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It may take time to find the appropriate family who can provide the extra measure of
patience, acceptance, caring and understanding for a child with mental or physical
challenges, disruptive behavior, medical problems and / or other special care needs.
Adoption assistance helps the family support a child after the child has been placed for
adoption and after adoption finalization. This publication provides answers to questions
about adoption assistance.

1. What is adoption assistance?
Adoption assistance helps support parents raising a child with special care needs
who meets the eligibility criteria for adoption assistance. Adoption assistance may
include a monthly dollar amount to the adoptive parents to assist in meeting the
financial demands of caring for a child’s special care needs. This amount is
determined by the level of the child’s special care needs as described below and
cannot exceed the maximum amount set by the legislature. Adoption assistance
also includes Medical Assistance eligibility through Wisconsin’s Medicaid Program. If
a family’s health plan fails to provide coverage, the Wisconsin Medicaid Program
may cover some necessary health care costs.

2. How is adoption assistance determined?
The adoption social worker submits the necessary adoption assistance application
materials, on behalf of the adoptive parents, to the Department of Children and
Families (the department) for eligibility determination. If the child is eligible for
adoption assistance the adoption social worker and supervisor will determine a
monthly dollar amount based on an assessment of the child’s needs. If a child does
not qualify for a monthly dollar amount based on the child’s needs, but is
determined to be at high risk of developing special needs a zero dollar amount will
be established for the child, which may be increased if the child’s needs increase as
described below. In either case the dollar amount or zero dollar amount will be
identified in the Adoption Assistance Agreement (the agreement).

If the needs of a child change between the time of adoptive placement and adoption
finalization, an Adoption Assistance Program Application and Decision form
(DCF-F-CFS0072-E) can be submitted. If a family has a signed agreement in effect,
the monthly dollar amount identified in the agreement may be re-determined.
Necessary forms will be submitted and processed by the adoption worker.

3. What determines eligibility for adoption assistance?
A child in the guardianship of an adoption agency must have special care needs or be
at high risk of developing special care needs as defined by Wisconsin Administrative
Code § DCF 50.03 and because of those needs or risks could not otherwise be placed
for adoption in an appropriate home without adoption assistance. The child must
be under 18 years of age at the time of adoption. Eligibility criteria, as defined in
Facilitating the Adoption of Children with Special Needs, Wisconsin Administrative
Code § DCF 50.03(1)(b), include:

= The child is 10 years of age or older if age is the only factor in determining
eligibility;



= The child is a member of a sibling group of three or more who must be placed
together;

= For an Agreement entered into:

O before July 1, 2011, the child exhibits special need characteristics
(emotional, behavioral or physical / personal care) judged to be
moderate or intensive under the difficulty-of-care levels in Wisconsin
Administrative Code § DCF 50.042;

0 on orafterJuly 1, 2011, the child has a total of five or more needs that
have been identified as moderate or intensive in the areas listed in
Wisconsin Administrative Code § DCF 56.23(2)(a) 1.a to e. in the rate
schedule;

= The child is a member of a minority race and children of that minority race
cannot be readily placed due to a lack of appropriate placement resources; or

= The child is at high risk of developing a moderate or intensive level of special
needs as described above.

In addition to meeting one of the above criteria, other eligibility requirements must
be met as identified in Wisconsin Statute § 48.975 and Wisconsin Administrative
Code Chapter DCF 50.

How is “child at high risk” defined?

“Child at high risk” means a child, in the guardianship of an adoption agency, who
does not have a known special need identified above, but who is at high risk of
developing a moderate or intensive level of special care needs identified above
based on one or more of the following (reference Wisconsin Administrative Code
Chapters DCF 50 and DCF 56):

= There is documented information that either or both birth parents have a
medical diagnosis or medical history which could result in a moderate or
intensive level of special care needs as described above.

= The child has experienced four or more placements with extended family or
foster homes that could affect the normal attachment process.

= The child experienced neglect in the first three years of life or sustained physical
injury or physical disease that could have a long-term effect on physical,
emotional, or intellectual development.

= There is documented evidence in a medical or hospital record, law enforcement
record, social or human service department record, court record, or a record of
an agency under a contract with a county department or the Department of
Children and Families to provide child welfare services that the birth mother
used harmful drugs or alcohol during pregnancy which could later result in the

child developing a moderate or intensive level of special care needs as described

above.



= There is documented evidence in a medical or hospital record that the birth
mother received inappropriate prenatal care which could later result in the child
developing a moderate or intensive level of special care needs as described
above.

5. What determines the monthly adoption assistance reimbursement amount?
Adoption assistance is based on the current Uniform Foster Care Rate, which takes
into account the child’s age, and a supplemental rate which is based on an
assessment of the child’s emotional, behavioral, or physical and / or personal care
needs. If applicable, the amount may also include an exceptional rate. Wisconsin
Statutes only allow an exceptional rate to be established before the adoption is
finalized. The monthly reimbursement amount for a child, including a possible
exceptional rate, cannot exceed the maximum set by legislature, which is currently
$2,000. A child who is eligible for at-risk adoption assistance will have an adoption
assistance subsidy rate of $0.00. The amount is set no earlier than the adoption
placement of the child, but can be re-determined prior to adoption finalization.

A child who is eligible for at-risk adoption assistance at the time of adoption
(Medical Assistance eligibility only, no monthly dollars) cannot later be granted an
exceptional adoption assistance rate even if the family requests an adoption
assistance amendment.

6. What should individuals do if they are not satisfied with the conditions or
determination made by the department on the application for adoption assistance
prior to adoption finalization?

If the department determines the child is ineligible for adoption assistance the
family may request a review by writing to the Division Administrator, Department of
Children and Families, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 53708-8916. This request must
be submitted and decided upon prior to adoption finalization.

If the applicant is not satisfied with the determination by the Division Administrator,
a request can be made for an administrative hearing to appeal the determination.
This request must be submitted and a hearing decision issued prior to adoption
finalization. In some cases, if certain extenuating circumstances as defined by
Wisconsin Administrative Code § DCF 50.065(2) apply, a request can be made after
the adoption finalization. The request should be addressed to the Division of
Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, Madison, W| 53707-7875.

7. If adoption assistance was not granted prior to adoption finalization, can it be
requested after an adoption has been finalized?
A request for consultation on adoption assistance after the adoption is finalized may
be made to the Adoption Assistance Program Specialist. Individuals have a right to
appeal the department’s determination for adoption assistance under the following
circumstances:



= At the time the adoption became final conditions existed for eligibility for
adoption assistance or at-risk adoption assistance under Wisconsin
Administrative Code Chapter DCF 50; and

= One of the following extenuating circumstances occurred:

++ Facts regarding the child, the child’s biological family or the child’s
background that were relevant to the proposed adoption were known to
the adoption worker, but were not presented to the adoptive parents by
the adoption agency or by another source before the adoption became
final; or

% Adoption assistance was denied based upon a means test of the adoptive
family; or

% The determination by the department that the child was ineligible for
adoption assistance was erroneous; or

% The adoptive parents were not advised by the adoption agency or by
another source about the availability of adoption assistance and had not
previously adopted with adoption assistance; and

= |t has been less than three years since the adoptive parents knew or reasonably
should have known of the circumstance above which is the basis for the hearing
request.

An adoptive parent may file an appeal if the department has failed to comply with a
condition of the Adoption Assistance Agreement. This appeal request must be
submitted within one year after the failure began.

An adoptive parent may also file an appeal of a department decision on a request to
amend the amount of an adoption assistance payment amount within 60 days of the
date of the department’s written decision.

Adoptive parents may contact the Adoption Assistance Program Specialist, Bureau of
Permanence and Out-of-Home Care, Division of Safety and Permanence, to request
consultation on adoption assistance after finalization. The Program Specialist may be
reached at P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 53708-8916 or by telephone: 866-666-5532
(toll-free). If the determination is unsatisfactory and the above criteria are met, a
request for an administrative hearing to appeal the finding within the time limits
described above should be addressed to the Division of Hearings and Appeals,

P.O. Box 7875, Madison, W 53707-7875.

How and when may the monthly amount of adoption assistance change after
adoption?

Families are eligible to request an amendment to their original agreement twelve
months after the date of adoption finalization, and annually thereafter, if the special
care needs of their child have increased and if there has not been a finding by a child
welfare agency that the adoptive parents have abused or neglected the child.



What is an adoption assistance amendment?
An adoption assistance amendment modifies the original agreement and, if
approved, is time-limited.

For information on how to request an amendment to the Adoption Assistance
Agreement please refer to the online publication entitled Adoption Assistance
Amendment Information at the following website:
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/publications/pdf/dcf p pfs4063.pdf.

. How long does adoption assistance continue?
Unless one or more conditions for discontinuation occur, adoption assistance
typically continues until the child reaches the age of 18 years. In order for adoption
assistance to continue beyond age 18, and until the child turns 19, all of the
following conditions must be met:

= The adoptee is enrolled in a full-time high school or equivalent program after age
18

= The adoptive parents is supporting the adoptee after age 18

= The adoptee is not married.

In order for adoption assistance to continue beyond age 19 — but not past the age
of 21 — all of the following conditions must be met:

= The adoptee has applied for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and has been
denied — based on a disability determination;

= The adoptee is not eligible for any other benefits, has no unearned income and
the adoptee otherwise lacks adequate resources to continue in high school or
the equivalent;

= The adoptee is still in a full-time high school program or the equivalent;
= The adoptee is not married;
= The adoptive parents is legally responsible for the support of the adoptee; and

= The department determines that the adoptee has a mental or physical handicap
that warrants continuation of adoption assistance under 42 USC 673.

In accordance with the terms of the Agreement, discontinuance will occur:

= Upon the marriage of the adoptee.

=  When the adoptee is no longer receiving support from the adoptive parents.
=  Upon the death of the adoptee.

=  When there is a change in the adoptee’s guardian.

= When the adoptive parents are no longer legally responsible for the support of
the adoptee.



11.

12.

13.

= Upon the death of the legal adoptive parent or parents if there are two adoptive
parents.

= |f the guardianship agency for the adoptee removes him or her from the home of
the prospective adoptive parents prior to the finalization of the adoption.

= |f adoption finalization does not occur prior to the adoptee reaching the age of
18.

The adoptive family may request that adoption assistance be reduced or terminated
at any time.

How long does medical assistance eligibility continue?

Medical Assistance eligibility that is provided through the adoption assistance
program continues as long as the child’s Adoption Assistance Agreement is in effect
and in accordance with the Agreement and state and federal law.

What about the costs incurred during the adoption process?

When a child is adopted and adoption assistance is granted, the reasonable and
necessary adoption fees, court costs, attorney fees and other expenses directly
related to the legal adoption and which are not incurred in violation of state or
federal law may be reimbursed up to a maximum of $2,000. The department
requests that these claims be submitted within two years from the date of adoption
finalization. Income tax credits as allowed by law may also offset adoption costs.
For more information please refer to the brochure entitled Reimbursable Expenses
When Adopting Children with Special Care Needs which can be found on the
following website: http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/publications/pdf/dcf p pfs0747.pdf.

Will the adoptive parents continue to have contact with the department while
receiving adoption assistance?

While receiving adoption assistance, adoptive parents agree to inform the
department of major changes in the child’s life as each event occurs. Major changes
are considered to be:

= the adoptee is no longer residing in adoptive home;
= the adoptive parents stopped supporting the adoptee;
= the death of the adoptee;

= providing high school graduation information for an adoptee reaching 18 years
and older;

= marriage of the adoptee;

= the adoptee entered military service;

= achange in the adoptee’s legal guardian;
= achange in the family’s address;

= termination of the adoptive parent’s parental rights;



= achangein the adoptee’s health insurance benefits or coverage; or

= if the adoptee has been placed in an institution or other alternate care facility at
public expense.

Adoptive parents may report major changes by contacting the department by
telephone at 866-666-5532 (toll-free), or by writing to the department at
P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 53708-8916.

14. Where can more information be obtained about the Adoption Assistance
Program?
To learn more about special needs adoptions and the Adoption Assistance Program:

= visit the department web site at
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/children/adoption/default.htm

= view the publication “Understanding the Uniform Foster Care Rate” at
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/publications/pdf/dcf p pfs0142.pdf

= Milwaukee County contact (414) 264-5437; for the remainder of the state
contact the Adoption Assistance Program (866) 666-5532 (toll free) or

The Wisconsin State Codes mentioned in this publication may be accessed on the

following websites:
State Statute 48: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/48.pdf

Chapter DCF 50: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin code/dcf/001 059/50.pdf

Chapter DCF 51: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin code/dcf/001 059/51.pdf

Chapter DCF 56: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin code/dcf/001 059/56.pdf

DCF is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and
need to access this information in an alternate format, or need it translated into
another language, please contact the Division of Safety and Permanence at (608) 266-
8787. For civil rights questions call (608) 422-6889 or (866) 864-4585 TTY (Toll Free).



Department of Children and Families
Division of Safety and Permanence

Acknowledgment
Receipt of Adoption Assistance Information

Use of form: This form is to be signed by all adoptive parents. Personal information you provide
may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s.15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes].

" I / we acknowledge receipt of the brochure entitled “Adoption Assistance Information” and
confirm that the Adoption Assistance Program has been discussed with me / us as it relates to
(name of child to be adopted).

" Information about the eligibility criteria for adoption assistance, as defined in Wisconsin
Administrative Code, Ch. DCF 50, Facilitating the Adoption of Children with Special Needs, has
been discussed and my / our questions about the Adoption Assistance Program have been
answered.

. It has been explained that an Application for Adoption Assistance will / will not (circle one) be
submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families for consideration.

" It has also been explained that adoptive parents can request an Adoption Assistance Application
and Decision form (Form DCF-F-CFS0072-E) from the adoption worker and request it be
submitted to the regional or Milwaukee County adoption supervisor for eligibility determination.

It is understood that if adoption assistance is not authorized and granted prior to finalization of
the adoption, adoption assistance may not be available.

SIGNATURE — Adoption Worker:

Name of Child Placing Agency:

Dates Information Provided and Discussed:

SIGNATURE — Adoptive Parent 1 Date Signed

SIGNATURE — Adoptive Parent 2 Date Signed

Note: This signed “acknowledgement” is to be placed in the file the adoption agency retains
and a copy must be provided to the adoptive parents.

DCF-F-2672 (R. 01/2015)



