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To:  DCF Area Administrators  

Child Placing Agency Directors 
Child Welfare Agency Directors 
County Departments of Community Programs Directors 
County Departments of Human Services Directors 
County Departments of Social Services Directors 
Group Home Providers 
Tribal Social Service/Indian Child Welfare Directors 
Private Child Placing Agencies 
Residential Care Center Providers 
Shelter Care Providers 
Tribal Chairpersons 

 
From:  Fredi-Ellen Bove 

Administrator 
 
Re:  2017 Maximum Daily Rates for Group Homes, Residential Care Centers, and Child 

Placing Agencies
 
PURPOSE 
 
This memo provides the established 2017 maximum daily rates for Group Homes (GHs) & Residential 
Care Centers (RCCs), as well as the maximum daily administrative rate for Child Placing Agencies 
(CPAs).  This memo also outlines the procedure for providers to determine individual rates. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Wisconsin Statute Section 49.343 requires the Department to establish per client daily rates for GHs & 
RCCs, as well as the administrative portion of foster care daily rates paid to CPAs.  The Department has 
established these rates using Cost & Service Report data gathered from providers who submitted their 
reports prior to the established deadline. 
 
INFORMATION SUMMARY 
 
Below are the 2017 per client maximum daily rates.  The published maximum rates are effective starting 
January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 for all placements, regardless of placement date. 
 
Provider Type Maximum Daily Rate 
Child Placing Agency $ 70.02 
Group Home $ 231.04 
Pregnant/Parenting Teen Group Home $ 261.04 
Residential Care Center $ 378.97 

 
On or before October 1, 2016 GHs, RCCs, & CPAs will be required to submit a 2017 proposed rate 
request by completing form DCF-F-2696-E (http://dcf.wi.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx ) and emailing it to 
DCFCWLRateReg@wi.gov. Failure to meet the deadline of October 1, 2016 will result in the provider 
waiving the right to mediation.  If a licensee does not submit all information required under Chapters 
52, 54 and 57, the department may impose sanctions and penalties under these Administrative 
Rules and s. 48.715, Stats, including license revocation. 

 

http://dcf.wi.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx
mailto:DCFCWLRateReg@wi.gov


 
  
The Department will approve individual rates by November 1, 2016 for rates effective January 1, 2017.  
The provider agency will receive an email from the Department’s Rate Regulation email account with the 
approved rate no later than November 1, 2016.  As of January 1, 2017 all placements, regardless of 
placement date, will follow the Department’s approved rates set for 2017.  Per Administrative Rules 
Chapters 52, 54, and 57, an agency shall charge all Wisconsin public purchasers the same rate for the 
same service.  If an agency negotiates a rate lower than the Department’s approved rate with a Wisconsin 
public purchaser, this rate must be charged to all purchasers, for all placements.  The agency shall notify 
the Department within 5 business days of a change in their rate. 
 
Please also note that the Department has made adjustments to the maximum rate calculation 
methodology to allow for more flexibility regarding staff recruitment and retention efforts and changes to 
the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).  If your agency intends to undertake additional staff 
recruitment and retention efforts or if you anticipate an impact based on the FLSA changes, that you have 
not already accounted for on the assumptions tab of your Provider Cost & Service Report, you may 
include that information when submitting your Proposed Rate Request form.  Please note that you may be 
asked by the Department, at a future date, to verify that these costs were incurred. 
 
Please refer to the following table that outlines the timeline of the Rate Regulation process: 
 

Timeline for Rate Regulation  
September 1  The Department publishes 2017 maximum daily rates for each provider type.  
October 1  All agencies submit proposed rate using form F-2696-E on or before this date. 

Failure to meet the deadline will result in the provider waiving the right to mediation. 
If a licensee does not submit all information required under Chapters 52, 54 and 
57, the department may impose sanctions and penalties under these Administrative 
Rules and s. 48.715, Stats, including license revocation.  

October 1-31  The Department reviews proposed rates submitted by agencies. Proposed rates 
may be negotiated during this time period with the Department and the agency.  

November 1  By this date, the Department will notify agencies of their approved rate. If an 
approved rate is not acceptable an agency shall request mediation within 5 days of 
receiving the notification of the approved rate from the Department. The notification 
will include information on requesting mediation of the rate. If mediations are not 
successful the Department will order a rate. If the agency does not agree; the 
agency will have 30 days to appeal the decision to the Division of Hearings and 
Appeals  

January 1 Rates are effective for all placements regardless of placement date.  
 
 
 
CENTRAL OFFICE CONTACT:  Matt Steigerwald, Program & Policy Analyst-Advanced 
     Out of Home Care Section 
     Bureau of Permanence and Out of Home Care 

PO Box 8916 
Madison, WI  53708 

     (608) 422-6934 
     DCFCWLRateReg@wisconsin.gov 
 
 
MEMO WEB SITE:   http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy  
 
Proposed Rate Request Form Link:  http://dcf.wi.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx  
 

2 

mailto:DCFCWLRateReg@wisconsin.gov
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy
http://dcf.wi.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx

