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DCF 252.41 Operational requirements for day camps.  

(1) ADMINISTRATION.  The licensee shall do all of the following: 
(a) Comply with all laws governing the camp and its operation. 

WISCONSIN SHARES COMPLIANCE: This rule requires centers to comply with the subsidy 
requirements found in Ch. 49, Wis. Stats., and DCF 201. 

DISCRIMINATION: The DCF Equal Opportunity Office investigates all discrimination 
complaints that are submitted to DCF by its clients and customers that are based on practices 
prohibited by relevant state and federal civil rights laws. Contact the DCF Equal Opportunity 
Office at 608-422-6889 or the US Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil 
Rights 800-368-1019 (voice) or 800-537-7697 (TDD) or see the ADA website 
https://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm to file a complaint. 

(b) Comply with all requirements in this chapter. 
(bm) Ensure that all information provided to the department is current and accurate.  
(br) Comply with all conditions placed on the license. 
(c) Designate, in writing, as part of the application under s. DCF 252.05 (1), a Wisconsin 

resident who is responsible on behalf of the licensee for ensuring compliance with all 
requirements in this chapter, if the licensee resides in another state. 

See DCF 252.05 (1) – LICENSING PROCEDURES. In circumstances where the Governor’s 
Council on Migrant Labor operates licensed programs in Wisconsin on a seasonal basis, the 
person representing the Governor’s Council on Migrant Labor may be considered to be a 
Wisconsin resident during the period of time that program operates in Wisconsin. The 
Wisconsin residence address must be provided. 

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters pertaining to 
licensing. 

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of a certificate of 
insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for: 

A licensee must submit proof of insurance coverage to the department prior to a license being 
issued. An insurance binder has the same intent as a certificate of insurance but may be 
issued by the insurance company prior to initial licensing and be accepted until the certificate 
is issued. 

The department may be listed as a certificate holder so automatic notice will be sent to the 
department if coverage is canceled by the insurance firm or subsequent coverage is not 
obtained through failure of the licensee to pay the premiums. If required insurance coverage 
is not maintained, a non-compliance statement will be issued. 

Day camps operated by the University of Wisconsin system are not required to submit 
certificates of insurance to the department since coverage is provided by statute for 
programs, employees, and agents. 

1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of not less than 
$25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence. 

2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with minimums no less 
than those specified in s. 121.53, Stats. 

See DCF 252.04 (3g) – DEFINITION – CAMP-PROVIDED TRANSPORTATION. 

3. Vehicle liability insurance for non-owed vehicles with minimums not less than the 
amounts specified under s. 121.53, Stats., if transportation is provided in vehicles that are 
not owned by the camp and are not public transportation vehicles or chartered vehicles. 
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252.41(1)(e)3. continued 

Examples of non-owned vehicle transportation are: 

• Children transported in personal vehicle of employee for field trip, portal-to-portal, or for 
emergencies. 

• Children transported in personal vehicles of parents or other persons for field trips. 
• Children transported in vehicles donated by other agencies, but not owned by the center, 

such as churches, community groups, or the Red Cross. 
• Children transported in vehicles that are owned by a bus or private transportation 

company. 

The Commissioner of Insurance has recommended that camps carry a non-owned vehicle 
liability policy/rider even when the camp only uses public transportation for field trips or 
portal-to-portal transportation.  

Non-owned insurance coverage may be obtained as a rider to vehicle insurance coverage or 
may be obtained as an extension to general liability coverage without vehicle insurance 
coverage but must specifically appear on the certificate as such. A common practice of 
insurance carriers is to issue a multi-peril policy covering general liability, property, and non-
owned vehicle coverage. 

A written contract between a private transportation or bus company is recommended. 

4. Specific adventure-based activities identified in s. DCF 252.44 (13) when offered as 
part of the camp program. 

(f) Develop, submit to the department, and implement written policies and procedures 
consistent with this chapter on all of the following subjects:  

The Policy Checklist – Day Camps is available to assist in writing policies and contains items 
that are both required and recommended to be included in camp policies. The policy checklist 
is available on the department’s website https://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

Camps should periodically review their existing policies and procedures to determine whether 
they conflict with the licensing rules or to determine whether any changes are required to 
reflect current procedure. Any conflicts must be resolved. 

Copies of policy changes must be submitted to the department at the time the policy is 
changed. Licensees are reminded at continuation that if they have not previously submitted 
policy changes, they should do so with the continuation materials. The Policy Checklist – Day 
Camps must be sent to the department at the time the policies are submitted. 

It is recommended that policy revisions be dated. 

Parent contracts are recommended but not required. If contracts are used, submit a copy with 
the written policies and procedures. 

1. Discharge of enrolled children. 

DISCRIMINATION: The DCF Equal Opportunity Office investigates all discrimination 
complaints that are submitted to DCF by its clients and customers that are based on practices 
prohibited by relevant state and federal civil rights laws. Contact the DCF Equal Opportunity 
Office at 608-422-6889 or the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil 
Rights 800-368-1019 (voice) or 800-537-7697 (TDD) or see the ADA website 
https://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm to file a complaint. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm
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2. Fee payments and refunds. 

It is recommended that centers utilize a contract that includes the requirements for payment 
of fees. 

Per DCF 201.038 (5) (a), a provider must have a written payment agreement with each parent 
that receives Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy. 

3. Personnel policies including job descriptions, hours of work, lunch and break times, 
holidays, vacations, sick leaves, leaves of absence, probationary periods, performance 
evaluations, grievance procedures and the disciplinary process. The personnel policy shall 
also contain a procedure requiring staff to notify the licensee and the licensee to notify the 
department as soon as possible but no later than the next working day when any of the 
following occurs: 

a. The employee has been convicted of a crime. 
b. The employee has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any 

other act, offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or 
threat of abuse or neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to 
misappropriation of a client’s property. 

c. The employee has a governmental finding substantiated against them of abuse or 
neglect of a child or adult or of misappropriation of a client’s property. 

d. When a professional license held by a provider has been denied, revoked, restricted or 
otherwise limited. 

4. Admission, including a procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from the 
camp without prior notification from the parent. 

5. Program objectives and a description of activities designed to carry out the program 
objectives.  

6. Transportation, if children may be transported to and from the camp or for field trips. 
The policy shall include a procedure to ensure that no child has been left unattended in a 
vehicle.  

Pursuant to DCF 252.09, at a minimum, the transportation policy must include the following: 

• Procedure for inspecting vehicle for safety and for ensuring that any required vehicle 
safety alarm is in operating condition 

• Procedure for loading, unloading and tracking children being transported 
• Procedure for ensuring the child is released to a responsible adult 
• Procedure for tracking children during an emergency 
• Behavior management techniques for use with children being transported 
• Procedure on the use of a cellular phone or other wireless communication device by the 

driver 
• Procedure for sharing information with the driver on any special needs that a child being 

transported may have and the plan for how those needs are to be met 

7. Plans to be followed in the event of a fire, tornado, missing child, or other emergency. 
If an open-sided shelter is used as a base camp, the plan shall identify the location of a 
designated tornado shelter and the procedure to ensure the camp receives information 
about tornado watches or warnings. The plan shall include a procedure to ensure that 
children reach the tornado shelter in a timely fashion.  
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See DCF 252.04(12) – DEFINITION – EMERGENCY. For more information on emergency plans, 
see: 

• Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs, Division of Emergency Management 
https://dma.wi.gov/DMA/wem. 

• Wisconsin Department of Children and Families, Emergency Preparedness and Response 
in Child Care webpage, www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/emergencyprep. 

• Child Care Information Center, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic or 1-800-362-7353. 

8. The plan for supervising children during water activities and waterfront activities, 
including emergency procedures to be carried out if a child participating in water activities 
cannot be found.  

9. The plan for providing pre-camp training to staff.  
10. Child guidance, including ways to manage crying, fussing, or distraught children.  
11. Health, including procedures to be followed when there is contact with animals.  

Whenever children handle a pet or animal, they shall wash their hands afterwards with soap 
and water. If soap and running water is not immediately available, soap and water-based wet 
wipes or hand sanitizer may be used until running water is available. 

See DCF 252.44 (6) (e) 5. – AUTHORIZATION FOR CHILD TO CARRY MEDICATION; DCF 
252.41 (4) (b) 1. – MEDICAL LOG – RECORDING TIME FRAME; DCF 252.41 (4) (b) 2. – 
MEDICAL LOG – REQUIREMENTS; and DCF 252.44 (6) (e) 6. – SUNSCREEN, INSECT 
REPELLENT AUTHORIZATION. 

12. Nutrition. 
(i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publicity are accurate. 
(k) Post the day camp license at the base camp in an area visible to parents and the 

public.  
(L)1. Post next to the day camp license all of the following: 
a. The current licensing statement of compliance or a noncompliance statement and 

correction plan, including rule violations the department has not verified as corrected and in 
compliance.  

b. Any notice from the department regarding rule violations, such as a warning letter or 
enforcement action. 

c. Any stipulations, conditions, temporary closures, exceptions, or exemptions that affect 
the license.  

2. All items posted as required under this paragraph shall be visible to parents. 
(m) Ensure that any action, by commission or omission, or any condition or occurrence 

relating to the operation or maintenance of the day camp does not adversely affect the 
health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee. 

(n) Submit to the department by the department’s next business day a completed 
background check request form for any of the following:  

The Background Check Request (BCR) form, DCF-F-5296, is required for individuals age 10 
and older. Licensees submit a BCR for themselves to their regional office. Licensees submit 
BCRs for others through the Child Care Provider Portal (CCPP). 

Per s. 48.686 (2) (ab), Wis. Stats., each child care program shall submit a request to the 
department for a background check prior to the date on which the individual becomes a 
caregiver, non-caregiver employee, or household member. 

  

https://dma.wi.gov/DMA/wem
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic
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Per s. 48.686 (4m) (c) individuals may not begin working or residing at the child care center 
until they receive preliminary eligibility. New employees or new household members may 
begin working or residing at a licensed day camp with preliminary eligibility results but must 
be under supervision of someone with final eligibility until the new employee or household 
member receives final eligibility. 

Licensees are reminded to remove an individual from their facility’s profile in the CCPP when 
the individual no longer resides at the center. Failure to do so may result in continued 
background checks being conducted on the individual. 

In the event of a name change, individuals should submit a new BCR including any alias used 
in the past. 

1. There is a change in the board president or chairperson.  

Licensees must submit a BCR forms to their regional office when there is a change in board 
president.  Licensees submit a BCR for all other employees through the Child Care Provider 
Portal (CCPP). 

2. A corporation or limited liability company designates a new person to be subject to 
the child care background check.  

3. A household member turns 18 years of age, unless the household member has 
previously submitted a background check request form.  

4. A household member turns 10 years of age. 

Individuals who reside on the day camp premises are household members and a DCF 
background check is required. Licensees should enter all household members into the Child 
Care Provider Portal (CCPP). When a household member turns 10 years of age, DCF will then 
contact the licensee and request a Background Check Request form be completed. Licensees 
should verify that Background Check Request form information for all household members 
age 10 years and older are entered in the CCPP. 

(o) Submit to the department a completed background check request form for each 
potential household member prior to the date on which the individual becomes a household 
member, unless the person is less than 10 years of age. 

(p) Submit a current delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee that 
describes the organizational structure of the camp. The delegation of administrative 
authority shall identify by position or name those persons that will be on the premises and in 
charge of the camp for all hours of operation.  

(2) REPORTS. The licensee shall report all of the following to the department via fax, 
email, or letter or via telephone with a follow-up written report to the appropriate regional 
licensing office within 5 business days:  

(a) Any accident or incident that occurs while the child is in the care of the camp that 
results in professional medical evaluation, within 24 hours of the licensee becoming aware 
of the medical evaluation.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Incident Report – Regulated Child Care, 
or the licensee’s own form to report accidents. Information on how to obtain forms is available from 
the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

The Incident Report Form – Regulated Child Care is the preferred format for the report; 
however, other forms will be accepted as alternatives. It is recommended that a center include 
information on the details of what happened to cause the injury when making the written 
report. Examples of details that should be included in this report are date and time, a detailed 
description of what caused the injury, any witnesses, and what action was taken by the 
provider at the time of the incident or accident. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(am) Any death of a child in care, within 24 hours after the death.  
(ar) Any injury caused by an animal to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident. 

If an animal bites a child, the parent shall be notified and procedures for treatment of an injury 
shall be followed. It is recommended a veterinarian be contacted by center personnel to 
determine a course of action in the diagnosis of possible rabies in the animal. It is also 
recommended parents be notified of any action taken by the veterinarian, as well as the name, 
address, and telephone number of the veterinarian who was consulted. 

(b) Any damage to the base camp that may affect compliance with this chapter, or any 
incident at the base camp that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the 
occurrence. 

Damage to any day camp space on the premises that might affect the use of day camp space 
must be reported. Examples of such damage includes storm damage, flooding, and power 
outages. 

(d) A change of the day camp director, within 7 days after the change. 
(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by the department. 

Other state agencies, such as the Department of Health Services, may also occasionally 
request statistical data. 

(f) Any known convictions, pending charges or other offenses of the licensee, day camp 
employees or other persons subject to a child care background check which could 
potentially relate to the care of children at the camp or the activities of the camp by the 
department’s next business day. 

(g) Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by a staff member that was reported under 
s. DCF 252.07 (3) (a), including any incident that results in a child being forcefully shaken or 
thrown against a surface, hard or soft, by a staff member during the child’s hours of 
attendance, within 24 hours after the occurrence.  

(gm) Any prohibited actions specified in s. DCF 252.44 (2) (c) by a staff member to a 
child during the child’s hours of attendance, within 24 hours after the incident. 

(h) Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence in which 
any of the following occurs: 

1. A licensee, a household member or an employee of the camp is involved in an incident 
that causes, or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, 
including a child in the care of the camp. 

2. A person responsible for transporting children is involved in a traffic-related incident.  
(i) Any change in room usage in the base camp, such as using rooms or areas not 

previously approved for use by children at least 20 working days prior to the change. 
Changes in room usage shall be approved by the department prior to the change. 

(j) Any incident related to a child who leaves the premises of the camp without the 
knowledge of a counselor or any incident which results in a counselor not knowing the 
whereabouts of a child in attendance at the camp within 24 hours after the occurrence.  

(k) If requested by the department, a plan of correction for cited violations of this 
chapter or ch. 48., Stats., in a format specified by the department. The department shall 
receive the plan of correction by the date the department specifies and the plan shall be 
approved by the department licensing representative. 

Note: The licensing representative will notify the licensee if a plan of correction is required and 
provide the plan of correction format with the notification. 

(L) Any construction or remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an 
area accessible to children or a condition of the license. Notification shall be in writing 
before the construction or remodeling begins.  
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Note: It is recommended that the licensee check with the local municipality to determine whether 
a building permit is required before beginning any construction or remodeling.  

Note: Alterations, additions, or changes of use to commercial buildings may require submittal of 
plans to and approval by the Department of Safety and Professional Services or its agent before 
commencing construction. It is recommended that an architect or engineer be consulted prior to the 
beginning of any construction or remodeling to determine whether plans must be submitted. 

Remodeling that involves a kitchen or remodeling that includes any mechanical modification 
may require a plan review by the Department of Safety and Professional Services plan 
reviewers. 

The addition or removal of playground structures is considered remodeling or construction 
that must be reported. 

(m) Any confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 in a 
child enrolled at the day camp or any person in contact with children at the camp, within 24 
hours after the camp is notified of the diagnosis. The licensee shall also notify the local 
health department within 24 hours after the camp is notified of the diagnosis.  

See DCF 252.41 (5) (b) – PARENT NOTIFICATION – COMMUNICABLE DISEASE and DCF 
252.44 (6) (d) – COMMUNICABLE DISEASE. See Appendix D Resources List, Communicable 
Disease Chart, which identifies the diseases that must be reported to the local health 
department. The Department of Health Services’ website also contains the current list of 
reportable diseases: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm. 

COVID-19 is considered a communicable disease. If there is a case of COVID-19 in the center 
associated with a hospitalization or pediatric death,, providers must follow all reporting 
requirements. 

Names of children with communicable diseases may not be shared with other families. There 
are penalties for disclosure of HIV antibody test results without consent. See s. 146.025, Wis. 
Stats. A person’s HIV status is confidential and may not be shared with others. 

The camp must work with the health department to ensure that all necessary measures are 
taken to protect the children in care. 

(n) Any change in meal preparation arrangements, at least 5 calendar days prior to the 
change. Camps adding meal preparation after an initial license has been issued shall document 
compliance with building codes related to kitchens before beginning to prepare meals.  

See DCF 252.43 (3M) (H) – MEAL PREPARATION – LOCATION / TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS. 

(o) Any change in transportation services, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change. 

This also includes providing or contracting transportation services for field trips.  

(p) Expected temporary closures lasting more than 2 weeks, at least 5 calendar days 
before the closure. 

(q) Unexpected closures lasting more than 2 weeks, within 24 hours after the camp has 
been closed for a 2-week period. 

(r) Any change in swimming or water activities, boating, firearms and archery, horseback 
riding, or adventure-based activities, at least 20 working days prior to the change. 

(4) CHILDREN’S RECORDS FILES. 
(a) The licensee shall create and maintain at the camp a current written record for each 

child before the child’s first day of attendance or subsequent re-enrollment. The licensee 
shall make the record available to the licensing representative. Each child’s file shall include 
all of the following: 

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm
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See Appendix D Resources List, Instructions for Obtaining Forms – Day Camps for Children. 
Forms are also available from the DCF website: 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. In some instances, the rule allows 
camps to develop and use their own forms. If a camp chooses to develop its own forms, all 
the information specified in the rule is required to be collected.  

Licensees wishing to maintain electronic files on children should ensure all of the following: 
the files must be available for review by the licensing specialist during a licensing visit; 
electronic files must contain all the required information including the appropriate 
department-required forms; emergency contact information and any pertinent health 
information is immediately available to all staff without having to access electronic 
information. 

Administrative rules do not relate to the office management or record-keeping practices of a 
camp. Required records must be maintained for the length of time the child is enrolled, be on 
the premises for children in care, and be available to the licensing specialist for review.  

It is recommended that the date of discharge be added to the child’s record and that the camp 
retain records for 3 years after a child is discharged. 

See Wis. Stat. s. 49.155 (6m); Wisconsin child care subsidy rules require child care providers 
retain the written daily attendance records for at least 3 years after the child’s last day of 
attendance. 

A file is required when a child is considered a “junior counselor” or “counselor-in-training” and 
the parents are paying for the child to attend. 

1. Enrollment information consisting of all of the following: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. Names and contact information for the child’s parents. 

Enrollment information should include both parents, if applicable. When access is prohibited 
or restricted by court order, permission to call for the child is also affected. To prohibit or 
restrict access, the center must have a copy of the court order on file at the center. 

c. The child’s home address and telephone number. 
d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while the child is in 

care. 
e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of the person to be 

notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be reach immediately. 
f. Names, address and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring for 

the child. 
g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons authorized to pick-up the child 

or to accept the child who is dropped off.  

If no one is authorized to pick up a child, a notation of “none” should be indicated. 

A center may not stop a non-custodial parent from picking up a child. If parental access is 
denied, a current copy of the court order must be on file at the center. 

h. Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled. 
2. Consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment;  
Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or the licensee’s 

own form to obtain consent of the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on 
how to obtain forms is available from the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any 
regional licensing office in Appendix A.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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4. Authorization from the parent for the child to participate in field trips and other off-
premises activities, if these are part of the camp program.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s forms Field Trip or Other Activity Permission 
/ Notification — Child Care Centers and Child Care Enrollment or the licensee’s own form for securing 
parental information. Forms are available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

The options for meeting this rule are: 

1. The Field Trip or Other Activity Permission / Notification – Child Care Centers form or a 
similar center-created form that will be used for each child on each field trip. 

OR 

2. A blanket permission form signed by parents that covers all field trips involving use of a 
vehicle’ and notification to parents of the date, time, and destination of the field trip for each 
child prior to each trip. 

Emergency information should be carried for the children during walking field trips.  

5. Specific written informed consent from the parent for each incident of participation by 
a child in any research or testing project. The day camp shall obtain and make available to 
the department and to the parent a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the 
specific purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to each project.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Informed Consent for Observation or 
Testing by an Outside Agency — Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the 
parent’s written consent. Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department’s 
website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

6. Health history information that includes all the following: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. The full names of the child’s parents. 
c. A telephone number where the parent can be reached while the child is in care. 
d. The name, address, and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring 

for the child. 
e. The child’s medical conditions, such as asthma, cerebral palsy, diabetes, epilepsy, 

food allergies, or gastrointestinal or feeding concerns. If the child has a milk allergy, a 
statement from a medical professional indicating an acceptable alternative. 

f. If the child has a medical condition, triggers that may cause a problem, signs or 
symptoms for the counselor to watch for, steps a counselor should follow, when to call a 
parent regarding symptoms, when the condition requires emergency medical care, and 
identification of all counselors who have received specialized training or instructions to help 
treat symptoms. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS2345, Health History and 
Emergency Care Plan, or the licensee’s own form for obtaining the information. 

6m. Documentation of each child’s immunization history that indicates compliance with 
s. 252.04, Stats., and ch. DHS 144. 

Under s. 252.04, Wis. Stats., and ch. DHS 144, the immunization record for each child must be 
on file no later than 30 school days (or 6 calendar weeks) after the first day of a child’s 
attendance. 

Immunization records are required to be on file for school-age children unless the day camp is 
operated on the school’s premises and the day camp has approved access to the school’s 
vaccination records. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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The Student Immunization Law, s. 252.04, Wis. Stats, sets minimum immunization 
requirements for children attending a day camp. The immunization history must indicate that 
the child has received at least the first dose of each immunization required for the child’s age 
or that the immunization requirement is waived for that child. 

If a parent claims a religious or personal conviction exemption, the parent may check the 
appropriate box and sign the Child Care Immunization Record form in place of providing an 
immunization history. Immunization requirements may also be waived upon signature of a 
physician that the child should not be immunized for health reasons as indicated on the Child 
Care Immunization Record. 

For children whose immunization record is not submitted within 30 school days of admission; 
whose record at 30 school days after admission indicates that they do not have at least the 
first dose of each required vaccine; or who fall behind schedule (i.e., do not obtain an 
immunization which their health care provider has indicated is due on a certain date), there 
are two courses of action for the day camp: 

1. As required by Wisconsin law and administrative rule, the center will notify the district 
attorney that a child has failed to comply with immunization requirements. 

OR 

2. The child who fails to comply with immunization requirements will be discharged 
(excluded) from the center until such time as immunization requirements are met. 

7. Authorization from the parent outlining the plan for a child to come to the camp from 
school, home or other activities and to go from the camp to school, home or other activities 
unless the child is accompanied by a parent or other authorized pick-up person.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Alternate Arrival/Release Agreement — 
Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s signed agreement. 
Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

A parent may authorize other persons to drop-off or pick-up a child through a note or on the Child 
Enrollment form. If a child is transported by a school bus, taxi, or transportation company that may 
have various individuals providing the transportation, then the written agreement should specify 
the transportation agency as the authorized pick-up or drop-off “person.” 

Children coming to the camp from school or going from the camp to school within the same 
school building do not need this authorization. Going to and from any other activity within the 
school requires an authorization. 

8. Assessment of the child’s swimming ability, if swimming is included in the program of 
activities.  

Note: Either parents or the camp may assess the child’s swimming ability. 

The camp should be able to demonstrate to the licensing specialist how they have assessed 
the child’s swimming ability.  

The American Red Cross recommends assessing the following skills to determine swimming 
ability: 

• Enter water that is over the individual’s head, then return to the surface. 
• Float or tread water for at least 1 minute. 
• Turn over and turn around in the water. 
• Swim at least 25 yards. 
• Exit the water. 
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More water safety tips and resources can be found on the American Red Cross’ website here: 
https://www.redcross.org/get-help/how-to-prepare-for-emergencies/types-of-
emergencies/water-safety.html.  

(c) The licensee shall maintain a current, accurate, written record of the daily attendance 
and birthdate for each child enrolled in the program. If the hours of arrival and departure of 
the children vary, the actual time of arrival and departure for each child shall be recorded. 
Each record shall be maintained as long as the child is enrolled in the program. 

Note: The department form, Daily Attendance Record — Child Care, may be used to document a 
child’s daily attendance. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is available from the 
department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

See DCF 252.425 (1) (b) – CHILD TRACKING PROCEDURE. 

A child must be signed in when the child arrives and signed out when the parent arrives to 
pick up the child. The camp is responsible for children (i.e., knowing their whereabouts) from 
the time the parent, guardian, or responsible person brings the child to a counselor. Parents or 
legal guardians are responsible for the child until the child is safely in the camp or received by 
camp staff. 

A center may use the department’s Daily Attendance Record – Child Care Centers form, may 
choose to use their own paper form, or may use an electronic form or system to capture the 
same information included on the department’s Daily Attendance Record form. No exception 
is necessary. The daily attendance record could be a sign-in / sign-out book completed by 
either the parents or the center; however, the center is responsible for ensuring that this 
record is accurate. Centers may have a central sign-in/sign-out book and another method to 
track children by room or provider. It is the child care program/provider’s responsibility to be 
able to access the electronic form to respond to the Licensing Specialist’s request to review 
information. 

Regardless of the format of the record, it is recommended that the date of discharge be added 
to the child’s record and that the center retain records for 3 years after a child is discharged. 

Each enrolled child’s date of birth must be included on each daily attendance record to ensure 
appropriate staff-to-child ratios. 

The attendance record must be up-to-date and must include each time a child is checked in 
and out of care at the facility throughout the day (e.g., preschool, swim lessons, etc.). 

It is recommended that entries on the Daily Attendance Record be made in ink. If a time was 
entered incorrectly or by mistake, it is recommended that the incorrect information be struck 
through and initialed by the person correcting the error. 

The child should be signed in for actual hours of care. If a center is licensed for more than 12 
hours, times documented should include AM and PM designation. 

When the camp provides transportation, attendance must be kept for each child that reflects 
the time of transportation and the time a child is at the camp. There may be 2 attendance 
records kept when children are transported. One record could reflect attendance during 
transportation and the other could reflect attendance while the child is at the camp. 
Attendance records must include the actual time of pick-up and/or drop-off. 

If the child is transported by means other than camp-provided transportation, the transporter 
is responsible for the child until the child is received by or placed in the vehicle by camp staff. 
If a child is not received directly by camp or school staff, an authorization for the time the 
child is moving between the transporter and camp staff must be signed by the parent/legal 
guardian. 
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Wisconsin Child Care Subsidy rules require child care providers to retain the written daily 
attendance records for at least 3 years after the child’s last day of attendance. For questions 
related to attendance reporting for WI Shares child care subsidy, contact the local child care 
coordinator.  

(5) PARENTS.  
(a) The camp director shall notify the parents of a child in care immediately and shall 

provide sufficient detail to apprise the parent if any of the following occurs:  

See DCF 252.44 (12) (E) – FIELD TRIP – PARENTAL NOTIFICATION. 

1. The child becomes ill.  
2. The child needs professional evaluation of an injury.  
3. The child experiences a head injury, has a seizure, consumes incorrect breastmilk, 

consumes food or drink that may contain the child’s allergen, consumes or comes in 
contact with poisonous materials, or is given incorrect medication. For purposes of this 
subdivision, a “head injury” means a bump, blow, or jolt to the head.  

4. The child’s whereabouts are unknown. 
5. The child was subject to child guidance that is prohibited under s. DCF 252.44 (2) (c) 

and (d). 
(b) If a child in care has been exposed to a confirmed case of a communicable disease 

reportable under ch. DHS 145 and transmitted through normal contact, the camp director 
shall notify the child’s parents when the information becomes known to the camp.  

See DCF 252.41 (2) (m) – COMMUNICABLE DISEASE – REPORTING. Some of these diseases 
must be reported to the local public health department. Parents of children exposed to any 
reportable communicable diseases appearing on this chart must be notified of the exposure. 
Names of children with communicable disease may not be shared with other families. 

Examples of those diseases not transmitted through normal contact are HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B 
and C, and sexually transmitted diseases. 

Contact the local health department for further information. 

See Appendix D Resources List, Communicable Diseases Chart. 

(c) If a child in care has sustained a minor injury that does not appear to require 
professional medical evaluation, the camp director shall notify the child’s parents when the 
child is picked up at the camp or delivered to the parent or other authorized person.  

(d) The camp shall notify the parents of any religious training that is part of the camp 
program. The reference to the religious component shall be included in any publicity and 
program objectives and activities.  

(e) A copy of this chapter shall be posted or made available in an area of the camp 
where parents are likely to see it.  

(f) A copy of the child care policies of the camp shall be made available to the parents in 
an area of the camp accessible to parents. Personnel policies do not need to be available to 
parents.  

 




