Background Information Disclosure (BID) Forms FAQ – Licensed Child Care Providers

 

What is a BID form?

The Background Information Disclosure form (F-82064) gathers information required by the Wisconsin caregiver law, s. 48.685(6)(a), Wis. Stats. The BID form is used as an initial screening tool to determine if an individual is eligible to work with children, reside in a licensed facility or to hold a license.

Where can I download a BID form?

The BID form is available in English, Hmong and Spanish on the Licensing Background Check Forms & Publications web page.

Who is required to complete a BID form?

  • The licensee, which includes:
    • An individual, partnership or sole proprietor, or;
    • All members or managers of a Limited Liability Company (LLC), or;
    • The board president of a corporation or church, or other board member designated in writing by the president to fulfill the CBC requirement.
  • All employees, providers and substitutes of a licensed child care center or day camp at least 12 years of age (including adults).
  • All household members at least 12 years of age (including adults) that reside at a licensed child care center or licensed day camp.

What BID forms need to be submitted to DCF?

The licensee is responsible to submit completed BID forms to DCF for all licensee(s), household members at least 12 years of age (including adults) and any minor employees 12 to 17 years of age. This is required by s. 48.685(6)(b)1., Wis. Stats.

What BID forms need to be submitted to DCF?

All existing employees and substitutes that are 18 years of age or older shall have a BID form that is current, as required by s. 48.685(6)(am), Wis. Stats. Licensing rules require the BID form to be kept in the staff file and made available for review by the licensing specialist or department representative.

How often does a BID form need to be completed, and who keeps it on file?

The Licensee collects a BID form for the staff file/record prior to the first day of employment for:

  • New caregiver employees at least 18 years of age
  • Volunteers or assistants at least 18 years of age and counted in the staff-to-child ratio
  • Students or other temporary/seasonal employees at least 18 years of age, counted in the staff-to- child ratio and expected to be employed 60 calendar days or more.

BID forms for the applicant, household members ages 12 and older and any minor employees age 12-17 shall be completed and submitted with the initial licensing application materials to the DCF regional licensing office prior to granting licensure.

After granting licensure BID forms shall be completed and submitted to DCF the next business day when:

  • A new individual age 12 or older moves into the home
  • A minor household member turns 12
  • A new minor employee/volunteer age 12-17 is hired prior to the first day of work)
  • There is a change in the board member designated in writing by the president to fulfill the CBC requirement

If a child living at the center is turning 12 years old, is a BID form required?

Yes. The licensee must submit a completed BID form to the DCF CBU for that child no later than the department’s next business day after the child turns 12 years old. It is recommended the BID form be submitted to the department up to 30 days prior to the child’s 12th birthday.

A child living at the center is turning 10 years old. Is a BID form required?

No. The Department follows Wisconsin Statutes s. 48.685(6)(b)1., which requires BID forms from individuals at least 12 years of age.

Who is required to complete the BID form for minor household member?

The child may complete their own BID form or their parent/legal guardian may complete it on their behalf. If the form is completed by the minor, the parent/legal guardian should review the form to ensure the information that is provided is accurate.

An adult becomes a new household member (non-client resident) at a licensed child care center. What needs to be done?

The licensee must submit a completed BID form for that individual by the department’s next business day to the DCF Caregiver Background Unit.

My adult daughter is moving back into my home. She resided with me a couple of years ago, and submitted a BID form at that time. Does she need to submit it again when she moves back in?

Yes. As a “new again” household member, she is required to complete and submit the form, even if she submitted it as a previous resident. She is still required to disclose all alias/previously known as names, maiden name and any pending charges, convictions or other offenses, even if they were disclosed on a previous BID form.

Another licensed provider in my neighborhood told me BID forms have to be completed every 12 months. Is that true?

On July 13, 2015, Governor Walker signed the biennial budget bill for state fiscal years 2015-2017. The budget included a provision that eliminated the previous requirement to complete Background Information Disclosure (BID) forms annually. The biennial budget bill did not change caregiver background check requirements, however. Caregiver background checks are required annually for all individuals subject
to the caregiver law.

What information is required to be disclosed on the BID form?

The individual must include all information and provide complete answers to every question on the BID form. The answers provided must be truthful and accurate to avoid possible sanctions and penalties. Questions on how to answer a question on the BID form should be directed to the DCF Caregiver Background Unit. Required information includes:

  • Identifying information at the top of the form including all aliases, maiden name, AKA’s; and
  • Complete answers to all questions in Sections A and B, including:
    • All felony convictions, misdemeanor criminal convictions
    • Pending criminal charges
    • Findings of abuse or neglect or findings of misappropriated client property

A new adult employee completed the BID form. What do the answers mean?

If there is nothing disclosed on the BID form that would prohibit the person from working with children, the person can work, under supervision, for up to 60 days while all components of the caregiver background check are completed.

If all questions in Section A of the BID are answered NO: The individual may begin working, under supervision, until all components of the caregiver background check are complete.

If any question in Section A of the BID is answered YES: The individual may be prohibited from working as a caregiver. If the individual disclosed an offense on the Crimes Table; they may not be able to start work in a caregiver role until all components of the background check are complete and the employer has determined the person is eligible for employment.

If any question in Section B of the BID is answered YES: The individual may begin working under supervision until all components of the caregiver background check is complete. Additional information is required to determine if the person is eligible for employment.

Note: DCF 250.11(2)(g), DCF 251.11(1)(h) and DCF 252.05(10)(h), Wisconsin Administrative Code prohibits a licensee from hiring an individual that has had a child care or day camp license revoked within the past 2 years (see Section B, question 1 of the BID form).

What should I do if an individual (employee) discloses in the BID a substantiated finding of abuse or neglect?

The licensee should contact the appropriate county agency or Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare to verify if the individual has a substantiated finding by that agency. This may require the individual sign a confidential information release form. The department form, Confidential Information Release Authorization (DCF-F-369-E), may be used for this purpose. This form is also available in Spanish or Hmong.

What happens if the licensee fails to submit a required BID form(s)?

Failure to comply with submission of the form(s) will lead to the imposition of sanctions and penalties authorized by s. 48.715, Wis. Stats., which includes denial of the licensing application, orders to correct, forfeiture assessments, or proceedings to revoke the child care or day camp license. The department may set forfeiture amounts ranging from $10 to $1000 per day, per violation.

I am not currently providing any child care, or I have temporarily closed the center. Am I still required to submit BID forms for new household members (age 12 and older)?

Yes. All licensees must comply with requirements while they are licensed by the Department.

Do I submit the caregiver background check fee along with the BID forms?

If you are submitting a BID form for a new individual (i.e. new adult household member, new board president) that is not required to have a fingerprint-based criminal record check conducted, you may submit the $10 per person fee with the BID form(s) to the DCF Caregiver Background Unit. Checks or money orders should be made out to the Department of Children and Families and indicate your facility ID number on the check.

I am both licensed and certified. Must I submit BID forms to both agencies?

The licensee/certified operator will need to submit the required annual BID forms to the DCF Caregiver Background Unit. The certification agency has the authority to require that BID forms be submitted to their agency as well, please check with your certifier for what the agency requires.

I am both licensed and certified. Will both agencies conduct the caregiver background check?

The caregiver background check will be conducted by the DCF CBU (licensing) on the licensee / certified operator, adult household members and any minor caregiver employees. The certification agency or the licensee may conduct the CBC on adult employees, assistants or substitutes which are required by licensing rules to be kept at the center and available for review by the department. Please check with your certifier to determine if you or the agency will conduct the CBC for an employee, assistant or substitute.