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August 12, 2015      BECR Memo 2015-02 
 
To: Certified Operators 
  
From:  Mark Andrews, Director     
 Bureau of Early Care Regulation   
 
RE: Caregiver Background Check Updates 
 
Annual Background Information Disclosure (BID) Form 
On July 13, 2015, Governor Walker signed the biennial budget bill for state fiscal years 2015-
2017. The budget included a provision that immediately eliminated the requirement to complete 
Background Information Disclosure (BID) forms annually. The requirement to collect a BID 
form prior to certification remains in effect for all certification applicants, household members 
at least 12 years of age and older, and for all caregivers. 
 
Effective immediately, certified operators, household members, and caregivers in certified 
settings are no longer required to complete BID forms every 12 months. BID forms must still be 
submitted at initial application and by the next business day when:  
• a person 12 years of age or older becomes a household member;  
• a current household member turns age 12;  
• a new prospective caregiver(s) is seeking approval from the certification agency; or 
• there is a change in the board chairperson (i.e. certified school-age programs). 

 
Annual Caregiver Background Checks 
The biennial budget bill did not change caregiver background check requirements. Certification 
agencies will continue to conduct all initial and annual caregiver background checks for 
applicants for certification, certified operators, adult household members, and other caregivers. 
Certification agencies will also continue to conduct background checks for all prospective 
employees/volunteers in certified settings before employment or volunteer work commences.  
 
One-Time Fingerprinting Requirements 
The biennial budget bill did not change the fingerprint requirement for providers receiving or 
wishing to receive Wisconsin Shares child care subsidy payments. All certified operators, adult 
caregiver employees, and adult household members of child care operators participating in 
YoungStar must complete a one-time fingerprint-based background check by December 31, 
2015, to continue receiving or remain eligible to receive Wisconsin Shares payments.  
 
Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Background Checks 
In November 2014, the reauthorization of the CCDBG was signed into law. The reauthorization 
contains provisions that will affect Wisconsin’s current criminal background check process and 
requirements. The impact and implementation of these changes is currently under review. The 
department will provide additional information as it becomes available. 
 
Questions on the caregiver background check process for certified operators may be directed to 
the certification agency.  
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