
DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 
Division of Early Care and Education 
Bureau of Early Learning and Policy  

SEI 
 

Authorized Hours for Self-Employment 
 

Use of form:  Agency use of this form is voluntary.  This form was developed for Child Care Subsidy authorization workers to assist in 

implementing Child Care Manual CH 2, Section 2.2.8.  The information in this form is being collected to process an authorization for 
Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy and will be stored electronically in your case file.  Personal information that you provide may be used 
for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes]. 

 

Name – Self-Employed Parent 

      

Case Number 

      

Today’s Date 

      

Name – Business 
      

Timeframe-Self-Employment Begin/Start Month 

      

Name – Worker Filling Out Form 

      

Agency Contact Telephone Number 

      

Telephone Number for Questions 

      

 
Self-employment is a form of employment and may be an approved activity within Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy.  To qualify, a 
parent must meet all other eligibility criteria. 
 
You are getting this letter because you or another adult in your household is self-employed, and the limits on authorized child care hours 
apply to your household. 
 
The following items explain the special limits for self-employment.  Other limits also apply, including the actual hours you are working, the 
hours other adults in your household are working, overlapping schedules, other approved activities and placement arrangements. 
 

1. For ongoing self-employment, the authorization is for no more hours than it would take the parent to earn the same amount of 
money working at state minimum wage.  This is calculated by using the monthly adjusted self-employment income (gross 
receipts minus allowable expenses) that you reported for eligibility.  This number is divided by 4.3 weeks in a month and again 
by the state minimum wage of $7.25 per hour to get the maximum weekly hours that can be authorized for self-employment as 
an approved activity.  Your maximum hours are shown in the attached form; however it may be fewer hours due to schedules. 

 
Example:  Kendra is a single parent who sells Avon and gets an average of $1600 per month in commissions.  She spends an 
average of $1100 a month on allowable expenses like advertising and supplies.  Her adjusted self-employment income is $500 
per month.  The maximum hours her children can be authorized for child care are:  $500 divided by 4.3 weeks = $116.28 per 
week; $116.28 divided by Wisconsin’s state minimum wage of $7.25 per hour = 17 hours per week. 

 
2. Parents who start new businesses may receive up to one full-time authorization for the first six months of their business if they 

are spending at least 35 hours per week on the business during hours and the children are not in school or otherwise cared for 
during those times.  They cannot receive authorization for a new business more than once every 24 months. 

 
Example: A parent who starts a bait shop in June of 2013 may qualify for a full-time authorization for the first six months.  This is 
35 to 50 hours per week.  If they then start a Christmas tree cutting business in November of 2013, they will not be able to get a 
full-time authorization unless the adjusted self-employment income for the combined businesses is high enough to qualify for 35 
to 50 hours under the first point above. 

 
3. Self-employment as a non-regulated child care provider is not allowed as an approved activity for any Wisconsin Shares Child 

Care Assistance. 
 
4. All self-employed participants that have had a business longer than six months must provide current tax forms that have been 

submitted to the IRS for the business.  Department-approved Self-Employment Income Reports can also be submitted in 
addition to the tax forms if there is a change in circumstances.   

 
5. Cases that do not meet the policies for self-employment criteria cannot receive Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy for self-

employment as an approved activity. 
 
6. The attached Self-Employment Worksheet has also been scanned into your file. 
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