DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
Division of Safety and Permanence
Resident Care Staff Qualifications and Observation Log

Use of form:  Use of this form is voluntary; however, completion of this form meets the requirements for Resident Care Staff qualifications in accordance with DCF 57.14(4)(c).  Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s.15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes]. 

Instructions: Complete the form below to document the new staff member’s qualifications for Resident Care Staff.

	Employee Name (First, Middle, Last)
[bookmark: _GoBack]     
	Date of Hire 
     



As a Resident Care Staff, you must fulfill ONE of the following requirements per DCF 57.14(4)(c):

1. [bookmark: Check1]|_|	A bachelor or associate degree from a college or university in any one of the following majors:
ATTACH DIPLOMA/TRANSCRIPT

	|_| Social Work	|_| Criminal Justice	|_| Sociology
|_| Psychology	|_| Special education	|_| Counseling & Guidance



	Name of University
     

	Degree / Major
     
	Dates Attended
[bookmark: Text1]     



[bookmark: Check2]2. 	|_| 	At least one year of full-time experience working in a formal program with the type of resident population served by the group home.

	Previous Employer 
	Dates worked
	Contact person 
	Verified

	     
	     
	     
	[bookmark: Check5]|_|

	     
	     
	     
	[bookmark: Check6]|_|

	     
	     
	     
	[bookmark: Check7]|_|



[bookmark: Check3]3. 	|_|	Certification as a child and youth care worker under the standards of the Wisconsin Association of Child and Youth Care Professionals or other department−recognized certifying authority.  ATTACH CERTIFICATION

[bookmark: Check4]4. 	|_|	Completion of a traineeship program in which the resident care staff has worked with qualified, experienced resident care staff for at least the first 80 hours of employment and received orientation training as specified under s. DCF 57.16 (1), before working independently with residents.  ATTACH OBSERVATION SHEET


	     
	
	
	

	SIGNATURE - Employee
	
	Date Signed
	






	     
	
	
	

	SIGNATURE – Supervisor
	
	Date Signed
	






STAFF OBSERVATION LOG
As a new staff member, you are required to have 80 hours of observation completed with another staff member.  You must finish your observation hours before you are able to work independently.
	Date Worked
	Hours Worked
	Staff Observed (signature)

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	[bookmark: Text12]     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     



TOTAL OBSERVATION HOURS:       
DATE HOURS COMPLETED:      

	     
	
	
	

	SIGNATURE - Employee
	
	Date Signed
	






	     
	
	
	

	SIGNATURE – Supervisor
	
	Date Signed
	



DCF-F-5298-E (N. 09/2018)
DCF-F-5298-E (N. 09/2018)	2
