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June 30, 2014        BECR Memo 2014-04 
 
 
TO: Licensed Child Care Providers receiving or 

wishing to receive Wisconsin Shares Child 
Care Subsidy Payments 

 
FROM:   Mark Andrews, Director 
  Bureau of Early Care Regulation 
 
RE:   Fingerprint-based background checks for    

licensees and adult household members 
 
Beginning July 9 and continuing through August 2014, all child care licensees currently 
participating in the YoungStar program will receive information on how to submit fingerprints to 
conduct a background check.  
 
New Law  
In 2013, a law was enacted that requires all regulated child care programs serving or wishing to 
serve children in the WI Shares child care subsidy program to submit to a one-time only 
fingerprint check for the licensee and all adult household members. (Licensees are required to 
conduct fingerprint checks on all employees as instructed in BECR memo 2014-03 dated June 23 
2014.) 
 
Timeframe for Compliance 
No later than December 31, 2015, all licensees and adult household residents in child care 
programs either currently receiving or wishing to receive Wisconsin Shares Child Care subsidy 
payments must have a one-time only fingerprint-based background check on file with the 
Department of Children and Families (DCF) Caregiver Background Unit. 
 
What You Need To Do Next 
DCF currently conducts a name-based Department of Justice (DOJ) background check for all 
licensees and household members annually. The letter you will receive this summer will identify 
the date of the last DOJ check for the licensee and any adult household members associated with 
the center. These dates will be indicated on the last page of the letter as shown below. Prior to 
when the next annual background check is due, you may choose to have the one-time only 
fingerprint check done instead of the annual name-based check. If you do so, you will pay 
$34.50 and save the additional $10 cost associated with the name-based check.  
 
If you would like to use the one-time only fingerprint check in place of the annual name-based 
check, please make sure that fingerprints are submitted at least 2 weeks prior to the date when 
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the next name-based check is due to be run. (That is one year after the date of the last check, as 
indicated on the form).   
   

 
 
 
 
When you receive the letter, please review the listed name(s) for accuracy. If the individuals 
listed on the last page are incorrect for any reason, please contact the Caregiver Background Unit 
(CBU) to update our records with the correct information. For corporations and churches, if the 
individual listed is no longer the board president or chairperson or, the individual is no longer a 
board member who was designated by the broad president or chairperson, please contact the 
CBU with updated information. 
 
DCF has posted the answers to some frequently asked questions related to fingerprint-based 
checks as well as guides on how to schedule fingerprint appointments on its website at the 
following link:  http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc. Please contact the CBU with any 
additional questions at DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov or 608-266-8001.  
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