

635 North 26th Street Milwaukee, WI 53233-1803 Telephone: 414-343-5500 Fax: 414-220-7062

Governor Scott Walker Secretary Eloise Anderson

Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services (DMCPS)

## DATE: July 18, 2016

## TO: DMCPS, Saint A, and Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Community Services

CC: PSG/CIP

## FROM: Robin Joseph, Ph. D., Administrator, Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services

## **RE: Respite Care Policy**

This memo is to inform you that Division of Milwaukee Child Protective Services (DMCPS) has released an updated <u>Respite Care Policy</u>, replacing OCM 48.00 Provision of Respite Care to Foster Care and Kinship Care Providers (2009).

This policy establishes standards for the provision of respite care for foster parents, courtordered kinship care providers, treatment foster care (TFC) providers, and children receiving intensive-in-home services, who are residing in their parent's home pursuant under <u>\$56.21</u> Wisconsin Statutes. Respite care provides safe, temporary care of a child for more than 48 hours in a licensed foster home, licensed facility, or unlicensed caregiver approved by DMCPS or a contracted agency. A respite provider may be a natural or informal support person (such as a friend or relative) to the foster parent/kinship provider or may be a formal respite provider identified through the contracted agency

The procedures detailed in this policy address the identification of eligible respite care providers, documentation required for respite care, and process when respite care is requested by a caregiver in accordance with <u>§56.21</u> Wisconsin Statutes and Ongoing Standards. This policy specifically includes new requirements for respite care obtained for less than 48 hours under the new <u>Reasonable and Prudent Parenting Standard, (§48.383)</u>. As noted in the State of Wisconsin's Division of Safety and Permanence (DSP) Memo (regarding the Reasonable and Prudent Parenting Standard), all out-of-home care providers must be trained no later than September 30, 2016. Once an out-of-home care provider is trained the Standard is effective.

Adherence to this DMCPS policy is required by contracted agencies by August 15, 2016.

Attachment: FCA 21.00, OCM 48.00, IIH 6.00 Respite Care Policy

DSP Memo Prudent Parenting Standard: contains forms, online Prudent Parenting training, frequently asked questions document, and other resources.

Respite Care Placement eWiSACWIS instructions