
Fingerprint Checks FAQ – Certification (10-5-16) 

Fingerprint-Based Criminal Background Checks FAQ – Certified Operators 

 
1. Who is required to have a one-time fingerprint-based criminal background check? 

Answer: A one-time fingerprint background check is required by s. 48.685(2)(br), Wis. Stats., for the 
following individuals, if the certified operator/program is receiving or wishes to receive Wisconsin Shares 
payments: 
• Applicants for certification and certified operators; 
• Adult caregivers including employees, assistants and volunteers; 
• Adult household members / non-client residents; 
• Students at least 18 years old and whose placement is more than 60 days; and 
• Extended stay visitors at least 18 years old who live on the premises more than 60 days. 

 
Note:  This law includes applicants for licensure, licensees, adult caregivers and adult household members of licensed programs if the 
licensed program is receiving or wishes to receive Wisconsin Shares Payments. Applicants for licensure or licensees should contact the 
DCF CBU for additional information: Phone: (608) 266-8001 • Fax: (608) 267-2000 • E-mail: DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov. 
  

2. What does “wishing” or “eligible” to receive Wisconsin Shares payments mean? 

Answer: The Department has determined that a certified operator/program participating in YoungStar is 
eligible or wishing to receive Wisconsin Shares payments. YoungStar providers commit to provide care for 
children for whom Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program reimbursement is made as part of their 
contract with the Department. In order to fulfill this commitment, the one-time fingerprint-based criminal 
record check is required. 

 
3. How often is the fingerprint-based criminal background check required? 

Answer:  In order to receive or be eligible to receive Wisconsin Shares payments the fingerprint-based 
background check is required one time.  

For the purposes of a caregiver background check, and as permitted by 48.685(2)(bm), Wis. Stats., the 
certification agency requires a fingerprint-based background check when one or more of the following 
circumstances exist: 

• A certified operator or applicant resides in a state other than Wisconsin (required every 12 months); 
• A certified operator, applicant or adult household member has resided in a state other than Wisconsin 

with the last 3 years; or 
• The certification agency obtains information that provides a reasonable basis for further investigation.  

 
4. What is a “caregiver”? 

Answer: “Caregiver” is defined in s. 48.685(1)(ag), Wis. Stats. To summarize, it is the operator, employee, 
contractor or other individual the child care center is responsible for, and has, or is expected to have, regular 
direct contact with children in care. 

Some individuals working in a certified program do not meet the statutory definition of a “caregiver”, and 
would not require a one-time fingerprint check.  Examples may include: 
• A person who performs solely clerical, administrative, maintenance or other support functions for a 

certified program and who is not expected to have regular direct contact with children in care;  
• A person who is employed by or under contract with a facility to provide infrequent or occasional 

services that are not directly related to the care of children; 
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5. What is a “nonclient resident”? 

Answer: “Nonclient resident” is defined in s. 48.685(1)(bm), Wis. Stats. To summarize, it is any individual 
that resides at the certified child care home/center and has, or is expected to have, regular direct contact 
with children in care. 

 
6. What does “direct contact” mean? 

Answer: “Direct contact” is defined in s. 48.685(1)(av), Wis. Stats. To summarize, it is having face-to-face 
physical presence that would allow an opportunity for the person to abuse or neglect a child in care. 
 

7. When will certified operators, adult household members and adult caregivers be required to submit 
fingerprints for the one-time criminal record check? 

Answer: Starting June 30, 2014 the certification agency will provide notice to existing certified 
operators/programs regarding this requirement and timeline. The notice will identify the individual(s) 
required to submit fingerprints, instructions on how to schedule a fingerprint capture appointment and 
timeline. 

After June 30, 2014 new applications for certification, where the applicant indicates they wish to receive 
Wisconsin Shares reimbursement, will request the applicant, adult household members and other adult 
caregivers to have the one-time fingerprint background check. The fingerprint-based background check 
results will be used as part of the initial caregiver background check required prior to issuing a certificate. If 
the new applicant does not complete the fingerprint-based check, however, a name-based check may be 
conducted in accordance with certification requirements.  
 
Wisconsin Shares payments, or eligibility to receive Wisconsin Shares payments will not be affected until 
after January 1, 2016.  

 
8. When do all individuals required to have the one-time fingerprint check need to have it completed by? 

Answer:  One-time fingerprint background checks required for Wisconsin Shares payment eligibility must be 
completed by December 31, 2015. The one-time fingerprint background check includes FBI, Wisconsin DOJ 
and DHS Caregiver Check (IBIS) results, which meets the annual criminal background check requirement. 
Having the fingerprint-based check completed just prior to when the individual’s annual name-based 
background check is due will minimize costs. 
 

9. Is the fingerprint-based background check in addition to the required annual name-based DOJ check? 

Answer: No, the fingerprint-based background check replaces the annual Wisconsin DOJ name-based check 
for the 12 month period. Within 12 months after the fingerprint-based check was completed the 
certification agency will resume conducting the standard annual DOJ name-based record check, unless 
circumstances would otherwise require an out of state background check.  

10. Once an individual has had the one-time fingerprint background check under s. 48.685(2)(br) completed 
will it be required again in the future?   

Answer:  The DCF Caregiver Background Unit (CBU) is able to verify if an individual had their fingerprint 
check completed only if the check was conducted through Fieldprint® using a child care reason code 
provided by DCF or the certification agency. Fingerprint checks conducted by any other means or using any 
other Fieldprint® reason code cannot be verified by the DCF CBU. 
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Note:  Even if an individual meets the one-time fingerprint check through a previous child care employer and the certification worker 
is able to verify this, the name-based criminal record check is still required to meet certification requirements. If the individual 
resided in a state other than Wisconsin during the past 3 years, additional fingerprint-based background check may still be required.  
 

11. The certification agency conducted a fingerprint-based out-of-state check on me when I applied for 
certification because I had previously lived in another state. Will I be required to have another fingerprint-
based check completed?  

Answer:  No, under s. 48.685 (2) (bm), the Caregiver Law requires an out-of-state criminal background 
check if an individual subject to the Caregiver Law resided outside of Wisconsin within the past 
three years or is a resident of another state. If the certification agency conducts or has 
previously conducted a fingerprint-based background check through DOJ under 48.685 (2)(bm), the 
requirements of 48.685 (2) (br) have been met. 
 

12. If a person has been fingerprinted in the past for non-child care related purposes (employment, insurance, 
arrest, etc.) can the certification agency use those fingerprints to conduct the required check?  

Answer: No, the certification agency cannot accept previously rolled/digital images. Your fingerprints images 
are not retained nor could they be transferred between organizations. You are required to obtain a new set 
of ink/rolled or digital fingerprints for submission under s. 48.685(2)(br). 

13. If I want to use Fieldprint® services do I have to schedule an appointment online or can I just walk in to a 
Fieldprint® facility? 

Answer: Individuals must schedule a fingerprinting appointment with Fieldprint® online. Walk-ins are not 
allowed. Each individual will need to schedule their own appointment. Multiple individuals cannot be 
scheduled for one appointment. The certification agency can provide you with detailed instructions and 
information you will need in order to schedule an appointment online. You may also find the Fieldprint® 
PowerPoint presentation posted on the Department’s website helpful. If you have specific questions 
regarding Fieldprint® services call toll-free phone: (877) 614-4364 or email CustomerService@fieldprint.com. 

14. How much does a fingerprint background check cost? 

Answer: The fingerprint-based criminal record check was $32.75 per individual but was reduced in October 
2016 to $30. This fee includes the following: 

Background Check Type Fee Before 10/1/16 Fee After 2/1/15 

Fingerprint FBI $14.75 $12.00 

Fingerprint WI DOJ $15.00 $15.00 

Name-based DHS IBIS $3.00 $3.00 

TOTAL $32.75 $30.00 

The Department will pay the Fieldprint® fingerprint capture/scheduling fee of $7.75 for all fingerprint checks 
submitted by regulated providers, adult household members, and adult caregivers using Fieldprint® services 
before 12/31/15. The individual will be required to pay the $7.75 scheduling fee for any appointments 
scheduled after 12/31/15. Any additional fingerprinting fees incurred by the operator, household member 
or employee, including those charged by local law enforcement agencies, are not covered by the 
Department. These additional fees include: 
• Late fees incurred by the operator, application, household members or adult caregivers for 

appointments rescheduled less than 24 hours in advance; 
• Late fees for missed appointments; and 
• Additional fingerprinting fees charged by local law enforcement. 
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15. How long does it take for the results of a fingerprint check to be available online? 

Answer: Fingerprints captured digitally at a Fieldprint® Livescan location will typically have results for the 
FBI, DOJ and DHS Response to Caregiver search available on the certification agency’s DOJ online account 
within 48 hours. Fingerprints submitted using rolled prints on cards may take several weeks for the results to 
be available and if the prints are rejected, the individual must have another set of cards completed and 
resubmitted, adding additional time. 

 
16. How do I pay for the fingerprint background checks? 

Answer:   Fee policies are determined by the certification agency. Contact your certification agency for 
additional information. 
 

17. My local police department’s website says they offer fingerprinting for free. Can I get fingerprinted at the 
local police station? 

Answer:  Your local police department may offer fingerprinting services (i.e. capture of fingerprints digitally 
or ink/rolled prints) but cannot conduct the fingerprint-based background check required under 
48.685(2)(br). Although it is preferred individuals use Fieldprint® services to complete the requirement, an 
individual could have their prints collected by a local police department, as long as the print cards used were 
issued by the certification agency with specific reason and account codes. Contact your certification agency 
for further detailed instructions. 

18. What type of identification is required in order to be fingerprinted? 

Answer: The subject of the fingerprint check should contact the agency that will be collecting the 
fingerprints to verify the agency’s requirements. Agencies that collect prints will require two forms of 
identification, one of which must be a valid government-issued photo ID. Acceptable primary IDs typically 
include state-issued driver’s license, state-issued ID card, U.S. passport, military identification card, work visa 
with photo, foreign passport, valid consular photo ID card. Acceptable secondary IDs typically include credit 
card, bank statement, electric bill, birth certificate, marriage certificate, citizenship or naturalization 
certificate, federal government personal identity verification card, social security card.  

19. How does a certification worker determine if a federal or other states pending charge or conviction on the 
FBI search results is comparable to an offense or conviction on the Caregiver Crimes Table? 

Answer:  A link to nearly every state criminal code is available on Cornell University Law School’s Website 
here: http://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/table_criminal_code. The pending charge or conviction for that state 
must be reviewed to determine if it is comparable to one of the Wisconsin offenses listed on the Caregiver 
Crimes Table. The FBI provides contact information for each state on their website in order to obtain 
additional information specific to an out of state pending charge or conviction, which is available here:  
http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks/state-identification-bureau-listing. 

 
20. I completed a fingerprint  appointment with Fieldprint® but when the certification agency retrieved the 

results from DOJ the report indicated the quality of prints was too low to conduct the FBI check.  Do I have 
to be fingerprinted again?  
 
Answer: Yes, however, contact the Fieldprint® Customer Service Team with a TCR number (provided by the 
certification agency) to reschedule the appointment. The Customer Service Team is available Mon-Fri from 
8am to 10pm EST at (877)614-4364. 
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21. I am both certified and licensed. Which agency do I submit fingerprints to? 

Answer:  Each licensed facility will receive a notice form the DCF identifying who is required to submit 
fingerprints and instructions for how to schedule a fingerprint capture appointment. All licensees with  
employees must have a billing account established with the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) before 
conducting employee fingerprint-based checks on their employee caregivers. Licensees should review the 
Fingerprint-Based Criminal Background Checks FAQ – Licensed Child Care Providers document posted on the 
DCF CBU website. If the certification agency conducts the caregiver background checks on the employees in 
the certified program, then the fingerprints shall be submitted to the certification agency. If the licensee 
conducts the caregiver background checks on his/her own employees, then the licensee is responsible for 
conducting the fingerprint-based background check. 
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