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A new law will require a licensee to conduct a one-time fingerprint-based background check on 
all caregiver employees, volunteers counted in the staff to child ratio and contractors.  This law 
only applies if the center wishes to receive Wisconsin Shares child care subsidy reimbursements. 
Centers participating in the YoungStar Quality Rating program are subject to this requirement. 
Centers that are not or do not plan to receive Wisconsin Shares subsidy payments or participate 
in YoungStar are not subject to the law. However, these centers may conduct fingerprint-based 
checks if they choose.  
 
Licensed centers are required to conduct the fingerprint-based background checks on caregiver 
employees. The Department of Children and Families (DCF) will conduct the fingerprint-based 
background checks on the licensees and any adult household members of child care centers 
participating in YoungStar.  
 
Timeframe to conduct fingerprint checks on employees 
Licensed child care centers will have until December 31, 2015, to complete a fingerprint-based 
background check on all caregivers. This includes teachers, assistants, center directors, and any 
other person having direct, regular contact with children in the program.  
 
The fingerprint-based background check may be used to meet the requirement for a caregiver 
background check under child care licensing rules. Centers may want to run the fingerprint-based 
check when a name-based check would normally be conducted. This will allow the center to 
remain on the same schedule for background checks. Once a fingerprint-based check is 
conducted the center may return to completing the name-based check through the Department of 
Justice (DOJ) since the new law requires a one-time only fingerprint check. 
 
Cost of a fingerprint check 
The cost of a fingerprint check is $34.50 per check. There may be an additional cost for 
capturing fingerprints. The breakdown for costs associated with a fingerprint check is as follows:  
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$16.50 for the FBI fingerprint check, $15.00 for the DOJ check, and $3.00 for the caregiver 
portion of the Wisconsin caregiver background check.  
 
All centers conducting fingerprint-based checks will need to have an account with DOJ. Centers 
will be billed by DOJ for any checks conducted. Fingerprint-based checks may not be paid for 
by personal check or credit card at the time of the check as some centers may have done 
previously. Information on how to obtain a DOJ account may be found at this link:  
http://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/all/themes/wi-doj-ag/dles/cib-forms/record-check-unit/DJ-LE-
251.pdf . 
 
Collecting fingerprints 
DCF recommends that centers use digital means to collect fingerprints as they are more likely to 
be processed quickly and accurately by the FBI. Digital fingerprints will also reduce the 
possibility that the fingerprints will be smudged or need to be resubmitted. Wisconsin contracts 
with Fieldprint to collect digital fingerprints for background checks. Information on Fieldprint 
can be found at this link:  http://fieldprintwisconsin.com/. 
 
The cost for obtaining fingerprints through Fieldprint is $7.75 per set of fingerprints collected. 
DCF will cover the cost of the digital fingerprint capture if the licensee uses Fieldprint to 
collect the prints. In addition, if Fieldprint is used, DCF will be able to verify that a fingerprint 
check has been done.  
 
Fieldprint has offices around the state where an individual can schedule an appointment to have 
fingerprints collected. Information on how to schedule an appointment with Fieldprint is 
available at this link:  https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/ccregulation/cbc/how-to-employees.pdf 
 
Fingerprint check results 
The results of a fingerprint-based background check will be available to centers on the DOJ 
website. Information on interpreting the results can be found at this link:  
http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/background-check-criminal-history-information.  If a 
fingerprint-based check returns information from a state other than Wisconsin, the licensee will 
need to determine if the conviction is substantially similar to a conviction that appears on the 
Crimes Table: http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/cbc/crimes-table.pdf.  A substantially 
similar conviction in another state will result in the same action identified in the crimes table.   
 
For more information  
DCF has added a Fingerprint Background Checks – Frequently Asked Questions section to our 
website:  http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/cbc. For other questions, contact the DCF 
Caregiver Background Unit at 608-266-8001 or dcfplicbecrcbu@wisconsin.gov. 
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