DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
Division of Safety and Permanence
Foster Home Record Checklist – Child Placing Agencies

Use of form:  Use of this form is voluntary. This form is used by licensing representatives to review foster home records to ensure compliance with DCF 54.04(1)(f)2., 3. and 7. This form may also be used as a self-study by child placing agencies to review compliance with these rules. Personally identifiable information will only be used to identify individual records. Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes].

Instructions:  While at the child placing agency, licensing representatives should review the foster home records in accordance with Licensing Activity Standards and determine whether each file contains the required information. Address each item on the checklist. Enter  (or date) to indicate compliance; enter NC to indicate noncompliance; or enter NA if the item is not applicable. If additional space for comments is needed, attach a separate sheet.

	Name – Child Placing Agency
[bookmark: _GoBack]     
	Address  (Street, City, State, Zip Code)
     
	Telephone Number
     

	General Requirements for All Level 1 – 5 Homes

	Name of Foster Home
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Foster home license application   54.04(1)(f)7., 54.06(2)(a)3., 56.04(4)(a)1., 56.04(4)(b)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Employment history of applicant 5 years (initial application)   54.01(3m), 56.04(4)(a)7.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Foster home placement agreements   54.04(1)(f)7., 54.06(2)(a)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Signed statement indicating applicant has received the following:   54.01(3m), 56.04(4)(a)9.
a.	Brochure explaining the foster care reimbursement and rate structure including clothing allowance   56.04(4)(a)9.a.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	b.	Brochure explaining the foster parent insurance program including how to file a claim   56.04(4)(a)9.b.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	c.	Authorization for the licensing agency to contact DOJ and / or federal or local law enforcement   56.05(1)(f), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	d.	Authorization from any non-client resident 12 years old or older to contact DOJ and / or federal or local law enforcement if necessary   56.05(1)(f), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	BID forms (All non-client household members 12 years old and over)   54.01(3m), 56.055(1)(a)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	CBC results (All adult household members)   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(a), s. 48.685(2)(am)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Response to Caregiver Background Check (IBIS)   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(a), s 48.685(2)(am)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Fingerprint checks on foster parents initially licensed after 01/01/2008, or if there was any break in licensure   54.01(3m), 56.055(1)(b), 56.055(2)(b)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Results of check with local law enforcement per info on BID if applicable   54.01(3m), s. 48.685
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Reverse Sex Offender check   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(c)
Website to conduct the check:   http://offender.doc.state.wi.us/public/
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Criminal history records search from any other jurisdiction in which a non-client resident lived outside the state of Wisconsin in the past 3 years   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(d) 
	     
	     
	     
	     

	For convictions, copies of police reports for agency to determine if substantially related to the care of children   54.01(3m), s. 48.685(5m), 12.06, 56.055(3)(a-c)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Child abuse or neglect check in each county in Wisconsin that each foster parent and all adult household members have lived in for the past 5 years shall be completed at initial licensing or if there is a break in licensure   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(e)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Child abuse or neglect check for each state besides Wisconsin that each foster parent and all adult household members have lived in for the past 5 years for initial licensing or if there is a break in licensure (if applicable)   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(e)2.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Information on the discharge status of any household member that served in the armed forces   54.01(3m), 56.055(2)(f)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	SAFE Questionnaire I   54.04(1)(h), 56.16(1)(n)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	SAFE Questionnaire II   54.04(1(h), 56.16(1)(n)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	SAFE Psychosocial Inventory   54.04(1)(h), 56.16(1)(n)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	SAFE Home Study (signed and dated)   54.04(1)(h), 56.16(1)(n)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	SAFE Home Update (signed and dated)   54.04(1)(h), 56.16 (1)(n)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Foster home licensing compliance study or survey   54.04(1)(f)2.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Current foster home license certificate with Level at which home is certified   54.04(1)(f)2., 56.04(5)(a), 56.13(2)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Verification of property insurance or waiver   56.04(4)(a)2., 56.04(4)b.2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Verification of vehicle insurance   56.05(3)(a), 56.05(4)(b), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Health exam for all in household   56.04(4)(a)3., 56.04(4)(b)5., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Fire inspection if required by CPA   56.04(4)(a)5., 56.04(4)(b)3., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Water test if required by CPA   56.04(4)(a)6., 56.04(4)(b)4., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Drawing of layout of home   56.04(4)(a)5m., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Rabies certificate showing vaccinations are current for pets   56.08(3)(a), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Training Plan at time of renewal   54.01(3m), 56.14(8)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Notification of any previous licensure as a foster parent or any other type of caregiver for children, the name of the licensing agency and the period during which the license was held   56.04(4)(a)8., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Licensing modification application if applicable   56.04(4)(c)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Written approval to combine care of foster children with regular part-time care of other non-related children or adults or to conduct business or provide services in the foster home, if applicable   56.09(2)(a), 54.01(3m)
Note:  The agency may not allow a foster parent who operates a foster home with a Level 3 to 5 certification to also operate a licensed family child care center under Ch. DCF 250 or a certified child care home under Ch. DCF 202 in the foster home.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Evidence that information gathered on Part A face sheet, DCF-F-CFS0872A-E has been provided to foster parent   54.01(3m), 56.15(3)(d), 37.03(2)(a)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Disaster Plan   56.08(10m), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Foster Parent Handbook   56.12(1), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Notification to the clerk of the school district when a license is issued   54.01(3m), s. 48.62(3)
1. Name of foster home parents   56.16(1)(L)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	2. Address and phone number of the foster parents   56.16(1)(L)2
	     
	     
	     
	     

	3. Type of children expected to be placed in the foster home   56.16(1)(L)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	4. Name, address and phone number of contact person form the CPA with whom school staff can communicate when necessary   56.16(1)(L)4.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Level 1 Home

	Preplacement Training (within 6 months of licensure) – 6 hours   56.13(3)(b), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Agencies must use the preplacement online training or request an exception from the department Exceptions Panel   56.14(6)(a)
Website to complete the online training is http://wcwpds.wisc.edu/foster-parent-training
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Placing agency has contact once per month with the foster parent   56.18(1)(a), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Level 2 Home

	Preplacement Training – 6 hours   56.13(4)(a)1.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· If child-specific must complete preplacement training within 6 months of licensure   56.13(4)(a)1.b., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial training during initial licensing period – 30 hours   54.01(3m), 56.13(4)(a)2.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· If licensed before Jan. 1, 2011, the foster parent shall complete the initial licensing training before Jan. 1, 2015   56.14(7)(c)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· If licensed before Jan. 1, 2011 and the foster parent providing verification that he / she has successfully completed a competency-based, pre-service training as described in DCFS Memo Series 2002-12 will not have to complete initial training   56.14(7)(d)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Agency must use Wisconsin Foundation Training for foster parents or request an exception from the department Exceptions Panel   56.14(7)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· A foster parent who is licensed solely for the purpose of adoption of a domestic infant under s. 48.837, or a foreign child under s. 48.839 or s. 48.97, will not be required to complete the initial licensing training if they complete the pre-adoption preparation training required under s. DCF 51.10   56.14(5)(c)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Ongoing training (after initial licensing period) – 10 hours every 12 months   56.13(4)a.3, 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Training using books, periodicals, and web based resources, television, and radio presentations may not exceed 20% of the required hours   56.14(8)(b)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Three favorable references   54.01(3m), 56.13(4)(b)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Placing agency has contact once per month with the foster parent   56.18(1)(a), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Level 3 Home

	Preplacement training – 36 hours   56.13(5)(b)1., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Preplacement training must include the 6 hours pre-placement online training and the Wisconsin Foundation Training for foster parents or an exception from the department Exceptions Panel   56.14(6d)
Website to complete the online training is http://wcwpds.wisc.edu/foster-parent-training
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial licensing training (During initial licensing period) – 24 hours   56.13(5)(b)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial training must include the following topics:   56.14(7e)(a)-(f)
(a)	Crisis management
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(b)	Sexuality and sexual boundaries
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(c)	Sexual abuse
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(d)	Effects of maltreatment and trauma on child development
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(e)	Building life skills
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(f)	Building birth family and cultural connections
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Ongoing training – 18 hours every 12 months   56.13(5)(b)3., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Training using books, periodicals, and web based resources, television, and radio presentations may not exceed 20% of the required hours   56.14(8)(b)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Applicant must have at least 3 of the following:   56.13(5)(a)1.a.-g.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	a.	A minimum of one year of experience as a foster parent or kinship care provider with a child placed in his or her home for at least one year
	     
	     
	     
	     

	b.*	A minimum of 5 years of experience working with or parenting children
	     
	     
	     
	     

	c.	A minimum of 500 hours of experience as a respite care provider for children under the supervision of a human services agency
	     
	     
	     
	     

	d.	A high school diploma or the equivalent
	     
	     
	     
	     

	e.	A college, vocational, technical, or advanced degree in the area of a child’s treatment needs, such as nursing, medicine, social work, or psychology
	     
	     
	     
	     

	f.*	A substantial relationship with the child to be placed through previous professional or personal experience
	     
	     
	     
	     

	g.	Work or personal experience for which the applicant has demonstrated the knowledge, skill, ability, and motivation to meet the needs of a child with a level of need of 3
	     
	     
	     
	     

	*Note: If an applicant for certification to operate a Level 3 foster home relies on experience that meets the requirements in subd. 1.b. or 1.f. as one of the 3 required criteria in the above paragraph, the applicant shall also meet the criteria in subd. 1.a., c., e., or g.,   56.13(5)(a)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Two in-person contacts per month with the foster parent if a child is placed. (One contact shall be in foster home)   56.18(1)(b)1., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	If a Level 1 or 2 child is placed in a Level 3 or 4 home, agency must have at least one in-person contact per month with foster parent   56.18(1)(b)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	If a Level 3 to 5 has not had placements for 3 or more months, an in-person contact in the foster home must be conducted prior to or within 24 hours of a placement   56.18(1)(b)3., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Applicant must have 4 favorable references:   56.13(5)(c), 54.01(3m)
· 3 references by unrelated persons   56.13(5)(c)1.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· One reference letter shall be regarding the applicant’s qualifications under DCF 56.13(5)(a)1., excluding par. (a)1.d.   56.13(5)(c)1.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· The fourth favorable reference shall be from a relative (adult child, if applicable)   56.13(5)(c)1.b., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Level 4 Home

	Preplacement Training – 40 hours   56.13(6)(b)1., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Preplacement training must include the preplacement online training and the Wisconsin Foundation Training for fosters or an exception from the department Exceptions Panel   56.14(6h)(a)1.a.; 56.14(6h)(a)2.
Website to complete online training http://wcwpds.wisc.edu/foster-parent-training
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Training must also include 4 hours of child-specific or population-specific information   56.14(6h)(a)1.b.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial Licensing Training (During initial licensing period) – 30 hours   56.13(6)(b)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial training must include the following topics:   56.14(7m)(a)-(g)
(a)	Crisis management
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(b)	Sexuality and sexual boundaries
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(c)	Sexual abuse
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(d)	Effects of maltreatment and trauma on child development
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(e)	Building life skills
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(f)	Building birth family and cultural connections
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(g)	6 hours of child-specific or population-specific training   56.14(7m)(b)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Ongoing Training – 24 hours every 12 months   56.13(6)(b)3., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Training must include 8 hours of child or population-specific   56.14(8)(b)1r.d.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Training using books, periodicals, and web based resources, television, and radio presentations may not exceed 20% of the required hours   56.14(8)(b)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Applicant must have at least 4 of the following:   56.13(6)(a)1.a.-g.
a.	A minimum of one year of experience with children with a level of need of 3 as a foster parent or kinship care provider with a child placed in his or her home for at least one year
	     
	     
	     
	     

	b.*	A minimum of 5 years of experience working with or parenting children
	     
	     
	     
	     

	c.	A minimum of 500 hours of experience as a respite care provider for children under the supervision of a human services agency
	     
	     
	     
	     

	d.	A high school diploma or the equivalent
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Applicant Experience, continued   56.13(6)(a)1.a.-g.
e.	A college, vocational, technical, or advanced degree in the area of a child’s treatment needs, such as nursing, medicine, social work, or psychology
	     
	     
	     
	     

	f.*	A substantial relationship with the child to be placed through previous professional or personal experience
	     
	     
	     
	     

	g.	Work or personal experience for which the applicant has demonstrated the knowledge, skill, ability, and motivation to meet the needs of children with a level of need of 4
	     
	     
	     
	     

	*Note: If an applicant for certification to operate a Level 4 foster home relies on experience that meets the requirements in subd. 1.b. or 1.f., as one of the 4 required criteria in the above paragraph, the applicant shall also meet the criteria in subd. 1.a., c., e., or g   56.13(6)(a)2., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Applicant must have 4 favorable references   56.13(6)(c), 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· 3 references by unrelated persons   56.13(6)(c)1.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· One reference letter shall be regarding the applicant’s qualifications under DCF 56.13(5)(a)1., excluding par. (a)1.d.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· The fourth favorable reference shall be from a relative (adult child, if applicable)   56.13(6)1.b., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Two in-person contacts per month with the foster parent   56.18(1)(b)1.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Level 5 Home

	Program Manager Qualifications – Must have one of the following:
· 4 year college degree in approved field   56.13(7)(e)4.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· 2 years supervised full-time work experience in out-of-home care program   56.13(7)(e)4.b., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· Personal experience with a family member who has similar needs   56.13(7)(e)4.c., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Program Manager must have one of the following:
· Previous employment as a manager or supervisor   56.13(7)(e)3.a., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	· A professional development plan to develop management and supervisory skills   56.13(7)(e)3.b, 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Program Manager – 40 hours of preplacement training   56.13(7)(e)5., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Preplacement training must include the following information:   56.14(6p)(a)-(k)
(a)	Preplacement online training
Website to complete the training is http://wcwpds.wisc.edu/foster-parent-training 
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(b)	School advocacy
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(c)	Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(d)	First aid
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(e)	Blood-borne pathogens
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(f)	Medication management
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Preplacement Training continued   56.14(6p)(a)-(k)
(g)	Patient rights
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(h)	Positive behavioral supports
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(i)	Individual service plans
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(j)	Emergency plans
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(k)	Four hours of child-specific or population-specific training, orientation, or observation
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Program Manager – 30 hours of initial licensing training   56.13(7)(e)6., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Initial Training must include the following information:
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(a)	Crisis management   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(b)	Sexuality and sexual boundaries   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(c)	Sexual abuse   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(d)	Effects of maltreatment and trauma on child development   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(e)	Building life skills   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(f)	Building birth family and cultural connections   56.14(7s)(a)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(g)	6 hours of child-specific or population-specific training   56.14(7s)(b)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Program Manager – 24 hours of ongoing training every 12 months   56.13(7)(e)7., 54.01(3m)
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Ongoing Training must include the following:
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(a)	Child maltreatment and reporting requirements   56.14(8)(b)1r.a.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(b)	Prompt and adequate treatment   56.14(8)(b)1r.b.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(c)	Any required reauthorizations for first aid, blood-borne pathogens, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation   56.14(8)(b)1r.c.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(d)	8 hours of child-specific or population-specific training  56.14(8)(b)1r.d.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	(e)	Training using books, periodicals, and web based resources, television, and radio presentations may not exceed 20% of the required hours   56.14(8)(b)3.
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Two in-person contacts per month with the foster parent   56.18(1)(b)1.
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