
Welcome to the Caregiver Background Unit’s (CBU) on-line training; Everything You Wanted 

to Know about Wisconsin’s Caregiver Background Check Law…For Licensed Child Care 

Providers.
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During this training you will:

• Be able to identify and understand the acronyms and definitions used as they relate to 

the Caregiver Background Check (CBC)

• Gain understanding about the Caregiver Background Check (CBC) Law

• Gain awareness of Wisconsin Act 20 and how it impacts Caregiver Background Checks

• Learn the five components of the CBC process

• Understand your role as a licensed provider

• Understand the Department of Children & Families (DCF) role in the CBC process

• Review of Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Rules including reporting requirements

and information to be included in your personnel policies 

• Where to go if you have questions or need clarification.

Throughout this training, contact information and websites have been added to find forms, 

instructions and additional information.

2



These are the acronyms you will find throughout this presentation that represent agencies 

and the caregiver background check process. Please familiarize yourself with the acronyms, 

what they stand for and how they relate to the Caregiver Background Check process.  You 

can refer back to list if needed.
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“Caregiver” is defined in S. 48.685(1)(ag), Wis. Stats. as:

• A person who is, or is expected to be, an employee or contractor of any entity, who is or 

is expected to be under the control of the entity, as defined by the department by rule 

and who has or is expected to have, regular, direct contact with clients of the entity.
• A person who has, or is seeking, a license, certification or contract to operate an entity

To understand the caregiver definition S. 48.658(1)(ag) Stats. defines “entity,” “direct 
contact,” and “client” as well.

An “entity” is
• A child care center that is licensed under S. 48.65 Stats., or established or contracted for 

under S. 120.13(14) Stats.
• A child care provider that is certified under S 48.651 Stats.

“Direct contact” means face to face physical proximity to a client that affords the 
opportunity to commit abuse or neglect of a client or to misappropriate the property of a 
client

“Client” means a child who receives direct care or treatment services from an entity or 
from a caregiver.
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The Caregiver Law was enacted to protect vulnerable persons in regulated settings such as a licensed 
child care facility. A law addressing caregiver background checks was originally enacted in 1998.  In 
February 2010, the law was modified to require more frequent Caregiver Background Checks (CBC) 
and increased the type of criminal convictions that affect an individual’s ability to work as a caretaker 
in a licensed child care facility or hold a child care license.

The law requires that any person who will work as a caregiver in a child care setting to complete a self 
disclosure form called the Background Information Disclosure (BID) prior to working with children and 
directs a licensed child care program to complete the caregiver background check within 60 days of 
the person starting to work with children.  It is important to note that the entire CBC process must be 
completed within this 60 days.  If there is nothing disclosed on the BID form that would prohibit the 
person from working with children, the person can work under supervision for up to 60 days while all 
components of the background check are completed. 

Caregiver background checks (CBC) for child care licensees, household residents and employees also 
check juvenile adjudications for serious crimes described in the law.  In addition to checking a person’s 
criminal history through the Department of Justice (DOJ), the Caregiver Background Law also requires 
a check of a person’s professional licenses, a check of any revocations or denials for a child or adult 
program, any rehabilitation review decisions, the sex offender registry and a check of the Nurse Aid 
registry for findings related to the abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult or the misappropriation of a 
client’s property.  

Finally the licensing administrative rules requires that licensees include in their personnel policies a 
requirement that a person who has a pending charge or a conviction to report that information to the 
licensee by the next business day.  The law then requires the licensee to report this information to the 
Department of Children & Families (DCF) immediately.  
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Wisconsin Act 20

On June 30, 2013, Wisconsin Act 20 was enacted that requires providers participating in 

YoungStar and who are or wish to be eligible to receive WI Shares payments to run a one-

time only fingerprint-based background check for providers, their employees and their non-

client residents.  Once the fingerprint-based background check is completed, subsequent 

name-based CBC’s will be completed annually (providing the caregiver is and has been a 

resident of Wisconsin for at least three years).

You can find information on the fingerprint-based background checks process on our 

website or by calling the Department’s Caregiver Background Unit at 608-266-8001.
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Some background checks will be done by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) 

Caregiver Background Unit (CBU) while others will be completed by the licensee.

DCF conducts the background checks on all licensees, adults who reside in the center 

(home), minors (ages 12-17) who reside in center (home) and any minor caregivers (ages 

12-17). A background check is only completed for a minor household resident if certain 

disclosures on a BID form prompt a background check to be run.  Minor employee 

caregivers receive the same background check as a licensee or other adult.  

Licensees conduct the checks on adult employees, volunteers and student teachers 

(working more than 60 days) who are counted in the staff to child ratios. 

Regardless of who conducts the CBC, the information obtained is the same.
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Any person who wishes to be licensed to operate a child care center, reside in a child care center, work for 

or volunteer in a child care program as a caregiver is subject to a CBC.  

An adult or minor student who will be completing an internship, practicum or clinical training for more 

than 60 days or a student placed in a community service or at risk program at the facility is required to 

have a CBC.

An adult extended stay visitor who will be living on the premises for more than 60 days is required to have 

a CBC.  A minor extended stay visitor is required to submit a completed BID to DCF.  A CBC will be 

completed on minor household members only if certain BID disclosures require it.

Direct, regular contact means that the person has face-to-face physical proximity to a child that affords a 

person the opportunity to commit abuse or neglect of a child or to misappropriate the property of a child.  

Some persons working in your facility are not considered caregivers and may not need a CBC.  Examples 

may include:

• A person who performs solely clerical, administrative, maintenance or other support functions for a 

facility and who is not expected to have regular direct contact with children.

• A person who is employed by or under contract with a facility to provide infrequent or occasional 

services that are not directly related to the care of a child.

• A volunteer who serves as an “extra pair of hands” in a classroom and is not counted in the staff-to-

child ratio or left alone with the children.

Ultimately, the licensee makes the determination whether the employee is considered a caregiver or not.
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The CBC has five components:

1. The first part of the CBC is the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form.  

2. Second, the CBU or the Licensee requests that the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) run a 

Criminal Record Check on the individual. 

3. Third, after the DOJ runs the record check, additional databases are checked.  This is known as the “ 

DHS Response to the Caregiver Background Check.”

4. Fourth, you will need to run each name (including any aliases) through the Sex Offender Registry 

(SOR).

5. Fifth, the caregiver law requires the licensee to make every effort to obtain the criminal complaint 

and the final disposition of the complaint from the clerk of courts under circumstances outlined in 

s. 48.685(2)(bb), Wis. Stats. 

In order for the CBC to be considered complete, all required components must be completed within 60 

days of the employee’s start date. This includes obtaining any required records and/or making a 

determination if the individual’s background is substantially related to their position.
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The first part of the CBC is the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form.  This is an 

initial screening tool to determine if an individual is eligible to work with children.  All 

applicants for a license and all household members aged 12 and above are required to 

submit a completed BID form to DCF to begin the background check process.  All caregivers 

subject to the Caregiver Law must complete a BID form prior to beginning to work with 

children.  
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The licensee collects a BID form for new adult caregiver employees, providers and 

substitute teachers BEFORE their first day of work and must review it to determine if the 

individual is eligible to work with children. New employees may only work with children 

under supervision until the caregiver background check is complete and the employer has 

determined the employee is not prohibited by law from being in a caregiver role. 

Licensees maintain their employees, volunteers and student teacher BID forms on file at 

their center.

It is very important that BID forms are filled out timely and kept on file.  Failure to complete 

the required BID forms may result in a licensing violation, penalty or sanction as authorized 

under s. 48.715, Wis. Stats.
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When an individual completes the BID form, he/she must disclose information that is 

truthful and accurate including any felony convictions, misdemeanor convictions, pending 

criminal charges, findings of abuse/neglect, misappropriated client property and all other 

information requested on the BID form.  Information on the BID form is subject to 

verification.  

If an individual has questions whether something should be disclosed, he/she should 

disclose it or contact the Department’s Caregiver Background Unit for clarification.
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The second part of the CBC process is the name-based criminal record check through the 

Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ). 

The CBU runs Name-Based Criminal Record Checks each year for the licensee; households 

members age 18 and older; and visitors staying for an extended period of time (more than 

60 days).  The CBU will also run a Name-Based Criminal Record Check at the time of BID 

submission for minor employees and minors living on the premises (ages 12-17) only if 

pertinent offenses appear on the BID form. The cost of the Name-Based Criminal Record 

Check ($10.00 each) is invoiced directly to the licensee or deducted from Wisconsin Shares 

payments if an agreement is on file.

Licensees must complete all components of the CBC including the Name-Based Criminal 

Record Checks within 60 days of a new employee’s start date and yearly for employees, 

volunteers and students on the premises more than 60 days that count in the staff to child 

ratio.  The cost of the Name-Based Caregiver Criminal Record Check ($10 each) completed 

by the licensee is paid directly to DOJ by the licensee either through a credit card payment 

or through an account established with the DOJ.
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Licensees may request name-based Wisconsin DOJ caregiver criminal background searches 

without an account and pay by credit card or set up an account with the DOJ and be invoiced 

by the DOJ for the cost of a name-based caregiver background check

When the criminal record check is completed electronically, the DOJ checks the criminal 

history database and sends two separate results of this check to the licensee through their 

website. Both results (DOJ criminal history search results and the DHS Response to Caregiver 

Background Check results) must be printed and put in the employee’s file, even if it indicates 

the individual has no criminal record. It should be noted that the electronic results are only 

available for 30 days so be sure to print them as soon as possible to avoid paying for an 

additional background check. The cost for a CBC done on-line is $10.00 per Criminal Record 

Check ($7.00 for the DOJ and $3.00 for the DHS check).

Name-based criminal record checks completed through the mail will take longer (a week or 

more). The DOJ checks the criminal history database and sends the results of both checks to 

the licensee through the regular mail.  Both results (DOJ criminal history search results and the 

DHS Response to Caregiver Background Check results) must be placed in the employee’s file, 

even if it indicates that the individual has no criminal record.  The cost for a CBC done through 

the mail is $15.00 per Criminal Record Check. ($12.00 for the DOJ check and $3.00 for the DHS 

Check) Forms to request checks by mail are available from DOJ’s website or you may call their 

customer service desk for assistance.

The licensee is invoiced for Criminal Record Checks run by the CBU (licensees, household 

members and minor employees) and payment should be sent to the CBU. The licensee can opt 

to have payment for these criminal record checks taken directly out of their Wisconsin Shares 

payments.
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The Caregiver Background Check Law requires a child care licensee make a good faith effort to 

obtain a criminal record check information when a caregiver has resided in a state other than 

Wisconsin within the last 3 years. 

Some states may not release information about a person’s criminal history to any person other 

than the person being checked.  Licensees are encouraged to document the steps taken to request 

a criminal record check on a caregivers who lived outside of Wisconsin.  Each state’s department 

of justice should have information on how to obtain criminal records from that state.  A FBI 

fingerprint-based background check can be done on an individual who has lived out of state in the 

last 3 years.  Doing a FBI fingerprint-based check will eliminate the need to check another state’s 

criminal history database. 

Once an out-of-state criminal record is obtained and the person remains a Wisconsin state 

resident, subsequent record checks can be done through the Wisconsin DOJ as long as the 

individual has not moved out of state again.  

If a caregiver resides out-of-state and works in Wisconsin, then the licensee must conduct a 

Wisconsin criminal record check on these individuals at least once per year.  An annual background 

check in the state where the person resides needs to be completed as well.  An annual FBI 

fingerprint-based background check may be used to meet the requirement for the out-of-state and 

Wisconsin check.
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The Volunteers for Children Act allows child care facilities to conduct a fingerprint check 

with the FBI.  This check will meet the requirements for a Wisconsin criminal record check 

as well as provide information about convictions in another state.  You can find more 

information about this act at this link. 

http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/forms/brochures/vol_children.pdf. An application to 

do fingerprint checks under the Volunteers for Children Act can be found at this link:  

http://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/cib-forms/record-check-unit/vca-reg-

form.pdf.

The cost for a fingerprint check is $32.75 ($29.75 for the FBI & DOJ search and $3.00 for the 

DHS search) plus any fees incurred to be fingerprinted.  Some local law enforcement 

agencies charge a fee for fingerprinting an individual while others do not.  Some law 

enforcement agencies do not provide this service at all.  Wisconsin has a contract with

Fieldprint to digitally capture fingerprints and submit them directly to the DOJ for a FBI 

Fingerprint-based Background Check.  The cost of a digital fingerprint capture done by 

Fieldprint is $7.75.  To find the nearest Fieldprint location and schedule an appointment 

follow this link: http://fieldprintwisconsin.com/
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There are two ways that fingerprints can be captured to conduct a fingerprint-based 

background check.  

• Digital capture involves placing a finger on a scan machine and the machine scans the 

individual’s fingers to capture the finger print.  This method is more precise in capturing 

fingerprints so that the chances that fingerprints will be rejected as unreadable are 

lessened.  The fingerprints are not stored on the machine so the fingerprints can’t be 

retrieved after the prints are sent to the DOJ and FBI.  FieldPrint has a contract with 

Wisconsin to collect digital fingerprints and submit them directly to the DOJ/FBI for a 

background check.  The cost to have FieldPrint capture fingerprints is $7.75 per 

individual.  FieldPrint maintains a record of the names of people who have had a 

fingerprint check completed.

• Manual capture involves the use of ink on the fingertips and rolling the finger over a 

card to release the imprint of the fingerprint onto the card.  This method is less reliable 

than the digital capture process.  Fingerprints can be smudged or leave a faint 

impression which may make them unreadable by the DOJ/FBI.  A trained person should 

do the manual capture of fingerprints so that a useable capture is more likely.  Law 

enforcement agencies may do a manual capture.  Some law enforcement agencies 

charge a fee for the manual capture of a person’s fingerprints while other law 

enforcement agencies may not charge a fee.  

• Fingerprint background check results for licensees, household members and minor 

caregiver employees are sent directly to DCF.  Fingerprint-based background check 

results for caregiver employees are available to child care providers within 24 – 48 hours 

after the prints have been submitted from the center’s DOJ account and remain there 
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for only 30 days.  If a licensee fails to go into the center’s DOJ account and print the 

results within 30 days after the check is completed, the results are no longer available.  

For information on how to get a DOJ account please seek the following link:  

http://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/cib-forms/record-check-unit/DJ-LE-

251.docx. 
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The third part of the CBC process is the DHS Response to the Caregiver Background Check.  

Once the DOJ runs the Criminal Record Check, a second report is run that accompanies the 

Criminal Record Check findings.  It is usually available electronically a day after the Criminal 

Record Check is run.  The DHS Response to the Caregiver Background Check must be 

current (within the last 12 months) and available for the licensing specialist to review 

during monitoring visits.

This report checks the Department of Health Services integrated background information 

system database, the Nurse Aide Registry as well as the Department of Safety and 

Professional Services (DSPS) database of professional licenses.  If there are matches, 

information will be provided in the report on how to contact that agency.   You must call 

the phone number provided to gather more information from the agency involved.  You 

cannot hire the person, or continue employment of a current employee until you learn 

more about the information contained in the report and whether or not the finding is 

substantially related to the individual’s role as caretaker.
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The fourth step of the Caregiver Background Check is a name check (including any aliases) 

in the National Sex Offender Registry (SOR) 

https://www.nsopw.gov/en/Search/Verification. If there are any name matches, verify that 

it is the same person.  If the individual is found on the Sex Offender Registry he/she is 

barred from working as a caregiver.

It is recommended that the licensee maintain documentation of the search in the 

employee’s file regardless if a finding is found, but it is not required by rule to do so.
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The fifth step in the Caregiver Background Check process is to obtain records if necessary.  

The caregiver law requires the licensee to make every effort to obtain the criminal 

complaint and the final disposition of the complaint from the clerk of courts under 

circumstances outlined in s. 48.685(2)(bb), Wis. Stats. The licensee may also need to 

contact their local county agency for child protective services (CPS) records if the BID form 

discloses a child abuse or neglect substantiation, or there are other indications in the 

criminal record check that indicate possible child abuse or neglect concerns. The CPS 

record search may require the individual to sign a confidential release of information 

allowing the agency to disclose this information to the licensee/employer.
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Once the licensee receives the BID; Criminal Record Check from the DOJ; the DHS Response to the Caregiver Background 

Check; and Sex Offender Registry check and the results of the FBI fingerprint-based background check (if one is completed), 

each record must be carefully reviewed.  

If an individual has no criminal history “No criminal history found” will be printed on the first page of  the Criminal Record 

Check.  If the individual has past/current criminal history “Wisconsin Criminal History” will be printed on the first page of the 

Criminal Record Check.  Instructions on how to read the results of a Criminal Record Check can be found on the DOJ website: 

http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/background-check-criminal-history-information. 

The DHS Response to the Caregiver Background Check will identify any licenses  held by the individual and if there have been 

any denials or revocations to that license.  If there is a phone number, you must call to get pertinent information regarding

the status of the license.  You cannot hire or continue employment of a caregiver until you determine if the status of the 

license is substantially related to the individual’s role as a caregiver.  

Review any matches with the Sex Offender Registry.  If there are any matches, the individual is barred from working with 

children.

Compare the Criminal Record Check from DOJ, the DHS Response the Criminal Record Check and any matches with the Sex 

Offender Registry with the BID to determine if the information is complete and accurate.  If items appear on the reports that

don’t appear on the BID the individual may have not been entirely truthful or accurate in representing themselves.

Review any findings (convictions, pending charges, etc.) on the Criminal Record Check and compare them with the offenses 

listed on the Child Care Crimes Table. Any findings revealed on the FBI check or check of another state’s criminal history 

database must be reviewed to determine if a conviction that is substantially similar to a conviction on the Child Care Crimes

Table. If there are matches that individual may be subjected to a bar as specified on the Child Care Crimes Table.  If there are

no matches you may need to determine whether or not the finding is substantially related to individual’s role as caretaker.

If the BID form reveals a substantiated finding of abuse or neglect or the criminal record check results indicate an arrest or 

charge for child abuse or neglect, the licensee should contact the appropriate county agency or Division of Milwaukee Child 

Protective Services to determine if the individual has a substantiated finding by that agency. This may require the individual 

to sign a confidential information release form.  The department form Confidential Information Release Authorization (DCF-F-

369-E) may be used for this purpose.
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The Caregiver Law lists various convictions for serious crimes that result in a bar.  There are 

four types of bars that may result from a conviction for a serious crime.

It is important to note that the Child Care Crimes Table includes all subsections of the 

statute listed. An example would be “125.075(1)” listed on the top of the crimes table.  This 

would include any sub section listed under (1) including (1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(m)(a-d).  If a DOJ 

report listed a conviction under “125.075(1)(1m)(c)” that individual would have a bar for 5 

years after completion of probation, parole or extended supervision.
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If the report from the DOJ indicates any convictions, the DCF Child Care Crimes Table must 
be checked to determine if the conviction results in a bar to employment in a child care 
setting. 

When the Crimes Table indicates a Permanent Bar, rehabilitation not permitted, a person 
may not hold a license to operate a child care center, reside in or work for a child care 
program.  

When the Crimes Table indicates a Permanent Bar, rehabilitation not permitted for 
licensee or certified provider only, a person may not hold a license or a certification for a 
child care program, but may be allowed to reside in or work as a caregiver in a program.  
The licensee should consider if the conviction is substantially related to that individual’s 
position.

When the Crimes Table indicates a Bar unless rehabilitation approval , a person with these 
convictions/findings must have a rehabilitation review approval permitting them to work in 
a child care setting.  Without this approval, the person is barred.  
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When the Crimes Table indicates a Bar for 5 years after completion of the sentence, 
including probation, parole, or extended supervision, or discharge by Department of 
Corrections (DOC) the person must indicate the date when they completed any sentence 
for the conviction including any probation, parole, or extended supervision.  If it has been 
more than 5 years since the person was discharged by the Department of Corrections, the 
bar is lifted.  If it is less than 5 years since the person was discharged by the Department of 
Corrections, the person is barred. 

Note:  For conviction under 948.22 (2) Failure to Support: An individual is  barred for 5 
years after completion of the sentence, including probation, parole, or extended 
supervision, or discharge of DOC unless the person has paid all arrearages due and is 
meeting his or her current support obligation.
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There are several convictions or findings on the Child Care Crimes Table that bar a person 

from working as a caregiver unless the person has obtained rehabilitation approval.  

Rehabilitation review is the process where an individual with one of these convictions or 

findings appears before a panel to explain the circumstances surrounding the conviction or 

finding and to explain what s/he has done to assure the panel that a similar incident will 

not occur.  The panel determines whether the bar against the person should be lifted and 

under what circumstances the person could once again work with children.  

For persons wishing to become licensed or certified or work as a caregiver in a regulated

child care setting, the rehabilitation review panel is convened by the Department of 

Children & Families.  A form to request Rehabilitation Review can be found on the licensing 

web. 
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If the Criminal Record Check indicates a conviction that does not appear on the Child Care 

Crimes Table, the licensee may consider conducting a substantial relationship investigation.  

The intent of this investigation is to determine whether the conviction substantially relates 

to the job the individual will perform for the child care facility.  DHS 12.06, Wis. Admin. 

Code, details how to make a substantially related determination.

The Substantially Related Investigation Report (DCF-F-CRS2261-E) is located on the licensing

web. 

During a substantially related investigation the licensee will want more information from 

the individual on the circumstances related to the incident that lead to the conviction.  

Some of the questions the licensee may try to answer during the investigation include:

• When did the conviction occur?

• Is there a pattern of offenses?

• Did the offense involve children?

• Was violence associated with the incident?

• Where weapons present or used?

• Does this conviction have anything to do with the job duties of the individual?

If you have questions, contact your licensing specialist or the CBU.
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The report from the Department of Justice may indicate that an individual was arrested and 

charged with a crime but may not reveal the final disposition of the charges.  This may 

happen because the case is still working its way through the court system, the court has 

not reported the final disposition of the charges or the charges may have been dropped. If 

the charge is for a serious crime, every effort must be made to obtain the final disposition 

from the clerk of courts.

A new child care applicant will be denied a license and existing licensees will have their 

license immediately suspended if they have a pending charge of a serious crime.  

A caregiver may not work as a caregiver until the pending charges are resolved.  When a 

case has been resolved but the disposition does not appear on the DOJ report, the licensee 

may contact the Clerk of Courts to find out how the case was settled.  If there was a 

conviction, the licensee will need to determine whether there is a bar for that conviction.  

If no bar exists, then a substantial relationship determination may be necessary.  If the 

charges have not been resolved and the crime with which the person was charged prohibits

them from being a caregiver, the employee may not work in a caregiver role until the issue 

is resolved.  
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Deferred prosecution cases are held open for a specified length of time.  If the person 

completes the conditions of the Court, the case is dismissed.  Dismissed charges will 

remain on a record but only actual convictions can be used to bar from employment or 

non-client residency.  Some convictions dismissed through the First Offender Program may 

be used for the basis to determine substantial relationship.  If you need help reading a DOJ 

report there is information on the DOJ website at this link: 

http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/background-check-criminal-history-

information#readrecord
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Child Care facilities are required to maintain information on CBCs for employees, volunteers 

and students counted in ratios, or anyone else who has direct regular contact with children.  

The information collected as part of a CBC is required to be kept on-site and available to 

the licensing specialist for review.  CBC information must be kept confidential.

CBCs conducted by the CBU are not required to be on-site at the child care center.
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Background checks on licensees, household members and minor employees are done by 
DCF through the Background Check Unit.  For centers operated by a corporation, the board 
president is the person who will have a background check.  The board president may 
designate another board member as a licensee.   If there is a change in board president, 
the CBU must be notified by the licensee.  The new Board President must complete a BID 
form and submit it to the CBU.  A list of board members should also be submitted at this 
time.  The CBU will run the CBC on the board president when notified of the change.  

Whenever anyone moves in or out of the facility.  If an individual moves into a facility then 
a CBC needs to be run on that individual.  If an individual moves out, he/she will no longer 
need a CBC completed for them (unless they come back as an extended guest).
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Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence that involves 
a licensee, a household resident or any employee of the center in an incident that causes, 
or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, including a child 
in the care of the center.

Family Child Care reference:  250.04(3)(g)(1)
Group Child Care reference:  251.04(3)(k)(1)
Day Camp reference:  252.41(2)(h)(1)

Any incident that involves any traffic-related incident where a person responsible for the 
violation transports children in the care of the center.
250.04(3)(g)(2)
251.04(3)(k)(2)
252.41(2)(h)(2)
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Any known convictions, pending charges or other offenses of the licensee, a provider, 

household member, employee or other person subject to a CBC that may relate to the care 

of the children by DCF’s next business day.

Family Child Care reference:  250.04(3)(e)

Group Child Care reference:  251.04(3)(g)

Day Camp reference:  252.41(2)(f)

Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by an employee or volunteer that was reported 

under s. DCF 251, 252, or 253 or any inappropriate discipline of a child by an employee or 

volunteer including any incident that results in a child being forcefully shaken or thrown 

against a surface, hard or soft, during the child’s hours of attendance within 24 hours after 

the occurrence.

Family Child Care reference:  250.04(3)(i)

Group Child Care reference:  251.04(3)(j)

Day Camp reference: 252.41(2)(g)
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The personnel policy shall contain a procedure that requires caregivers to notify the 

licensee immediately but no later than the next business day when any of the following 

occurs:

A caregiver: 

• Has been convicted of a crime.

• Has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any other act, 

offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or 

threat of abuse or neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to 

misappropriation of a client’s property.

• Has a substantiated governmental finding against them for abuse or neglect of a 

child or adult or for misappropriation of a client’s property.

• Has a professional license denied, revoked, restricted or otherwise limited.

The licensee, in turn, notifies the DCF immediately, but no later than the next business day 

of the occurrence.
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The following questions are for you to test your understanding of the material covered.
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Answers 

1. Sarah would not be required to complete a BID or a CBC because her position does not 

meet the definition of a caregiver. The department recommends at minimum a BID form be 

completed however it is not required by rule or law. If Sarah met the definition of a 

caregiver because she ended up cleaning during the day and provided care to children as a 

substitute, a BID would be required on the day she begins providing care to  children and 

all components of the CBC would need to be completed (BID, Criminal Record Check, 

Criminal Record Check Response and SOR check).

2. Before each teacher starts to work, s/he would need to complete a BID form that would be 

reviewed by the licensee.  If the BID did not reveal any information that may prohibit the 

person from working, they could start with supervision.  Then the licensee would run the 

Criminal Record Check, Criminal Record Check Response and SOR check to allow enough 

time to receive the results within 60 days of their date of hire. 

3. The practicum student should complete a BID prior to beginning the practicum.  A six-week 

placement is less than the 60 days allowed for a complete caregiver background check to 

be on file, so the licensee would not be required to have one on file for the student.  

If the placement extended an additional six weeks (for a total of 12 weeks), the 

licensee would be required to have a complete caregiver background check on file for 

that student because the placement now exceeds 60 days.  Many technical colleges 

complete a background check on practicum students. 
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1. A “Background Information Disclosure form” is the Department’s form, DCF-F-2978, on which 

a person provides certain information concerning their background.

2. Police reports, court documents, information from the individual

3. BID, Criminal Record Check, DHS Response to Criminal Record Check letter, SOR check,

substantially related investigation documents

4. To protect children by prohibiting certain individuals with specific offenses/convictions from 

being residents, employees or operators in regulated child care.

5. Applicants for certification/licensure, certified/licensed providers, 

employees/assistants/substitutes, household members and minor caregivers. 

6. At initial application; when a new household member begins to reside at a center or prior to 

starting work for all individuals subject to the Caregiver Law.

7. DCF CBU conducts the initial and subsequent CBCs on the licensees, household members and 

minor employees.  The licensee is responsible for conducting the CBC on adult employees 

through DOJ.  The CBC is required for the operator/licensee at the time of initial application 

and once a year after that.  The CBC is required for other individuals subject to the Caregiver 

Law upon initial application and annually.

8. A restriction from receiving regulatory approval or from being employed as a caregiver or from 

residing as a non client resident in a licensed child care facility.  Types of bars:  Permanent Bar, 

Bar with Rehabilitation, 5-year Bar, Permanent Bar for Licensee/Operator Only

9. When the individual lives or has lived in another state in the last 3 years.

10. Employee current BID form, the DOJ criminal record report, the response to the CBC, SOR 

check, documentation and results of any substantially related investigation conducted

11. Individuals moving in/out of the home, incidents involving police, arrests, pending charges, 

convictions, change in Board President
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If you have questions regarding the CBC process, please contact the CBU (not your licensing 

specialist).

Thank you for your participation in this training.
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