
DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES dcf.wisconsin.gov 
Division of Early Care and Education 

DCF-F-CFS4099 (R. 04/2012) 

 

Instructions for Obtaining Child Care Licensing 
Rule Books and Commentary Manuals 

 
CHILD CARE RULE BOOKS:  The rule books are copies of the administrative code from the Revisor of 
Statutes Bureau that have been formatted with larger print and bound into a booklet with a table of contents, an 
index and additional appendices. 
• DCF-P-PFS0203 DCF 250 Licensing Rules for Family Child Care Centers – $15 
• DCF-P-PFS0205 DCF 251 Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers – $15 
• DCF-P-PFS0202 DCF 252 Licensing Rules for Day Camps – $15 
 
CHILD CARE COMMENTARY MANUALS:  The purpose of the commentary manual is to help users 
understand the intent and application of the rule.  They are copies of the administrative code from the Revisor 
of Statutes Bureau that have been formatted with larger print and bound into a booklet.  The information within 
boxes and in italicized print is commentary that was prepared by staff of the Bureau of Early Care Regulation.  
Additional appendices have also been included to provide important information and guidance. 
• DCF-P-PFS4069 DCF 250 Family Child Care Rule with Commentary – $15 
• DCF-P-PFS4024 DCF 251 Group Child Care Rule with Commentary – $15 
 
DOWNLOADING COPIES FROM THE INTERNET:  Copies are available online free of charge and may be 
duplicated without penalty.  The administrative codes governing licensed child care facilities are available from 
the Wisconsin State Legislature, Revisor of Statutes Bureau web page 
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/dcf/dcf201.html.  Child care rule books and commentary manuals are 
available from http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/licensed/Rules.HTM. 
 
ORDERING PRINTED COPIES:  Preprinted copies may be ordered from the department for a fee.  See the 
Ordering Printed Copies section below for instructions on how to obtain preprinted copies. 
 
 

ORDERING PRINTED COPIES 
CHILD CARE LICENSING RULE BOOKS AND COMMENTARY MANUALS 

 
Use of form:  Use of this form is voluntary; however, if the requested information is not provided, the department may be 
unable to process your request.  Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, 
s.15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes]. 
 
Instructions:  Complete the request form below and submit it along with a cashier’s check or money order made payable 
to the Department of Children and Families to: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 
2187 N STEVENS ST STE C 
RHINELANDER WI  54501 

 
Name: 
 

Telephone Number: 
(          ) 

Mailing Address: 
 
 No.  Fee Amt. Due 

 DCF-P-PFS0203 DCF 250 Licensing Rules for Family Child Care Centers  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS0205 DCF 251 Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS0202 DCF 252 Licensing Rules for Day Camps  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS4069 DCF 250 Family Child Care Rule with Commentary  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS4024 DCF 251 Group Child Care Rule with Commentary  x $15  

Total Due $ 
 


