Wisconsin Department of Children and Families DSP Numbered Memo Series 2016-08
Division of Safety and Permanence July 15, 2016

To: DCF Area Administrators
Child Placing Agency Directors
Child Welfare Agency Directors
County Departments of Community Programs Directors
County Departments of Developmental Disabilities Services Directors
County Departments of Human Services Directors
County Departments of Social Services Directors
Group Home Providers
Tribal Social Service/Indian Child Welfare Directors
Private Child Placing Agencies
Residential Care Center Providers
Shelter Care Providers
Tribal Chairpersons

From: Fredi-Ellen Bove\//\_ugt g ?)’{"m 150"“

Administrator

Re: Implementation of Ch. DCF 12 Administrative Code: Caregiver Background Checks

PURPOSE

This memo provides notice of the implementation of a Department of Children and Families caregiver
background check rule as required under s. 48.685 Wis. Stats. Wisconsin’s Caregiver Background
Check law, s. 48.685 Wis. Stats., applies to caregivers and entities that are regulated by the Department
of Children and Families.

BACKGROUND

The Department’s rule is similar to the existing caregiver background check rule in Ch. DHS 12 Admin.
Code. Chapter DHS 12 is a Department of Health Services rule that applied prior to July 1, 2016 to
background checks required under ss. 48.685 and 50.065 Wis. Stats. Many of the entities subject to the
background check requirements under s. 48.685 Wis. Stats. were previously in the former Department of
Health and Family Services. The Department of Health and Family Services split in 2008 and became
the Department of Health Services and the Department of Children and Families. Many of these
programs were transferred when the Department of Children and Families was created. Chapter DHS 12
applied to background checks under s. 48.685 Wis. Stats., until the issuance of Ch. DCF 12 Admin.
Code.

In general, s. 48.685 Wis. Stats., requires a background check as a condition of regulatory approval or
employment at, contract with, or nonclient residency at specified entities that care for children, including
child placing agencies, foster homes, group homes, residential care centers for children and youth,
shelter care facilities.. A background check is also required for an interim caretaker or successor
guardian seeking subsidized guardianship payments and any nonclient residents.

POLICY AND PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS

Chapter DCF 12 Admin. Code specifies caregiver background check requirements for the issuance of
licenses to, and establishing standards for the operation of, child placing agencies, foster homes, group



homes, shelter care facilities, residential care centers for children and youth, interim caretakers, and
successor guardians. Ch. DCF 12 Admin. Code establishes requirements related to the following:

Entities contracting to conduct background checks and retain records
Obtaining armed forces information
Bars and substantially-related convictions and delinquency adjudications:

o0 Specified offenses that are a bar. Chapter DCF 12.02 (24) includes a revised
interpretation of the effect of a conviction or delinquency adjudication for the offenses
specified in s. 48.685 (5) (bm) 4. Wis. Stats. Under the revised interpretation, a
conviction or delinquency adjudication for these offenses will remain a bar to eligibility
after the 5-year period, unless the person demonstrates rehabilitation. The 5-year period
is a waiting period before a person may request a rehabilitation review.

= This applies to all new licenses and license renewals issued after July 1, 2016.
Reporting requirements
Sanctions
Rehabilitation reviews
Delegation under section 48.979 Wis. Stats.
Adoption Assistance, adoption approval, Subsidized Guardianship, and foster homes
The Background Information Disclosure (BID) must be completed by caregivers and nonclient
residents no more than 120 days before the agency or entity submits a request for information
required under s. 48.685 (2) (am) or (b) and (3) (a) or (b) Wis. Stats.
The age at which household members are required to complete the Background Information
Disclosure (BID) is now age 12 consistently in all effected administrative rules.

ACTION SUMMARY

The issuance of Ch. DCF 12 Admin. Code, related to caregiver background check requirements for the
issuance of licenses to, and establishing standards for the operation of, child placing agencies, , foster
homes, group homes, shelter care facilities, residential care centers for children and youth, interim
caretakers, and successor guardians became effective July 1, 2016.

REGIONAL OFFICE CONTACT: DCF Area Administrator

CENTRAL OFFICE CONTACT: Out-of-Home Care Specialist

Bureau of Permanency and Out-of-Home Care
(608) 422-6937

MEMO WEB SITE: http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy

Attachments Ch. DCF 12 Administrative Code

Ch. DCF 56 Administrative Code

Ch. DCF 56 Administrative Code — Annotated Version
DCF-F-CFS0787: Child Foster Care Licensing Checklist
Foster Care and Subsidized Guardianship Barred Crimes
DCF-F-2978-E: Background Information Disclosure (BID)
DCF-F-419: Rehabilitation Review Application Instructions
DCF-F-418-E: Rehabilitation Review Panel Decision Report
DCF-F-2857-E: Rehabilitation Review Appeals Report
DCF-F-CFS2191-E: DCF 12 Negative Action Notice



http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dcf/001_020/12
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dcf/021_099/56
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/0131a.pdf
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/pdf/0787.pdf
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2978.docx
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/419.docx
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/418.docx
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2857.docx
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/pdf/2191.pdf

Barring Crimes and Other Offenses under Section 48.685, Stats.

Foster Care and Subsidized Guardianship

This table applies to applicants for a foster care license, foster parents, subsidized guardianship, and foster
parents licensed for placement of children for adoption for whom adoption assistance will be provided.

Regulatory approval, employment as a caregiver, nonclient residency at, and contracting with an entity are

barred as follows:

Wis. Stats.

Conviction

Bar

125.075 (1)

Injury or death by providing alcoholic beverages to a
minor

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

125.085 (3) (a) 2.

Make, alter, duplicate ID for money or other
compensation

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

125.105 (2) (b)

Impersonate or abet impersonation of an inspector,
agent, or employee of Dept. of Revenue or Justice

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

125.66 (3) Manufacture or rectify intoxicating liquor withouta | Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
permit then bar unless rehabilitation approval
125.68 (12) Recover, use, conceal, or dispose of alcohol from Bar for 5 years after crime committed,

denatured alcohol

then bar unless rehabilitation approval

346.63 (1), (2), (5)
or (6)

Operating or causing injury by intoxicated use of a
motor vehicle if a felony under s. 346.65 (2) (am) 5.,
6., or 7., or (f); (2)) (d); or (3m), Stats.

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.01 1* degree intentional homicide Permanent bar

940.02 1* degree reckless homicide Permanent bar

940.03 Felony murder Permanent bar

940.05 2" degree intentional homicide Permanent bar

940.06 2" degree reckless homicide Permanent bar

940.09 Homicide by intoxicated use of vehicle or firearm Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.12 Assisting suicide Bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.19 (2), (4), Battery (felony) Bar for 5 years after crime committed,

(5), or (6) then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.19 (2), (4), (5),
or (6)

Battery, if victim is spouse (felony)

Permanent bar

940.19 (3), 1999
Stats.

Battery (felony)

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.19 (3), 1999
Stats.

Battery, if victim is spouse (felony)

Permanent bar

940.20 (1) or (Im)

Battery by prisoners or battery by persons subject to
certain injunctions, if victim is spouse

Permanent bar

940.20 Battery: special circumstances Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval
940.203 Battery or threat to judge Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval
940.205 Battery or threat to Dept. of Revenue employee Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval
940.207 Battery or threat to Dept. of Safety and Professional | Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
Services or Workforce Development employee then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.21 Mayhem Permanent bar

940.22 (2) or (3)

Sexual exploitation by therapist; duty to report

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.225 (1), (2),
or (3)

1%, 2" 3" degree sexual assault

Permanent bar
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Wis. Stats.

Conviction

Bar

940.23 Reckless injury Permanent bar

940.25 Injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.285 (2) Abuse of vulnerable adults (misdemeanor or felony) | Bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.29 Abuse of residents of a penal facility Bar unless rehabilitation approval

940.295 Abuse or neglect of patients and residents Bar unless rehabilitation approval

(misdemeanor or felony)

940.302 (2) if s.
940.302 (2) (a)

Human trafficking for purposes of a commercial sex
act

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

1.b. applies
940.305 Taking hostages Permanent bar
940.31 Kidnapping Permanent bar

941.20 (2) or (3)

Endangering safety by use of dangerous weapon
(felony)

Permanent bar

941.21 Disarming a peace officer Permanent bar
942.09 (2) Representations depicting nudity (felony) Bar unless rehabilitation approval
943.10 (2) Armed burglary or burglary with battery Permanent bar
943.23 (19) Operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s Permanent bar

consent while possessing a dangerous weapon

943.23 (1m) or
(1r), 1999 Stats.

Permanent bar

943.32 (2)

Robbery with a dangerous weapon

Permanent bar

948.21 (1) (a)

Neglecting a child (misdemeanor)

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

948.21 (1) (b) to
(d)

Neglecting a child (felony)

Permanent bar

94853 (2) (b) L.

Child unattended in child care vehicle
(misdemeanor)

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

948.53 (2) (b) 2. Child unattended in child care vehicle (felony) Permanent bar
to 4.
Any other offense | Crimes Against Children Permanent bar

under ch. 948,
Stats., that is a
felony

Any offense
under ch. 961,
Stats., that is a
felony

Uniform Controlled Substances Act
(includes convictions under previous numbering in
ch. 161, Stats.)

Bar for 5 years after crime committed,
then bar unless rehabilitation approval

Other Offenses

Finding by a governmental agency of neglect or
abuse of a client or of misappropriation of a client’s

property

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

Finding by a governmental agency of child abuse or
neglect

Bar unless rehabilitation approval

Note: Any comparable offense or conviction under federal law or another state’s law has the same categorization as
crimes and offenses included on this list.

Note: This appendix is based on s. 48.685 (1) (c), (5) (a), and (5) (bm), Stats., and 42 USC 671(20).

Department of Children and Families
July 2016




	Implementation of Ch DCF 12 Administrative Code Caregiver Background Checks 2016-08
	2016-08 Foster Care and Subsidized Guardianship Barred Crimes

