DCFS INFO MEMO 2004 - 04

     April 5, 2004


Department of Health and Family Services
Division of Children and Family Services



Area Administrative/Assistant Area Administrators
Bureau Directors
County Departments of Community Program Directors
County Departments of Developmental Disabilities Services Directors
County Departments of Human Services Directors
County Departments of Social Services Directors
Licensing Chiefs/Section Chiefs
Program Office Directors
Tribal Chairpersons/Human Services Facilitators


Kitty Kocol


Timely Submission of Child Abuse and Neglect Forms  


As indicated in DCFS Memo 2001-04, the deadline date for submitting CFS-40 forms for Calendar Year 2003 is April 30, 2004. Please ensure that all CFS-40 forms are submitted timely so DCFS can meet the federal NCANDS reporting timeframes.

Following is a breakdown of counties and possible CFS-40 form usage:

Counties who had not converted to WiSACWIS as of December 2003 and exclusively used CFS-40 forms for CY2003 include:

Dane, Door, Dunn, Florence, Fond du Lac, Langlade, Marathon, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Price, Sawyer, Ashland, Bayfield, Calumet, Douglas, Iron, Lincoln, Oneida, Outagamie, Shawano, Taylor, Waukesha and Wood.

Counties who converted to WiSACWIS in February 2003 and may not have any CFS-40 forms (because all 2003 information was input at time of conversion) include:

Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Columbia, Dodge, Juneau, Kewaunee, Marquette, Ozaukee, and Washburn.

Counties who converted to WiSACWIS in June or October 2003 will have some CFS-40 forms include:

Buffalo, Green,  Manitowoc, Monroe, Pepin, Portage, Sauk, Walworth, Washington, Waupaca, Adams, Barron, Crawford, La Crosse, Pierce, Rock, Trempealeau, Vernon, and Vilas.

Counties who converted to WiSACWIS prior to December 2002 should not have any CFS-40 forms include:

BMCW, Clark, Jackson, Lafayette, Racine, Rusk, Sheboygan, St. Croix, Waushara, Winnebago, Green Lake, Iowa, Eau Claire, Jefferson, Polk, Forest, Richland, Kenosha, and Grant.

For child abuse and neglect reports processed using WiSACWIS, all reports for CY2003 should be completed in the system with supervisory approval by 
April 30, 2004.

If you have any CFS-40 forms for CY 2003, please send them to:

Theresa Nelson
PO Box 7851
Room 851
Madison, WI  53707
Phone: (608)-266-9410


Area Administrator


Michelle Rawlings
(608) 264-9846

The Department of Children and Families, protecting children, strengthening families, building communities.