	DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
Division of Safety and Permanence

	Adoption Records Search Program
P.O. Box 8916
Madison, WI  53708-8916
(608) 266-7163



	
	For Office Use Only

	
	AF No.
	
	

	
	CMT No.
	
	

		Adoption Search Application
	Search No.
	
	

	
	
	
	

	

	Use of form:  Completion of this application is required to request adoption information from the Adoption Records Search Program.  Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes].  Provision of your social security number (SSN) is voluntary; not providing it could result in an information processing delay.

	Instructions:  Complete and return the signed and notarized application with the $40.00 application fee and the appropriate attachments to the address above.

	

	Applicant Information

	

	Current name:
	[bookmark: _GoBack]     
	

	
	(First, Middle, Last)
	

	

	Address – Street:
	     
	

	
	

		City:
	     
	State: 
	  
	Zip Code: 
	     

	

	

	Telephone numbers:
	[bookmark: Text35]     
	
	[bookmark: Text36]     
	
	[bookmark: Text37]     

	
	(Home)
	
	(Work)
	
	(Cell)

	

	Email address:
	     
	

	

	Social Security Number:
	     
	

	Best method and time to contact you during the day:
	     

	

	Access to confidential adoption information is restricted to the following requesters age 18 or older.  Check the box that applies.

	

	I am:
	|_|
	An adult adoptee (adopted in Wisconsin).

	
	
	Complete Part A

	

	
	|_|
	A person whose birth parents(s) rights were terminated in Wisconsin but was never adopted.

	
	
	Complete Part A

	

	
	|_|
	An adoptive parent of person adopted in Wisconsin.

	
	
	Complete Part B

	

	
	|_|
	A guardian or legal custodian of a person adopted in Wisconsin or whose birth parent(s) rights were terminated in Wisconsin.  Attach proof of guardianship.

	
	
	Complete Part B

	

	
	|_|
	An offspring (child) of a person adopted in Wisconsin.  (Provide proof of relationship to adopted person.)

	
	
	Complete Part B

	

	
	|_|
	The parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the offspring of a deceased individual or adoptee, if the offspring is under 18 years of age

	
	
	Complete Part B

	

	
	|_|
	An agency or social worker assigned to provide services to a person adopted in Wisconsin or whose birth parent’(s) rights were terminated.

	
	
	Complete Part B




Confirmation of Identity


Instructions:	1.	Complete the following information and sign before a notary public.  (Bank or attorney’s office.)
	2.	Attach a copy of a current state issued photo ID.
	3.	Include proof of name change (not necessary for marriages).


	
	
	

	
	
	

	I,
	     
	whose date of birth is
	     

	
	(Name – Applicant)
	
	(mm/dd/yyyy)

	certify that I have submitted a request to the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families for adoption search services.

	

	I certify that the attached identification card contains my actual photograph and signature and that the information provided

	on this application is true.

	

	

	
	

	
	SIGNATURE – Applicant

	

	

	

	

	Subscribed and Sworn to before me

	this
	
	day of
	
	, 20
	
	,

	

	
	

	

	Notary Public, State of
	
	

	

	

	My commission expires
	
	

	













(SEAL)









As provided under Wisconsin Statute section 946.32(1)(a), making a statement under oath or affirmation that you believe to be false for purposes of confirming your identity to obtain information from the Adoption Records Search Program is a Class H felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, or imprisonment up to 6 years, or both.



PART A


Adoptee Application

Instructions:  Complete this page if you are an adult adoptee (18 years or older and adopted in Wisconsin) or a person whose birth parent(s) terminated parental rights in Wisconsin but was never adopted.

	1.
	Information to help us locate your adoption or commitment record.

	
	

	
	Adoptive name:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	Birthdate:
	     
	Birth place:
	     

	
	(mm/dd/yyyy)
	
	(City, State)

	
	

	
	Name(s) of adoptive parent(s) at time of placement:
	 Parent 1:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	
	Parent 2:
	     

	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	Name – Adoption agency (if known):
	     

	
	

	
	County of adoption (if known):
	     
	

	
	

	
	[bookmark: Check34]|_| Yes   |_| No   Was this a step-parent or relative adoption?

	
	|_| Yes   |_| No   Were you adopted more than once?

	
	

	
	Birth name (if known):
	     
	

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)
	

	
	

	
	Names of birth parents (if known):
	Mother:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	
	Father:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	

	2.
	Information requested – Check each type of information you are requesting.

	
	

	
	Non-identifying information – All information leading to the identity of the birth parent(s) will be removed.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Copy of adoption record – Includes all information concerning circumstances of adoption, and birth parent(s) family medical and social history information collected at the time of placement.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Updated family health history.  A search for birth parent(s) will be conducted in order to obtain requested information.  .

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Information regarding eligibility for tribal enrollment.  If eligible, we will assist with the enrollment application process.

	
	

	
	Identifying information – Can only be released with the written consent of the birth parent(s).  A search for birth parent(s) will be conducted if consent is not currently on file with DCF.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Current names and addresses of birth parent(s).  Birth fathers can only be contacted if paternity was legally established.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Impounded birth certificate.

	










	Outreach Statement to Birth Parents

	

	
	Complete this section if you have requested identifying information.  Birth parent(s) often carefully consider your reasons for searching before they make a decision about your request.  Use the space below to tell us what you would like to share with your birth parents about yourself.  This statement will be provided to your birth parent(s).  Identifying information about you and / or photos can not be shared with your birth parent(s) at this time.

	
	

	
	     







PART B


	Application Request for Adoptive Parents, Guardians / Legal Custodians 
and Offspring of Wisconsin Adoptees




Instructions:  Complete this page if you are requesting information on behalf of a Wisconsin adoptee.


	1.
	Your relationship to adoptee:
	     

	
	Provide proof of relationship.

	
	

	2.
	Information to help us locate the adoption record.

	
	

	
	Current name of adopted person:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	Adoptive name:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	Birthdate:
	     
	Birth place:
	     

	
	
	(mm/dd/yyyy)
	
	(City, State)

	
	

	
	Name(s) of adoptive parent(s) at time of placement:
	Parent 1:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	
	Parent 2:
	     

	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	Name – Adoption agency (if known):
	     

	
	

	
	County of adoption (if known):
	     
	

	
	

	
	|_| Yes  |_| No  Was this a step-parent or relative adoption?

	
	|_| Yes  |_| No  Is adoptee deceased?

	
		If “Yes”, provide date, city and state:
	     

	
	|_| Yes  |_| No  Was this person adopted more than once?

	
	

	
	Birth name (if known):
	     
	

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)
	

	
	

	
	Names of birth parent(s) (if known):
	Mother:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	
	Father:
	     

	
	
	(First, Middle, Last)

	
	

	
	

	3.
	Information requested – Check each type of information you are requesting.

	
	

	
	Non-identifying information – All information leading to the identity of the birth parent(s) will be removed.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Copy of adoption record – Includes all information concerning circumstances of adoption, and birth parent(s) family medical and social history information collected at the time of placement.

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Updated family health history.  A search for birth parent(s) will be conducted in order to obtain requested information.  

	
	

	
	
	|_|
	Information regarding eligibility for tribal enrollment.  If eligible, we will assist with the enrollment application process.  







Adoption Records Search Program Fees



$40.00 Application Fee
A non-refundable application fee of $40.00 in the form of a check or money order made payable to the "Department of Children and Families" (DCF) must be submitted with the application for all requests.  This fee covers the search of Vital Records and the Central Birth Registry which is necessary to confirm your identity, locate the adoption record and search for updated birth family information that may be on file with the Department of Children and Families.



Fee for Non-Identifying Copy of Adoption Record
There is an hourly charge for copying, deleting identifying information, proofreading and recopying the adoption record.  The department's charge is $75.00 / hour.  The average adoption record takes about one hour to prepare.  The fee for this service will not exceed $150.00.



Fee for Birth Parent Search and Outreach
There is an hourly charge for the time it takes to locate birth parent(s) when a search for identifying information or updated medical / genetic information is requested and affidavits of consent are not already on file with DCF.  The department's charge is $75.00 / hour.  Your fees will not exceed $100.00 per birth parent.  A typical search for a birth parent takes approximately one hour.



Tribal Enrollment
There is no fee for determining eligibility for tribal enrollment or for DCF assistance with the enrollment process, however, the $40 application fee is required.  If you are eligible for enrollment and wish to apply, a Vital Records fee will be requested from you at a later date in order to obtain certified documents required by the tribe.



Fee Reductions – Fee reductions are based on the Uniform Fee Schedule, s.46.03(18), Wisconsin Statutes.  Complete page 7 if you wish to apply for a fee reduction.





I agree to pay the adoption search fees for my request as stated above.




	
	
	
	

	SIGNATURE – Applicant
	
	Date Signed
	














Application for Fee Reduction
Instructions:  Complete this page if you wish to apply for a fee reduction.  If eligible your maximum fee will be a one hour charge.


	Name – Applicant:
	     

	
	(First, Middle, Last)




	Income Allowances for Families of Different Sizes


	Family Size
	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	6
	7
	8
	9
	10

	Annual Allowance
	$19,572
	$31,644
	$37,656
	$43,728
	$49,740
	$54,636
	$58,416
	$60,660
	$63,672
	$66,684

	Above Allowances Based on Uniform Fee System Standard Schedule, 2015




	Charge Based on Income

	
1.	Enter family size.
	  

	
2.	Enter total annual family income.
	[bookmark: Text21]$     

	
3.	Enter allowance for family size:
	
If amount of line 2 is less than amount of line 3, STOP!
Your maximum fee is the one hour charge.
	
[bookmark: Text22]$     

	
4.	If the amount of line 2 is more than the amount of line 3, subtract line 3 from line 2.
	[bookmark: Text23]$     

	
5.	Multiply line 4 by .05 (5%).
	$     

	
6.	This is your maximum fee.
	





All fee reductions are based on current family size.  If you can be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s tax return, you must provide a copy of their tax return for verification.

A signed and dated copy of my federal income tax return or W-2’s from last year are attached.  If you had no family income last year, we must have a statement that explains why, proof of no income, or confirmation of assistance.  If you are receiving disability benefits, you must provide documentation.

|_|	I am applying for a fee reduction.



	SIGNATURE – Applicant
	
	Date Signed




[bookmark: Check16]Office Use:  Fee Reduction	|_| Eligible
[bookmark: Check17]		|_| Not eligible







DID YOU REMEMBER TO . . .

	|_|
	Enclose the non-refundable application fee of $40.00.  Make the check payable to the "Department of Children and Families."

	
	

	|_|
	Notarize your Confirmation of Identity form (page 2).

	
	

	|_|
	Attach a copy of a current state issued photo ID.

	
	

	|_|
	Attach proof of guardianship if you are the guardian of an adoptee or an individual / person whose birth parent(s) terminated their rights.

	
	

	|_|
	Attach a photocopy of the adoptee’s social security card if you have requested tribal enrollment.

	
	

	|_|
	Provide proof of relationship to adopted person if you are completing Part B.

	
	

	|_|
	Sign and date page 6 if you are not applying for a fee reduction.

	
	

	|_|
	Complete, sign and date page 7 if you are applying for a fee reduction.  Include a signed copy of last year's federal income tax return or W-2's.

	
	





Mail your application materials to:  

Adoption Records Search Program
P.O. Box 8916
Madison, WI  53708-8916



Questions ?

	Call us at (608) 266-7163, Monday – Friday, 8:00 – 4:30 P.M.
	OR
	Visit our website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/children
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