regular 
contact with the children in care is the subject of a current investigation for alleged child abuse or 
neglect pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has been determined by a child protected services agency or 
law enforcement agency to have abused or neglected a child. 

Note: Examples of actions the department will consider in making determinations under s. DCF 252.05 (5) 
and (6), are: abuse and neglect of children; sexual assault; abuse of residents of facilities; crimes against life and 
bodily security; kidnapping; abduction; arson of buildings or property other than buildings; robbery; receiving 
property from children; crimes against sexual morality, such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or 
exposing minors to harmful materials and interfering with the custody of a child. The list is illustrative. It is not 
all-inclusive of the types of offenses that may be considered. 

5. The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed an action or has 
created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the day camp that directly threatens the 
health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee. 

(b) An initial order summarily suspending the license and closing a day camp may be a verbal order 
by a licensing representative. The department shall within 72 hours of the closing either permit the 
reopening of the center or initiate proceedings in accordance with s. 227.51 (3), Stats., for the revocation 
of the license to operate. A preliminary hearing on the revocation shall be conducted by the department 
of administration’s division of hearings and appeals within 10 working days after the date of the initial 
order to close on the issue of whether the license shall remain suspended during revocation proceedings. 

(7) LICENSE DENIAL OR REVOCATION. 
(a) The department may deny or revoke a license, initiate other enforcement actions specified under this 

chapter or under ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on a license if the applicant or licensee, a proposed or 
current employee, a volunteer or any other person having regular contact with the children, is any of the 
following: 

1. The subject of a pending criminal charge for an action that substantially relates to the care of 
children or activities of the camp. 

2. Convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense that substantially relates to the care of 
children or activities of the camp.  
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3. Determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has been determined to 
have committed an offense which substantially relates to the care of children or the activities of the camp. 

4. The subject of a substantiated finding of misconduct in the department’s nurse aide registry 
under s. DHS 129.10. 

5. The subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his or her child, has inflicted 
sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to 
provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter for his or her child or ward or 
a child in his or her care so as to seriously endanger the physical health of the child. 

6. Determined to have had a child care center license, day camp license or certification revoked or 
denied within the last 5 years. 

7. Determined to have violated any provision of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats., or fails to meet the 
minimum requirements of this chapter. 

8. Determined to have made false statements or withheld information. (b) The department may 
deny, revoke, refuse to renew or suspend a license, initiate other enforcement actions specified in this 
chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on the license if the applicant or licensee is not fit and 
qualified as determined under sub. (10) (a). 

Note: See DCF 252.04 (13m) for the definition of fit and qualified. Examples of charges, actions or 
offenses the department will consider in making a determination under this paragraph that an act substantially 
relates to the care of children include but are not limited to: abuse or neglect of a child; sexual assault; abuse of 
a resident of a facility; a crime against life and bodily security; kidnapping; abduction; arson of a building or of 
property other than a building; robbery; receiving stolen property from a child; a crime against sexual morality, 
such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or exposing a minor to harmful materials, interfering with the 
custody of a child; or civil or criminal actions demonstrating an inability to manage financial resources or 
activities of the camp. The list is illustrative. Other types of offenses may be considered. 

(c) The department may not license a person if the department has received certification pursuant 
to s. 49.857 (2), Stats., from the department of workforce development that the applicant or licensee 
has failed to pay court-ordered payments of child or family support or expense related to the support 
of a child or former spouse or has failed to comply with a subpoena or warrant issued by the 
department of workforce development or a county child support agency related to paternity or child 
support proceedings. Notwithstanding s. 48.72, Stats., an action taken under this subsection is subject 
to review only as provided under s. 49.857, Stats., and not as provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

(d) The department may not license a person if the department has received certification pursuant 
to s. 73.0301, Stats., from the department of revenue certifying that the applicant or licensee has a 
delinquent tax liability. An action taken under this paragraph is subject to review only as provided 
under s. 73.0301 (5), Stats., and not as provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

(8) EFFECT OF NOTICE TO REVOKE OR DENY A LICENSE. 
(a) 1. If the department decides under sub. (7) to deny a license or to revoke a license, the department 

shall notify the applicant or licensee in writing of its decision and the reasons for that decision. 
2. If the department revokes a license, the effective date of the revocation shall be either immediately or 

30 days after the date of the notice, based on the criteria under s. 48.715 (4m) (a) and (b), Stats., unless the 
decision is appealed under sub. (9). 

(b) Upon receipt of the notice under par. (a) and during any revocation or denial procedures that 
may result, a day camp may not accept for care any child not enrolled and in care as of the date of 
receipt of the notice without the written approval of the department. 

(9) APPEAL OF DECISION TO DENY OR REVOKE A LICENSE. Any person aggrieved by the 
department’s decision to deny a probationary or regular license or to revoke a license may request a 
hearing on that decision under s. 227.42, Stats. The request for a hearing shall be in writing and 
submitted to the department of administration’s division of hearings and appeals. The request for a 
hearing shall be sent to the division of hearings and appeals within 10 days after the date of the notice 
under sub. (8). A request for a hearing is considered filed upon its receipt by the division of hearings 
and appeals. A request for a hearing transmitted by facsimile to the division of hearings and appeals 
shall be considered filed on the date and time imprinted by the division’s facsimile machine on the 
transaction report that accompanies the document. Documents received by facsimile after midnight 
local time shall be deemed filed on the first following business day. 
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Note: A request for hearing should be submitted by mail to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. 
Box 7875, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7875, or should be delivered to the Division at 5005 University Ave., 
Room 201, Madison, Wisconsin. Hearing requests may be faxed to 608-264-9885. A copy of the request should 
be sent to the appropriate regional licensing office listed in Appendix A. 

(10) GENERAL CONDITIONS FOR APPROVAL OF A LICENSE. 
(a) Persons licensed to operate a day camp shall be responsible, mature individuals who are fit 

and qualified. In determining whether an applicant is fit and qualified, the department shall consider 
any history of civil or criminal violations or other offenses substantially related to care of children by 
the applicant, owner, manager, representative, employee, camp resident, or other individual directly 
or indirectly participating in the operation of the day camp. A determination of being unfit and 
unqualified includes substantiated findings of child abuse or neglect under ch. 48, Stats., or 
substantiated abuse under ch. 50, Stats., or under similar statutes in another state or territory whether 
or not it results in a criminal charge or conviction. 

(b) The department shall issue a day camp license to an applicant within 60 working days after 
receipt and department aproval of a properly completed application, satisfactory department 
investigation and determination that the applicant is fit and qualified. Continued licensure requires a 
licensee to remain fit and qualified. 

Note: See DCF 252.04 (13m) for the definition of “fit and qualified.” 
(c) A facility that provides care on a regular basis to 4 or more children under the age of 7 years 

shall be deemed to be providing care for compensation and shall be licensed. 
(d) Prior to receiving a license, an applicant for a license under this chapter shall complete all 

application forms truthfully and accurately and pay all fees and forfeitures due to the department. 
(e) The department may refuse to issue or continue a license if another program operated by the licensee 

is in substantial non-compliance with the licensing rules or has any outstanding fines or forfeitures. 
(f) If the department has reason to believe that the physical or mental health of any person 

associated with the care of children at the camp or any household member of the camp might 
endanger children in care, the department may require that a written statement be submitted by a 
physician or, if appropriate, by a licensed mental health professional that shall certify the condition of 
the individual and the possible effect of that condition on the day camp or children in care. 

(g) The department may deny or revoke the license if the examination specified under par. (f) 
gives the department reasonable concern for the care of children. 

(h) The department may not process an application for a license if the applicant has had a license 
or certification to operate a day camp or child care center revoked or denied within the last 2 years. 
An applicant is deemed ineligible to submit an application for a license and a licensee may not hire an 
employee within 2 years from the date an applicant or employee had a child care or day camp license 
or certification revoked or denied. 

(i) The department shall consider a licensee who fails to submit any of the materials described in 
sub. (1) (c) by the expiration or continuation date of a license to have surrendered his or her license and 
to no longer hold title to the license. The former licensee may not continue to operate the day camp. 
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DCF 252.06 Complaints, inspections and enforcement actions. 
 

(1) COMPLAINTS. Anyone having a complaint about a licensed or illegally operating day camp 
may submit that complaint to the department by telephone, letter, e-mail, fax or personal interview. 
Every complaint shall be investigated by a licensing representative. A written report of the findings of 
the investigation shall be sent to the complainant upon request. 

Note: A complaint should be sent, phoned or delivered to the appropriate regional licensing office listed in 
Appendix A. 
 

(2) INSPECTION. Pursuant to s. 48.73, Stats., the department may visit and inspect any day camp at 
any time during licensed hours. A department licensing representative shall have unrestricted access 
to the premises, whether temporary or permanent, which are identified in the license, children in care, 
staff and child records, and any other materials or individuals with information on the camp’s 
compliance with this chapter. 
 

(3) ENFORCEMENT ACTION. The department may order any sanction or impose any penalty on a 
licensee in accordance with s. 48.686, 48.715, or 48.76, Stats. 
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DCF 252.07 Non-discrimination, confidentiality, and reporting child abuse or neglect. 
 
(1) DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. 
(a) The licensee shall ensure that the day camp does not discriminate in employment against 

properly qualified individuals in a manner prohibited in ss. 111.31 to 111.395, Stats. 
(b) The licensee shall ensure that the day camp does not discriminate against any enrolled child 

and family or any applicant for enrollment in admission, privilege of enrollment, or discharge 
condition on the basis of age, race, color, sex, sexual orientation, creed, disability, national origin, or 
ancestry as provided in s. 106.52, Stats. 

 
(2) CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS. 
(a) The licensee is responsible for the day camp’s compliance with s. 48.78, Stats., and this 

subsection. 
(b) Persons who have access to children’s records may not discuss or disclose personal or other 

information about a child or a child’s relatives. This paragraph does not apply to any of the following: 
1. The child’s parent. 
2. Any person, business, school, social services provider, medical provider, or other agency or 

organization if written parental consent has been given.  
3. An agency authorized under s. 48.78, Stats., to have access to children’s records. 
(c) If a parent requests a record or report on the parent’s child, the day camp shall make the 

record or report accessible to the parent. 
(d) All records required by the department for licensing purposes shall be made available to 

licensing representatives upon request. 
 
(3) REPORTING CHILD ABUSE OR NEGLECT. 
(a) A licensee, employee, or volunteer at a day camp who knows or has reasonable cause to 

suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined in s. 48.02 (1) or (12g), Stats., shall 
immediately contact the county department of social services under s. 46.22, Stats., the county 
department of human services under 46.23, Stats., or local law enforcement agency in compliance 
with s. 48.981, Stats. 

(b) The licensee shall ensure that every employee or volunteer who comes in contact with the 
children at the day camp has received annual pre-camp training in all of the following: 

1. Child abuse and neglect laws; 
2. Identification of children who have been abused or neglected; and 
3. The process for ensuring that known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect are 

immediately reported to the proper authorities. 
Note: Failure of the licensee to report known or suspected incidents of child abuse or neglect does not 

lessen the legal duty of the child care worker to report known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect. 
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DCF 252.08 Pets and other animals. 
 

(1) Pets that are kept on the premises of a day camp shall be maintained in good health and 
appropriately vaccinated against rabies. Rabies vaccinations shall be documented with a current 
certificate from a veterinarian. 
 

(2) A pet that is suspected of being ill, or infested with external lice, fleas, ticks, or internal 
worms shall be inaccessible to children. 
 

(3) In the event that an animal bites a child, the parent shall be notified and a veterinarian shall be 
contacted by center personnel to determine a course of action in the diagnosis of possible rabies in the 
animal. Procedures for emergency care of children shall be followed. Parents shall be notified of any 
action taken by the veterinarian. 
 

(4) Turtles, skunks, exotic animals, wild animals and poisonous reptiles may not be kept as pets 
on the premises of the day camp. 
 

(5) Animal pens shall be kept clean. 
 

(6) All contact between pets or animals and children shall be under the supervision of a camp 
counselor who is close enough to remove the child immediately if the pet or animal shows signs of 
distress or the child shows signs of treating the pet or animal inappropriately. Pets shall be kept and 
handled in a manner which protects the well-being of both children and pets. 
 

(7) Pets in rooms used by children shall be confined in cages while food is being prepared or 
served. Pets, cages and litter boxes are prohibited in kitchens, lunch rooms and other food storage 
areas. Pet and animal feeding dishes and litter boxes may not be placed in areas accessible to children. 
 

(8) No horses or other livestock may be permanently quartered closer than 500 feet from any 
building in which the day camp is located. 
 

(9) Pets that pose any risk to the children shall be restricted from the areas used by children. 
 

(10) Procedures to be followed when children have contact with animals, other than pets, while in 
the care of the camp shall be included in the camp’s health policy. 

Note: Service animals used by a person with a disability to assist that person are not considered pets under 
this rule while they are working as a service animal. 
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(1) APPLICABILITY. 
(a) Except as provided in par. (b), this section applies to all transportation of children in care, 

including both regularly scheduled transportation to and from the camp and field trip transportation, if 
any of the following apply:  

1. The licensee owns or leases the vehicle used.  
2. The licensee contracts with another individual or organization that owns or leases the vehicle used.  
3. Employees, parents, or volunteers are transporting children at the direction, request, or on 

behalf of the licensee.  
(b) The following requirements do not apply to transportation provided in vehicles owned and 

driven by parents or volunteers who are not counted in the counselor-to-child ratios in Table DCF 
252.425:  

1. The requirement that a licensee obtain a copy of the driver’s driving record under sub. (4) (c).  
2. The requirement to provide evidence that the vehicle is in safe operating condition at 12-month 

intervals under sub. (5) (b). 
3. The requirements related to child care vehicle safety alarms under sub. (8).  
(c) The licensee shall document in their policies that transportation provided through a written or 

verbal contract with another individual or organization meets the requirements of this section. 
 

(2) PERMISSION AND EMERGENCY INFORMATION. Before transporting a child, a licensee shall 
obtain signed permission from the parent for transportation and emergency information for each 
child. The form shall include the following information:  

(a) The purpose of the transportation and the parent or guardian’s permission to transport the 
child for that purpose.  

(b) An address and telephone number where a parent or other adult can be reached in an 
emergency.  

(c) The name, address, and telephone number of the child’s health care provider.  
(d) Written consent from the child’s parent or guardian for emergency medical treatment.  
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, to obtain consent of the child’s 

parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the department’s 
website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
 

(3) REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR EACH TRIP. The licensee shall ensure that written 
documentation of all of the following is maintained at the camp and in any vehicle transporting 
children while the children are being transported:  

(a) A list of the children being transported.  
(b) A copy of the completed permission and emergency information form under sub. (2) for each 

child being transported.  
(c) For transportation to or from a child’s home or school, the transportation route and scheduled stops. 

 
(4) DRIVER .  
(a) The driver of a vehicle used to transport children in care shall be at least 18 years of age and 

shall hold a valid driver’s license for the state where the driver resides and for the type of vehicle 
driven.  

(b) Before a driver who is not the licensee first transports children the licensee shall provide the 
driver with a training. The licensee shall review, document and update the training as necessary with 
each driver annually. The training shall include all of the following:  

1. The procedure for ensuring that all children are properly restrained in the appropriate child 
safety seat.  

2. The procedure for loading, unloading, and tracking of children being transported.  
3. The procedure for evacuating the children from a vehicle in an emergency.  
4. Behavior management techniques for use with children being transported.  
5. A review of this section and the applicable statutes under s. 347.48, Stats.  

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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6. A review of applicable camp policies.  
7. First aid procedures.  
8. A review of child abuse and neglect laws and center reporting procedures.  
9. Information on any special needs a child being transported may have and the plan for how 

those needs will be met.  
10. A review of the use of the vehicle alarm, if applicable.  
11. Any other job responsibilities as determined by the licensee.  
(c) 1. Prior to the day a driver first transports children in care and annually thereafter, the licensee 

shall obtain a copy of the driving record for each driver and place the record in the staff file. The 
licensee shall review each driving record to ensure that the driver has no accidents or traffic violations 
that would indicate that having children ride with the driver could pose a threat to the children. 

2. In determining whether a driver may pose a threat to the children, the licensee shall consider the 
totality of the driver’s record, any other relevant facts, and all of the following factors in combination:  

a. The seriousness of any accidents or violations.  
b. How much time has passed since an accident or violation occurred.  
c. The number of accidents or violations.  
d. The likelihood that a similar incident will occur.  
3. A driver whose driving record indicates that the driver poses a threat to the children may not 

transport children.  
Note: Information on how to obtain driving records may be obtained by contacting the department of 

transportation  at (608) 261-2566 or http://dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/point/abstract.htm.  
(d) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a driver of a vehicle that is transporting children in care may 

not use a cellular phone or other wireless telecommunication device while loading, unloading, or 
transporting children except when the vehicle is out of traffic, not in operation, and any of the following 
applies:  

a. The phone or device is used to call 911.  
b. The phone or device is used to communicate with emergency responders.  
c. The phone or device is used to communicate with the camp regarding an emergency situation.  
2. A navigation device may be used during transportation of children if the device is programmed 

to a destination when the vehicle is out of traffic and not in operation. 
 

(5) VEHICLE.  
(a) The licensee shall ensure that each vehicle that is used to transport children is all of the 

following:  
1. Registered with the Wisconsin department of transportation or the appropriate authority in 

another state.  
2. Clean, uncluttered, and free of obstruction on the floors, aisles, and seats.  
3. In safe operating condition.  
(b) At 12-month intervals, the licensee shall provide the department with evidence of a vehicle’s 

safe operating condition on a form provided by the department.  
Note: The department’s form, Vehicle Safety Inspection, is used to record evidence of the vehicle’s safe 

operating condition. Forms are available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(c) At least once per year, the licensee shall make available to the department each vehicle that is 
required to have a child safety alarm under sub. (8) (a) to determine whether the child safety alarm is 
in good working order.  

(d) Hired or contracted school buses used to transport children shall be in compliance with ch. 
Trans 300. 
 
  

http://dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/point/abstract.htm
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(6) SEAT BELTS AND CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINTS. 
(a) No person may transport a child under 8 years of age in a motor vehicle, unless the child is 

restrained in a child safety restraint system that is appropriate to the child's age and size and in 
accordance with s. 347.48 Stats., and ch. Trans 310.  

Note: For further information on child safety restraints, see 
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx. 

(b) 1. Each child who is not required to be in an individual child car safety seat or booster seat 
when being transported under par. (a) shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in accordance with 
347.48, Stats., and ch. Trans 315. 

2. Each adult in the vehicle shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in accordance with 347.48, 
Stats., and ch. Trans 315.  

3. Seat belts may not be shared.  
(c) Children transported in school buses or vehicles built to school bus standards shall be properly 

seated according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  
(d) Children under 13 years of age who are in the care of the camp may not ride in the front seat 

of a vehicle. 
 

(7) VEHICLE CAPACITY AND SUPERVISION. 
(a) The camp shall be responsible for a child from the time the child is placed in a vehicle until 

the child reaches his or her destination and is released to a person responsible for the child. A parent 
of a school age child may authorize a child to enter a building unescorted.  

Note: The form, Transportation Permission - Child Care Centers, may be used to designate an adult to 
receive a child being transported. Forms are available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(b) Children may not be left unattended in a vehicle.  
(c) When children are transported in a vehicle, there shall be at least one adult supervisor in 

addition to the driver whenever there are more than 3 children who have a disability that limits their 
ability to respond to an emergency.  

(d) The licensee shall develop and implement a procedure to ensure that all children exit the 
vehicle after being transported to a destination.  

(e) No child may be in a vehicle for transport to or from the camp, a field trip, or other camp 
activity for more than 60 minutes each direction. 
 

(8) CHILD CARE VEHICLE SAFETY ALARM.  
(a) A vehicle shall be equipped with a child safety alarm that prompts the driver to inspect the 

vehicle for children before exiting if all of the following conditions apply:  
1. The vehicle is owned or leased by a licensee or a contractor of a licensee.  
2. The vehicle has a seating capacity of 6 or more passengers plus the driver. The seating capacity 

of the vehicle shall be determined by the manufacturer.  
3. The vehicle is used to transport children in care.  
(b) No person may shut off a child safety alarm unless the driver first inspects the vehicle to 

ensure that no child is left unattended in the vehicle.  
(c) The child safety alarm shall be in good working order each time the vehicle is used for 

transporting children to or from a center.  
Note: Information on the required vehicle safety alarm is available in the “child care licensing/information 

for providers” section of the department website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 
  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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DCF 252.41 Operational requirements for day camps.  

(1) ADMINISTRATION. The licensee shall do all of the following: 
(a) Comply with all laws governing the camp and its operation. 
(b) Comply with all requirements in this chapter. 
(bm) Ensure that all information provided to the department is current and accurate.  
(br) Comply with all conditions placed on the license. 
(c) Designate, in writing, as part of the application under s. DCF 252.05 (1), a Wisconsin resident 

who is responsible on behalf of the licensee for ensuring compliance with all requirements in this 
chapter, if the licensee resides in another state. 

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters pertaining to licensing. 
(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of a certificate of insurance 

reflecting current dates of coverage for: 
1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of not less than $25,000 for 

each person and total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence. 
2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with minimums no less than those 

specified in s. 121.53, Stats. 
3. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided by other than camp-

owned vehicles. 
4. Specific adventure-based activities identified in s. DCF 252.44 (13) when offered as part of the 

camp program. 
(f) Develop, submit to the department, and implement written policies and procedures consistent 

with this chapter on all of the following subjects:  
1. Discharge of enrolled children. 
2. Fee payments and refunds. 
3. Personnel policies including job descriptions, hours of work, lunch and break times, holidays, 

vacations, sick leaves, leaves of absence, probationary periods, performance evaluations, grievance 
procedures and the disciplinary process. The personnel policy shall also contain a procedure requiring 
staff to notify the licensee and the licensee to notify the department as soon as possible but no later 
than the next working day when any of the following occurs: 

a. The employee has been convicted of a crime. 
b. The employee has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any other act, 

offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or threat of abuse or 
neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to misappropriation of a client’s property. 

c. The employee has a governmental finding substantiated against them of abuse or neglect of a 
child or adult or of misappropriation of a client’s property. 

d. When a professional license held by a provider has been denied, revoked, restricted or 
otherwise limited. 

4. Admission, including a procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from the camp without 
prior notification from the parent. 

5. Program objectives and a description of activities designed to carry out the program objectives.  
6. Transportation, if children may be transported to and from the camp or for field trips. The policy 

shall include a procedure to ensure that no child has been left unattended in a vehicle.  
7. Plans to be followed in the event of a fire, tornado, missing child, or other emergency. If an open-

sided shelter is used as a base camp, the plan shall identify the location of a designated tornado shelter 
and the procedure to ensure the camp receives information about tornado watches or warnings. The 
plan shall include a procedure to ensure that children reach the tornado shelter in a timely fashion.  

8. The plan for supervising children during water activities and waterfront activities, including 
emergency procedures to be carried out if a child participating in water activities cannot be found.  

9. The plan for providing pre-camp training to staff.  
10. Child guidance, including ways to manage crying, fussing, or distraught children.  
11. Health, including procedures to be followed when there is contact with animals.  
12. Nutrition. 
(i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publicity are accurate. 
(k) Post the day camp license at the base camp in an area visible to parents and the public. 
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(L)1. Post next to the day camp license all of the following: 
a. The current licensing statement of compliance or a noncompliance statement and correction 

plan, including rule violations the department has not verified as corrected and in compliance.  
b. Any notice from the department regarding rule violations, such as a warning letter or 

enforcement action. 
c. Any stipulations, conditions, temporary closures, exceptions, or exemptions that affect the license.  
2. All items posted as required under this paragraph shall be visible to parents. 
(m) Ensure that any action, by commission or omission, or any condition or occurrence relating to 

the operation or maintenance of the day camp does not adversely affect the health, safety or welfare 
of any child under the care of the licensee. 

(n) Submit to the department by the department’s next business day a completed background 
check request form for any of the following:  

1. There is a change in the board president or chairperson.  
2. A corporation or limited liability company designates a new person to be subject to the child 

care background check.  
3. A household member turns 18 years of age, unless the household member has previously 

submitted a background check request form.  
4. A household member turns 10 years of age. 
(o) Submit to the department a completed background check request form for each potential 

household member prior to the date on which the individual becomes a household member, unless the 
person is less than 10 years of age. 

(p) Submit a current delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee that describes the 
organizational structure of the camp. The delegation of administrative authority shall identify by position 
or name those persons that will be on the premises and in charge of the camp for all hours of operation.  

(2) REPORTS. The licensee shall report all of the following to the department via fax, email, or 
letter or via telephone with a follow-up written report to the appropriate regional licensing office 
within 5 business days:  

(a) Any accident or incident that occurs while the child is in the care of the camp that results in 
professional medical evaluation, within 24 hours of the licensee becoming aware of the medical evaluation.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Incident Report – Regulated Child Care, or the 
licensee’s own form to report accidents. Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department’s 
website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

(am) Any death of a child in care, within 24 hours after the death.  
(ar) Any injury caused by an animal to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident. 
(b) Any damage to the base camp that may affect compliance with this chapter, or any incident at 

the base camp that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the occurrence. 
(d) A change of the day camp director, within 7 days after the change. 
(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by the department. 
(f) Any known convictions, pending charges or other offenses of the licensee, day camp 

employees or other persons subject to a caregiver background check which could potentially relate to 
the care of children at the camp or the activities of the camp by the department’s next business day. 

(g) Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by a staff member that was reported under s. DCF 252.07 
(3) (a), including any incident that results in a child being forcefully shaken or thrown against a surface, hard or 
soft, by a staff member during the child’s hours of attendance, within 24 hours after the occurrence.  

(gm) Any prohibited actions specified in s. DCF 252.44 (2) (c) by a staff member to a child 
during the child’s hours of attendance, within 24 hours after the incident. 

(h) Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence in which any of 
the following occurs: 

1. A licensee, a household member or an employee of the camp is involved in an incident that 
causes, or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, including a child in 
the care of the camp. 

2. A person responsible for transporting children is involved in a traffic-related incident. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(i) Any change in room usage in the base camp, such as using rooms or areas not previously 
approved for use by children at least 20 working days prior to the change. Changes in room usage 
shall be approved by the department prior to the change. 

(j) Any incident related to a child who leaves the premises of the camp without the knowledge of 
a counselor or any incident which results in a counselor not knowing the whereabouts of a child in 
attendance at the camp within 24 hours after the occurrence.  

(k) If requested by the department, a plan of correction for cited violations of this chapter or ch. 
48., Stats., in a format specified by the department. The department shall receive the plan of 
correction by the date the department specifies and the plan shall be approved by the department 
licensing representative. 

Note: The licensing representative will notify the licensee if a plan of correction is required and provide the 
plan of correction format with the notification. 

(L) Any construction or remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an area 
accessible to children or a condition of the license. Notification shall be in writing before the 
construction or remodeling begins.  

Note: It is recommended that the licensee check with the local municipality to determine whether a 
building permit is required before beginning any construction or remodeling.  

Note: Alterations, additions, or changes of use to commercial buildings may require submittal of plans to 
and approval by the Department of Safety and Professional Services or its agent before commencing 
construction. It is recommended that an architect or engineer be consulted prior to the beginning of any 
construction or remodeling to determine whether plans must be submitted. 

(m) Any confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 in a child 
enrolled at the day camp or any person in contact with children at the camp, within 24 hours after the 
camp is notified of the diagnosis. The licensee shall also notify the local health department within 24 
hours after the camp is notified of the diagnosis.  

(n) Any change in meal preparation arrangements, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change. 
Camps adding meal preparation after an initial license has been issued shall document compliance 
with building codes related to kitchens before beginning to prepare meals.  

(o) Any change in transportation services, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change. 

(4) CHILDREN’S RECORDS FILES. 
(a) The licensee shall create and maintain at the camp a current written record for each child 

before the child’s first day of attendance or subsequent re-enrollment. The licensee shall make the 
record available to the licensing representative. Each child’s file shall include all of the following: 

1. Enrollment information consisting of all of the following: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. Names and contact information for the child’s parents. 
c. The child’s home address and telephone number. 
d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while the child is in care. 
e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of the person to be notified in an 

emergency, when a parent cannot be reach immediately. 
f. Names, address and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring for the child. 
g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons authorized to pick-up the child or to 

accept the child who is dropped off.  
h. Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled. 
2. Consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment;  
Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or the licensee’s own form to 

obtain consent of the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on how to obtain forms is available 
from the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A.  

4. Authorization from the parent for the child to participate in field trips and other off-premises 
activities, if these are part of the camp program.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s forms Field Trip or Other Activity Permission / 
Notification — Child Care Centers and Child Care Enrollment or the licensee’s own form for securing parental 
information. Forms are available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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5. Specific written informed consent from the parent for each incident of participation by a child 
in any research or testing project. The day camp shall obtain and make available to the department 
and to the parent a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific purpose and the 
proposed use of results with respect to each project.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Informed Consent for Observation or Testing by 
an Outside Agency — Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s written consent. 
Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any 
regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

6. The child’s health history and any other matters relating to the child’s health; on a form 
provided by the department. 

Note: The department’s form, Health History and Emergency Care Plan, is used for health history 
information. Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

6m. Documentation of each child’s immunization history that indicates compliance with s. 
252.04, Stats., and ch. DHS 144. 

7. Authorization from the parent outlining the plan for a child to come to the camp from school, 
home or other activities and to go from the camp to school, home or other activities unless the child is 
accompanied by a parent or other authorized pick-up person.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Alternate Arrival/Release Agreement — Child 
Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s signed agreement. Information on how to 
obtain forms is available from the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing 
office in Appendix A. 

8. Assessment of the child’s swimming ability, if swimming is included in the program of 
activities.  

Note: Either parents or the camp may assess the child’s swimming ability. 
(c) The licensee shall maintain a current, accurate, written record of the daily attendance and 

birthdate for each child enrolled in the program. If the hours of arrival and departure of the children 
vary, the actual time of arrival and departure for each child shall be recorded. Each record shall be 
maintained as long as the child is enrolled in the program. 

Note: The department form, Daily Attendance Record — Child Care, may be used to document a child’s 
daily attendance. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is available from the department’s 
website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

 
(5) PARENTS.  
(a) The camp director shall notify the parents of a child in care immediately if any of the 

following occurs:  
1. The child becomes ill.  
2. The child needs professional evaluation of an injury.  
3. The child experiences a head injury, has a seizure, consumes incorrect breastmilk, consumes 

food or drink that may contain the child’s allergen, consumes or comes in contact with poisonous 
materials, or is given incorrect medication. For purposes of this subdivision, a “head injury” means a 
bump, blow, or jolt to the head.  

4. The child is missing. 
(b) If a child in care has been exposed to a confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable 

under ch. DHS 145 and transmitted through normal contact, the camp director shall notify the child’s 
parents when the information becomes known to the camp.  

(c) If a child in care has sustained a minor injury that does not appear to require professional 
medical evaluation, the camp director shall notify the child’s parents when the child is picked up at 
the camp or delivered to the parent or other authorized person.  

(d) The camp shall notify the parents of any religious training that is part of the camp program. 
The reference to the religious component shall be included in any publicity and program objectives 
and activities.  

(e) A copy of this chapter shall be posted or made available in an area of the camp where parents 
are likely to see it.  

(f) A copy of the child care policies of the camp shall be made available to the parents in an area 
of the camp accessible to parents. Personnel policies do not need to be available to parents.   

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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DCF 252.42 Personnel. 

(1) STAFF RECORDS.  
(a) The licensee shall maintain a file on each employee that shall be available for examination by 

the licensing representative. Each employee’s file shall include all of the following:  
1. The employee’s name, address, date of birth, education, position, previous experience in child 

care including the reason for leaving previous positions, and the name, address, and telephone 
numbers of persons to be notified in an emergency.  

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Staff Record - Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s 
own form for recording staff information. The form is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

2. Documentation of any pertinent certification or training required for the position, including 
department-approved training in shaken baby syndrome prevention and the effects of shaking an 
infant or young child, taken before to beginning to work with children in care, if the person will 
provide care to children under 5 years of age.  

3. Documentation of a completed child care background check that indicates the person is eligible 
to work in a child care program.  

Note: Information on child care background checks is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccbgcheck.  

4. Documentation of successful completion of pre-camp training.  
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Pre-camp Training Documentation - Day Camps, or the 

licensee’s own form to document the successful completion of pre-camp training. The form is available on the 
department’s website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

5. Documentation of the days and hours worked when the person was included in the counselor-
to-child ratio.  

6. Documentation of a high school diploma or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin 
department of public instruction.  

(b) The licensee shall maintain a listing at the base camp of the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person to be notified in the event of an emergency involving an employee.  

(c) The licensee shall maintain a staff record that meets the requirements specified in par. (a) 1. to 
6. for each student teacher or person who works at the camp and is compensated from sources other 
than the camp. 

(2) CAMP STAFF 
(a) Camp staff members, including the camp director, counselors, and volunteers, shall be 

physically, mentally, and emotionally able to provide responsible care for all children, including 
children with disabilities. 

(b) 1. Each day camp shall have a person designated as camp director. The camp director shall be 
responsible for the administration of the camp, including program operations, staff supervision, 
business operations, food service, health service, and other supportive services.  

2. A camp director shall be at least 21 years of age and shall have at least one of the following:  
a. The Wisconsin Afterschool and Youth Development Credential.  
b. A bachelor’s degree in outdoor education, recreation, coaching, juvenile justice, social work, 

psychology, child development, or education, or another camp-related field.  
c. Two or more years of supervisory or administrative experience in an organized camp or 

children’s program.  
(d) Counselors who are counted in determining the counselor-to-child ratio shall be at least 18 

years of age and have a high school diploma or the equivalent, as determined by the department of 
public instruction.  

(e) In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be a similarly qualified staff member or 
substitute to replace the absent staff member. 

(3) STAFF TRAINING . 
(a) Each day camp shall develop a written pre-camp training plan. A copy of the plan shall be 

submitted to the department and implemented. The plan shall include all of the following:  
1. A review of the applicable parts of this chapter.  
2. A review of camp policies and procedures, as required under s. DCF 252.41 (1) (f).  

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs


DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 

 

20 
252.42(3)(a)3.   

3. Job responsibilities in relation to job descriptions. 
4. Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses and infectious disease control, including 

handwashing procedures and universal precautions for handling bodily fluids. 
Note: A copy of the universal precautions may be obtained from the Child Care Information Center by 

calling 800-362-7353 or from the Occupational Health Section, Bureau of Public Health, Department of Health 
Services, 1 W. Wilson St. Madison, WI 53703.  

5. Daily activity plans and schedules.  
6. First aid procedures.  
7. A review of plans required under ss. DCF 252.41 (1) (f) 7. and 8., and 252.43 (2), including the 

plans for a missing child, fire, or tornado, and for supervision when children are swimming, if applicable.  
8. The procedure for ensuring that camp counselors know the children assigned to their care and 

their whereabouts at all times.  
9. Training in the use of fire extinguishers and recognition of local poisonous plants, snakes, and 

other potential hazards on the premises, and procedures to be followed to protect the children from 
these hazards.  

10. A review of child abuse and neglect laws and the camp reporting procedures.  
11. Information on the care of children with disabilities enrolled in the camp and the procedure 

for sharing information related to a child’s special health care needs, including any physical, 
emotional, social, or cognitive disabilities with any person who may be assigned to care for that child 
throughout the day.  

12. Child management techniques.  
13. For any person who will be providing care and supervision to children under 5 years of age, 

department-approved training in shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma and appropriate 
ways to manage crying, fussing, or distraught children. 

(b) All counselors and volunteers who are counted in determining the counselor-to-child ratio 
shall receive pre-camp training. The pre-camp training shall be for a minimum of 24 hours and shall 
include orientation at the base camp.  

(c) Volunteers who are not counted as counselors for meeting the required counselor-to-child 
ratio are exempt from the 24-hour pre-camp training if all of the following conditions are met:  

1. The volunteer receives at least 4 hours of training in day camp programming, as required under 
par. (a), including orientation at the base camp.  

2. The volunteer works under the supervision of a counselor who has met the training 
requirements specified in par. (b).  

(d) The camp director shall plan and implement monthly staff meetings that provide ongoing 
supervision and in-service training for the staff.  

(e) All camp staff in regular contact with the children, including the camp director and each 
counselor, shall obtain and maintain a current certificate of completion for child and adult 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including department-approved training in the use of an 
automatic external defibrillator prior to working with children in care. The CPR training may be 
included in pre-camp training.  

(f) The camp director shall coordinate the volunteer program and keep on file documentation of 
the days and hours worked for volunteers who are included for meeting the required counselor-to-
child ratio. 

(4) HEALTH 
(a) No licensee, employee, volunteer, visitor, or parent with symptoms of a communicable 

disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 or a serious illness that presents a safety or health risk to 
children may be in contact with the children in care. 

(b) 1. No licensee, employee, volunteer, visitor, or parent whose behavior gives reasonable concern 
for the safety of the children may be in contact with the children in care.  

2. The department may require a licensee, employee or other person in contact with the children in 
care whose behavior gives reasonable concern for the safety of children to submit to an examination by 
a licensed mental health professional as a condition of licensure or employment.  

(c) No person with a health history of typhoid, paratyphoid, dysentery, or other diarrheal disease may 
work in a camp until it is determined by appropriate tests that the person is not a carrier of the disease.  
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DCF 252.425 Supervision and grouping of children.  

(1) SUPERVISION. 
(a) Each child shall be supervised at all times to guide the child’s behavior and activities, prevent 

harm, and ensure safety.  
(b) All children in care shall be assigned to a counselor. The camp shall implement a procedure to 

ensure that the number, names, and whereabouts of children in care are known to the assigned camp 
counselor at all times.  

(c) 1. Counselors who are included for meeting the required counselor-to-child ratio may not 
provide care to children more than 12 hours in any 24-hour period.  

2. Notwithstanding subd. 1., camps that provide an occasional overnight activity for children 
enrolled in the camp may allow a counselor to provide care for children for more than 12 hours in the 
24-hour period to permit the counselor to remain with the children during the overnight session.  

(d) No licensee, employee, volunteer, or other individual in contact with children may consume 
alcoholic beverages or any non-prescribed controlled substance specified in ch. 961 Stats., on the 
premises of the camp or be under the influence of any alcohol or non-prescribed controlled substance, 
during the hours of the camp’s operation. 

(e) A child may not be released to any person who has not been previously authorized by the parent.  
(f) The camp shall implement a procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from the camp 

without prior notification from the parent.  
(g) A child may not be in care for more than 14 hours in any 24-hour period.  
(h) The camp director shall be at the camp during the hours of operation, except if any of the 

following conditions are met:  
1. The camp director is on a field trip with all of the children.  
2. The camp director is on a field trip with some of the children and has a reliable method of 

communicating easily with the camp.  
3. Another qualified person that is identified in the written delegation of administrative authority 

under s. DCF 252.41 (1) (p) is present at the camp and is authorized to make decisions for the camp.  
(i) When 9 or more children are present at the camp, there shall be at least 2 adults available at all 

times and at least one of the adults shall be a counselor. 

(2) GROUPING OF CHILDREN. 
(a) 1. Except as provided in subds. 2., 3., and 4., the ratio of counselors to children may not be 

less than the minimum number of counselors to children specified in Table DCF 252.425. 
 

TABLE DCF 252.425 
COUNSELOR-TO-CHILD RATIO FOR CHILDREN IN A DAY CAMP 

Age of Children Minimum Number of Counselors to 
Children 

3 Years to 4 Years 1:4 
4 Years to 5 Years 1:6 

5 Years and 6 Years 1:12 
7 Years and Over 1:18 

 
2. When there is a mixed-age group, the counselor-to-child ratio shall be adjusted on a pro rata 

basis, according to age.  
Note: The department’s form, Counselor-to-Child Ratio Worksheet may be used to prorate the staff-to-

child ratio for mixed age groups. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

3. When children 7 years of age and older are served in the same group with children ages 3 and 
4, the ratio of counselors to children in the group shall be consistent with the requirements for the 
youngest children in the group as specified in Table DCF 252.425.  

4. When 9 or more children are on a field trip, at least 2 adults shall accompany the children. The 
counselor-to-child ratios in Table DCF 252.425 shall be met on field trips. 
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(b) Support staff, such as maintenance, clerical, housekeeping, and food service staff, may only 
be considered in determining counselor–to–child ratios if the support staff meet the qualifications of a 
camp counselor and are giving full attention to the care and supervision of children.  

(c) A camp counselor may not engage in any duties that are not related to caring for children 
while he or she is counted in meeting the required counselor–to–child ratios.  

(d) Children of staff who attend the camp and who are on the premises for supervision and care 
shall be counted in the determination of counselor-to-child ratios. 
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DCF 252.43 Base camp and facilities. 

(1) SITE AND BUILDING. 
(a) The licensee shall identify a base camp that provides an environment that allows the program 

to be oriented to the out-of-doors. The base camp shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary 
condition at all times. 

(b) The base camp shall have a building or shelter for use by the camp during inclement weather. 
If the shelter is not enclosed, the camp shall implement a procedure for ensuring that children are 
protected from the elements. 

(c) The base camp shall be located on a well-drained site not subject to flooding. The premises 
shall be properly graded to prevent the accumulation of storm or other waters that may create hazards 
to the property or to the health or safety of the occupants. No camp may be located in an area that is 
situated so that drainage for any source of filth, such as garbage or animal waste disposal, can be 
deposited on the site. 

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or building permits. 
Chapter NR 115 and s. NR 116.12 (2) (b) may affect the camp’s location with regard to flood plains and shore 
land areas. 

(d) Buildings and shelters on sites used or constructed primarily for day camp purposes shall 
comply with the applicable Wisconsin Commercial Building Code and applicable local ordinances. A 
copy of the building inspection report shall be on file with the department. 

Note: Inspections can be obtained from a commercial building inspector certified by the Department of 
Safety and Professional Services in accordance with chapter SPS 305, “Licenses, Certifications, and 
Registration,” or a Wisconsin architect registered in accordance with chapter A-E 3, Architect Registration, or a 
Wisconsin engineer registered in accordance with chapter A-E 4, Professional Engineer Registration. Local 
authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or building permits. 

(e) All buildings and structures used by children for day camp purposes shall have not less than 2 
plainly marked exits that are free of obstruction. 

(f) The base camp premises and any structures used by children on the premises shall be free of 
litter, safe, well maintained, in good repair, and clean. 

(g) If the base camp includes an enclosed building used by children, the inside temperature of the 
building may not be less than 67 degrees Fahrenheit. If the inside temperature exceeds 80 degrees 
Fahrenheit, the licensee shall provide for air circulation with fans or by other means.  

(h) Painted exterior and interior surfaces accessible to children shall be free of flaking or 
deteriorating paint and finished with lead-free paint or other non-toxic material. 

(i) Garbage and refuse at the base camp shall be kept in rigid, watertight, and leak-proof containers 
with tight-fitting covers and disposed of as necessary to prevent decomposition and overflow.  

(j) The areas around garbage and refuse containers shall be clean and dry.  
(k) Solid waste disposal sites on the premises must be licensed by the department of natural resources.  
(L) The growth of brush, weeds, grass, and plants shall be controlled in the base camp area to 

prevent the harborage of noxious insects, rodents, and any other animals.  
(m) Chemical and other insect, weed, and rodent control measures shall be used in accordance 

with label instructions. 

(2) PROTECTIVE MEASURES . 
(a) Children shall be protected from indoor and outdoor hazards, including any recalled products.  
Note: Lists of recalled products are available on the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 

Protection website at https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Publications/KeepYourKidsSafeNewsletter.aspx or by 
contacting the U.S. consumer products safety commission (US CPSC) at 1-800-638-2772.  

(b) Materials harmful to children, including drugs, pesticides, flammable or combustible 
materials, insecticides, matches, cleaning supplies, bleaches, and other hazardous, toxic, or poisonous 
materials shall be stored in the original, covered, and labeled container in areas not accessible to 
children. Power tools shall be stored so they are inaccessible to children.  

(c) A motor vehicle shall be immediately available at the camp in case of emergency if a public or 
private rescue or emergency vehicle cannot arrive at the camp within 10 minutes of a phone call.  

(d) Smoking is prohibited anywhere on the premises or in a vehicle used to transport children 
when children are in care. 
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(e) The camp shall have a working telephone at the camp during the hours of operation. A list of 
emergency telephone numbers, including fire, law enforcement, and poison control shall be in a 
location known to all camp counselors. In this paragraph, “telephone” does not include a pay 
telephone requiring payment to reach the operator or a telephone in a locked room. 

(3) EMERGENCY PLANS AND DRILLS. 
(a) Each camp shall have a written plan for taking appropriate action in the event of an 

emergency situation, including a fire, tornado, or natural disaster, extreme heat or cold, lost or 
missing children, a missing swimmer, an accident, an illness, allergic reactions, human-caused events, 
such as threats to the premises or its occupants, or other circumstances requiring immediate attention. 
The plan shall include specific procedures that address all of the following:  

1. Evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, and lock–down.  
2. Procedures for ensuring that the needs of children with disabilities are met.  
3. Communication with parents.  
4. Connecting children with their parents if the camp is required to evacuate the premises.  
(b) Each staff member shall be informed of and knowledgeable about his or her duties in the 

event of an emergency and appropriate evacuation routes.  
(c) All fire protection facilities and equipment, including fire extinguishers, shall be operable and 

maintained in working order by a qualified person. Each fire extinguisher shall be inspected once per 
year by a qualified person and have a label indicating its present condition and the date of the last 
inspection.  

(d) Before camp opens, written notification of the camp operation shall be given to the nearest 
fire department or forest ranger service for protection in case of fire. The notification shall include the 
dates the camp will be operational and the number and ages of children in care. 

(e) Any necessary permits required for operation of incinerators or for open fires shall be secured 
and available for review by a licensing representative.  

Note: The department recommends that the licensee contact the local municipality and the Department of 
Natural Resources prior to the camp opening to determine what permits are required.  

(f) The clearing around open fires shall be free of burnable materials for a radius of 6 feet. 

(3m) FOOD PREPARATION, SERVICE, AND STORAGE  . 
(a) When meals are prepared or heated on the premises, the kitchen area shall be equipped with a 

microwave or stove, a refrigerator, a sink, and utensils that are necessary to prepare and serve meals. 
The sink shall be used exclusively for food preparation and dishwashing.  

(b) Camps preparing or serving only snacks are not required to have a sink unless dishes or 
utensils requiring dishwashing are used. Camps preparing or serving only snacks are not required to 
have a microwave or stove unless the snacks require heating.  

(c) All equipment and utensils used for preparing, serving, or storing food shall have smooth hard 
surfaces, be easily cleanable, in good repair, durable, non-toxic, and free of cracks, seams, chips, and 
roughened areas, and be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.  

(d) Single-service utensils and food containers may not be reused.  
(e) Foods shall be stored at temperatures that protect against spoilage. Milk and other perishable 

food shall be maintained at or below 40 degrees Fahrenheit.  
(f) Food shall be protected from potential contamination and adulteration, including dirt, insects, 

rodents, or animals. Dry foods, such as cereals, crackers, and pasta shall be stored in bags with zip-
type closures or metal, glass, or food-grade plastic containers with tight-fitting covers and shall be 
labeled and dated. In this paragraph, “food-grade plastic” means any plastic material used in the 
manufacture of dishes or utensils which has been found not harmful to human health by the national 
sanitation foundation.  

(g) Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before being served or cooked.  
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(h) Meals shall be prepared at the base camp in a central kitchen operated by the camp or in 
another location that has been inspected by a representative of a state agency. Food delivery vehicles 
shall be equipped with clean containers or cabinets to store food while in transit. Containers for cold 
food shall be capable of maintaining the temperature at or below 40 degrees Fahrenheit and 
containers for hot food shall be capable of maintaining the temperature at or above 140 degrees 
Fahrenheit.  

Note: The rules for restaurants and other public eating establishments are in ss. ATCP 75.101 to 75.112. 
Chapter ATCP 75 is at https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp. 

(i) Extra food that was prepared but not served shall be dated, refrigerated promptly, and used 
within 36 hours, or frozen immediately for use within 6 months. 

(4) WATER. 
(a) A supply of safe drinking water shall be available to children at all times from disposable 

cups, covered water bottles labeled with the child’s name, or angle jet type drinking fountains. 
Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.  

Note: It is recommended that single-use disposable water bottles not be reused.  
(b) 1. When a public water system is not available, a private well may be used if it is approved by 

the department of natural resources. At least 2 weeks prior to the camp opening each year, water 
samples from an approved well shall be tested for lead and bacteria by a laboratory certified under ch. 
ATCP 77. The water supply shall be bacteriologically safe. The laboratory report shall be made 
available to the department upon request. 

2. If the results of the water test under subd. 1. indicate the water is bacteriologically unsafe, the 
water shall be appropriately treated and re-tested until it is determined to be safe. Bottled water shall 
be used on a temporary basis until the water is determined to be safe.  

Note: Camps using a private well that serves at least 25 of the same people over 6 months of the year are 
considered to have a non-transient non-community water system (NTNC) and must be in compliance with 
Chapter NR 809, Safe Drinking Water Act Standards. Contact the nearest department of natural resources office 
from the list at https://dnr.wi.gov/Contact/SSbyCounty.html. 

(d) Where running water is not available, a covered drinking water container that is easily 
distinguishable from other containers, constructed of a food grade material that does not permit the 
water to become contaminated by dirt, insects, or animals, and suitable for pouring or equipped with a 
faucet shall be provided. Dipping into water from the container is prohibited. The container shall be 
cleaned and sanitized daily. The water source shall be a public water supply or as specified in par. (b). 

(5) WASHROOMS AND TOILET FACILITIES  . 
(a) Handwashing and toileting facilities shall be provided and accessible to children.  
(b) Single-use disposable towels shall be provided and accessible to children.  
(c) Soap, toilet paper, and a wastepaper container shall be provided and accessible to children.  
(d) Outdoor toilets, when used, shall be constructed according to the requirements of the 

applicable Wisconsin commercial building codes and maintained in good repair.  
(e) A portable toilet shall be in compliance with s. SPS 391.13 and local ordinances.  
(f) Plumbing shall comply with all applicable sections of Wisconsin plumbing codes.  
(g) Liquid waste disposal shall be connected to a public sewer, if available. If not available, liquid 

waste disposal shall be in accordance with chs. SPS 382, 383, and 384.  
(h) Handwashing and toilet facilities shall be in clean and sanitary condition. 

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp
https://dnr.wi.gov/Contact/SSbyCounty.html
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(1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND IMPLEMENTATION. 
(a) Each day camp shall have a program of activities that shall be planned according to the 

developmental level of each child and each group of children and intended to expose children to a 
variety of cultures. The needs of children with disabilities shall be considered when planning the 
programming and activities for enrolled children. The program of activities shall focus on the out-of-
doors and the natural environment and shall reflect the camp’s written policies. The program shall 
provide each child with experiences which will promote all of the following: 

1. An appreciation and understanding of the natural environment. 
2. Large and small muscle development. 
3. Intellectual growth. 
4. Self-esteem and positive self-image. 
5. Opportunities for recreation. 
6. Social interaction. 
7. Creative expression. 
8. Self-expression and communication skills. 
9. Literacy skills. 
Note: With parental consent and consultation, it is recommended that camps who care for children who 

have an Individualized Education Program (IEP) coordinate programming activities with the local school 
district. 

(b) The program shall: 
1. Protect the children from excessive fatigue and from overstimulation. 
2. Encourage spontaneous activities. 
3. Be planned to provide a flexible balance each day of: 
a. Active and quiet activities. 
b. Individual and group activities. 
4. Provide daily opportunities for children to play outdoors except during inclement weather or 

when not advisable for health reasons. 
5. Provide reasonable regularity in eating, resting and other routines. 
6. Provide daily periods when a variety of experiences are concurrently available for the children 

to select their own activities. 
7. Limit the amount of time that children are kept waiting in lines or assembled in large groups 

during routines such as toileting and eating and intervals between activities. 

(2) CHILD GUIDANCE. 
(a) Each day camp shall have a written policy on guiding children’s behavior which provides for 

positive guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-cut limits. The policy shall be designed to help 
each child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the rights of others.  

(b) If a camp uses time-out periods to deal with unacceptable behavior, time-out periods may not 
exceed 3 minutes, and the procedure shall be included in the camp’s child guidance policy as 
specified in par. (a). For purposes of this paragraph, a “time-out” is an interruption of unacceptable 
behavior by the removal of the child from the situation, not to isolate the child, but to allow the child 
an opportunity to pause, and with support from a counselor, reflect on behavior and gain self-control 

(c) Actions that may be psychologically, emotionally or physically painful, discomforting, 
dangerous or potentially injurious are prohibited. Examples of prohibited actions include: 

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking, slapping, twisting, throwing or inflicting any other form 
of corporal punishment. 

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the child’s family. 
3. Physical restraint, binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined space such 

as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle. 
4. Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps. 
5. Actions that are aversive, cruel, frightening or humiliating. 
(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet training.  
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(3) EQUIPMENT AND FURNISHINGS. 
(a) The camp shall provide program equipment and furnishings in a variety and quantity that 

allows staff to implement activities outlined in the written policy on program objectives and activities 
required under s. DCF 252.41 (1) (f) 5. and meets all of the following criteria: 

1. Provides for large muscle development. 
2. Provides construction activities and for the development of manipulative skills. 
3. Encourages social interaction. 
4. Provides intellectual stimulation. 
5. Encourages creative expression. 
(b) All equipment and furnishings, whether or not owned by the camp, shall be: 
1. Scaled to the developmental level, size and ability of the children. 
2. Safe, durable, of sturdy construction with no sharp, rough, loose, protruding, pinching or 

pointed edges, or areas of entrapment, in good operating condition, and anchored when necessary. 
3. Placed to avoid danger of accident and collision and to permit freedom of action. 
4. Used in accordance with all manufacturer’s instructions and any manufacturer’s 

recommendations that may affect the safety of children in care. 
(c) Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural and ethnic diversity shall be 

provided. 
(d) No trampolines or inflatable bounce surfaces on the premises may be accessible to children or 

used by children in care. 

(4) REST. When a session is more than 4 hours in length, there shall be a rest period or period of 
quiet activities of at least 30 minutes for all children under 5 years of age. 

(5) MEALS, SNACKS, AND FOOD SERVICE.  
(a) Food shall be provided in accordance with Table DCF 252.44 which is based on the amount of 

time children are present. Food may be served at flexible intervals, but no child may go without 
nourishment for longer than 3 hours.  

 

TABLE 252.44 
MEAL AND SNACK REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH CHILD AT A DAY CAMP 

Time Children Are Present Number of Meals and Snacks 
2½ to 4 hours 1 snack 
4 to 8 hours 1 snacks and 1 meal 

8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal 
10 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks 

 

(b) Camp-provided transportation time shall be included in determining the total number of hours 
a child is present for the purpose of par. (a). 

(c) Food allergies of specific children shall be reported to cooks, counselors and substitutes 
having direct contact with children. 

(d) Menus for meals and snacks provided by the camp shall: 
1. Be posted in the kitchen and in a conspicuous place accessible to parents. 
2. Be planned at least one week in advance, dated and kept on file for 3 months. 
3. Be available for review by the department. 
4. Include diverse types of food. 
(e) At a minimum, each meal and snack provided to children shall meet the U.S. department of 

agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal requirements for amounts and types of 
food. Additional portions of vegetables, fruits, bread, and milk shall be available.  

Note: The USDA meal program requirements may be found on the website, 
http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks  

(f) When food for a child is provided by the child’s parent, the camp shall provide the parent with 
information about requirements for food groups and quantities specified by the U.S. department of 
agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal requirements. 
  

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
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(g) A special diet, based on a medical condition, excluding food allergies, but including nutrient 
concentrates and supplements, may be served only upon written instruction of a child’s physician and 
upon request of the parent. A special diet based on a food allergy may be served upon the written 
request of the parent.  

 
(6) HEALTH.  
(a) Observation. Each child upon arrival at the camp shall be observed by a staff person for 

symptoms of illness. For an apparently ill child, the procedure under par. (c) shall be followed. 
(b) Health supervision. There shall be an adult at the camp at all times who is responsible for 

health supervision. The on-site health supervisor shall be one of the following:  
1. A physician licensed in Wisconsin. 
2. A registered nurse or practical nurse licensed in Wisconsin. 
3. A physician assistant licensed in Wisconsin. 
4. An emergency medical technician. 
5. A person currently certified as having completed the American Red Cross Standard First Aid 

course or equivalent. 
(bm) If a public or private rescue or emergency vehicle cannot arrive at the camp within 10 minutes of a 

phone call, a person who is certified by the department as a first responder under ch. DHS 110 must be on the 
premises during the hours when children are present. This person may serve as the camp health supervisor. 

(c) Ill child procedure.  
1. There shall be an isolation or first aid area for the care of children who become ill. If the area is 

not a separate room, it shall be separated from space used by other children by a partition, screen or 
other means. 

2. When an apparently ill child is observed in the day camp, the following procedures shall apply: 
a. A child with symptoms of illness or a condition such as vomiting or diarrhea, shall be isolated 

and shall be made comfortable, with a place to lie down available, with a staff member within the 
sight or hearing of the child. Isolation shall be used until the child can be removed from the camp. 

b. The child’s parent, or a designated responsible person when parents cannot be reached, shall be 
contacted as soon as possible after the illness is discovered to take the child from the camp. 

(d) Communicable disease.  
1. No child or any other person with a reportable communicable disease specified in ch. DHS 145 

may be admitted or readmitted to a camp, be permitted to remain in a camp, or be permitted to have 
contact with children in care during the period when the disease is communicable. 

3. A person in contact with children or a child may be allowed to return to a camp if the person’s 
physician provides a written statement that the condition is no longer contagious or the person has 
been absent for a period of time equal to the longest usual incubation period of the disease as 
specified by the department. 

Note: The Division of Public Health in the Department of Health Services has developed materials that identify 
those communicable diseases that are required to be reported to the local public health officer. These materials also 
provide information on the symptoms of each disease and guidance on how long an infected child must be excluded 
from the camp. Copies of the communicable disease chart are available from the Department of Health Services 
website at https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p4/p44397.pdf. 

(e) Medication.  
1. Camp staff may give prescription and non-prescription medication to a child only under the 

following conditions: 
a. A signed, dated, written authorization that includes the child’s name and birthdate, name of the 

medication, administration instructions, medication intervals, and the length of the authorization from the 
parent is on file. Blanket authorizations that exceed the length of time specified on the label are prohibited.  

Note: The department’s form, Authorization to Administer Medication, or the provider’s own form may be used 
to obtain the parent’s authorization to administer medication. Information on how to obtain the form is available on 
the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any of the regional licensing offices in Appendix A. 

b. The medication is in the original container and labeled with the child’s name, and the label 
includes the dosage and directions for administering. 
  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p4/p44397.pdf
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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2. All medications shall be stored so that they are not accessible to the children. 
3. Medications shall be stored at the appropriate temperature as indicated on the label. 
4. No medication may be kept at the camp without a current authorization from the parent. 
5. Bee sting medication, inhalers, an insulin syringe, or other medication or device used in the 

event of a life-threatening situation may be carried by a child over the age of 7 years with written 
authorization from the parent and the child’s physician. 

(f) Injury.  Written procedures for the treatment of children who are in accidents or otherwise 
injured shall be available, made known to staff, and carried out as follows:  

1. Written permission from the parent to call the family physician or refer the child or medical 
care in case of emergency shall be on file at the camp. This permission shall be used only when the 
parent or the designated responsible person cannot be reached.  

Note: The camp may use the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or its own form for obtaining 
medical consent from the parent. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

2. Prior to the opening of camp, a planned source of emergency medical care, such as a hospital 
emergency room, clinic, or other constantly staffed medical facility, shall be designated and made 
known to staff and parents.  

3. A camp shall establish and follow written procedures for treating minor injuries and for taking 
a child to an emergency medical care facility.  

4. First aid equipment shall be available at a designated location at the base camp.  
5. Standard first aid procedures shall be followed for injuries.  
6. Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and water only and protected.  
7. Suspected poisoning shall be treated only after consultation with a poison control center.  
(g) Medical Log.  
1. The licensee shall maintain a medical log book that has a stitched binding with pages that are 

lined and numbered.  
2. Pages may not be removed from the medical log under subd. 1. and lines may not be skipped. 

Each entry in the log book shall be in ink, dated, and signed or initialed by the person making the 
entry.  

3. A provider shall record all of the following in the medical log under subd. 1.:  
a. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations, or burns seen on a child, regardless of 

whether received in or out of the care of the camp.  
b. Any injuries received by a child while in the care of the camp on the date the injury occurred. 

The record shall include the child’s name, the date and time of the injury, and a brief description of 
the facts surrounding the injury.  

c. Any medication dispensed to a child, on the date the medication is dispensed. The record shall 
include the name of the child, type of medication given, dosage, time, date, and the initials or 
signature of the person administering the medication.  

d. Any incident or accident that occurs when the child is in the care of the center that results in 
professional medical evaluation.  

4. The director or a designee shall review records of injuries with staff every 6 months to ensure 
that all possible preventive measures are being taken. The reviews shall be documented in the medical 
log book under subd. 1. 

(i) Health precautions and personal cleanliness.  
1. A child’s hands shall be washed with soap and running water before meals and snacks and after 

handling animals and toileting or diapering. 
2. Persons working with children shall wash their hands with soap and running water before 

handling food, after assisting with toileting and after wiping bodily secretions from a child. 
3. Soap and water-based wet wipes may be used to wash hands when there is no running water 

immediately available. Disinfecting hand sanitizers may not replace the use of soap and water when 
washing hands. 

4. Cups, eating utensils, toothbrushes, combs and towels may not be shared and shall be kept in a 
sanitary condition. 

5. Children shall be clothed to ensure body warmth and comfort. Wet or soiled clothing and 
diapers shall be changed promptly from an available supply of clean clothing. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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6. There shall be a supply of dry and clean clothing and diapers sufficient to meet the needs of all 
children at the camp. 

7. As appropriate, children shall be protected from sunburn and insect bites with protective 
clothing, if not protected by sunscreen or insect repellent. Sunscreen and insect repellent may only be 
applied on the written authorization of the parent. The authorization shall include the ingredient 
strength of the sunscreen or repellent. If parents provide the sunscreen or insect repellent, the 
sunscreen or repellent shall be labeled with the child’s name. Children may apply their own sunscreen 
or insect repellent with written parental authorization. Recording the application of sunscreen or 
insect repellent is not required.  

8. Center staff shall follow universal precautions when exposed to blood and blood−containing 
bodily fluids and injury discharges.  

9. Single use disposable gloves shall be worn if there is contact with blood−containing bodily 
fluids or tissue discharges. Gloves shall be discarded in plastic bags. 

(j) Diapering. When children are diapered, the camp counselor shall do all of the following: 
1. Consult with the child’s parent to develop a toilet training plan so that a child’s toilet routine is 

consistent between the camp and the child’s home, if the child is in the process of becoming toilet trained. 
2. Change wet or soiled diapers and clothing promptly. 
3. Change each child on an easily cleanable surface that is cleaned with soap and water and a 

disinfectant solution after each use. The disinfectant solution shall be registered with the U.S. 
environmental protection agency as a disinfectant and have instructions for use as a disinfectant on 
the label. The solution shall be prepared and applied as indicated on the label. 

4. If the diapering surface is above floor level, provide a barrier or restraint to prevent falling. A 
child may not be left unattended on the diapering surface. 

5. Place disposable soiled diapers and gloves, if used, in a plastic-lined, hands-free, covered 
container immediately. 

6. Remove soiled diapers from containers as needed but at least daily for washing or disposal. 
Containers shall be washed and disinfected daily. 

7. Apply lotions, powders or salves to a child during diapering only at the specific written direction of 
the parent or the child’s physician. The directions shall be posted in the diapering area. The application of 
diapering lotions, powders or salves is not required to be recorded in the camp medical log. 

8. Wash the child’s diaper area before each diapering with a disposable or fabric towel used only once. 

(7) SWIMMING AND WATER ACTIVITY AREAS.  
(a) Definitions. In this subsection, “waterfront” means a pool or beach accessible to or used by 

children in care. 
(am) Swimming area. 
1. Pools and other swimming areas used by children shall be located, constructed, equipped and 

operated according to the requirements of chs. SPS 390 and ATCP 76 for pools and water attractions. 
A beach shall be in compliance with applicable local ordinances. 

2. a. Swimming pools shall be enclosed with a 5 foot fence with a self-closing, self-latching door. 
Spaces between the vertical posts of the fence shall be 3½ inches or less. In addition, all of the 
following restrictions apply when the pool is not in use by children. 

b. If access to the pool is through a gate, the gate shall be closed and locked. 
c. If access to the pool is through a door, the door shall be closed, visibly locked and equipped 

with an alarm at the door that signals when someone has entered the pool area. The door may not be 
used as an exit. 

d. Locks shall be located so that the locks cannot be opened by children. 
e. The free-standing wall of an above ground pool may not serve as an enclosure unless it is at 

least 5 feet in height and not climbable. If a ladder is present, the ladder shall be removed or raised up 
so that it is inaccessible to children. 

f. The area around the pool enclosure shall be free of toys or equipment that would allow a child 
to climb or otherwise gain access to the pool. 

3. The swimming area used by a day camp shall have designated areas for non-swimmers, 
intermediate swimmers, advanced swimmers and divers. A child shall be restricted to the area of the 
pool or beach that is within the child’s swimming ability. 
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4. Access to a water activity area or beach shall be controlled so that children may not enter the area 
without the knowledge of waterfront staff and any area used for swimming shall be clearly marked. 

5. Equipment in water activity areas, including docks, ladders, rafts, diving boards, boats, life 
jackets, and paddles, shall be maintained and in good repair. 

6. Rescue equipment, including a shepherd’s crook type pole, a backboard, ring buoy, and rescue tube 
shall be maintained and immediately available at each water activity area as specified in s. ATCP 76.26.  

(b) Waterfront supervisor. 
1. Each day camp offering swimming, boating, canoeing, or other water activities whether at a 

pool or a beach shall designate a staff person as waterfront supervisor. All water activities, whether 
on or off the premises, shall be under the direction of the waterfront supervisor or an equally qualified 
adult who is present at the waterfront during water activities. The waterfront supervisor shall: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older; and 
b. Hold a current certification as a life-guard from a nationally recognized certifying agency. 
1m. If the center uses a pool, beach, or other water attraction that is not located on the center 

premises and certified lifesaving personnel are on duty, the waterfront supervisor is not required to 
meet the qualification in subd. 1. b. 

2. The camp shall maintain a ratio of one person with a current Red Cross certified lifesaving 
certificate per 25 children in the water, except where a public swimming place has life-saving 
personnel on duty. While children are in the water, only staff who can swim may be included when 
determining counselor-to-child ratios under Table DCF 252.425. 

3. The waterfront supervisor or an equally qualified person shall be on duty at all times whenever 
children are in the water. 

4. The waterfront supervisor shall establish and enforce a method for supervising children in the water 
such as the buddy system, the colored cap system or another method of supervising children. The supervision 
plan shall be included in the camp’s written waterfront plan and reviewed during pre-camp training. 

5. The waterfront supervisor shall establish and enforce a method for checking persons in and out 
of the water. The check-in and check-out procedures shall be included in the camp’s written 
waterfront plan and reviewed during pre-camp training. 

5m. The waterfront supervisor shall establish and enforce procedures for ensuring that children who 
have access to a beach or are engaged in fishing or other shoreline activities are properly supervised. 

6. The waterfront supervisor or person acting as the waterfront supervisor may not be included 
when determining counselor-to-child ratios during any period when children are in the water. 

(c) Swimming procedures. 
1. The swimming ability of each child shall be assessed by either the parent or the camp. 

Documentation of the assessment shall be kept in the child’s file. 
2. Children shall be restricted to swimming areas within their swimming classification. 
(d) Boating prohibited in swimming areas. Except in an emergency, no rowboat, canoe, motor 

boat or other craft, except a lifeboat used by lifeguards, is permitted in a swimming area, pursuant to 
s. 30.68 (7), Stats. 

(8) BOATS. 
(a) In this section, “boat” means every description of watercraft used or capable of being used as 

a means of transportation on water, including canoes, kayaks, large inner tubes, inflatable boats and 
sailboards. Small inflatable toys such as swim rings and air mattresses are not considered “boats” 
under this definition. 

(am) All boats shall comply with ch. NR 5. 
(b) Each occupant of a boat shall wear a type I or II coast guard-approved personal flotation 

device which is appropriate to the weight of the person wearing it as specified in s. 30.62 (3) (a), 
Stats., and s. NR 5.13. 

(c) There shall be at least one adult in each boat who is a competent swimmer as determined by 
the waterfront supervisor. When children are using single-seat boats, such as kayaks, a counselor who 
is a competent swimmer shall be close enough to the children to provide assistance if necessary. 

(d) Children who have not demonstrated advanced swimming skills shall be limited to the use of 
the rowboats only. 

(e) All boats, oars and paddles shall be in good repair and inspected annually for safety. 
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(9) FIREARMS AND ARCHERY. Firearms and archery equipment may not be used by children under 
7 years of age. When firearms and archery equipment are used by children 7 years of age and older, 
the following precautions shall apply:  

(a) The archery or shooting range may be used only under the supervision of a trained adult instructor. 
(b) Other program activities shall be in an area away from the designated archery or shooting 

range. The range shall be fenced in with rope or wire and marked with danger signs or flags. 
(c) Firearms, ammunition, and archery equipment shall be stored under lock and key when not in use. 
(d) All firearms, archery equipment, and unused ammunition shall be returned to the instructor. 
 
(10) TOOLS. 
(a) Power tools shall not be used by children under 7 years of age. 
(b) Children under 7 years of age shall not be allowed in areas where power tools are in use. 
(c) When power tools and other tools are not in use, they shall be stored in an area not accessible 

to children. 

(11) HORSEBACK RIDING. 
(a) This subsection shall apply whether the camp owns, rents, or leases horses. 
(b) Children may ride horseback only in a ring or other enclosed area. 
(c) The riding tack shall be maintained in good repair to provide maximum safety for children. It 

shall be appropriate to the age, size, and ability of the rider. 
(d) Horseback riding shall be specifically covered by the camp’s liability insurance. 

(12) FIELD TRIPS. For field trips away from the base camp: 
(a) Staff shall carry emergency contact information and signed parental permission for the 

emergency medical care of all children on the field trip. 
(b) The counselor-to-child ratio under Table DCF 252.425 shall be maintained, except that the 

number of adults accompanying children away from the base camp shall be no fewer than 2. 
(c) A planned source of emergency medical care in the area to be visited shall be known to staff. 
(d) A list of children participating in the field trip shall be maintained by the camp director and a 

counselor accompanying the children. 
(e) Parents shall be notified in advance of the times and location of each field trip. 
(f) First aid supplies shall be taken on all field trips. 

(13) ADVENTURE-BASED ACTIVITIES. 
(a) This subsection applies whether the camp owns, rents, or leases equipment used in adventure-

based activities. Adventure-based activities include but are not limited to experiences such as ropes or 
challenge courses, hiking and rock climbing. 

(b) The licensee shall ensure that personnel leading and providing training to children are trained 
and have experience for the type of adventure-based experience they are supervising. 

(c) Equipment used in adventure-based activities shall be properly installed, maintained in good 
condition and working order and appropriate to the size, developmental and ability level of the children 
using the equipment. 

(d) Before a child is permitted to participate in an adventure-based activity, the licensee shall ensure 
that the child’s medical history does not prohibit participation in the type of activity planned. If there 
is a question about a child’s ability to participate for medical reasons, the licensee shall not permit 
participation without the written approval of the child’s physician and written authorization from the 
child’s parent. 

(e) Counselor-to-child ratios shall be adequate to manage and supervise the adventure-based 
activity based upon the number of children participating and type of activity. At no time, shall the 
counselor-to-child ratio be less than that specified in Table DCF 252.425. 
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APPENDIX A 
REGIONAL OFFICES OF THE DIVISION OF EARLY CARE AND EDUCATION 

The Department of Children and Families licenses child care centers through five Division of Early 
Care and Education regional offices. Below are addresses and phone numbers of the regional offices 
and the counties and tribes within each region. 
 

REGIONS  COUNTIES AND TRIBES 
Northeastern Regional Office 

200 North Jefferson, Suite 411 
Green Bay, WI  54301 
Gen: (920) 785-7811 
Fax: (920) 785-7869 

 Counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, 
Green Lake, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, 
Marquette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, 
Ozaukee, Shawano, Sheboygan, Washington, 
Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago 
Tribes: Menominee, Oneida, Stockbridge-Munsee, 
Ho Chunk 

Northern Regional Office 
2187 North Stevens Street, Suite C 
Rhinelander, WI  54501 
Gen: (715) 361-7700 
Fax: (715) 365-2517 

 Ashland, Bayfield, Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, 
Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, Portage, Price, Sawyer, 
Taylor, Vilas, Wood 
Tribes: Bad River, Lac Courte Oreille; Lac du 
Flambeau, Red Cliff, Sokaogon, Forest County 
Potawatomi, Ho Chunk 

Southeastern Regional Office 
141 NW Barstow, Room 104 
Waukesha, WI  53188-3789 
Gen: (262) 446-7800 
Fax: (262) 446-7991 

 Counties: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Racine, Waukesha 

Southern Regional Office 
2135 Rimrock Road 
Madison, WI  53708-8947 
Gen: (608) 422-6765 
Fax: (608) 422-6766 

 Counties: Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, 
Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, 
Lafayette, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth 
Tribes: Ho Chunk 

Western Regional Office 
610 Gibson Street, Suite 2 
Eau Claire, WI  54701-3696 
Gen: (715) 930-1148 
Fax: (715) 836-2516 

 Counties: Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, 
Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, LaCrosse, 
Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, 
Trempealeau, Vernon, Washburn 
Tribes: Ho Chunk 
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APPENDIX B 

KEY STATUTES RELATED TO LICENSING OF CHILD CARE CENTERS 
This appendix is based upon the 2017-18 Wisconsin Statues updated through 2019 Wis. Act 186 and through all 
Supreme Court and Controlled Substances Board Orders filed before and in effect on September 1, 2020. Only 
pertinent portions of the statutes are included here and were obtained at http://folio.legis.state.wi.us. Action by 
the legislature may result in changes to these statutes. Only printed volumes are Official Text under s. 35.18(2), 
Wis. Stats. 
 
48.02 Definitions. [2017] 

(8) “Guardian" means the person named by the court 
having the duty and authority of guardianship. 

(13) “Parent" means a biological parent, a husband who 
has consented to the artificial insemination of his wife 
under s. 891.40, or a parent by adoption. If the child is a 
nonmarital child who is not adopted or whose parents do 
not subsequently intermarry under s. 767.803, “parent" 
includes a person acknowledged under s. 767.805 or a 
substantially similar law of another state or adjudicated to 
be the biological father. “Parent" does not include any 
person whose parental rights have been terminated. For 
purposes of the application of s. 48.028 and the federal 
Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 to 1963, “parent" 
means a biological parent, an Indian husband who has 
consented to the artificial insemination of his wife under s. 
891.40, or an Indian person who has lawfully adopted an 
Indian child, including an adoption under tribal law or 
custom, and includes, in the case of a nonmarital child who 
is not adopted or whose parents do not subsequently 
intermarry under s. 767.803, a person acknowledged under 
s. 767.805, a substantially similar law of another state, or 
tribal law or custom to be the biological father or a person 
adjudicated to be the biological father, but does not include 
any person whose parental rights have been terminated. 

(15) “Relative" means a parent, stepparent, brother, 
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, 
brother-in-law, sister-in-law, first cousin, 2nd cousin, 
nephew, niece, uncle, aunt, stepuncle, stepaunt, or any 
person of a preceding generation as denoted by the prefix 
of grand, great, or great-great, whether by blood, marriage, 
or legal adoption, or the spouse of any person named in this 
subsection, even if the marriage is terminated by death or 
divorce. For purposes of the application of s. 48.028 and 
the federal Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 to 
1963, “relative" includes an extended family member, as 
defined in s. 48.028(2)(am), whether by blood, marriage, or 
adoption, including adoption under tribal law or custom. 
For purposes of placement of a child, “relative" also 
includes a parent of a sibling of the child who has legal 
custody of that sibling. 

48.48 Authority of department. [2015] The department 
shall have authority: (10) To license child welfare agencies 
and child care centers as provided in s. 48.66(1)(a). 

48.65 Child care centers licensed; fees. [2017] 
(1) No person may for compensation provide care and 

supervision for 4 or more children under the age of 7 for 
less than 24 hours a day unless that person obtains a license 
to operate a child care center from the department. To 
obtain a license under this subsection to operate a child care 
center, a person must meet the minimum requirements for 
a license established by the department under s. 48.67, 

meet the requirements specified in s. 48.686, and pay the 
license fee under sub. (3). A license issued under this 
subsection is valid until revoked or suspended, but shall be 
reviewed every 2 years as provided in s. 48.66(5). 

(2) This section does not include any of the following: 
(a) A parent, grandparent, greatgrandparent, stepparent, 

brother, sister, first cousin, nephew, niece, uncle, or aunt of 
a child, whether by blood, marriage, or legal adoption, who 
provides care and supervision for the child. 

(am) A guardian of a child who provides care and 
supervision for the child. 

(b) A public or parochial school or a tribal school. 
(c) A person employed to come to the home of the 

child’s parent or guardian for less than 24 hours a day. 
(d) A county, city, village, town, school district or 

library that provides programs primarily intended for 
recreational or social purposes. 

(3)(a) Except as provided in par. (c), before the 
department may issue a license under sub. (1) to a child 
care center that provides care and supervision for 4 to 8 
children, the child care center must pay to the department a 
biennial fee of $60.50. Except as provided in par. (c), 
before the department may issue a license under sub. (1) to 
a child care center that provides care and supervision for 9 
or more children, the child care center must pay to the 
department a biennial fee of $30.25, plus a biennial fee of 
$16.94 per child, based on the number of children that the 
child care center is licensed to serve. A child care center 
that wishes to continue a license issued under sub. (1) shall 
pay the applicable fee under this paragraph by the 
continuation date of the license. A new child care center 
shall pay the applicable fee under this paragraph no later 
than 30 days before the opening of the child care center. 

(b) A child care center that wishes to continue a license 
issued under par. (a) and that fails to pay the applicable fee 
under par. (a) by the continuation date of the license or a 
new child care center that fails to pay the applicable fee 
under par. (a) by 30 days before the opening of the child 
care center shall pay an additional fee of $5 per day for 
every day after the deadline that the child care center fails 
to pay the fee. 

(c) An individual who is eligible for a fee waiver under 
the veterans fee waiver program under s. 45.44 is not 
required to pay a fee under par. (a) for a license under sub. 
(1). 

48.66 Licensing duties of the department. [2017] 
(1)(a) Except as provided in s. 48.715(6) and (7), the 

department shall license and supervise child welfare 
agencies, as required by s. 48.60, group homes, as required 
by s. 48.625, shelter care facilities, as required by s. 938.22, 
and child care centers, as required by s. 48.65. The 
department may license foster homes, as provided by s. 
48.62, and may license and supervise county departments 
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in accordance with the procedures specified in this section 
and in ss. 48.67 to 48.74. The department may supervise a 
child care program established or contracted for under s. 
120.13(14) that receives payment under s. 49.155 for the 
child care provided. In the discharge of this duty the 
department may inspect the records and visit the premises 
of all child welfare agencies, group homes, shelter care 
facilities, and child care centers and visit the premises of all 
foster homes in which children are placed. The department 
may also inspect the records and visit the premises of all 
child care programs established or contracted for under s. 
120.13(14) that receive payment under s. 49.155 for the 
child care provided. 

(c) A license issued under par. (a) or (b), other than a 
license to operate a foster home or secured residential care 
center for children and youth, is valid until revoked or 
suspended. A license issued under this subsection to 
operate a foster home or secured residential care center for 
children and youth may be for any term not to exceed 2 
years from the date of issuance. No license issued under 
par. (a) or (b) is transferable. 

(2) The department shall prescribe application forms to 
be used by all applicants for licenses from it. The 
application forms prescribed by the department shall 
require that the social security numbers of all applicants for 
a license to operate a child welfare agency, group home, 
shelter care facility, or child care center who are 
individuals, other than an individual who does not have a 
social security number and who submits a statement made 
or subscribed under oath or affirmation as required under 
sub. (2m)(a)2., be provided and that the federal employer 
identification numbers of all applicants for a license to 
operate a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care 
facility, or child care center who are not individuals be 
provided. 

(2m)(a)1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the department 
shall require each applicant for a license under sub. (1)(a) 
to operate a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care 
facility, or child care center who is an individual to provide 
that department with the applicant's social security number, 
and shall require each applicant for a license under sub. 
(1)(a) to operate a child welfare agency, group home, 
shelter care facility, or child care center who is not an 
individual to provide that department with the applicant's 
federal employer identification number, when initially 
applying for or applying to continue the license. 

2. If an applicant who is an individual does not have a 
social security number, the applicant shall submit a 
statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation to 
the department of corrections that the applicant does not 
have a social security number. The form of the statement 
shall be prescribed by the department. A license issued in 
reliance upon a false statement submitted under this 
subdivision is invalid. 

(b) If an applicant who is an individual fails to provide 
the applicant's social security number to the department or 
if an applicant who is not an individual fails to provide the 
applicant's federal employer identification number to the 
department, that department may not issue or continue a 
license under sub. (1)(a) to operate a child welfare agency, 
group home, shelter care facility, or child care center to or 
for the applicant unless the applicant is an individual who 

does not have a social security number and the applicant 
submits a statement made or subscribed under oath or 
affirmation as required under par. (a)2. 

(c) The subunit of the department that obtains a social 
security number or a federal employer identification 
number under par. (a)1. may not disclose that information 
to any person except to the department of revenue for the 
sole purpose of requesting certifications under s. 73.0301 
and to the department of workforce development for the 
sole purpose of requesting certifications under s. 108.227 
or on the request of the subunit of the department that 
administers the child and spousal support program under s. 
49.22(2m). 

(3) The department shall prescribe the form and content 
of records to be kept and information to be reported by 
persons licensed by it. 

(5) A child welfare agency, group home, child care 
center, or shelter care facility license, other than a 
probationary license, is valid until revoked or suspended, 
but shall be reviewed every 2 years after the date of 
issuance as provided in this subsection. At least 30 days 
prior to the continuation date of the license, the licensee 
shall submit to the department an application for 
continuance of the license in the form and containing the 
information that the department requires. If the minimum 
requirements for a license established under s. 48.67 are 
met, the application is approved, the applicable fees 
referred to in ss. 48.68(1), 48.685(8), and 48.686(2)(ag) are 
paid, and any forfeiture under s. 48.715(3)(a) or penalty 
under s. 48.76 that is due is paid, the department shall 
continue the license for an additional 2-year period, unless 
sooner suspended or revoked. If the application is not 
timely filed, the department shall issue a warning to the 
licensee. If the licensee fails to apply for continuance of the 
license within 30 days after receipt of the warning, the 
department may revoke the license as provided in s. 
48.715(4) and (4m)(b). 

48.67 Rules governing child welfare agencies, child care 
centers, foster homes, group homes, shelter care 
facilities, and county departments. [2015] The 
department shall promulgate rules establishing minimum 
requirements for the issuance of licenses to, and 
establishing standards for the operation of, child welfare 
agencies, child care centers, foster homes, group homes, 
shelter care facilities, and county departments. Those rules 
shall be designed to protect and promote the health, safety, 
and welfare of the children in the care of all licensees. The 
department shall consult with the department of safety and 
professional services, the department of public instruction, 
and the child abuse and neglect prevention board before 
promulgating those rules. For foster homes, those rules 
shall include the rules promulgated under s. 48.62(8). 
Those rules shall include rules that require all of the 
following: 

(1) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees and volunteers of a child care center, who 
provide care and supervision for children under one year of 
age receive, before the date on which the license is issued 
or the employment or volunteer work commences, 
whichever is applicable, training in the most current 
medically accepted methods of preventing sudden infant 
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death syndrome. The rules shall provide that any training in 
those methods that a licensee has obtained in connection 
with military service, as defined in s. 111.32(12g), counts 
toward satisfying the training requirement under this 
subsection if the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of 
the department that the training obtained in that connection 
is substantially equivalent to the training required under 
this subsection. 

(2) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees and volunteers of a child care center, who 
provide care and supervision for children under 5 years of 
age receive, before the date on which the license is issued 
or the employment or volunteer work commences, 
whichever is applicable, the training relating to shaken 
baby syndrome and impacted babies required under s. 
253.15(4)(a) or (c). 

(3)(a) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees of a child care center, who provide care and 
supervision for children have current proficiency in the use 
of an automated external defibrillator, as defined in s. 
256.15(1)(cr), achieved through instruction provided by an 
individual, organization, or institution of higher education 
that is approved under s. 46.03(38) to provide such 
instruction or through instruction obtained by the licensee 
in connection with military service, as defined in s. 
111.32(12g), if the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction 
of the department that the instruction obtained in that 
connection is substantially equivalent to the instruction 
provided by a person approved under s. 46.03(38). 

48.68 Investigation of applicant; issuing of license. 
[2017] 

(1) After receipt of an application for a license, the 
department shall investigate to determine if the applicant 
meets the minimum requirements for a license adopted by 
the department under s. 48.67 and meets the requirements 
specified in s. 48.685 or 48.686, whichever is applicable. In 
determining whether to issue or continue a license, the 
department may consider any action by the applicant, or by 
an employee of the applicant, that constitutes a substantial 
failure by the applicant or employee to protect and promote 
the health, safety, and welfare of a child. Upon satisfactory 
completion of this investigation and payment of the fee 
required under s. 48.615(1)(a) or (b), 48.625(2)(a), 
48.65(3)(a), or 938.22(7)(b), the department shall issue a 
license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or, if applicable, a probationary 
license under s. 48.69 or, if applicable, shall continue a 
license under s. 48.66(5). At the time of initial licensure 
and license renewal, the department shall provide a foster 
home licensee with written information relating to the 
monthly foster care rates and supplemental payments 
specified in s. 48.62(4), including payment amounts, 
eligibility requirements for supplemental payments, and the 
procedures for applying for supplemental payments. 

48.686 Criminal history and child abuse record search; 
child care. [2019] 

(1) In this section: 
(ac) “Approval” means a child care center license under 

s. 48.65, a child care provider certification under s. 48.651, 
or a contract with a child care provider under s. 120.13(14). 

(ag) “Caregiver” means any of the following: 
1. An employee or contractor of a child care program 

who is involved in the care or supervision of clients. 
1m. A person who has direct contact and unsupervised 

access to clients of a child care program. 
2. A person who has, or is seeking, a license, 

certification, or contract to operate a child care program. 
(aj) “Child care program” means a child care center that 

is licensed under s. 48.65 or established or contracted for 
under s. 120.13(14), a child care provider that is certified 
under s. 48.651, or a temporary employment agency that 
provides caregivers to another child care program. 

(am) “Client” means a person who receives direct care 
from a child care program, from an entity under s. 
48.685(1)(b) or from a caregiver specified in s. 
48.685(1)(ag)1.am., including all of the following: 

1. An adopted child for whom adoption assistance 
payments are being made under s. 48.975. 

2. A child for whom subsidized guardianship payments 
are being made under s. 48.623. 

3. A person who is 18 to 21 years old, is receiving 
independent living services under 42 USC 677(a) from an 
agency, is no longer placed in out−of−home care, and is 
residing in the foster home in which he or she was 
previously placed. 

(bm) “Household member” means a person who is age 
10 or older, who resides, or is expected to reside, at a child 
care program, and who is not a client of the child care 
program or caregiver. 

(bo) “Licensing entity” means all of the following: 
1. The department when licensing a child care center 

under s. 48.65. 
2. The department in a county with a population of 

750,000 or more, a county department, or an agency or 
Indian tribe contracted with under s. 48.651(2) when 
certifying a child care provider under s. 48.651. 

3. A school board when contracting with a child care 
provider under s. 120.13(14). 

(bp) “Noncaregiver employee” means a person who 
provides services to a child care program as an employee 
or a contractor and is not a caregiver, but whose work at the 
child care program provides the ability to move freely 
throughout the premises and opportunities for interactions 
with clients of the child care program. 

(br) “Reservation” means land in this state within the 
boundaries of a reservation of a tribe or within the bureau 
of Indian affairs service area for the Ho−Chunk Nation. 

(c) “Serious crime” means any of the following: 
1. A violation of s. 940.12, 940.22(2) or (3), 940.285(2), 

940.29, 940.295, or 942.09(2). 
2. A violation of s. 940.302(2) if s. 940.302(2)(a)1.b. 

applies. 
3. An offense under ch. 948 that is a felony, other than a 

violation of s. 948.22(2). 
4. A violation of s. 940.19(3), 1999 stats., or of s. 

940.19(2), (4), (5), or (6) or 940.20(1) or (1m), if the victim 
is the spouse of the person. 

5. A violation of s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 
940.06, 940.21, 940.225(1), (2), or (3), 940.23, 940.305, 
940.31, 941.20(2) or (3), 941.21, 943.02, 943.03, 943.04, 
943.10(2), 943.32(2), 948.081, 948.21, 948.215, or 
948.53(2)(b)1. 



 DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 

 

37 
6. Only for a caregiver, as defined in par. (ag)2., a 

violation of s. 943.201, 943.203, or943.38(1) or (2); a 
violation of s. 943.34(1), 943.395(1), 943.41(3)(e), (4)(a), 
(5), (6), or (6m), 943.45(1), 943.455(2), 943.46(2), 
943.47(2), 943.50(1m), or 943.70(2)(a) or (am) or (3)(a) 
that is a felony; or an offense under subch. IV of ch. 943 
that is a felony. 

7. A violation of sub. (2) or s. 48.685(2), (3), (4m)(b), or 
(6), 2015 stats., if the violation involves the provision of 
false information to or the intentional withholding of 
information from, the department, a county department, an 
agency contracting under s. 48.651(2), a school board, or a 
child care program. 

8. An offense involving fraudulent activity as a 
participant in the Wisconsin Works program under ss. 
49.141 to 49.161, including as a recipient of a child care 
subsidy under s. 49.155, or as a recipient of aid to families 
with dependent children under s. 49.19, medical assistance 
under subch. IV of ch. 49, food stamps benefits under the 
food stamp program under 7 USC 2011 to 2036, 
supplemental security income payments under s. 49.77, 
payments for the support of children of supplemental 
security income recipients under s. 49.775, or health care 
benefits under the Badger Care health care program under 
s. 49.665. 

9. A violation of s. 125.075(1), 125.085(3)(a)2., 
125.105(2)(b), 125.66(3), 125.68(12), 940.09, 940.19(2), 
(4), (5), or (6), 940.20, 940.203, 940.205, 940.207, 940.25, 
or 943.23(1g), a violation of s. 346.63(1), (2), (5), or (6) 
that is a felony under s. 346.65(2)(am)4., 5., 6., or 7. or (f), 
(2j)(d), or (3m), or an offense under ch. 961 that is a felony. 

10. A violation of s. 948.22(2), unless the person has 
paid all arrearages due and is meeting his or her current 
support obligations. 

11. A violation of the law of any other state or United 
States jurisdiction that would be a violation listed in subd. 
1. to 10. if committed in this state. 

12. A violation of the laws of another state or United 
States jurisdiction that if committed in this state would 
constitute felony battery under s. 940.19(2), (4), (5), or (6) 
or 940.20, a felony offense of domestic abuse, as defined in 
s. 813.12(1)(am), a sex offense or a violent crime under ch. 
948, or a violation of s. 940.225 if the victim was a child. 

(2)(a) A licensing entity shall require any person who 
applies for an initial approval to operate a child care 
program to submit the information required for a 
background check request under par. (ag). If the licensing 
entity is a school board, county department, or contracted 
agency or tribe, the licensing entity shall submit the 
completed background information request to the 
department. 

(ab) Each child care program shall submit a request to 
the department for a background check for each potential 
caregiver, noncaregiver employee, and household member 
prior to the date on which an individual becomes a 
caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household member, 
and at least once during every 5−year period for each 
existing caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household 
member, except if all of the following apply to the 
individual: 

1. The individual has received a background check as 
described in par. (am) while working or seeking work with 

another child care program within the state within the last 5 
years. 

2. The department provided to the child care program 
under subd. 1. a qualifying background check result for the 
individual. 

3. The individual works or resides at a child care 
program within the state or has been separated from work 
or residence at a child care program within the state for a 
period of not more than 180 consecutive days. 

(ag)1. A request for a background check to the 
department under par. (a) or (ab) shall be in the manner and 
on forms prescribed by the department, and shall include 
all of the following: 

a. Fingerprints of the subject that meet the standards of 
the department. 

b. Any additional information that the department 
deems necessary to perform the background check. 

2. A request for a background check is considered 
submitted on the day that the department receives all of the 
information required under subd. 1. 

3. The requester of a background check under this 
paragraph shall submit all fees required by the department 
pursuant to the instructions provided by the department, not 
to exceed the actual cost of conducting the background 
check. 

(am) Upon receipt of a request submitted under par. (a) 
or (ab), the department shall obtain all of the following 
with respect to the individual who is the subject of the 
request: 

1. A fingerprint−based or name−based criminal history 
search from the records maintained by the department of 
justice. 

2. Information that is contained in the registry under s. 
146.40(4g) regarding any findings against the person. 

3. Information maintained by the department of safety 
and professional services regarding the status of the 
person’s credentials, if applicable. 

4. Information maintained by the department regarding 
any final determination under s. 48.981(3)(c)5m. or, if a 
contested case hearing is held on such a determination, any 
final decision under s. 48.981(3)(c)5p. that the person has 
abused or neglected a child. 

5. Information maintained by the department of health 
services under s. 48.685 regarding any denial to the person 
of a license, continuation or renewal of a license, 
certification, or a contract to operate an entity or a child 
care program, for a reason specified in s. 48.685(4m)(a)1. 
to 5. and regarding any denial to the person of employment 
at, a contract with, or permission to reside at an entity or a 
child care program for a reason specified in s. 
48.685(4m)(a)1. to 5. 

6. Information that is contained in the sex offender 
registry under s. 301.45 regarding whether the person has 
committed a sex offense that is a serious crime. 

7. A fingerprint−based criminal history search using the 
federal bureau of investigation next generation 
identification. 

8. A search of the national crime information center’s 
national sex offender registry. 

9. A search of the following registries, repositories, or 
databases in the state where the caregiver or nonclient 
resident resided for the period starting on the date 5 years 
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prior to the department’s receipt of the background check 
request and ending on the date the department received the 
background check request: 

a. The state criminal registry or repository. 
b. The state sex offender registry or repository. 
c. The state−based child abuse and neglect registry and 

database. 
10. A search of the department’s background check 

records. 
(ar) After receiving a request under par. (a) or (ab), the 

department shall conduct the background check as 
expeditiously as possible and shall make a good faith effort 
to complete all components of the background check no 
later than 45 days after the date on which the request was 
submitted. 

(bb) If information obtained under par. (am) indicates a 
charge of a serious crime, but does not completely and 
clearly indicate the final disposition of the charge, the 
department shall make every reasonable effort to contact 
the clerk of courts to determine the final disposition of the 
charge. If information submitted to the department under 
par. (ag) indicates a charge or a conviction of a serious 
crime, but information obtained under par. (am) does not 
indicate such a charge or conviction, the department shall 
make every reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts 
to obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and the final 
disposition of the complaint. If information obtained under 
par. (am), information submitted under par. (ag), or any 
other information indicates a conviction of a violation of s. 
940.19(1), 940.195, 940.20, 941.30, 942.08, 947.01(1), or 
947.013 obtained not more than 5 years before the date on 
which that information was obtained, the department shall 
make every reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts 
to obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of 
conviction relating to that violation. 

(bd) Notwithstanding par. (am), the department is not 
required to obtain the information specified in par. (am)1. 
to 10., with respect to a household member under 18 years 
of age whose background check request under par. (ag) 
indicates that the household member is not ineligible to be 
permitted to reside at a child care program for a reason 
specified in sub. (4m)(a)1. to 8. and with respect to whom 
the department otherwise has no reason to believe that the 
person is ineligible to be permitted to reside at the child 
care program for any of those reasons. This paragraph does 
not preclude the department from obtaining, at its 
discretion, the information specified in par. (am)1. to 10. 
with respect to a household member described in this 
paragraph. 

(br) The department shall require the person who is the 
subject of a search under par. (am) to be fingerprinted on 2 
fingerprint cards, each bearing a complete set of the 
person’s fingerprints, or by other technologies approved by 
law enforcement agencies, unless the person has previously 
been fingerprinted under this paragraph. 

(3)(am) Every year or at any time that the department 
considers appropriate, the department may request the 
information specified in sub. (2)(am)1. to 5. for all 
caregivers, noncaregiver employees, and household 
members. 

(bm) Annually, by January 1, the department shall 
submit a report to the appropriate standing committees of 

the legislature under s. 13.172(3) describing the report 
prepared under sub. (4p) 

(a) with respect to caregivers specified in sub. (1)(ag)2., 
specifically any information indicating that the caregiver is 
ineligible under sub. (4m)(a) to be licensed, certified, or 
contracted to operate a child care program, and describing 
any action taken in response to the receipt of information 
under sub. (2)(am) indicating that such a caregiver is so 
ineligible. 

(4)(a) A child care program that violates sub. (2), (3), or 
(4m)(a) is subject to a forfeiture of not more than $1,000 
and to other sanctions specified by the department by rule. 

(b) A person who provides false information to the 
department under sub. (2) is subject to a forfeiture of not 
more than $1,000 and to other sanctions specified by the 
department by rule. 

(4m)(a) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, and except as 
provided in par. (ad) and sub. (5), a licensing entity may 
not issue an approval to operate a child care program to a 
person, and a child care program may not employ or 
contract with a caregiver or noncaregiver employee or 
permit a household member to reside at the child care 
program if the licensing entity or child care program knows 
or should have known any of the following: 

1. That the person has been convicted of a serious crime 
or adjudicated delinquent for committing a serious crime or 
that the person is the subject of a pending criminal charge 
or delinquency petition alleging that the person has 
committed a serious crime. 

2. That the person is registered or is required to be 
registered on a state sex offender registry or repository or 
the national sex offender registry. 

3. That a unit of government or a state agency, as 
defined in s. 16.61(2)(d), has made a finding that the person 
has abused or neglected any client or misappropriated the 
property of any client. 

4. That a final determination has been made under s. 
48.981(3)(c)5m. or, if a contested case hearing is held on 
such a determination, a final decision has been made under 
s. 48.981(3)(c)5p. that the person has abused or neglected a 
child. 

5. That the department has determined the person 
ineligible to receive an approval to operate a child care 
program, to be employed by a child care program, or to be 
a household member of a child care program. 

6. That the person has refused to provide information 
under sub. (2)(ag), or that the person refused to participate 
in, cooperate with, or submit required information for the 
background check described in sub. (2)(am), including 
fingerprints. 

7. That the person knowingly made a materially false 
statement in connection with the person’s background 
check described in sub. (2). 

8. That the person knowingly omitted material 
information requested in connection with the person’s 
background check conducted under sub. (2). 

(ad) A licensing entity may issue an approval to operate 
a child care program to a person conditioned on the receipt 
of the information specified in sub. (4p)(a) indicating that 
the person is not ineligible to be so licensed, certified, or 
contracted with for a reason specified in par. (a)1. to 8. 
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(c) A child care program may employ or contract with a 

potential caregiver or noncaregiver employee or permit a 
potential household member to reside at the child care 
program for up to 45 days from the date a background 
check request is submitted to the department pending the 
completion of the department’s report under sub. (4p)(a) if 
the department provides a preliminary report under sub. 
(4p)(c) to the child care program indicating that the 
individual is not ineligible to work or reside at a child care 
program. At all times that clients of a child care program 
are present, an individual who received a qualifying result 
on a background check described in sub. (2)(am) within the 
past 5 years must supervise a potential caregiver, 
noncaregiver employee, or household member permitted to 
work or reside at the child care program under this 
paragraph. 

(4p)(a) The department shall provide the results of the 
background check to the child care program in a written 
report that indicates only that the individual on whom the 
background check was conducted is eligible or ineligible 
for employment or to reside at the child care program, 
without revealing any disqualifying offense or other 
information regarding the individual. 

(b) The department shall provide the results of the 
background check to the individual on whom the 
background check was conducted in a written report that 
indicates whether the individual is eligible or ineligible for 
employment or to reside at the child care program. If the 
individual is ineligible for employment or to reside at the 
child care program, the department’s report shall include 
information on each disqualifying offense and information 
on the right to appeal. 

(c) Before the department completes its report under par. 
(a), a caregiver under sub. (1)(ag)2. may submit a written 
request to the department for a preliminary report 
indicating whether a potential caregiver, noncaregiver 
employee, or household member is eligible to work or 
reside at a child care program under sub. (4m)(c). If the 
department receives such a request, it shall provide a 
written preliminary report to that caregiver indicating 
whether the individual is barred from working or residing 
at a child care program on the basis of a background check 
under sub. (2)(am)1. or 7. If the individual is ineligible to 
work or reside at a child care program based on the results 
of the preliminary report, the department shall also provide 
a preliminary report to the individual containing 
information related to each disqualifying offense. 

(d) The results of a report under par. (c) may not be 
appealed by the individual until receipt of the department’s 
report under par. (b) following completion of all 
components of the background check. 

(4s)(a) An individual who is the subject of the 
department’s report on the results of a background check 
may appeal the department’s decision. Only the person 
who is the subject of the department’s report may appeal 
the department’s decision. Neither the child care program 
nor any other person may appeal the department’s decision. 

(b) An appeal request shall be submitted to the 
department at the address, e−mail address, or fax number 
identified in the statement of appeal rights no later than 10 
days after the date of the department’s decision, unless the 
appellant requests, and the department grants, an extension 

for a specific amount of time prior to expiration of the 10 
day appeal period. Extensions may be granted for good 
cause shown. 

(c) An appeal shall be submitted in the manner and on 
forms prescribed by the department, and must include all of 
the following information: 

1. The information or issue disputed by the individual. 
2. Any information known to the individual, or available 

to the individual through the exercise of reasonable 
diligence, that supports the individual’s position. 

3. The current or last known names, addresses, 
telephone numbers, and electronic mail addresses of any 
persons known or believed to have information relevant to 
determination of the appeal. 

4. Copies of any documents or other materials in the 
possession of the individual, or reasonably available to the 
individual, that support the individual’s position regarding 
the disputed information. 

(e) The department shall attempt to verify the accuracy 
of the information challenged by the appellant, including 
making reasonable good faith efforts to locate any missing 
information regarding the disqualifying crime that is 
relevant to the issue identified for appeal. 

(f) The department shall sustain the results of its 
background check report if supported by a preponderance 
of the available evidence. 

(g) The department shall issue its appeal decision in 
writing. If the results of the original report are sustained 
upon review, the decision shall indicate the department’s 
efforts to verify the accuracy of the information challenged 
by the individual. The decision shall also indicate any 
additional reconsideration and appeal rights available to the 
appellant. 

(h) An appellant under this subsection may seek 
reconsideration of the department’s decision under par. (g) 
by the secretary or the secretary’s designee. 

(i) A request for reconsideration detailing the basis for 
the request must be sent to the secretary at the address, 
e−mail address, or fax number identified in the 
department’s decision no later than 30 days after the date of 
the department’s decision. 

(j) The secretary or secretary’s designee shall issue his 
or her reconsideration decision in writing and shall include 
information about any additional appeal rights available to 
the individual. 

(k) A denial of reconsideration under this subsection is a 
final decision of the department, and the appellant has a 
right to a contested case hearing under ch. 227. 

(L) The appeal and reconsideration process set forth in 
this subsection is the exclusive method for disputing a 
criminal history background report issued by the 
department. The department’s decision may not be 
appealed in a ch. 68 or 227 proceeding challenging the 
denial of a license, certification, or contract to operate a 
child care program based on the department’s criminal 
history background check report or challenging any other 
child care regulatory action taken in reliance upon that 
report. 

(m) Notwithstanding s. 19.35, the department may not 
publicly release or disclose the results of any individual 
background report it issues, except that the department may 
release aggregated data by crime as listed in sub. (1)(c) 
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from background check results so long as the data does not 
contain personally identifiable information. The 
department may disclose and use information obtained in 
conducting background checks as necessary during an 
appeal or reconsideration under this subsection or for 
another lawful purpose. 

(5)(a) A person may have the opportunity to 
demonstrate his or her rehabilitation to the department or to 
a tribe authorized to conduct a rehabilitation review under 
sub. (5d) if any of the following apply: 

1. An investigation under sub. (2)(am) indicates that 
sub. (4m)(a)2., 3., or 4. applies to the person. 

2. An investigation under sub. (2)(am) indicates that the 
person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a 
serious crime as specified under sub. (1)(c)9. or for a 
violation of the law of any other state or United States 
jurisdiction that would be a violation listed in sub. (1)(c)9. 
if committed in this state, and the person completed his or 
her sentence, including any probation, parole, or extended 
supervision, or was discharged by the department of 
corrections, more than 5 years before the date of the 
investigation under sub. (2)(am). 

(b) If the department or tribe determines that the person 
has demonstrated rehabilitation in accordance with 
procedures established by the department by rule or by the 
tribe and by clear and convincing evidence, the prohibition 
in sub. (4m)(a) does not apply. 

(5c) Any person who is permitted but fails under sub. 
(5)(a) to demonstrate to the department that he or she has 
been rehabilitated may appeal to the secretary or his or her 
designee. Any person who is adversely affected by a 
decision of the secretary or his or her designee under this 
paragraph has a right to a contested case hearing under ch. 
227. 

(5d)(a) Any Indian tribe that chooses to conduct 
rehabilitation reviews under sub. (5) shall submit to the 
department a rehabilitation review plan that includes all of 
the following: 

1. The criteria to be used to determine if a person has 
been rehabilitated. 

2. The title of the person or body designated by the 
Indian tribe to whom a request for review must be made. 

3. The title of the person or body designated by the 
Indian tribe to determine whether a person has been 
rehabilitated. 

3m. The title of the person or body, designated by the 
Indian tribe, to whom a person may appeal an adverse 
decision made by the person specified under subd. 3. and 
whether the Indian tribe provides any further rights to 
appeal. 

4. The manner in which the Indian tribe will submit 
information relating to a rehabilitation review to the 
department so that the department may include that 
information in its report to the legislature required under 
sub. (5g). 

5. A copy of the form to be used to request a review and 
a copy of the form on which a written decision is to be 
made regarding whether a person has demonstrated 
rehabilitation. 

(b) If, within 90 days after receiving the plan, the 
department does not disapprove the plan, the plan shall be 

considered approved. If, within 90 days after receiving the 
plan, the department disapproves the plan, the department 
shall provide notice of that disapproval to the Indian tribe 
in writing, together with the reasons for the disapproval. 
The department may not disapprove a plan unless the 
department finds that the plan is not rationally related to the 
protection of clients. If the department disapproves the 
plan, the Indian tribe may, within 30 days after receiving 
notice of the disapproval, request that the secretary review 
the department’s decision. A final decision under this 
paragraph is not subject to further review under ch. 227. 

(5g) On January 1 of each year, the department shall 
submit a report to the legislature under s. 13.172(2) that 
specifies the number of persons in the previous year who 
have requested to demonstrate that they have been 
rehabilitated under sub. (5), the number of persons who 
successfully demonstrated that they have been rehabilitated 
under sub. (5), and the reasons for the success or failure of 
a person who has attempted to demonstrate that he or she 
has been rehabilitated. 

(5m) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, a licensing entity may 
refuse to issue an approval to operate a child care program 
to a person, and a child care program may refuse to employ 
or contract with a caregiver or noncaregiver employee or 
permit a household member to reside at the child care 
program if the person has been convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for an offense that is not a serious crime, but 
that is, in the  stimation of the department, substantially 
related to the care of a client. The department shall notify 
the provider and the individual of the results of a 
substantially related determination pursuant to the process 
set forth in sub. (4p) for background check determinations. 
The individual shall have the same appeal rights as set forth 
in sub. (4s), and the same appeal procedures apply. 

(7) The department shall conduct throughout the state 
periodic training sessions that cover procedures and uses of 
background investigations; reporting and investigating 
misappropriation of property or abuse or neglect of a client; 
and any other material that will better enable entities to 
comply with the requirements of this section. 

(8) The department may promulgate any rules necessary 
for the administration of this section. 

History: 2017 a. 59; 2017 a. 364 s. 49; 2019 a. 9; s. 
35.17 correction in (1)(c)12. In this case, the revocation of 
the petitioner’s license under the caregiver law did not 
violate the petitioner’s due process rights because the state 
provided adequate post−deprivation remedies. Petitioner’s 
equal protection claim failed because the law does pass the 
rational basis test. Regardless of whether the law is 
rationally related to the goal of protecting children, the law 
is rationally related to the legitimate purpose of prohibiting 
individuals who dishonestly benefitted from government 
welfare in the past from obtaining government funding in 
the form of childcare subsidies. Brown v. Department of 
Children and Families, 2012 WI App 61, 341 Wis. 2d 449, 
819 N.W.2d 827, 11−1350. See also Blake v. Jossart, 2016 
WI 57, 370 Wis. 2d 1, 884 N.W.2d 484, 12−2578. 

Jamerson, 2013 WI 7, instructs that prior to establishing 
that a conviction satisfies the requirements of s. 
48.685(5)(br)5. [now sub. (1)(c)8.], evidence must clearly 
show that the conviction was for fraudulent activity. The 
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title of the conviction and an uncorroborated criminal 
complaint presented at the administrative appeal hearing 
were insufficient to meet this standard. Blake v. Racine 
County Human Services Department, 2013 WI App 45, 
347 Wis. 2d 499, 831 N.W.2d 439, 12−0031. 

Note: The above annotations relate to licensure under 
the caregiver law under s. 48.685, stats., prior to the repeal 
of that section and the creation of s. 48.686 by 2017 Wis. 
Act 59. 

48.69 Probationary licenses. [2009] Except as 
provided under s. 48.715(6) and (7), if any child welfare 
agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child care 
center that has not been previously issued a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) applies for a license, meets the minimum 
requirements for a license established under s. 48.67, and 
pays the applicable fee referred to in s. 48.68(1), the 
department shall issue a probationary license to that child 
welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child 
care center. A probationary license is valid for up to 6 
months after the date of issuance unless renewed under this 
section or suspended or revoked under s. 48.715. Before a 
probationary license expires, the department shall inspect 
the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, 
or child care center holding the probationary license and, 
except as provided under s. 48.715(6) and (7), if the child 
welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child 
care center meets the minimum requirements for a license 
established under s. 48.67, the department shall issue a 
license under s. 48.66(1)(a). A probationary license issued 
under this section may be renewed for one 6-month period. 

48.70 Provisions of licenses. [2009]  
(1) GENERAL. Each license shall state the name of the 

person licensed, the premises included under the license, 
the maximum number of children who can be received and 
their age and sex and such additional information and 
special conditions as the department may prescribe. 

48.715 Sanctions and penalties. [2017] 
(1) In this section, “licensee" means a person who holds 

a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license 
under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, shelter 
care facility, group home, or child care center. 

(2) If the department provides written notice of the 
grounds for a sanction, an explanation of the types of 
sanctions that may be imposed under this subsection and an 
explanation of the process for appealing a sanction 
imposed under this subsection, the department may order 
any of the following sanctions: 

(a) That a person stop operating a child welfare agency, 
shelter care facility, group home, or child care center if the 
child welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or 
child care center is without a license in violation of s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license in violation of s. 
48.69. 

(b) That a person who employs a person who has had a 
license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under 
s. 48.69 revoked within the previous 5 years terminate the 
employment of that person within 30 days after the date of 
the order. This paragraph includes employment of a person 
in any capacity, whether as an officer, director, agent or 
employee.  

(c) That a licensee stop violating any provision of 
licensure under s. 48.70(1) or rule promulgated by the 
department under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67. 

(d) That a licensee submit a plan of correction for 
violation of any provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1) or 
rule promulgated by the department under s. 48.658(4)(a) 
or 48.67. 

(e) That a licensee implement and comply with a plan of 
correction provided by the department or previously 
submitted by the licensee and approved by the department.  

(f) That a licensee close the intake of any new children 
until all violations of the provisions of licensure under s. 
48.70(1) and the rules promulgated by the department 
under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67 are corrected. 

(g) That a licensee provide training for the licensee's 
staff members as specified by the department. 

(3) If the department provides written notice of the 
grounds for a penalty, an explanation of the types of 
penalties that may be imposed under this subsection, and 
an explanation of the process for appealing a penalty 
imposed under this subsection, the department may impose 
any of the following penalties against a licensee or any 
other person who violates a provision of licensure under s. 
48.70(1) or rule promulgated by the department under s. 
48.658(4)(a) or 48.67 or who fails to comply with an order 
issued under sub. (2) by the time specified in the order: 

(a) A daily forfeiture amount per violation of not less 
than $10 nor more than $1,000. All of the following apply 
to a forfeiture under this paragraph:  

1. Within the limits specified in this paragraph, the 
department may, by rule, set daily forfeiture amounts and 
payment deadlines based on the size and type of facility or 
agency and the seriousness of the violation. The 
department may set daily forfeiture amounts that increase 
periodically within the statutory limits if there is continued 
failure to comply with an order issued under sub. (2). 

2. The department may directly assess a forfeiture 
imposed under this paragraph by specifying the amount of 
that forfeiture in the notice provided under this subsection.  

3. A person against whom the department has assessed a 
forfeiture shall pay that forfeiture to the department within 
10 days after receipt of notice of the assessment or, if that 
person contests that assessment under s. 48.72, within 10 
days after receipt of the final decision after exhaustion of 
administrative review or, if that person petitions for judicial 
review under ch. 227, within 10 days after receipt of the 
final decision after exhaustion of judicial review. The 
department shall remit all forfeitures paid under this 
subdivision to the secretary of administration for deposit in 
the school fund.  

4. The attorney general may bring an action in the name 
of the state to collect any forfeiture imposed under this 
paragraph that has not been paid as provided in subd. 3. 
The only contestable issue in an action under this 
subdivision is whether or not the forfeiture has been paid.  

(b) Suspension of the licensee's license for not more 
than 2 weeks.  

(c) Refusal to continue a license or a probationary 
license.  

(d) Revocation of a license or a probationary license as 
provided in sub. (4). 
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(4) If the department provides written notice of 

revocation and the grounds for revocation as provided in 
sub. (4m) and an explanation of the process for appealing a 
revocation under this subsection, the department may 
revoke a license issued under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a 
probationary license issued under s. 48.69 for any of the 
following reasons: 

(a) The department has imposed a penalty on the 
licensee under sub. (3) and the licensee or a person under 
the supervision of the licensee either continues to violate or 
resumes violation of a rule promulgated under s. 
48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a provision of licensure under s. 
48.70(1), or an order under this section forming any part of 
the basis for the penalty.  

(b) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the 
licensee has committed a substantial violation, as 
determined by the department, of a rule promulgated under 
s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a provision of licensure under s. 
48.70(1), or an order under this section.  

(c) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the 
licensee has committed an action or has created a condition 
relating to the operation or maintenance of the child 
welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child 
care center that directly threatens the health, safety, or 
welfare of any child under the care of the licensee.  

(d) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the 
licensee has violated, as determined by the department, a 
rule promulgated under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a 
provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1), or an order under 
this section that is the same as or similar to a rule 
promulgated under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a provision of 
licensure under s. 48.70(1), or an order under this section 
that the licensee or a person under the supervision of the 
licensee has violated previously.  

(e) The licensee has failed to apply for a continuance of 
the license within 30 days after receipt of the warning 
under s. 48.66(5). 

(4g)(a) If a person who has been issued a license under 
s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to 
operate a child care center is convicted of a serious crime, 
as defined in s. 48.686(1)(c), if a caregiver specified in s. 
48.686(1)(ag)1. or a nonclient resident, as defined in s. 
48.686(1)(bm), of the child care center is convicted or 
adjudicated delinquent for committing a serious crime on 
or after his or her 10th birthday, or if the results of a 
criminal background check conducted under s. 48.686 
indicate that the person, caregiver, or nonclient resident is 
not eligible to be licensed, certified, or employed or to 
reside at a child care program, the department shall revoke 
the license of the child care center immediately upon 
providing written notice of revocation and the grounds for 
revocation and an explanation of the process for appealing 
the revocation. 

(b) If a person who has been issued a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to 
operate a child care center is the subject of a pending 
criminal charge alleging that the person has committed a 
serious crime, as defined in s. 48.686(1)(c), or if a caregiver 
specified in s. 48.686(1)(ag)1. or a nonclient resident, as 
defined in s. 48.686(1)(bm), of the child care center is the 
subject of a pending criminal charge or delinquency 
petition alleging that the person has committed a serious 

crime on or after his or her 10th birthday, the department 
shall immediately suspend the license of the child care 
center until the department obtains information regarding 
the final disposition of the charge or delinquency petition 
indicating that the person is not ineligible to be licensed to 
operate a child care center. 

(4m)(a) For a revocation under sub. (4)(a) or (d), the 
department shall provide to the licensee written notice of 
the revocation and the grounds for revocation not less than 
30 days before the date of the revocation. The revocation 
will take effect only if the violation on which the 
revocation is based remains substantially uncorrected at the 
end of the 30-day notice period. 

(b) For revocations under sub. (4)(b), (c) or (e), the 
department may revoke the license or probationary license 
immediately upon written notice to the licensee of the 
revocation and the grounds for revocation. 

(5) The department may deny a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to any 
person who has had a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a 
probationary license under s. 48.69 revoked within the 
previous 5 years. 

(6) The department shall deny, suspend, restrict, refuse 
to renew, or otherwise withhold a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to 
operate a child welfare agency, group home, shelter care 
facility, or child care center, and the department of 
corrections shall deny, suspend, restrict, refuse to renew, or 
otherwise withhold a license under s. 48.66(1)(b) to operate 
a secured residential care center for children and youth, for 
failure of the applicant or licensee to pay court-ordered 
payments of child or family support, maintenance, birth 
expenses, medical expenses, or other expenses related to 
the support of a child or former spouse or for failure of the 
applicant or licensee to comply, after appropriate notice, 
with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department or a 
county child support agency under s. 59.53(5) and related 
to paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a 
memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 
49.857. Notwithstanding s. 48.72, an action taken under 
this subsection is subject to review only as provided in the 
memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 
49.857 and not as provided in s. 48.72. 

(7) The department shall deny an application for the 
issuance or continuation of a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or 
a probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child 
welfare agency, group home, shelter care facility, or child 
care center, or revoke such a license already issued, if the 
department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the 
applicant or licensee is liable for delinquent taxes or if the 
department of workforce development certifies under s. 
108.227 that the applicant or licensee is liable for 
delinquent unemployment insurance contributions. An 
action taken under this subsection is subject to review only 
as provided under s. 73.0301(5) or 108.227(5) and not as 
provided in s. 48.72. 

48.72 Appeal procedure. [2005] Except as provided in 
s. 48.715(6) and (7), any person aggrieved by the 
department's refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a 
license or by any action taken by the department under s. 
48.715 has the right to an administrative hearing provided 
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for contested cases in ch. 227. To receive an administrative 
hearing under ch. 227, the aggrieved person shall send to 
the department a written request for a hearing under s. 
227.44 within 10 days after the date of the department's 
refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a license or 
the department's action taken under s. 48.715. The 
department shall hold an administrative hearing under s. 
227.44 within 30 days after receipt of the request for the 
administrative hearing unless the aggrieved person 
consents to an extension of that time period. Judicial 
review of the department's decision may be had by any 
party in the contested case as provided in ch. 227. 

48.73 Inspection of licensees and school district child 
care programs. [2017] The department may visit and 
inspect each child welfare agency, foster home, group 
home, and child care center licensed by the department, 
and for that purpose shall be given unrestricted access to 
the premises described in the license. The department may 
visit and inspect each child care program established or 
contracted for under s. 120.13(14) that receives payment 
under s. 49.155 for the child care provided, and for that 
purpose shall be given unrestricted access to the premises 
used for the child care program. 

48.735 Immunization requirements; child care 
centers. [2009] The department, after notice to a child care 
center licensee, may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue 
a child care center license in any case in which the 
department finds that there has been a substantial failure to 
comply with the requirements of s. 252.04. 

48.737 Lead screening, inspection and reduction 
requirements; child care centers. [2009] The department, 
after notice to a child care provider certified under s. 
48.651, or a child care center that holds a license under s. 
48.65 or a probationary license under s. 48.69, may 
suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew or continue a license or 
certification in any case in which the department finds that 
there has been a substantial failure to comply with any rule 
promulgated under s. 254.162, 254.168, or 254.172. 

48.74 Authority of department to investigate alleged 
violations. [1979] Whenever the department is advised or 
has reason to believe that any person is violating any of the 
provisions of ss. 48.60, 48.62, 48.625 or 48.65, it shall 
make an investigation to determine the facts. For the 
purposes of this investigation, it shall have authority to 
inspect the premises where the violation is alleged to occur. 
If it finds that the person is violating any of the specified 
sections, it may either issue a license if the person is 
qualified or may institute a prosecution under s. 48.76. 

48.76 Penalties. [1993] In addition to the sanctions and 
penalties provided in s. 48.715, any person who violates s. 
48.60, 48.62, 48.625, 48.63 or 48.65 may be fined not 
more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than one year 
in county jail or both. 

48.77 Injunction against violations. [1979] In addition 
to the penalties provided in s. 48.76, the circuit courts shall have 
jurisdiction to prevent and restrain by injunction violations of s. 
48.60, 48.62, 48.625, 48.63 or 48.65. It shall be the duty of the 
district attorneys, upon request of the department, to institute 
action for such injunction under ch. 813. 

48.78 Confidentiality of records. [2017] 
(1) Definition. In this section, unless otherwise qualified, 

“agency" means the department, a county department, a 
licensed child welfare agency, or a licensed child care 
center.  

(2) Confidentiality; exceptions.  
(a) No agency may make available for inspection or 

disclose the contents of any record kept or information 
received about an individual who is or was in its care or 
legal custody, except as provided under sub. (2m) or s. 
48.371, 48.38(5)(b) or (d) or (5m)(d), 48.396(3)(bm) or 
(c)1r., 48.432, 48.433, 48.48(17)(bm), 48.57(2m), 
48.66(6), 48.93, 48.981(7), 938.396(2m)(c)1r., 938.51, or 
938.78 or by order of the court.  

(ag) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
making available for inspection or disclosing the contents 
of a record, upon the request of the parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian of the child who is the subject of the record 
or upon the request of the child, if 14 years of age or over, 
to the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or child, unless the 
agency determines that inspection of the record by the 
child, parent, guardian, or legal custodian would result in 
imminent danger to anyone.  

(aj) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
making available for inspection or disclosing the contents 
of a record, upon the request of a parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian of a child expectant mother of an unborn child 
who is the subject of the record, upon the request of an 
expectant mother of an unborn child who is the subject of 
the record, if 14 years of age or over, or upon the request of 
an unborn child's guardian ad litem, to the parent, guardian, 
legal custodian, expectant mother, or unborn child's 
guardian ad litem, unless the agency determines that 
inspection of the record by the parent, guardian, legal 
custodian, expectant mother, or unborn child's guardian ad 
litem would result in imminent danger to anyone.  

(am) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
making available for inspection or disclosing the contents 
of a record, upon the written permission of the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian of the child who is the subject 
of the record or upon the written permission of the child, if 
14 years of age or over, to the person named in the 
permission if the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or child 
specifically identifies the record in the written permission, 
unless the agency determines that inspection of the record 
by the person named in the permission would result in 
imminent danger to anyone.  

(ap) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
making available for inspection or disclosing the contents 
of a record, upon the written permission of the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian of a child expectant mother of 
an unborn child who is the subject of the record, or of an 
expectant mother of an unborn child who is the subject of 
the record, if 14 years of age or over, and of the unborn 
child's guardian ad litem, to the person named in the 
permission if the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or 
expectant mother, and unborn child's guardian ad litem, 
specifically identify the record in the written permission, 
unless the agency determines that inspection of the record 
by the person named in the permission would result in 
imminent danger to anyone.  
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(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the confidential 

exchange of information between an agency and another 
social welfare agency, a law enforcement agency, a health 
care provider, as defined in s. 146.81(1)(a) to (p), a public 
school, or a private school regarding an individual in the 
care or legal custody of the agency. A social welfare 
agency that obtains information under this paragraph shall 
keep the information confidential as required under this 
section and s. 938.78. A law enforcement agency that 
obtains information under this paragraph shall keep the 
information confidential as required under ss. 48.396(1) 
and 938.396(1)(a). A health care provider that obtains 
information under this paragraph shall keep the information 
confidential as provided under s. 146.82. A public school 
that obtains information under this paragraph shall keep the 
information confidential as required under s. 118.125, and 
a private school that obtains information under this 
paragraph shall keep the information confidential in the 
same manner as is required of a public school under s. 
118.125. Paragraph (a) does not apply to the confidential 
exchange of information between an agency and officials 
of a tribal school regarding an individual in the care or legal 
custody of the agency if the agency determines that 
enforceable protections are provided by a tribal school 
policy or tribal law that requires tribal school officials to 
keep the information confidential in a manner at least as 
stringent as is required of a public school official under s. 
118.125.  

(c) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department or a 
county department from using in the media a picture or 
description of a child in the guardianship of the department 
or a county department for the purpose of finding adoptive 
parents for that child.  

(d) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department of 
health services or a county department from disclosing 
information about an individual formerly in the legal 
custody or under the supervision of that department under 
s. 48.34(4m), 1993 stats., or formerly under the supervision 
of that department or county department under s. 
48.34(4n), 1993 stats., to the department of corrections, if 
the individual is at the time of disclosure any of the 
following:  

1. The subject of a presentence investigation under s. 
972.15. 

2. Under sentence to the Wisconsin state prisons under 
s. 973.15. 

4. On probation to the department of corrections under s. 
973.09. 

5. On parole under s. 302.11 or ch. 304 or on extended 
supervision under s. 302.113 or 302.114. 

(e) Notwithstanding par. (a), an agency shall, upon 
request, disclose information to authorized representatives 
of the department of corrections, the department of health 
services, the department of justice, or a district attorney for 
use in the prosecution of any proceeding or any evaluation 
conducted under ch. 980, if the information involves or 
relates to an individual who is the subject of the proceeding 
or evaluation. The court in which the proceeding under ch. 
980 is pending may issue any protective orders that it 
determines are appropriate concerning information made 
available or disclosed under this paragraph. Any 
representative of the department of corrections, the 

department of health services, the department of justice, or 
a district attorney may disclose information obtained under 
this paragraph for any purpose consistent with any 
proceeding under ch. 980. 

(g) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information about an individual in its care or 
legal custody on the written request of the department of 
safety and professional services or of any interested 
examining board or affiliated credentialing board in that 
department for use in any investigation or proceeding 
relating to any alleged misconduct by any person who is 
credentialed or who is seeking credentialing under ch. 448, 
455 or 457. Unless authorized by an order of the court, the 
department of safety and professional services and any 
examining board or affiliated credentialing board in that 
department shall keep confidential any information 
obtained under this paragraph and may not disclose the 
name of or any other identifying information about the 
individual who is the subject of the information disclosed, 
except to the extent that redisclosure of that information is 
necessary for the conduct of the investigation or proceeding 
for which that information was obtained.  

(h) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department, a 
county department, or a licensed child welfare agency from 
entering the content of any record kept or information 
received by the department, county department, or licensed 
child welfare agency into the statewide automated child 
welfare information system established under s. 48.47(7g) 
or the department from transferring any information 
maintained in that system to the court under s. 
48.396(3)(bm). If the department transfers that information 
to the court, the court and the director of state courts may 
allow access to that information as provided in s. 
48.396(3)(c)2. 

(i) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information to a relative of a child placed 
outside of his or her home only to the extent necessary to 
facilitate the establishment of a relationship between the 
child and the relative or a placement of the child with the 
relative or from disclosing information under s. 
48.21(5)(e), 48.355(2)(cm), or 48.357(2v)(d). In this 
paragraph, “relative" includes a relative whose relationship 
is derived through a parent of the child whose parental 
rights are terminated.  

(j) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information to any public or private agency in 
this state or any other state that is investigating a person for 
purposes of licensing the person to operate a foster home or 
placing a child for adoption in the home of the person.  

(k) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department of 
children and families from providing to the department of 
revenue, upon request, information concerning a recipient 
of payments under s. 48.57(3m) or (3n) or aid under s. 
48.645, including information contained in the electronic 
records of the department of children and families, solely 
for the purposes of administering state taxes, including 
verifying a claim for a state tax refund or a refundable state 
tax credit, and collecting debts owed to the department of 
revenue. Any information obtained by the department of 
revenue under this paragraph is subject to the 
confidentiality provisions specified in s. 71.78.  
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(L)1. In this paragraph, “ qualified independent 

researcher" means a faculty member of a university who 
satisfies all of the following:  

a. The faculty member has an approved protocol from 
an institutional review board for human subjects research to 
work with data containing personal information for the 
purposes of evaluating the program under s. 119.23. 

b. The faculty member has received from the state and 
properly managed data containing personal information for 
the purposes of evaluating the program under s. 119.23 
before July 14, 2015.  

2. Notwithstanding par. (a), the department shall permit 
a qualified independent researcher to have access to any 
database maintained by the department for the purpose of 
cross-matching information contained in any such database 
with a database that both is in the possession of the 
qualified independent researcher and contains information 
regarding pupils participating in the program under s. 
119.23. The department may charge a fee to the qualified 
independent researcher for the information that does not 
exceed the cost incurred by the department to provide the 
information.  

48.981 Abused or neglected children and abused 
unborn children. [2017] 

(2) PERSONS REQUIRED TO REPORT. 
(a) Any of the following persons who has reasonable 

cause to suspect that a child seen by the person in the 
course of professional duties has been abused or neglected 
or who has reason to believe that a child seen by the person 
in the course of professional duties has been threatened 
with abuse or neglect and that abuse or neglect of the child 
will occur shall, except as provided under subs. (2m) and 
(2r), report as provided in sub. (3): 

1. A physician.  
2. A coroner.  
3. A medical examiner.  
4. A nurse.  
5. A dentist.  
6. A chiropractor.  
7. An optometrist.  
8. An acupuncturist.  
9. A medical or mental health professional not otherwise 

specified in this paragraph.  
10. A social worker.  
11. A marriage and family therapist.  
12. A professional counselor.  
13. A public assistance worker, including a financial and 

employment planner, as defined in s. 49.141(1)(d). 
14. A school teacher.  
15. A school administrator  
16. A school counselor.  
16m. A school employee not otherwise specified in this 

paragraph.  
17. A mediator under s. 767.405. 
18. A child care worker in a child care center, group 

home, or residential care center for children and youth.  
19. A child care provider.  
20. An alcohol or other drug abuse counselor.  
21. A member of the treatment staff employed by or 

working under contract with a county department under s. 
46.23, 51.42, or 51.437 or a residential care center for 

children and youth. 
22. A physical therapist.  
22m. A physical therapist assistant.  
23. An occupational therapist.  
24. A dietitian.  
25. A speech-language pathologist.  
26. An audiologist.  
27. An emergency medical services practitioner.  
28. An emergency medical responder, as defined in s. 

256.01(4p). 
29. A police or law enforcement officer.  
30. A juvenile correctional officer. 
(e) No person making a report under this subsection in 

good faith may be discharged from employment, 
disciplined or otherwise discriminated against in regard to 
employment, or threatened with any such treatment for so 
doing. 

(3) REPORTS; INVESTIGATION. 
(a) Referral of report. 
1. A person required to report under sub. (2) shall 

immediately inform, by telephone or personally, the county 
department or, in a county having a population of 750,000 
or more, the department or a licensed child welfare agency 
under contract with the department or the sheriff or city, 
village, or town police department of the facts and 
circumstances contributing to a suspicion of child abuse or 
neglect or of unborn child abuse or to a belief that abuse or 
neglect will occur. 

(4) IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY. Any person or 
institution participating in good faith in the making of a 
report, conducting an investigation, ordering or taking of 
photographs or ordering or performing medical 
examinations of a child or of an expectant mother under 
this section shall have immunity from any liability, civil or 
criminal, that results by reason of the action. For the 
purpose of any proceeding, civil or criminal, the good faith 
of any person reporting under this section shall be 
presumed. The immunity provided under this subsection 
does not apply to liability for abusing or neglecting a child 
or for abusing an unborn child. 

(6) PENALTY. Whoever intentionally violates this 
section by failure to report as required may be fined not 
more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or 
both. 

66.1017 Family child care homes. [2009] 
(1) In this section: 
(a) "Family child care home" means a dwelling licensed 

as a child care center by the department of children and 
families under s. 48.65 where care is provided for not more 
than 8 children. 

(b) "Municipality" means a county, city, village or town. 
(2) No municipality may prevent a family child care 

home from being located in a zoned district in which a 
single-family residence is a permitted use. No municipality 
may establish standards or requirements for family child 
care homes that are different from the licensing standards 
established under s. 48.65. This subsection does not 
prevent a municipality from applying to a family child care 
home the zoning regulations applicable to other dwellings 
in the zoning district in which it is located. 
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73.0301 License denial, nonrenewal, discontinuation, 

suspension and revocation based on tax delinquency. 
[2017] 

(2) DUTIES AND POWERS OF LICENSING 
DEPARTMENTS.  

(a) Each licensing department and the supreme court, if 
the supreme court agrees, shall enter into a memorandum 
of understanding with the department of revenue under 
sub. (4)(a) that requires the licensing department or 
supreme court to do all of the following:  

1. Request the department of revenue to certify whether 
an applicant for a license or license renewal or continuation 
is liable for delinquent taxes. With respect to an applicant 
for a license granted by a credentialing board, the 
department of safety and professional services shall make a 
request under this subdivision. This subdivision does not 
apply to the department of transportation with respect to 
licenses described in sub. (1)(d)7. 

2. Request the department of revenue to certify whether 
a license holder is liable for delinquent taxes. With respect 
to a holder of a license granted by a credentialing board, the 
department of safety and professional services shall make a 
request under this subdivision.  

(b) Each licensing department and the supreme court, if 
the supreme court agrees, shall do all of the following:  

1. a. If, after a request is made under par. (a)1. or 2., the 
department of revenue certifies that the license holder or 
applicant for a license or license renewal or continuation is 
liable for delinquent taxes, revoke the license or deny the 
application for the license or license renewal or 
continuation. The department of transportation may 
suspend licenses described in sub. (1)(d)7. in lieu of 
revoking those licenses. A suspension, revocation or denial 
under this subd. 1. a. is not subject to administrative review 
or, except as provided in subd. 2. and sub. (5)(am), judicial 
review. With respect to a license granted by a credentialing 
board, the department of safety and professional services 
shall make a revocation or denial under this subd. 1. a. 
With respect to a license to practice law, the department of 
revenue shall not submit a certification under this subd. 1. 
a. to the supreme court until after the license holder or 
applicant has exhausted his or her remedies under sub. 
(5)(a) and (am) or has failed to make use of such remedies.  

b. Send a notice of suspension, revocation, or denial 
under subd. 1. a. to the license holder or applicant. The 
notice shall include a statement of the facts that warrant the 
suspension, revocation, or denial and a statement that the 
license holder or applicant may, within 30 days after the 
date on which the notice of denial, suspension, or 
revocation is sent, file a written request with the department 
of revenue to have the certification of tax delinquency on 
which the suspension, revocation, or denial is based 
reviewed at a hearing under sub. (5)(a). With respect to a 
license granted by a credentialing board, the department of 
safety and professional services shall send a notice under 
this subd. 1. b. With respect to a license to practice law, the 
department of revenue shall send a notice under this subd. 
1. b., and the notice shall indicate that the license holder or 
applicant may request a hearing under sub. (5)(a) and (am) 
and that the department of revenue shall submit a certificate 
of delinquency to suspend, revoke, or deny a license to 
practice law to the supreme court after the license holder or 

applicant has exhausted his or her remedies under sub. 
(5)(a) and (am) or has failed to make use of such remedies. 
A notice sent to a person who holds a license to practice 
law or who is an applicant for a license to practice law shall 
also indicate that the department of revenue may not 
submit a certificate of delinquency to the supreme court if 
the license holder or applicant pays the delinquent tax in 
full or enters into an agreement with the department of 
revenue to satisfy the delinquency.  

2. Except as provided in subd. 2m., if notified by the 
department of revenue that the department of revenue has 
affirmed a certification of tax delinquency after a hearing 
under sub. (5)(a), affirm a suspension, revocation or denial 
under subd. 1. a. A license holder or applicant may seek 
judicial review under ss. 227.52 to 227.60, except that the 
review shall be in the circuit court for Dane County, of an 
affirmation of a revocation or denial under this subdivision. 
With respect to a license granted by a credentialing board, 
the department of safety and professional services shall 
make an affirmation under this subdivision.  

2m. With respect to a license to practice law, if notified 
by the department of revenue that the department of 
revenue has affirmed a certification of tax delinquency 
after any requested review under sub. (5)(a) and (am), 
decide whether to suspend, revoke, or deny a license to 
practice law.  

3. If a person submits a nondelinquency certificate 
issued under sub. (5)(b)1., reinstate the license or grant the 
application for the license or license renewal or 
continuation, unless there are other grounds for suspending 
or revoking the license or for denying the application for 
the license or license renewal or continuation. If 
reinstatement is required under this subdivision, a person is 
not required to submit a new application or other material 
or to take a new test. No separate fee may be charged for 
reinstatement of a license under this subdivision. With 
respect to a license granted by a credentialing board, the 
department of safety and professional services shall 
reinstate a license or grant an application under this 
subdivision.  

4. If a person whose license has been suspended or 
revoked or whose application for a license or license 
renewal or continuation has been denied under subd. 1. a. 
submits a nondelinquency certificate issued under sub. 
(3)(a)2., reinstate the license or grant the person's 
application for the license or license renewal or 
continuation, unless there are other grounds for not 
reinstating the license or for denying the application for the 
license or license renewal or continuation. With respect to a 
license granted by a credentialing board, the department of 
safety and professional services shall reinstate a license or 
grant an application under this subdivision.  

(c)1. Each licensing department and the supreme court 
may require a holder of a license to provide the following 
information upon request:  

a. If the license holder is an individual and has a social 
security number, the license holder's social security 
number.  

am. If the applicant is an individual and does not have a 
social security number, a statement made or subscribed 
under oath or affirmation that the applicant does not have a 
social security number. The form of the statement shall be 
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prescribed by the department of children and families. A 
license issued in reliance upon a false statement submitted 
under this subd. 1. am. is invalid. 

b. If the license holder is not an individual, the license 
holder's federal employer identification number.  

2. A licensing department may not disclose any 
information received under subd. 1. a. or b. to any person 
except to the department of revenue for the purpose of 
requesting certifications under par. (a)1. or 2. in accordance 
with the memorandum of understanding under sub. (4) and 
administering state taxes, to the department of workforce 
development for the purpose of requesting certifications 
under s. 108.227(2)(a)1. or 2. in accordance with the 
memorandum of understanding under s. 108.227(4) and 
administering the unemployment insurance program, and 
to the department of children and families for the purpose 
of administering s. 49.22. 

(5) HEARING. 
(a) The department of revenue shall conduct a hearing 

requested by a license holder or applicant for a license or 
license renewal or continuation under sub. (2)(b)1 b. or by 
an applicant for certification or recertification or a 
certificate holder under s. 73.03(50) or 73.09(7m)(b) to 
review a certification or determination of tax delinquency 
that is the basis of a denial or revocation of a license in 
accordance with this section or of a certificate, certification 
or recertification under s. 73.03(50) or 73.09(7m). A 
hearing under this paragraph is limited to questions of 
mistaken identity of the license or certificate holder or 
applicant and of prior payment of the delinquent taxes for 
which the department of revenue certified or determined 
the license or certificate holder or applicant is liable. At a 
hearing under this paragraph, any statement filed by the 
department of revenue, the licensing department or the 
supreme court, if the supreme court agrees, may be 
admitted into evidence and is prima facie evidence of the 
facts that it contains. Notwithstanding ch. 227, a person 
entitled to a hearing under this paragraph is not entitled to 
any other notice, hearing or review, except as provided in 
par. (am) and sub. (2)(b)2. 

(am) If a person who holds a license to practice law or 
who is an applicant for a license to practice law receives a 
hearing under par. (a) to review a certification or 
determination of tax delinquency that is the basis for a 
denial, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
law and such certification or determination is affirmed as a 
result of the hearing under par. (a), the person may seek 
judicial review of the certification or determination of tax 
delinquency under ss. 227.52 to 227.60, except that the 
review shall be in the circuit court for Dane County.  

(b) After a hearing conducted under par. (a) or, in the 
case of a determination related to a license to practice law, 
after a hearing under par. (a) or, if the hearing is appealed, 
after judicial review under par. (am), the department of 
revenue shall do one of the following:  

1. Issue a nondelinquency certificate to a license holder 
or an applicant for a license or license renewal or 
continuation if the department determines that the license 
holder or applicant is not liable for delinquent taxes. For a 
hearing requested by an applicant for certification or 
recertification or a certificate holder under s. 73.03(50) or 
73.09(7m)(b), the department shall grant a certification or 

recertification or reinstate a certification if the department 
determines that the applicant or certificate holder is not 
liable for delinquent taxes, unless there are other grounds 
for denying the application or revoking the certification.  

2. Provide notice that the department of revenue has 
affirmed its certification of tax delinquency to a license 
holder; to an applicant for a license, a license renewal or a 
license continuation; and to the licensing department or the 
supreme court, if the supreme court agrees. For a hearing 
requested by an applicant for certification or recertification 
or a certificate holder under s. 73.03(50), or 73.09(7m)(b), 
the department of revenue shall provide notice to the 
applicant or certificate holder that the department of 
revenue has affirmed its determination of tax delinquency. 

101.123 Smoking prohibited. [2019] 
(2) PROHIBITION AGAINST SMOKING. 
(a) Except as provided in sub. (3), no person may smoke 

in any of the following enclosed places: 
1r. Child care centers. 
8d. Common areas of multiple-unit residential 

properties. 
(d) No person may smoke at any of the following 

outdoor locations: 
2. Anywhere on the premises of a child care center 

when children who are receiving child care services are 
present. 

(8) PENALTIES. 
(d) Except as provided in par. (dm) or (em), any person 

in charge who violates sub. (2m)(b) to (d) shall be subject 
to a forfeiture of $100 for each violation. 

347.48 Safety belts and child safety restraint systems. 
[2011] 

(4) CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINT SYSTEMS 
REQUIRED; STANDARDS; EXEMPTIONS. 

(ag) In this subsection: 
1. "Child booster seat" means a child passenger restraint 

system that meets the applicable federal standards under 49 
CFR 571.213 and is designed to elevate a child from a 
vehicle seat to allow the vehicle's safety belt to be properly 
positioned over the child's body. 

2. "Designated seating position" has the meaning given 
in 49 CFR 571.3. 

3. "Properly restrained" means any of the following: 
a. With respect to par. (as)1. and 2., fastened in a manner 

prescribed by the manufacturer of the child safety restraint 
system which permits the system to act as a body restraint 
but does not include a system in which the only body 
restraint is a safety belt of the type required under sub. (1). 

b. With respect to par. (as)3., wearing a safety belt 
consisting of a combination lap belt and shoulder harness 
approved by the department under sub. (2) and fastened in 
a manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the safety belt 
so that the safety belt properly fits across the child's lap and 
the center of the child's chest in a manner appropriate to the 
child's height, weight, and age that permits the safety belt to 
act as a body restraint. 

c. With respect to par. (as)4., fastened in a manner 
prescribed by the manufacturer of the system which 
permits the system to act as a body restraint. 
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(am) No person may transport a child under the age of 8 

in a motor vehicle unless the child is restrained in 
compliance with par. (as) in a safety restraint system that is 
appropriate to the child's age and size and that meets the 
standards established by the department under this 
paragraph. The department shall, by rule, establish 
standards in compliance with applicable federal standards, 
including standards under 49 CFR 571.213, for child safety 
restraint systems. 

(as) A child under the age of 8 years who is being 
transported in a motor vehicle shall be restrained as 
follows: 

1. If the child is less than one year old or weighs less 
than 20 pounds, the child shall be properly restrained in a 
rear-facing child safety restraint system, positioned at a 
designated seating position in a back passenger seat of the 
vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with a back passenger 
seat. 

2. Subject to subd. 1., if the child is at least one year old 
and weighs at least 20 pounds but is less than 4 years old or 
weighs less than 40 pounds, the child shall be properly 
restrained as provided in subd. 1. or properly restrained in a 
forward-facing child safety restraint system, positioned at a 
designated seating position in a back passenger seat of the 
vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with a back passenger 
seat. 

3. Subject to subds. 1. and 2., if the child is at least 4 
years old but less than 8 years old, weighs at least 40 
pounds but not more than 80 pounds, and is not more than 
57 inches in height, the child shall be properly restrained as 
provided in subd. 2. or properly restrained in a child 
booster seat. 

4. Subject to subds. 1. to 3., if the child is less than 8 
years old, the child shall be properly restrained as provided 
in subds. 1. to 3. or properly restrained in a safety belt 
approved by the department under sub. (2). 

(b) The department may, by rule, exempt from the 
requirements under pars. (am) and (as) any child who 
because of a physical or medical condition or body size 
cannot be placed in a child safety restraint system, child 
booster seat, or safety belt. 

(c) This subsection does not apply if the motor vehicle is 
a motor bus, school bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle or is 
not required to be equipped with safety belts under sub. (1) 
or 49 CFR 571. 

(d) Evidence of compliance or failure to comply with 
pars. (am) and (as) is admissible in any civil action for 
personal injuries or property damage resulting from the use 
or operation of a motor vehicle but failure to comply with 
pars. (am) and (as) does not by itself constitute negligence. 

948.53 Child unattended in child care vehicle. [2009] 
(1) DEFINITIONS.  In this section: 
(a) "Child care provider" means a child care center that 

is licensed under s. 48.65(1), a child care provider that is 
certified under s. 48.651, or a child care program that is 
established or contracted for under s. 120.13(14). 

(b) "Child care vehicle" means a vehicle that is owned 
or leased by a child care provider or a contractor of a child 
care provider and that is used to transport children to and 
from the child care provider. 

(2) NO CHILD LEFT UNATTENDED. 
(a) No person responsible for a child's welfare while the 

child is being transported in a child care vehicle may leave 
the child unattended at any time from the time the child is 
placed in the care of that person to the time the child is 
placed in the care of another person responsible for the 
child's welfare. 

(b) Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of one of 
the following: 

1. A Class A misdemeanor. 
2. A Class I felony if bodily harm is a consequence. 
3. A Class H felony if great bodily harm is a 

consequence. 
4. A Class G felony if death is a consequence. 
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APPENDIX C 
DCF 13 BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR CHILD CARE PROGRAMS 

 
DCF 13.01 Purpose and scope 
DCF 13.02 Definitions 
DCF 13.03 Background check request 
DCF 13.04 Obtaining armed forces information 
DCF 13.05 Determining whether other offenses are 

substantially related 
DCF 13.06 Background check eligibility 
DCF 13.07 Reporting requirements 
DCF 13.08 Sanctions 
DCF 13.09 Appeal of background check determinations 
 

DCF 13.10 Rehabilitation reviews by agency 
DCF 13.11 Eligibility for rehabilitation review 
DCF 13.12 Applying for rehabilitation review 
DCF 13.13 Agency rehabilitation review process 
DCF 13.14 Appealing a rehabilitation review panel’s 

denial 
DCF 13.15 Compliance with rehabilitation approval; 

withdrawal 
DCF 13.16 Permissive acceptance of a rehabilitation 

approval 
DCF 13.17 Fees 
 

DCF 13.01 Purpose and scope. This chapter is 
promulgated under the authority of ss. 48.67 (intro.), 
48.686, and 227.11(2)(a), Stats., to specify procedures 
necessary to implement background checks required under 
s. 48.686, Stats., for caregivers, noncaregiver employees, 
and household members at a child care program. 

Note: For further information on the scope of the child 
care background check, see s. DCF 13.02 for definitions of 
terms used in this section. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.02 Definitions. In this chapter: 

(1) “Agency” means the department, a certification 
agency, or a school board that establishes or contracts for a 
child care program under s. 120.13 (14), Stats. 

(2) “Background check request form” means a form 
prescribed by the department on which a person completes 
required information for purposes of the child care 
background check. 

Note: DCF−F−5296−E, Background Check Request 
Form, is available electronically through the Child Care 
Provider Portal and on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms. 

(3) “Bar” means any of the following: 
(a) A barrier to a person’s eligibility for regulatory 

approval, employment, or contract as a caregiver. 
(b) A barrier to a person’s nonclient residency at a child 

care program. 
(c) A barrier to a person’s eligibility for employment or 

contract as a noncaregiver employee. 
(4) “Caregiver” means any of the following: 
(a) An employee or contractor of a child care program 

who is involved in the care or supervision of clients. 
(b) A person who has direct contact with clients of a 

child care program or has unsupervised access to clients of 
a child care program, including student teachers, household 
members age 10 and older, and volunteers counted for the 
purpose of meeting the required staff−to−child ratios. 

(c) A person who has, or is seeking, a license, 
certification, or contract to operate a child care program. 

(5) “Certification agency” means the department in a 
county having a population of 750,000 or more or a county 
department, person, or tribe that has a contract with the 
department to certify child care providers under s. 
48.651(2), Stats., in a particular county or tribal area. 

(6) “Child care background check” means the 
requirements in s. 48.686, Stats., and this chapter. 

(7) “Child care program” means any of the following: 
(a) A child care center that is licensed under s. 48.65, 

Stats. 
(b) A child care provider that is certified under s. 

48.651, Stats. 
(c) A child care program established or contracted for 

under s. 120.13 (14), Stats. 
(d) A temporary employment agency that provides 

caregivers or noncaregiver employees to another child care 
program. 

(8) “Client” means a person who receives direct care 
from a child care program, from an entity, as defined in s. 
DCF 12.02 (14), or from a caregiver specified in s. 48.685 
(1) (ag) 1. am., Stats., including all of the following: 

(a) An adopted child for whom adoption assistance 
payments are being made under s. 48.975, Stats. 

(b) A child for whom subsidized guardianship 
payments are being made under s. 48.623, Stats. 

(c) A person who is 18 to 21 years old, is receiving 
independent living services under 42 USC 677 (a) from an 
agency, is no longer placed in out−of−home care, and is 
residing in the foster home in which he or she was 
previously placed. 

(9) “Contractor” means, with respect to a child care 
program, a person who provides services to the child care 
program under an express or implied contract or 
subcontract, or that person’s agent. 

(10) “County department” means a county department 
of social services established under s. 46.22, Stats., or a 
county department of human services established under s. 
46.23, Stats. 

(11) “Department” means the department of children 
and families. 

(12) “Direct contact” means face−to−face physical 
proximity to a client that affords the opportunity to commit 
abuse or neglect of a client or to misappropriate the 
property of a client. 
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(13) “Division of hearings and appeals” means the 
division of hearings and appeals within the department of 
administration. 

(14) “Final substantiated finding” means all of the 
following: 

(a) A final determination made after January 1, 2015, 
that a person has abused or neglected a child under s. 
48.981 (3) (c) 5m., Stats., and s. DCF 40.04 if the final 
determination has not been reversed or modified on appeal. 

(b) A determination made before January 1, 2015, that 
a person has abused or neglected a child under s. 48.981 (3) 
(c) 4., 2011 Stats., if the determination has not been 
reversed or modified on appeal. 

Note: The date in a statutory citation means that was the 
last edition of the statutes in which that provision appears. 

(15) “Household member” means a person who is age 
10 or older, who resides, or is expected to reside, at a child 
care program, and who is not a client of the child care 
program or caregiver. 

(15m) “Noncaregiver employee” means a person who 
provides services to a child care program as an employee 
or a contractor and is not a caregiver, but whose work at the 
child care program provides the ability to move freely 
throughout the premises and opportunities for interactions 
with clients of the child care program. 

(16) “Regulatory approval” means any of the following: 
(a) Issuance, continuation, or renewal of a license by 

the department under s. 48.66, Stats. 
(b) Issuance or renewal of certification by a 

certification agency under s. 48.651, Stats. 
(c) Approval of the person subject to the child care 

background check for a child care program to be 
established or contracted for by a school board under s. 
120.13 (14), Stats. 

(17) “Rehabilitation review” means an agency process in 
s. 48.686 (5), Stats., under which an eligible person who 
has a bar may seek approval for any of the following: 

(a) Regulatory approval. 
(b) Employment or contract with a child care program 

to be a caregiver or noncaregiver employee. 
(c) Residency at a child care program. 
(18) “Reside” means to be present at a child care 

program for more than an aggregate of 14 calendar days 
within a 90−day period. “Reside” does not include 
incidental presence that does not afford unrestricted access 
to the premises or to children in care. 

(19) “Role” means a person’s job as a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee or a person’s status as a household 
member at a child care program. 

(20) “School board” means the board that has the 
powers specified in s. 120.13, Stats., for the schools of a 
school district. 

(21) “Serious crime” has the meaning given in s. 48.686 
(1) (c), Stats. 

Note: A table that lists the child care serious crimes is 
available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/5206.pdf. 

(22) “Tribe” means a federally recognized American 
Indian tribe or band in Wisconsin. 

(23) “Volunteer” means a person who is not 
compensated, but agrees to give time, with or without 

reimbursement for expenses, to transport or to work with 
children in a child care program. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
correction in (7) (a), (8) (intro.) made under s. 35.17, Stats., 
Register March 2020 No. 771; CR 20−003: cr. (3) (c), r. 
and recr. (4) (a), am. (4) (b), (7) (d), (15), cr. (15m), am. 
(17) (b), (19) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.03 Background check request. 

(1) REQUIRED FORMS AND FEES. A background 
check request shall include a completed background check 
request form, armed forces records under s. DCF 13.04, 
release forms, child care background check fees, and any 
additional information that the department determines is 
necessary to obtain the records required under s. 48.686 (2) 
(am), Stats. 

(2) FINGERPRINT SEARCHES. (a) Prior to working 
as a caregiver or noncaregiver employee or residing in a 
child care program, the subject of the background check 
shall submit fingerprints in a manner directed by the 
department. 
(b) Every 5 years or as otherwise requested by the 
department, caregivers, noncaregiver employees, and 
household members shall resubmit fingerprints in a manner 
directed by the department and the information specified 
under sub. (1). 

Note: DCF−F−5296−E, Background Check Request 
Form, is available electronically through the Child Care 
Provider Portal and on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (2) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 
8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.04 Obtaining armed forces information. 

(1) If a person who is the subject of a background 
check served in a branch of the U.S. armed forces within 
the previous 3 years, including any reserve component, the 
department shall make every reasonable effort to obtain the 
discharge status of that person, either from the discharge 
papers issued to the person or from the armed forces 
branch in which the person served. The department shall 
document the efforts made to obtain the discharge status of 
the person. 

(2) If the discharge status of the person described in 
sub. (1) is other than honorable, the department shall make 
every reasonable effort to obtain information on the nature 
and circumstances of the discharge. 

Note: The information from the armed forces may 
include military court findings or information relevant to 
making a background check determination. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.05 Determining whether other offenses are 
substantially related.  

(1) CAREGIVERS, NONCAREGIVER 
EMPLOYEES, AND HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS. To 
determine whether a caregiver’s, noncaregiver employee’s, 
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or household member’s conviction or delinquency 
adjudication for an offense that is not a serious crime is 
substantially related to the care of a child or the activities of 
a child care program, the department shall consider all of 
the following: 

(a) In relation to the person’s role at the child care 
program, all of the following: 

1. The nature and scope of the person’s contact with 
clients. 

2. The scope of the discretionary authority and 
independent judgment the person has to make decisions or 
take actions that affect the care of clients. 

3. The opportunity the role at the child care program 
presents for committing similar crimes. 

4. The extent to which acceptable performance of the 
role at the child care program requires the trust and 
confidence of clients and the parents or guardians of 
clients. 

5. The amount and type of supervision received. 
(b) In relation to the criminal conviction or delinquency 

adjudication, all of the following: 
1. Whether intent is an element of the crime. 
2. Whether the elements or circumstances of the crime 

are related to the person’s role at the child care program. 
3. Any pattern of criminal convictions or delinquency 

adjudications. 
4. The extent to which the crime relates to clients or 

other vulnerable persons. 
5. Whether the crime involves violence or a threat of 

harm. 
6. Whether the crime is of a sexual nature. 
(c) In relation to the person, all of the following: 
1. The number and type of crimes for which the 

person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent. 
2. The length of time between the conviction or 

delinquency adjudication and the decision affecting 
regulatory approval, employment, contract, or nonclient 
residency. 

3. The person’s participation in or completion of 
pertinent programs of a rehabilitative nature. 

4. The person’s probation, extended supervision, or 
parole status. 

5. If the person is a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, the person’s ability to perform or to continue to 
perform the role consistent with the safe and efficient 
operation of the program and the confidence of clients and 
the parents or guardians of clients. 

7. The age of the person on the date the crime was 
committed. 

(2) DOCUMENTATION. The department shall 
document how it reached the determination under sub. (1) 
that the criminal conviction or delinquency adjudication of 
a caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household member 
is or is not substantially related to the care of a child or the 
activities of the child care program. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (1) (intro.), (c) 5., (2) Register July 2020 
No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 

DCF 13.06 Background check eligibility. 
(1) PRELIMINARY ELIGIBILITY. 
(a) The department shall issue a preliminary eligibility 

determination that indicates whether a person is barred 
from employment as a caregiver, noncaregiver employee, 
or household member at the child care program based on 
any serious crimes reported on the federal bureau of 
investigation and Wisconsin department of justice 
fingerprint results. 

(b) A child care program that receives a department 
determination that a person is preliminarily eligible may 
employ, contract with, or allow the person to reside at the 
child care program pending the department’s final 
eligibility determination under sub. (3). 

(2) SUPERVISION OF PERSONS WITH 
PRELIMINARY ELIGIBILITY. 

(a) Persons who begin work or residency with 
preliminary eligibility under sub. (1) shall be supervised at 
all times children are present. The supervision shall include 
periodic and direct observation of the person. 

(b) A person who has received a final determination of 
eligibility under sub. (3) within the past 5 years shall 
supervise a person with preliminary eligibility under sub. 
(1). 

(3) FINAL ELIGIBILITY. 
(a) After receiving all of the records required under s. 

48.686 (2) (am), Stats., the department shall provide a final 
written report to the child care program indicating whether 
the person who is the subject of the report is eligible or 
ineligible to work or reside at a child care program, without 
revealing information about any disqualifying offenses or 
other information regarding the person. 

(b) The department shall provide a final written report 
to the person on whom the child care background check 
was conducted, indicating whether the person is eligible or 
ineligible to work or reside at a child care program. If the 
person is ineligible, the report also shall include 
information on each disqualifying offense, the right to 
appeal under s. DCF 13.09, and the right to a rehabilitation 
review under s. DCF 13.10, if applicable. 

(4) TRANSFER OF ELIGIBILITY. A child care 
program may employ a person or allow the person to reside 
in the child care program without requesting a new child 
care background check on the person if all of the following 
conditions are met: 

(a) Within the past 5 years, the person received a final 
determination of eligibility under sub. (3) to work or reside 
in a child care program and the determination of eligibility 
has not been withdrawn or revoked. 

(b) Either of the following apply: 
1. The person is currently working or residing in a 

child care program. 
2. The person has been separated from employment or 

residence at a child care program for less than 180 days. 
History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 

19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (1) (a) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 
8−1−20. 
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DCF 13.07 Reporting requirements.  
(1) CHILD CARE PROGRAM OFFENSE 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. A child care program 
shall report to the agency that granted regulatory approval 
as soon as the child care program knows, or should have 
known, that any of the following apply to a caregiver, 
noncaregiver employee, or household member at the child 
care program: 

(a) The person is the subject of a delinquency petition 
alleging that the person committed a serious crime on or 
after his or her 10th birthday. 

(b) The person has been adjudicated delinquent on or 
after his or her 10th birthday for committing any crime. 

(c) The person is the subject of a pending criminal 
charge alleging that the person committed a serious crime. 

(d) The person has been convicted of any crime. 
(e) A final substantiated finding has been made that the 

person abused or neglected a child. 
(f) A finding that is comparable to a final substantiated 

finding has been made in any other jurisdiction. 
(g) A unit of government or a state agency as defined in 

s. 
16.61 (2) (d), Stats., made a finding that the person has 
abused or neglected a client or misappropriated the 
property of a client. 

(h) If a position requires a person to hold a credential, 
as defined in s. 440.01 (2) (a), Stats., the person has been 
denied a credential or had a credential restricted or 
otherwise limited. 

(2) OTHER CHILD CARE PROGRAM 
REPORTING. 

(a) A child care program shall report to the agency that 
granted regulatory approval as soon as possible, but no 
later than the agency’s next business day, if any of the 
following occurs: 

1. A person who is age 10 or over and is not a client 
begins residing at, or is expected to reside at, a child care 
program. 
Note: See the definitions in s. DCF 13.02 (15) and (18). 

2. A household member turns 10 years of age. 
3. A household member turns 18 years of age. 
4. A corporation or limited liability company 

designates a new person to be subject to the background 
check. 

5. A caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household 
member at the child care program changes his or her name. 

6. A person’s role at the child care program has 
changed or will be changing and a new eligibility 
determination may be required for the child care 
background check. 

7. A new caregiver or noncaregiver employee begins 
work, or a prospective caregiver or noncaregiver employee 
intends to begin work, at the child care program. 

8. A caregiver or noncaregiver employee is no longer 
working in the child care program or intends to no longer 
work in the child care program, including the last date of 
employment. 

9. A prospective caregiver or noncaregiver employee 
was not hired. 

10. A former household member is no longer residing 
at the child care program or a household member intends to 

no longer reside at the child care program, including the 
last date of residence. 

(b) When a change specified under par. (a) 1. to 7. 
occurs regarding a child care program, the program shall 
submit a completed background check request form no 
later than the agency’s next business day for the new 
person subject to the child care background check and 
ensure persons comply with the fingerprint requirements 
within the timeframe specified by the department. 

(3) CHILD CARE PROGRAM POLICY. A child care 
program shall include in its personnel or operating policies 
a provision that requires a person who is a caregiver 
specified in s. DCF 13.02 (4)(a) and (b) or a noncaregiver 
employee to notify the child care program as soon as 
possible, but no later than the child care program’s next 
working day, if any of the circumstances under sub. (1) (a) 
to (h) apply to the person. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: cr. (1) (intro.), (2) (a) 2., 3., 5., 7. to 10., (3) 
Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.08 Sanctions. 

(1) CHILD CARE PROGRAM. 
(a) A child care program that does any of the following 

may be subject to one or more of the sanctions specified in 
par. (b) by the department or the agency that granted the 
regulatory approval: 

1. Allows a person who has not received preliminary 
determination of eligibility to begin work or reside at the 
child care program in violation of s. DCF 13.06 (1). 

2. Allows a person who has not received a final 
determination of eligibility to work or reside at a child care 
program without direct supervision in violation of s. DCF 
13.06 (2). 

3. Hires, employs, or contracts with a person that the 
department determined was ineligible to be a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee in the child care program. 

3m. Permits a person that the department determined 
was ineligible to be a household member in the child care 
program. 

4. Fails to submit a background check request as 
required under s. 48.686 (2) (ab), Stats., and s. DCF 13.03. 

5. Knows, or should know, that a caregiver, 
noncaregiver employee, or household member at the child 
care program committed an act barred under s. 48.686 
(4m) (a) 6., 7., or 8., Stats., including knowingly giving 
false information on or knowingly omitting material 
information relating to the child care background check. 

6. Fails to comply with applicable reporting 
requirements under s. DCF 13.07 (1) or (2). 

7. Fails to have a policy on reporting changes as 
required in s. DCF 13.07 (3). 

8. Violates any provision in s. 48.686, Stats., or this 
chapter regarding caregivers, noncaregiver employees, or 
household members. 

(b) Any of the following sanctions may be imposed on 
a child care program that commits any of the acts described 
in par. (a): 

1. Suspension, nonrenewal, denial, or revocation of 
regulatory approval. 
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2. Specific conditions or limitations placed on the 
regulatory approval. 

3. A forfeiture of not more than $1,000. 
4. A requirement that the child care program develop 

a written plan that specifies corrections that will be made to 
personnel screening practices, obtain agency approval of 
the correction plan, and implement the correction plan. 

(2) APPLICANT. An applicant for regulatory approval 
who does any of the following is subject to denial of an 
application for regulatory approval: 

(a) Fails to complete and submit the background check 
request required under s. DCF 13.03. 

(b) Knowingly provides false information on or 
knowingly omits information from the background check 
request form. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (1) (a) 3., cr. (1) (a) 3m., am. (1) (a)5., 8. 
Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.09 Appeal of background check 
determinations. 

(1) APPEAL RIGHTS. 
(a) The department shall include a statement of appeal 

rights with a notification of ineligibility under s. DCF 13.06 
(3) to the subject of background check. 

(b) The subject of a department determination under s. 
DCF 13.06 (3) may appeal the determination under s. 
48.686 (4s), Stats. Only the subject of the background 
check may file the appeal. 

(2) SUBMISSION OF AN APPEAL. 
(a) To submit an appeal of an ineligibility 

determination under s. DCF 13.06 (3), the subject of a 
background check shall submit a completed petition for 
appeal form prescribed by the department to the 
department’s postal address, email address, or fax number 
that is identified in the statement of appeal rights. 

(b) An appeal under sub. (1) may be submitted no later 
than 10 days after the date of the department’s ineligibility 
determination, unless the subject requests, and the 
department grants for good cause shown, an extension for a 
specific period of time prior to the expiration of the 10−day 
appeal period. 

(c) If an appeal is not received under sub. (1) within 10 
days after the department’s ineligibility determination and 
an extension has not been approved before the expiration of 
the 10−day appeal period, the department’s ineligibility 
determination made under s. DCF 13.06 (3) is final. 

Note: Form DCF−F−5331−E, Petition for Appeal of 
Ineligibility Determination, is available in the forms section 
of the department website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. Send 
the appeal request to the Department of Children and 
Families, Child Care Background Unit, P.O. Box 8916, 
Madison, WI 53708−8916; email 
DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov; or fax (608) 
422−7155. 

(3) DEPARTMENT REVIEW OF APPEALS. 
(a) The department shall notify the subject of the 

background check that his or her appeal request under sub. 
(2) has been received within 7 business days after receipt. 

(b) The department shall review each timely appeal 
request under sub. (2) and issue a written appeal decision 
within 30 days after receiving the appeal request. The 
decision notice shall include information on the right to 
another appeal by requesting a reconsideration under sub. 
(4). 

Note: Send the reconsideration request to the 
Department of Children and Families, Assistant Secretary, 
P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 53708−8916; email 
DCFMBChildcareEligibilityAppeals@wisconsin.gov; or 
fax (608) 422−7161. 

(4) RECONSIDERATION OF AN APPEAL. 
(a) The subject of the background check may request a 

reconsideration of the department’s appeal decision under 
sub. (3). A request for reconsideration shall be sent to the 
postal address, email address, or fax number identified in 
the appeal decision within 30 days after the date on the 
decision. 

(b) The department secretary or the secretary’s 
designee shall review a reconsideration request under par. 
(a) and issue a written decision. The reconsideration 
decision shall include information on the right to another 
appeal by requesting a contested case hearing under sub. 
(5). 

(5) CONTESTED CASE HEARING. The subject of 
the background check who receives an adverse decision 
from the department secretary or the secretary’s designee 
under sub. (4) may request a contested case hearing under 
ch. 227, Stats., and ch. HA 1 within 10 days after the date 
of the department’s reconsideration decision. 

Note: Send a request for a contested case hearing to the 
Division of Hearings and Appeals, 4822 Madison Yards 
Way, PO Box 7875, Madison, Wisconsin, 53707−7875. 
The fax number of the division is (608) 264−9885. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (2) (b), (c) Register July 2020 No. 775, 
eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.10 Rehabilitation reviews by agency. An agency 
may conduct a rehabilitation review for a person who 
requests a rehabilitation review if the person is eligible 
under s. 48.686 (5) (a), Stats., and s. DCF 13.11 and is any 
of the following: 

(1) A person who has, or is seeking, regulatory 
approval from the agency as a caregiver specified in s. 
DCF 13.02 (4) (c). 

(2) A person who is, or is expected to be, a caregiver 
specified in s. DCF 13.02 (4) (a) or (b) for a child care 
program that is regulated by the agency. 

(3) A person who is, or is expected to be, a household 
member at a child care program that is regulated by the 
agency. 

(4) A person who is, or is expected to be, a 
noncaregiver employee for a child care program that is 
regulated by the agency. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (3), cr. (4) Register July 2020 No. 775, 
eff. 8−1−20. 
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DCF 13.11 Eligibility for rehabilitation review. 
(1) Except as provided under sub. (2), a person may 

have the opportunity to demonstrate his or her 
rehabilitation if any of the following apply: 

(a) Section 48.686 (4m) (a) 2., 3., or 4. applies to the 
person. 

(b) The person has been convicted or adjudicated 
delinquent of a serious crime as specified under s. 48.686 
(1) (c) 9., Stats., or for a violation of the law of any other 
state or United States jurisdiction that would be a violation 
listed in s. 48.686 (1) (c) 9., Stats., if committed in this 
state, and the person completed his or her sentence, 
including any probation, parole, or extended supervision, or 
was discharged by the department of corrections, more 
than 5 years before the date of the investigation under s. 
48.686 (2) (am), Stats. 

Note: A table listing child care serious crimes and 
availability of rehabilitation review for each offense can be 
accessed at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/5206.pdf. 

(2) A person may not have the opportunity to 
demonstrate his or her rehabilitation if within the preceding 
12 months an agency denied the person’s request for 
rehabilitation approval, and the new request is for the same 
type of regulatory approval, job function, or status as a 
household member with the same level of direct contact 
with clients or unsupervised access to clients. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (1) (intro.), (2) Register July 2020 No. 
775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.12 Applying for rehabilitation review. To apply 
for rehabilitation review, a person who is eligible to request 
rehabilitation review under s. DCF 13.11 shall do all of the 
following: 

(1) Obtain a rehabilitation review application on a form 
prescribed by the department and submit the completed 
application to the agency. 

Note: Form DCF−F−419, Rehabilitation Review 
Application Instructions, is available in the forms section of 
the department website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

(2) Submit any supporting documents and information 
required by the rehabilitation review application to the 
agency. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.13 Agency rehabilitation review process. 

(1) TIME FRAME. If an application for a rehabilitation 
review is not complete or any supporting documents or 
information required in the application are not submitted 
within 90 days after the date the application was first 
received by the agency, the request for a rehabilitation 
review shall be denied, unless the person requesting the 
rehabilitation review provides a good cause explanation. 

(2) REHABILITATION REVIEW PANEL. If a 
person who is eligible for rehabilitation review under s. 
DCF 13.11 submits an application that is complete under s. 
DCF 13.12 no later than the deadline in sub. (1), the 
applicable agency shall appoint a review panel of at least 2 

persons to review the information submitted. The panel 
may request additional information from the person 
requesting the review or from other agencies or persons 
familiar with the person. 

(3) REQUESTOR APPEARANCE. A person for 
whom a rehabilitation review is conducted under sub. (2) 
shall be given an opportunity to appear before the review 
panel to present information and answer any questions the 
panel members may have. The person’s appearance before 
the review panel may be in person, by telephone, or other 
technology approved by the agency. 

(4) REHABILITATION REVIEW PANEL. After 
reviewing the information obtained, a review panel 
appointed under sub. (2) shall decide whether the person 
who is the subject of the rehabilitation review has 
demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence that he or 
she is rehabilitated for purposes of receiving regulatory 
approval, employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, contracting with a child care program to be a 
caregiver or noncaregiver employee, or residing at a child 
care program. The panel shall consider at least the 
following factors, as applicable: 

(a) Personal references and comments from employers, 
persons, and agencies familiar with the applicant and 
statements from therapists, counselors, and other 
professionals. 

(b) Evidence of successful adjustment to, compliance 
with, or proof of successful completion of parole, extended 
supervision, probation, incarceration, or work release 
privileges. 

(c) Any investigations or enforcement actions by a 
regulatory agency for substantial noncompliance with 
applicable laws. 

(d) Any subsequent contacts with law enforcement 
agencies, including arrests, charges, convictions, pending 
criminal or civil arrest warrants, civil judgments, or other 
legal enforcement actions or injunctions against the person. 

(e) Any aggravating or mitigating circumstances 
surrounding the barring crime, act, or offense. 

(f) Evidence of rehabilitation, such as public or 
community service, volunteer work, recognition by other 
public or private authorities for accomplishments or efforts 
or attempts at restitution, and demonstrated ability to 
develop positive social interaction and increased 
independence or autonomy of daily living. 

(g) The age of the person at the time of the offense and 
the amount of time between the crime, act, or offense and 
the request for rehabilitation review. 

(h) Whether the person is on the sexual offender 
registry under 301.45, Stats., or on a similar registry in 
another jurisdiction. 

(i) A victim’s impact statement, if appropriate. 
(j) The person’s employment history, including 

evidence of acceptable performance or competency and 
dedication to the person’s profession. 

(k) The nature and scope of the person’s contact with 
clients in the position requested. 

(L) The degree to which the person would be directly 
supervised or working independently in the position 
requested. 

(m) The opportunity presented for someone in the 
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position to commit similar offenses. 
(n) The number, type, and pattern of offenses 

committed by the person. 
(o) Successful participation in or completion of 

recommended rehabilitation, treatment, or programs. 
(p) Unmet treatment needs. 
(q) The person’s veracity. 
(5) REVIEW PANEL DECISION. 
(a) Scope. An agency review panel may grant 

rehabilitation approval only within the scope of the 
agency’s regulatory authority. 

(b) Deferral. A review panel may defer a final decision 
under sub. (4) for a period of not more than 6 months, 
unless the person who is the subject of the rehabilitation 
review agrees to a longer time period. 

(c) Written decision. A review panel shall issue a 
written decision under sub. (4) that includes the following, 
as applicable: 

1. ‘Approval.’ An approval shall state all of the 
following: 

a. The type of child care program to which the 
decision applies. 

b. The types of approval that were requested and are 
approved in the decision, such as regulatory approval, 
employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, 
contract to be a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, or 
status as a household member at a child care program. 

c. Any conditions or limitations placed on the 
approval. 

Note: Examples of limited approval include approval 
for employment in specific child care roles. 

2. ‘Deferral.’ A deferral shall state the reason for the 
deferral and the date that the review panel will reconvene 
to review any new information affecting the request. 

3. ‘Denial.’ A denial shall include all of the following: 
a. The type of child care program to which the 

decision applies. 
b. The types of approval that were requested and are 

denied in the decision, such as regulatory approval, 
employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, 
contract to be a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, or 
status as a household member at a child care program. 

c. The reason for the denial. 
d. Notice that the person may appeal the denial and a 

summary of the appeal process under s. 48.686 (5c), Stats., 
and s. DCF 13.14. 

(6) REVIEW PANEL DECISION DISTRIBUTION.  
(a) A review panel shall send a decision made under 

sub. (5) to the person who is the subject of the 
rehabilitation review and, if requested, a copy to entities 
specified by that person. 

(b) Within 10 days after sending a rehabilitation review 
decision to the subject of the rehabilitation review under 
par. (a), the review panel for an agency shall send all of the 
following to the department: 

1. A copy of the review panel’s decision. 
2. A copy of the person’s application under s. DCF 

13.12. 
3. A completed rehabilitation review decision report 

on a form prescribed by the department. 
Note: Form DCF−F−418−E, Rehabilitation Review 

Panel Decision Report, is available in the forms section of 
the department website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. The 
materials should be sent to Attn: Rehabilitation Review 
Coordinator, Office of Legal Counsel, Department of 
Children and Families, P. O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 
53708−8916. 

(7) RETENTION OF REHABILITATION 
DECISION DOCUMENTATION. 

(a) The agency shall retain a copy of a written decision 
by a rehabilitation review panel and any decisions from 
filed appeals that may result. 

(b) The agency shall retain a copy of a rehabilitation 
review request and all materials or information obtained or 
notes made as part of a rehabilitation review decision for at 
least 10 years after the decision is made and any appeals 
are finalized. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (4) (intro.), (5) (c) 1. b., 3. b. Register July 
2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.14 Appealing a rehabilitation review panel’s 
denial. 

(1)(a) A person who is denied rehabilitation approval 
under s. DCF 13.13 may submit a written request for 
review of the decision by the secretary or the secretary’s 
designee under s. 48.686 (5c), Stats. A request for review 
shall be submitted within 10 days after the date of the 
written decision by the rehabilitation panel. No new 
evidence may be submitted. 

(b) A person who appeals under this subsection shall 
bear the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the 
evidence, that the rehabilitation review panel for the agency 
erroneously exercised its discretion in deciding that the 
person did not show sufficient evidence to demonstrate that 
he or she is rehabilitated. 

Note: Pursuant to s. 48.686 (5c), Stats., submit an 
appeal to the following, as appropriate: 

1. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review panel 
for the department or a certification agency, send the 
request to the Department of Children and Families, Office 
of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 
53708−8916. 

2. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review panel 
for the school board, send the request to the State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, 125 South Webster 
Street, Madison, WI 53703; or call (608) 266−3390. 

3. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review panel 
for a tribe, send the request to the director of the 
appropriate tribe or the director’s designee. 
(2) A person who receives an adverse decision from the 
secretary of the department or the secretary’s designee 
under sub. (1) may request a contested case hearing under 
ch. 227, Stats., and ch. HA 1 within 10 days after the date 
of the written decision by the department. 

Note: Send a request for a contested case hearing to the 
Division of Hearings and Appeals, 4822 Madison Yards 
Way, PO Box 7875, Madison, Wisconsin, 53707−7875. 
The fax number of the division is (608) 264−9885. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20. 



 DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 
 

 

56 

 
DCF 13.15 Compliance with rehabilitation approval; 
withdrawal. 

(1) COMPLIANCE WITH APPROVAL 
CONDITIONS. A person whose rehabilitation is approved 
under s. DCF 

13.13 shall comply with any conditions and limitations 
imposed with that approval. 

(2) WITHDRAWAL OF REHABILITATION 
APPROVAL. (a) An agency that granted a person a 
rehabilitation approval under s. DCF 13.13 may withdraw 
the rehabilitation approval if the person has done any of the 
following: 

1. The person has failed to comply with or abide by 
any conditions or limitations imposed with the 
rehabilitation approval. 

2. The person knowingly submitted false information 
or withheld pertinent information that could have or would 
have affected the review panel’s decision to grant the 
rehabilitation approval. 

(b) If an agency withdraws a rehabilitation approval 
under par. (a), it shall issue a written notice that explains 
the reasons for the withdrawal and informs the person 
whose approval has been withdrawn that he or she may 
appeal as provided in s. DCF 13.14. 

(c) If an agency withdraws rehabilitation approval and 
the withdrawal results in a bar to regulatory approval, 
employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, 
contracting with a child care program to be a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee, or status as a household member 
at a child care program, the agency that withdraws the 
rehabilitation approval shall immediately report the 
withdrawal to the department. 

(3) INFORMING THE GRANTING AGENCY. A 
child care program or agency that becomes aware that a 
person has violated the conditions or limitations of a 
rehabilitation approval that was granted by another agency 
shall inform the agency that granted the approval of the 
violation. 

Note: Send reports of withdrawn rehabilitation approval 
to Attn: Rehabilitation Review Coordinator, Department of 
Children and Families, Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 
8916, Madison, WI 53708−8916. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (2) (c) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 
8−1−20. 
 
DCF 13.16 Permissive acceptance of a rehabilitation 
approval. 

(1) SCOPE. 
(a) 1. An agency may accept a rehabilitation approval 

granted to a person by another agency if the previous 
rehabilitation approval applies to the same type of child 
care program and the same type of approval. 

Note: For example, a certification agency in County B 
may accept a rehabilitation approval to be a household 
member in a certified child care home if a certification 
agency in County A granted the same type of approval. 

2. A certification agency may accept a rehabilitation 
approval granted to a person by the department if the 

previous rehabilitation approval applies to the same type of 
approval for a child care center that is licensed to care for 4 
to 8 children under s. 48.66, Stats. 

3. A rehabilitation approval granted by a tribe that 
conducts rehabilitation reviews pursuant to a plan approved 
by the department under s. 48.686 (5d), Stats., may not be 
accepted by another agency. 

Note: A rehabilitation approval granted by a tribe under 
this chapter may be accepted by another agency. 

(b) An agency that accepts a rehabilitation approval 
granted by another agency shall enforce any limitations or 
conditions that were included in the approval if the 
conditions or limitations imposed by the agency that 
granted the approval have not been terminated or have not 
expired. 

(2) PROCESS. (a) If an agency learns that a person has 
had a previous rehabilitation review, the agency shall 
contact the department to request a copy of the 
rehabilitation decision and information on the status of any 
rehabilitation approval. 

(b) If the previous rehabilitation review decision was an 
approval and the approval has not been withdrawn, the 
agency shall determine whether the approval is eligible to 
be accepted under sub. (1). 

(c) If the previous rehabilitation approval is eligible to 
be accepted under sub. (1), the agency shall determine 
whether to accept or deny the previous approval. 

(3) INELIGIBILITY OR DENIAL. If an agency 
determines that a person’s previous rehabilitation approval 
may not be accepted under sub. (1) or the agency denies an 
eligible rehabilitation approval under sub. (2) (c), the 
agency shall inform the person of his or her right to submit 
an application for a new rehabilitation review under s. DCF 
13.12 and shall process a submitted application under s. 
DCF 13.13. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
correction in (1) (a) 3. made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register 
March 2020 No. 771. 
 
DCF 13.17 Fees. The department may charge a fee for the 
cost of background checks required under s. 48.686, Stats. 
A child care program shall submit all fees required by the 
department as directed by the department. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20. 
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