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PREVIOUS MEMOS 

 

In the last year, DCF has released multiple memos outlining the various steps we have taken to 

address the changing federal requirements attached to the Child Care Development Block Grant. 

These memos are located here: https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/memos and should be 

reviewed if you are unfamiliar with the recent changes. 

 

FIRST YEAR OF DAY CAMPS WITH NEW BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIREMENTS 

 

On October 1, 2018 new requirements went into effect for all regulated child care programs in 

Wisconsin. This includes day camps, whether or not they have received Wisconsin Shares 

funding in the past. These changes impact the caregiver background checks required by DCF 

regulation including: 

 

 How a camp may request a background check for an individual 

 Which individuals require a caregiver background check 

 When an individual may begin working at a day camp 

 Timeframes for requesting background checks and receiving results 

 

WHAT CHANGES DIRECTLY IMPACT DAY CAMPS? 

 

 Fingerprint-Based Background Check Required Prior to Working 

Before any caregiver may begin working at a day camp, a DCF fingerprint-based FBI 

background check is required. If you need assistance determining who requires a background 

check, DCF has created a webpage and web tool located at 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/background-check.  
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It is important to note that day camps no longer have 60 days from the time of hire to 

complete the background check.  

Any caregiver at a day camp must have, at a minimum, a preliminary eligibility determination 

before they may begin working. 

Wis. Stat. 48.686(1)(ag) defines a “caregiver” as any of the following: 

1. A person who is any of the following:

a. An employee or independent contractor of a child care program.

b. Involved in the care of supervision of clients of a child care program or has

unsupervised access to clients of a child care program.

2. A person who has, or is seeking, a license, certification, or contract to operate a

child care program.

Background Checks Must Be Completed by DCF to Meet the New Requirements 

In the past, programs could perform background checks through different agencies or 

companies in order to be compliant with DCF regulations. This is no longer the case. All 

caregivers’ information must be submitted to the DCF for a finger-print based background 

check to determine eligibility to work in the camp. These requests can be submitted through 

the Child Care Provider Portal located at https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/.  

The Cost and Fees of the New Background Checks 

When an individual makes a fingerprint appointment for their background check, they must 

pay a fee of $39 dollars. This represents $7.75 for Fieldprint, the company who collects the 

fingerprint, and $31.25 for the FBI background check fee. A background check cannot be 

scheduled if the fee is not paid. 

The Timeline for Background Check Results 

Once a fingerprint is collected, preliminary eligibility is determined within 5 – 7 days. 

Preliminary eligibility means that an individual caregiver can work in a day camp under 

periodic direct observation. Final eligibility is typically determined within 45 days, and allows 

a caregiver to work in a day camp without periodic direct observation. Be aware that 

background checks for individuals who have lived out of state in the last 5 years may take 

longer to process. 

RECOMMENDED ACTION 

If you are unfamiliar with the new background check requirements: 

Familiarize yourself with the changes and the new requirements by using the resources listed 

under the Information and Training Materials tab at 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc. 

If you do not have access to the Child Care Provider Portal (CCPP): 

Visit https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/provider-portal/info.  

You will need to request a DWD login and password, which is required to get access to the 

portal, at https://www.dwd.state.wi.us/accountmanagement/default.aspx. If you have a DWD 

login and password already, you can request Child Care Provider Portal access at 

https://ccpi.wisconsin.gov/AccountRequest/AccountRequest.aspx. The Child Care Provider 

https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/provider-portal/info
https://www.dwd.state.wi.us/accountmanagement/default.aspx
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/provider-portal/ccpp-access
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Portal is the easiest and most efficient way to manage background checks and eligibility 

letters for individuals in your program. 

 

 Take Action: 

Begin the caregiver background check process for returning employees as soon as possible, 

and for new hires promptly upon hire. Allow extra time for background checks for individuals 

who have lived out of state. DCF recommends adjusting your employment and hiring policies 

to account for the new eligibility requirements. 

 

Still have questions? 

Email the Childcare Background Unit (CBU) at DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov, or call 

the CBU at 608-422-7400, for more information, or with any questions or concerns. 

 

HELPFUL LINKS AND RESOURCES 

 

DCF has developed a web page that contains information on the new background checks 

process. We encourage licensed child care operators to visit the web page frequently to learn 

more about the coming changes. The web page can be found here:  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc-updates 

 

Checklists with step-by-step instructions for performing background checks can be downloaded 

from the “Information and Training Materials” tab located here: 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc  

 

An interactive web tool for assistance in deciding who needs a background check can be found 

here: 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/background-check 

 

More information will be coming as we continue to perform background checks. If you have not 

yet signed up to receive DCF emails, you can subscribe here:  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/email-signup 

 

mailto:DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc-updates
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/background-check
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/email-signup

