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With Commentary 
 

Register January 2024 No. 817 
 
Section 48.65, Wisconsin Statutes, requires that persons operating child care centers, that 
provide care and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age for less than 24 hours 
a day, be licensed by the Department of Children and Families. The statute also requires the 
department to establish rules which must be met in order to qualify for a license and which 
protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of the children in a child care center. 
 
Chapter DCF 250 is the administrative code governing family child care centers that provide 
care and supervision for 4-8 children for less than 24 hours a day. 
 
Although prepared primarily as a tool for licensing specialists, the purpose of the DCF 250 
Family Child Care Rules with Commentary is to help all users of DCF 250 understand the intent 
and application of the rule. An attempt has been made to offer commentary for those rules 
where experience indicates clarification would be helpful. However, commentary cannot be 
written to cover every situation encountered. Providers who require additional information 
should contact their regional licensing specialist. 
 
The portion of this publication that is numbered and in regular print is the administrative code 
DCF 250.  The portion of the publication that is within boxes and in italicized print is 
commentary that was prepared by staff of the Bureau of Early Care Regulation.   
 
There is a header on each page that contains the rule cite for the portion of the rule beginning 
on that page. A table of contents and an index are also included, as are appendices that contain 
key statutes related to child care rules, a copy of DCF 13 (administrative rules governing child 
care background checks), and other appendices referenced in the rule. 
 
This publication may be duplicated and is also available on the department's website: 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules  
 
 
The Department of Children and Families is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you 
have a disability and need to access services, receive information in an alternate format, or need 
information translated to another language, please contact the Bureau of Early Care Regulation at 
dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov or (608) 421-7550. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, deaf-blind or 
speech disabled can use the free Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 to contact the department.  For 
civil rights questions call 608-422-6889 (general) or the Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) 711. 
 
DCF yog ib tus tswv hauj lwm thiab yog ib qhov chaw muab kev pab cuam muaj vaj huam sib luag rau 
sawv daws. Yog tias koj muaj ib tus mob xiam oob qhab thiab xav tau cov ntaub ntawv no ua lwm hom, 
lossis xav kom muab txhais ua lwm yam lus, hu rau BECR ntawm dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov, 608-421-
7550 (siv dav dav), lossis Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) 711. Rau cov lus nug txog neeg txoj cai hu rau 
608-422-6889 (siv dav dav), lossis Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) 711. 
 
DCF es un empleador y proveedor de servicios que ofrece igualdad de oportunidades.  Si tiene alguna 
discapacidad y necesita acceso a esta información en un formato alternativo, o si necesita traducción a 
otro idioma, por favor comuníquese con BECR al dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov, 608-421-7550 (general) o 
Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) 711.  Para preguntas sobre derechos civiles, llame al 608-422-6889 
(general) o Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) 711. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
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250.01 

DCF 250.01 Authority and purpose. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of 
s. 48.67, Stats., to carry out licensing requirements under s. 48.65, Stats., for family child 
care centers. The purpose of the chapter is to protect the health, safety and welfare of 
children being cared for in family child care centers. 
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DCF 250.02 Applicability. 

(1) INCLUDED AND EXCLUDED CARE ARRANGEMENTS. This chapter applies to all family child 
care centers, but does not include any of the following: 

Note: Section 48.65 (2), Stats., exempts parents, guardians and certain other relatives; public and 
parochial (private) schools; persons employed to come to the home of the child’s parent to provide 
care for less than 24 hours per day; and counties, cities, villages, towns, school districts, and libraries 
that provide programs for children primarily intended for social or recreational purposes from the 
requirement for a license. As specified under s. 49.155 (4), Stats., or s. DCF 201.04 (1), programs, 
other than those operated by public schools, are required to be licensed by the department or 
certified by a county agency in order to be eligible to receive a child care subsidy. 

(a) Care and supervision of children in a program that operates no more than 4 hours a week. 

Centers occasionally offering after-hours care / activities for children on the premises of a 
licensed center (such as parent date nights, shopping, etc.) may do so provided that the 
parents are notified in writing that the center is not licensed during that time period. If the 
center wishes to operate during this time as a licensed facility, an exception must be 
requested. Note: Centers should also check with their insurance company to ensure coverage 
during this time. 

(b) Group lessons to develop a talent or skill, such as dance or music, social group 
meetings and activities and group athletic activities. 

(c) Care and supervision while the parents are on the premises and are engaged in 
shopping, recreation or other non-work activities. 

Non-working parents on the premises means a care situation in which a parent of every child 
in care is on the premises. Centers serving industry, college, university, or employer-based 
child care where parents may be employed or attending classes on the same premises must 
be licensed. 

An organization may use the premises of a licensed child care center for occasional care for 
conferences or other activities when the center is not in operation. An example of this usage 
would be occasional weekends or evenings. An exception is not required. 

(d) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any 3-month period, including day 
camps, vacation bible school and holiday child care programs. 

(e) Care and supervision in emergency situations. 

“Emergency situation” means a scenario where there is an unforeseen circumstance that 
poses a significant risk or threat to the safety or wellbeing of individuals involved that requires 
immediate attention. Examples can include but are not limited to severe weather, national 
emergency, natural disasters, and security threats. 

(f) Care and supervision while the parent is employed on the premises if the parent’s 
child receives care and supervision for no more than 3 hours a day. 

(g) Care and supervision provided at the site to the child of a recipient of temporary 
assistance to needy families, or Wisconsin works, who is involved in orientation, enrollment 
or initial assessment prior to the development of an employability plan or the child care is 
provided where parents are provided training or counseling. 
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250.02(2) 

 

(2) EXCEPTION TO THE REQUIREMENT. The department may grant an exception to a 
requirement of this chapter when a family child care center demonstrates to the satisfaction 
of the department that granting the exception will not jeopardize the health, safety or 
welfare of any child served by the center. A request for an exception shall be in writing, shall 
be sent to the department and shall include justification for the requested action and a 
description of any alternative provision planned to meet the intent of the pertinent provision 
in this chapter.  

The Exception Request form is the preferred format for the request. A request in the form of 
correspondence will be accepted as an alternative. The exception request must include the 
rule number for which the exception is being requested; a signature of the licensee or the 
person previously delegated in writing by the licensee to have the authority to sign official 
documents or correspondence; and the alternative plan to meet the intent of the rule. 

The exception to the rule may not be implemented until the exception request has been 
approved by the department.  

Failure to comply with the conditions of the exception could result in withdrawal of the 
exception and/or initiation of other enforcement actions, such as forfeiture or revocation of 
the license. 

Note: A request for an exception to a requirement of this chapter should be sent to the regional 
licensing representative of the Department’s Division of Early Care and Education. See Appendix A for 
addresses of the regional offices. 



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.03 DEFINITIONS 

4 
 

DCF 250.03 Definitions. In this chapter: 

(1g) “Abusive head trauma” means a serious type of head injury, including shaken baby 
syndrome, that is caused by shaking, throwing, hitting, slamming, or jerking. 

 
(1r) “Background check request form” means a form prescribed by the department on 

which a person completes required information for the child care background check under s. 
48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13.  

Note: Form DCF-F-5296, Background Check Request, is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

 
(2) “Care” means providing for the safety and the developmental needs of a child in a 

family child care center. 
 
(3) “Center-provided transportation” means transportation in a vehicle owned by or 

contracted for the center or a vehicle owned by the licensee or an employee that is used to 
transport children, but does not include a vehicle owned and driven by a parent or volunteer. 

 
(3m) “Child care background check” means the requirements in s. 48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13.  
 
(4) “Complaint” means an allegation of violation of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats. 
 
(4m) “Crib” means a bed for an infant or young child that is enclosed on 4 sides 

including play pens and portable cribs. 
 
(5) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of children and families. 
 
(5m) “Early childhood education” means the teaching of children who are 8 years of age 

or less. 
 
(6) “Emergency” means unforeseen circumstances that require immediate attention. 
 
(7) “Emergency back-up provider” means a designated adult available within 5 minutes 

of the premises who can provide assistance in the event an emergency occurs that requires 
a provider to leave the premises occasionally for a short period of time. 

 
(8) “Employee” means any adult who is compensated to provide care and supervision of 

children enrolled in a family child care center, including a helper or assistant to a child care 
provider. 

 
(8m) “EPSDT provider” means a provider of health assessment and evaluation services 

that is eligible to be certified under s. DHS 105.37 (1) (a). 

DHS 105.37 Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) providers. (1) 
EPSDT Health Assessment and Evaluation Services. (a) Eligible providers. The following 
providers are eligible for certification as providers of EPSDT health assessment and 
evaluation services: 

1. Physicians 
2. Outpatient hospital facilities 
3. Health maintenance organizations 
4. Visiting nurse associations 
5. Clinics operated under a physician’s supervision 
6. Local public health agencies 
7. Home health agencies 
8. Rural health clinics

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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250.03(8m) continued 

 

9. Native American health agencies 
10. Neighborhood health centers 

See DCF 250.03(24) – DEFINITION – PHYSICIAN.  

(9) “Family child care center” or “center” means a facility where a person provides care 
and supervision for less than 24 hours a day for at least 4 and not more than 8 children who 
are not related to the provider. 

See Wis. Stats. 48.65. 

Centers may be licensed for 24-hour care with one provider providing care for 16 hours or less 
in a 24-hour period. See DCF 250.055 (1) (c) – PROVIDER – 16 HOUR CARE LIMIT and DCF 
250.055(1)(d) – CHILD – 14 HOUR CARE LIMIT. 

(10) “Field trip” means any experience a child has away from the premises of the center 
while in the care of center staff, whether a child walks or is transported. 

 
(11) “Fit and qualified” means displaying the capacity to successfully nurture and care 

for children and may include consideration of any of the following: 
(a) Abuse of alcohol or drugs.  
(b) A history of a civil or criminal conviction or administrative rule violation that is 

substantially related to the care of children, as determined under s. DCF 13.05. 
(c) Exercise of unsound judgment. 
(d) A history of civil or criminal offenses or any other action that demonstrates an 

inability to manage the activities of a center. 
 
(12) “Foster care” means care and maintenance provided to a child in a foster home 

pursuant to a court order or voluntary placement agreement. 
 
(13) “Foster home” means any facility operated by a person licensed under s. 48.62 (1), 

Stats. 
 
(13m) “Hazard” means a potential source of harm that can jeopardize the health, safety 

or well-being of a child in care. 
 
(14) “Hours of operation” means the hours within the terms of the license during which 

children are actually in the care of the center. 
 
(14m) “Household member” means any person who resides, or is expected to reside, at 

the family child care center and who has or may have direct contact with a child in the care 
of the center, whether or not related to the licensee. 

Reside means to be present at a child care program for more than an aggregate of 14 
calendar days within a 90-day period. “Reside” does not include incidental presence that does 
not afford unrestricted access to the premises or to children in care. See s. DCF 13.02 (18). 

(15) “Inclement weather” means stormy or severe weather such as any of the following:  
(a) Heavy rain. 
(b) Temperatures above 90 degrees Fahrenheit. 

The heat index (HI) combines air temperature and relative humidity in an attempt to determine 
the human-perceived equivalent temperature — how hot it feels — termed the felt air 
temperature.
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250.03(15)(b) continued 

NOAA's National Weather Service Heat Index 

  
(c) Wind chills of 0 degrees Fahrenheit or below for children age 2 and above.  
(d) Wind chills of 20 degrees Fahrenheit or below for children under age 2. 

 
(16) “Infant” means a child under one year of age. 
 
(17) “In care” means the center is providing supervision, either on or off the premises, 

including during center-provided transportation, for the safety and the developmental needs 
of the child or children. 

 
(17m) “Licensed hours” means the authorized hours specified on the license certificate 

and letter of transmittal within which the center may provide care. 
 

(18) “Licensee” means the individual that has the legal and fiscal responsibility for the 
operation of a center and for meeting the requirements of this chapter.  

 
(19) “Licensing representative” means a department employee responsible for licensing 

family child care centers. 

A person monitoring a family child care center for purposes of department initiatives (such as 
child care subsidy) is also considered a licensing representative.



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.03 DEFINITIONS 

7 
250.03(21) 

(21) “Night care” means any care that is offered by a licensed family child care center 
between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. 

 
(22) “Parent” means either “parent” as defined in s. 48.02 (13), Stats., or “guardian” as 

defined in s. 48.02 (8), Stats. 
 
(23) “Physical restraint” means the use of physical force to restrict the free movement of 

all or a portion of a child’s body. 
 
(24) “Physician” has the meaning given in s. 448.01 (5), Stats. 

Physician means an individual possessing the degree of doctor of medicine or doctor of 
osteopathy or an equivalent degree as determined by the licensing board and holding a 
license granted by the board. A chiropractor or physician assistant does not meet the 
definition of a physician. 

(25) “Physician assistant” has the meaning given in s. 448.01 (6), Stats. 
 
(26) “Premises’’ means the tract of land on which the center is located, including all 

buildings and structures on that land. 
 
(26m) “Program aide” means a person who works under the supervision of a provider 

and assists with daily activities and maintenance of the program, such as preparing and 
participating in program activities and cleaning the premises. 

See DCF 250.05(3)(GM) – PROGRAM AIDE – QUALIFICATIONS. 

(27) “Provider” means an adult who has met the requirements specified in s. DCF 250.05 
(3) in a family child care center and who provides care and supervision of the children in the 
care of the center. 

 
(28) “Provider’s own children” means a provider’s natural or adopted children, foster 

children, stepchildren, or other children who reside in the family child care center. 
 
(29) “Representative of the department” means a department employee or a 

representative from an agency the department contracts with to provide pre-licensing 
services. 

 
(30) “School-age child” means a child 5 years of age or older who is enrolled in a public 

or private school. 
 
(30m) “Shaken baby syndrome” or “SBS” means a severe form of brain injury that occurs 

when an infant or young child is shaken or thrown forcibly enough to cause the brain to 
rebound against his or her skull. 

See DCF 250.03(1G) – DEFINITION – ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA. 

(31) “Sleeping bag” means a padded fabric bag that is closed or capable of being closed 
on 3 sides. 

 
(32) “Substitute” means a provider who replaces another provider on a pre-arranged 

basis. 
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250.03(33) 

(33) “Sudden infant death syndrome” or “SIDS” means the sudden death of an infant 
under one year of age that remains unexplained after a thorough case investigation, 
including performance of a complete autopsy, examination of the death scene and a review 
of the clinical history. 

 
(34) “Supervision” means guidance of the behavior and activities of children while awake 

and asleep for their health, safety and well-being by a provider who is within sight or sound 
of the children except as specified in ss. DCF 250.055 (1) (m) and (n), 250.07 (7) (e), and 
250.09 (1) (c) 4g. 

 
(35) “Toddler” means a child at least one year of age but less than 2 years of age. 
 
(36) “Universal precautions” means measures taken to prevent transmission of infection 

from contact with blood or other potentially infectious material, as recommended by the U.S. 
public health service’s centers for disease control and adopted by the U.S. occupational 
safety and health administration (OSHA) as 29 CFR 1910.1030. 

Note: “Standard precautions” for infection control measures incorporate universal precautions. 
Information on the OSHA requirements related to standard or universal precautions is available on 
the OSHA web site at http://www.osha.gov. Information is also available from the Child Care 
Information Center, 1-800-362-7353. 

 
(37) “Volunteer” means a person who is not paid, but who agrees to give time, with or 

without reimbursement for expenses, to transport children attending a family child care 
center or to work in a family child care center. 

 
(38) “Wading pool” means a shallow pool, with sides of 15 inches or less in height, 

capable of being dumped to change water and used primarily for small children. 

http://www.osha.gov/
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DCF 250.04 Operational requirements. 

(1) TERMS OF LICENSE. 

See DCF 250.11(6) – AMENDING A LICENSE for instruction on how to submit a license 
amendment request to the department. 

(a) The number of children in the care of a family child care center at any time may not 
exceed the number for which the center is licensed.  

Note: Denying admission on the basis of race, disability, religion, or certain other characteristics 
may be illegal under the state public accommodations law, federal law related to the use of federal 
funding, and some local anti−discrimination ordinances. 

(b) The age of children served by a center may not be younger or older than the age 
range specified in the license issued. 

A license may be granted for the care of children through age 17. If a provider wishes to care 
for a child above or below the specified age on the license, an exception should be requested 
or the license should be amended. For example, if a provider who is licensed up to age 12 
wishes to care for one child age 14, the exception or amendment must be approved by the 
center’s assigned Licensing Specialist prior to caring for a child above or below the ages 
specified on the license. 

If a provider is licensed to care for children aged 2 and above and has their own child under 
age 2, an exception to the age range of the license may be granted with the condition that all 
the licensing rules for children under age 2 apply except for the requirement for I/T training. 
See commentary under DCF 250.05(1)(b)6. – PROVIDER TRAINING WITHIN 6 MONTHS 
CARING FOR INFANTS & TODDLERS. 

(c) The hours, days and months of a center’s operation may not exceed those specified 
in the license.  

See DCF 250.03(14) – DEFINITION – HOURS OF OPERATION. 

See DCF 250.03(17) – DEFINITION – LICENSED HOURS. 

 
(2) ADMINISTRATION. A licensee shall do all of the following:  
(a) Comply with all laws governing the facility and its operation. 
Note: Denying admission on the basis of race, disability, religion, or certain other characteristics 

may be illegal under the state public accommodations law, federal law related to the use of federal 
funding, and some local anti-discrimination ordinances.  

WISCONSIN SHARES COMPLIANCE: This rule requires centers to comply with the subsidy 
requirements found in Ch. 49, Wis. Stats., and DCF 201. 

DISCRIMINATION: The DCF Equal Opportunity Office investigates all discrimination 
complaints that are submitted to DCF by its clients and customers that are based on practices 
prohibited by relevant state and federal civil rights laws. Contact the DCF Equal Opportunity 
Office at 608-422-6889 or the US Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil 
Rights 800-368-1019 (voice) or 800-537-7697 (TDD) or see the ADA 
we://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm to file a complaint. 

(b) Comply with all requirements in this chapter. 
(bm) Comply with all conditions placed on the license. 
(c) Ensure that all information provided to the department is current and accurate. 
(cm) If residing in another state, designate in writing, as part of the application under s. 

DCF 250.11 (3) and (4), a Wisconsin resident who is responsible on behalf of the licensee 
for ensuring compliance with all requirements of this chapter. 
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250.04(2)(cm) continued 

See DCF 250.11(3) – INITIAL APPLICATION FOR PROBATIONARY LICENSES. In 
circumstances where the Governor’s Council on Migrant Labor operates licensed programs in 
Wisconsin on a seasonal basis, the person representing the Governor’s Council on Migrant 
Labor may be considered to be a Wisconsin resident during the period of time that program 
operates in WI. The Wisconsin residence address must be provided. 

(d) Prior to receiving or continuing a license, complete all application forms and pay all 
fees and forfeitures due to the department. 

Note: The Department will provide an application after a Department representative completes 
the provision of pre-licensing technical assistance. 

(e) Develop, submit to the department, implement, and provide to the parents written 
policies and procedures consistent with the requirements of this chapter related to all of the 
following:  

The department has developed a Policy Sample – Family Child Care Centers that is available 
on the department’s website, www.dcf.wisconsin.gov. A completed Policy Checklist – Family 
Child Care Centers must be sent to the department at the time the policies are submitted. The 
policy checklist is available on the department’s website, www.dcf.wisconson.gov.  

Centers should periodically review their existing policies and procedures to determine whether 
they conflict with the licensing rules or to determine whether any changes are required to 
reflect current procedure. Any conflicts must be resolved.  

Copies of policy changes must be submitted to the department at the time the policy is 
changed. Licensees are reminded at continuation that if they have not previously submitted 
policy changes, they should do so with the continuation materials. The Policy Checklist – 
Family Child Care Centers must be sent to the department at the time the policies are 
submitted. 

It is recommended that policy revisions be dated. 

1. Enrollment and discharge of enrolled children.  

DISCRIMINATION: The DCF Equal Opportunity Office investigates all discrimination 
complaints that are submitted to DCF by its clients and customers that are based on practices 
prohibited by relevant state and federal civil rights laws. Contact the DCF Equal Opportunity 
Office at 608-422-6889 or the US Department of Health and Human Services Office for Civil 
Rights at (800) 368-1019 (voice) or (800) 537-7697 (TDD) or see the ADA website, 
https://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm, to file a complaint.  

See Appendix D Resources List, Together Children Grow – Quality Child Care for Children with 
Special Needs. 

2. Fee payment and refunds. 

It is recommended that centers utilize a contract that includes the requirements for payment 
of fees. 

Per DCF 201.038 (5) (a), a provider must have a written payment agreement with each parent 
that receives Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy. 

3. Child and provider absences, including a procedure to contact a parent if a child is 
absent from the center without prior notification from the child’s parent.  

4. Children’s and staff’s health care, including those policies and procedures pertaining 
to SIDS risk reduction, if the center is licensed to care for children under one year of age.  

5. Nutrition.  
6. Daily activities of the children. 

http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/
http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://www.ada.gov/filing_complaint.htm
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7. Child guidance, including appropriate ways to manage crying, fussing or distraught 
children.  

See Appendix D, Resources List, Managing Crying, Fussing or Distraught Children. 

8. Transportation of children for any purpose including field trips. The policy shall 
include a procedure to ensure that no child has been left unattended in a vehicle.  

See DCF 250.03(3) – DEFINITION – CENTER-PROVIDED TRANSPORTATION. 

Examples of non-owned vehicle transportation are: 
• Children transported in personal vehicle of employee for field trip, portal-to-portal, or for 

emergency situations. 
• Children transported in personal vehicles of parents or other persons for field trips. 
• Children transported in vehicles donated by other agencies, but not owned by the center, 

such as churches, community groups, or the Red Cross. 

9. Religious instruction or practices, if any.  
10. Information related to the numbers, types and location of pets or other animals 

located on the premises of the center and the type of access the children will have to the 
pets.  

(f) Develop, submit to the department, and implement a written orientation plan for any 
employees, substitutes, and emergency back-up providers. The orientation plan shall cover 
all the items described in s. DCF 250.05 (4) (a) and (b).  

Note: See s. DCF 250.05 (2) (a) and (b) regarding providing an orientation to employees, 
substitutes and emergency back-up providers. 

(g) Maintain liability insurance on the child care business if cats or dogs are allowed in 
areas accessible to children during the hours of operation. The insurance policy shall 
indicate the number of children covered and the dates of coverage.  

Proof of liability insurance on the child care business includes the number of children covered 
and the effective dates of coverage. Amounts of coverage need not be included. A declaration 
page, endorsement page, or a certificate of insurance are all acceptable documentation to 
verify proof of insurance. An e-mail or written correspondence from the insurance agent is 
acceptable if it includes the number of children covered and the effective dates of coverage. If 
dogs and cats are not accessible to children, insurance is not required. 

In cases where a homeowner’s policy does not cover a business operation such as child care, 
or will not cover the presence of cats or dogs in a child care setting, a separate liability policy 
may be needed. 

(gm) Provide written information to parents on whether a licensee has insurance 
coverage on the premises and on the child care business. 

Note: The information provided could be included as a rider on a homeowner policy or a separate 
insurance policy on the child care business. A certificate of insurance or other documentation from 
an insurance company that indicates the number of children covered, dates of coverage, and types of 
pets covered is acceptable. 

(h) Post the child care license in a location where parents can see it during the hours of 
operation.  

(i) 1. Post next to the child care license all of the following: 
a. The current licensing statement of compliance or noncompliance statement and 

correction plan, including any rule violations the department has not verified as corrected 
and in compliance. 

b. Any notice from the department related to rule violations, such as a warning letter or 
enforcement action. 
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c. Any stipulations, conditions, temporary closures, exceptions, or exemptions that affect 
the license.   

2. All items posted as required under this paragraph shall be visible to parents. 
(j) Ensure that any action, by commission or omission, or any condition or occurrence 

relating to the operation or maintenance of the child care center does not adversely affect 
the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee. 

(k) Meet, upon request of the department, with a licensing representative on matters 
pertaining to the license. 

(L) Submit a completed background check request form to the department for each 
potential household member prior to the date on which the individual becomes a household 
member, unless the person is less than 10 years of age.  

Per s. 48.686(2)(ab), Wis. Stats., each child care program shall submit a request to the 
department for a caregiver background check prior to the date on which the individual 
becomes a caregiver or household member.  

Per s. 48.686(4m)(c), individuals may not begin working or residing at the child care center 
until they receive preliminary eligibility. New employees or new household members may 
begin working or residing at a family child care center with preliminary eligibility results, but 
they must be under supervision of someone with final eligibility until the new employee or 
household member receives final eligibility. 

Licensees are reminded to promptly remove individuals from their facility’s profile in CCPP 
when an individual no longer resides at or is no longer employed by the center. Failure to do 
so may result in the facility being charged for subsequent automated child care background 
checks being conducted on inactive individuals. 

Licensees are reminded to promptly submit a new request to the department for a caregiver 
background check in the event of a name change. Individuals should include any alias they 
have used in the past on the request form. 

(m) When a current household member turns 10 years of age, submit a completed 
background check request form to the department by the department’s next business day. 

Licensees should enter all household members into the Child Care Provider Portal (CCPP). 
When a household member turns 10 years of age, DCF will then contact the licensee and 
request a Background Check Request form be completed. Licensees should verify that 
Background Check Request form information for all household members age 10 years and 
older are entered in the CCPP. 

Note: For more information on child care background checks, see ch. DCF 13. Information on 
requesting a background check is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, 
through the Child Care Provider Portal, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

(3) REPORTS. The licensee shall report to the department all of the following. If the report 
is made by telephone, the licensee shall submit a written report to the appropriate regional 
licensing office within 5 business days of the incident. Fax, e-mail and letter are acceptable 
ways of filing a written report:  

(a) Any incident or accident that occurs while the child is in the care of the center that 
results in professional medical evaluation, within 24 hours of the licensee becoming aware 
of the medical evaluation.  

Note: The licensee may use the licensee’s own form or the department’s form, Incident Report — 
Regulated Child Care. The department’s form is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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The Incident Report Form – Regulated Child Care is the preferred format for the report; 
however, other forms will be accepted as alternatives. It is recommended that a center include 
information on the details of what happened to cause the injury when making the written 
report. Examples of details that should be included in this report are: date and time, the child’s 
name and date of birth, the parent’s information, a detailed description of what caused the 
injury, any witnesses, and what action was taken by the provider at the time of the incident or 
accident. 

(am) Any death of a child in care, within 24 hours after the death. 
Note: The licensee may use either the licensees own form or the department’s form, Incident 

Report – Regulated Child Care. The form is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(ar) Any injury caused by an animal to a child in care, within 24 hours of the incident. 

If an animal bites a child, whether the animal is owned by the center or not, the parent shall be 
notified and procedures for treatment of an injury shall be followed. It is recommended a 
veterinarian be contacted by center personnel to determine a course of action in the diagnosis 
of possible rabies in the animal. It is also recommended parents be notified of any action 
taken by the veterinarian, as well as the name, address, and telephone number of the 
veterinarian who was consulted. 

(b) Any damage to the premises that may affect compliance with this chapter, or any 
incident at the premises that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the 
occurrence. 

Damage to the premises includes damage to any child care space that may affect the usage 
of the space. Examples include storm or flood damage, power outages, or debris. 

(c) Any construction or remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an 
area accessible to children or a condition of the license. Notification shall be provided in 
writing before the construction or remodeling begins. 

Note: See s. DCF 250.11(6)(a) for items that affect a condition of the license. 
Note: It is recommended that the licensee check with the local municipality to determine whether 

a building permit is required before beginning any construction or remodeling. 

The addition or removal of playground structures is considered remodeling or construction 
that must be reported.  

See commentary under DCF 250.06 (2) (k). Homes which were built prior to 1980 may contain 
lead-based paint. The licensee should check with the local city or county health department 
for the proper procedure to eliminate lead. 

(d) If requested by the department, a plan of correction for cited violations of this 
chapter or ch. 48, Stats., in a format specified by the department. The department shall 
receive the plan of correction by the date the department specifies and be approved by the 
department licensing representative. 

Note: The licensing representative will notify the licensee whether a plan of correction will be 
required and will provide the plan of correction format with the notification. 

(e) Any known convictions, pending charges, or other offenses of the licensee, a 
provider, household member, or other person subject to a child care background check, by 
the department’s next business day. 

(f) Any incident related to a child who leaves the premises of the center without the 
knowledge of a provider or any incident that results in a provider not knowing the 
whereabouts of a child in attendance at the center within 24 hours of the incident. 

(g) Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence that: 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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1. Involves a licensee, a household resident or an employee of the center in an incident 
that causes, or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, 
including a child in the care of the center. 

2. Involves any traffic-related incident where a person responsible for the violation 
transports children in the care of the center. 

(h) Any change in room usage, such as using rooms not previously approved for use at 
least 20 working days prior to the change. Changes in room usage shall be approved by the 
department prior to the change.  

(i) Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by a provider, volunteer, or household 
member that was reported under sub. (8) (a), including any incident that results in a child 
being forcefully shaken or thrown against a hard or soft surface during the child’s hours of 
attendance, within 24 hours after the incident.  

(im) Any prohibited actions specified in s. DCF 250.07 (2) (c) by a provider, volunteer, or 
household member to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident.  

Note: See also s. DCF 250.07 (2) for information on guiding children’s behavior and s. DCF 
250.07(6)(b) regarding recording injuries in a center medical log. 

(j) A change in transportation services at least 5 calendar days prior to the change. A 
change in transportation services shall be approved by the department.  

A change in transportation services includes providing or contracting transportation services 
for field trips. 

(k) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by the department. 
Note: The Department periodically requests statistical data from licensees. An example of the 

type of data collected relates to the immunization status of children in care. When the Department 
requests statistical data, the Department will supply the appropriate form. 

(L) Temporary closings lasting more than 2 weeks, at least 5 calendar days before the 
closing. 

(Lm) Unexpected closures lasting more than 2 weeks, within 24 hours after the center 
has been closed for a 2-week period. 

If a Licensing Specialist is unable to complete an on-site visit two times in a row, a Warning 
Letter will be issued. It is best practice to keep all expected and unexpected closures up-to-
date in the Child Care Provider Portal (CCPP) to avoid unnecessary enforcement action. 

(m) Any confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 in a 
child enrolled in the child care center or a person in contact with children at the center, 
within 24 hours after the center is notified of the diagnosis. The licensee shall also notify the 
parents of all enrolled children and the local health department within 24 hours after the 
center is notified of the diagnosis.  

See DCF 250.04 (4) (c) 1. – PARENT NOTIFICATION – COMMUNICABLE DISEASE. See 
Appendix D Resource List, Communicable Diseases Chart, which identifies the diseases that 
must be reported to the local public health department. The Department of Health Services’ 
website also contains the current list of reportable diseases: 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm. 

COVID-19 is considered a communicable disease. If there is a case of COVID-19 in the center 
that is associated with a hospitalization or a pediatric death, providers must follow all 
reporting requirements. 

Names of children with communicable diseases may not be shared with other families. There 
are penalties for disclosure of HIV antibody test results without consent. See s. 146.025, Wis. 
Stats. A person’s HIV status is confidential and may not be shared with others. 

  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm
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The center must work with the health department to ensure that all necessary measures are 
taken to protect the children in care. 

(4) PARENTS. 
(a) The center shall permit parents to visit and observe the center’s operations at any 

time during the center’s hours of operation unless parental access is prohibited or restricted 
by court order.  

The provider may lock the door for security. 

When access is prohibited or restricted by court order, permission to call for the child is also 
affected. To prohibit or restrict access, the center must have a copy of the court order on file 
at the center. It is recommended that the policies should include notification to parents that 
they are permitted to visit and observe during hours of operation. Refer also to DCF 250.04 (7) 
(b) 2. ACCESS TO RECORDS & REPORTS – PARENTS. 

(b) The licensee shall give parents of each enrolled child a summary of this chapter.  
Note: Copies of a summary of this chapter may be obtained from the Child Care Information 

Center by calling 1-800-362-7353. 

The brochure titled “Your Guide to Regulated Child Care” is the summary referenced in this 
rule. It is available on the department’s website at http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

(c) The licensee shall notify a parent of a child in care of all of the following 
circumstances:  

1. The child is or has been exposed to a diagnosed or suspected communicable disease 
reportable under ch. DHS 145 as specified under sub. (3) (m).  

See DCF 250.04 (3) (m) – REPORT – COMMUNICABLE DISEASE and DCF 250.07(6)(A)1. 
CONTACT WITH PERSON – ILLNESS OR COMMUNICABLE DISEASE. See Appendix D 
Resource List: Communicable Diseases Chart. The Department of Health Services’ website 
also contains the current list of reportable diseases: 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm.  

Names of children with communicable diseases may not be shared with other families. 

Examples of those diseases not transmitted through normal contact are HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B 
and C, and sexually transmitted diseases or infections. 

Contact the local health department for further information. 

Note: The Department of Health Services, Division of Public Health, has developed materials that 
identify those communicable diseases that are required to be reported to a local public health officer. 
These materials also provide information on the symptoms of each disease and guidance on how 
long an infected child must be excluded from child care. Copies of the communicable disease chart 
are available on the Department of Health Services website at 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p44397b.pdf. 

2. Notification shall be made immediately and shall provide sufficient detail to apprise 
the parent in all of the following situations: 

a. The child becomes ill.  
b. The child needs professional evaluation of an injury.  
c. The child experiences a head injury, has a seizure, consumes incorrect breastmilk, 

consumes food or drink that may contain the child’s allergen, consumes or comes in 
contact with poisonous materials, or is given incorrect medication. For purposes of this 
subdivision, a “head injury” means a bump, blow, or jolt to the head. 

Incorrect medication includes the wrong type of medication, the wrong dose of medication, 
and medication not given at the correct time. 

http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/disease/reporting.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p44397b.pdf
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d. The child’s whereabouts are unknown to the assigned provider. 

“Assigned provider” means an individual who is responsible for supervising and responding to 
the safety and developmental needs of a child while they are in care of the child care center. 

e. The child was subject to child guidance that is prohibited under s. DCF 250.07 (2) (c) 
and (d). 

3. The child has sustained a minor injury that does not appear to require professional 
medical treatment. Notification may be made when the child is picked up at the center or 
delivered to the parent or other authorized person. 

4. The child will be going on a field trip that is not considered part of the regularly 
scheduled program. Notification of the date, time, and destination shall be prior to the field 
trip.  

The options for meeting this rule are: 

1.  The Field Trip or Other Activity Notification/Permission – Child Care Centers form or a 
similar center-created form that will be used for each child on each field trip. 

OR 

2.  A blanket permission form, such as the Child Care Enrollment form used to meet the 
requirement under DCF 250.04(6)(a), signed by parents that covers all field trips involving 
use of a vehicle; and notification to parents of the date, time, and destination of the field 
trip for each child prior to each trip.  

(6) CHILDREN’S RECORDS.  
(a) The licensee shall maintain a current written record at the center on each child 

enrolled, including the provider’s own children under age 7, and shall make the record 
available to the licensing representative on request. Each record shall include all of the 
following:  

Electronic forms or systems are permitted as long as the files are available for review during a 
licensing visit. It is recommended that the licensee develop a procedure to ensure that 
emergency contact information, the child’s health history, and infant / toddler-specific 
information is immediately available if needed. 

See Appendix B Required Items for Family Child Care Centers and Appendix F Instructions for 
Obtaining Department Forms.  

Administrative rules do not prescribe the office management or record keeping techniques of 
a center. Required records must be maintained for the length of time the child is enrolled and 
be available to the licensing specialist for review. 

It is recommended that the date of discharge be added to the child’s record and that the 
center retain records for 3 years after a child is discharged. 

See Wis. Stat. s. 49.155 (6m); Wisconsin child care subsidy rules require child care providers 
retain the written daily attendance records for at least 3 years after the child’s last day of 
attendance. 

A center may use the department’s Child Care Enrollment and Health History and Emergency 
Care Plan forms, may choose to use their own paper forms, or may use an electronic form or 
system to capture the same information included on the department’s Child Care Enrollment 
and Health History and Emergency Care Plan forms. No exception is necessary. It is the child 
care program/provider’s responsibility to be able to access the electronic form to respond to 
the licensor’s request to review information. 
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Regardless of the format of the record, it is recommended that the date of discharge be added 
to the child’s record and that the center retain records for 3 years after a child is discharged. 

1. Enrollment information that includes all of the following: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. The full names of the child’s parents. 

Enrollment information should include both parents, if applicable. When parental access is 
prohibited or restricted by court order, permission to call for the child is also affected. To 
prohibit or restrict access, the center must have a copy of the court order on file at the center. 

c. The child’s home address and telephone number. 
d. An address and telephone number where the parent can be reached while the child is 

in care. 
e. The name, address, telephone number, and relationship to the child of a person to be 

notified in an emergency when a parent cannot be reached immediately. 
f. The name, address, and telephone number of the child’s physician or medical facility 

caring for the child. 
g. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of persons other than a parent 

authorized to call for the child, pick up the child, or accept the child who is dropped off. 

If no one is authorized to pick up a child, a notation of “none” should be indicated. 

A center may not stop a non-custodial parent from picking up a child. If parental access is 
denied, a current copy of the court order must be on file at the center. 

h. The child’s first day of attendance at the center. 
Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0062, Child Care Enrollment, 

or the licensee’s own form. The department’s form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

1m. Health history information that includes all of the following: 
a. The name and birth date of the child. 
b. The full names of the child’s parents. 
c. A telephone number where the parent can be reached while the child is in care. 
d. The name, address, and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring 

for the child. 
e. The child’s medical conditions, such as asthma, cerebral palsy, diabetes, epilepsy, 

food allergies, or gastrointestinal or feeding concerns. If the child has a milk allergy, a 
statement from a medical professional indicating an acceptable alternative for the child. 

f. If the child has a medical condition, triggers that may cause a problem, signs or 
symptoms for the provider to watch for, steps a provider should follow, when to call a parent 
regarding symptoms, when the condition requires emergency medical care, and 
identification of all providers who have received specialized training or instructions to help 
treat symptoms. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS2345 Health History and 
Emergency Care Plan, or the licensee’s own form for obtaining the information. 

2. If field trips and other off-premises activities are a part of the program, written 
authorization from the parent indicating that the child has permission to participate.  

See DCF 250.08 (3) – REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR EACH TRIP. 

The options for meeting this rule are: 

1. The Field Trip or Other Activity Notification/Permission – Child Care Centers form or a 
similar center-created form that will be used for each child on the field trip.



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.04 OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

18 
250.04(6)(a)2. continued 

OR 

2. A blanket permission form signed by parents that covers all field trips involving use of a 
vehicle; and notification to parents of the date, time, and destination of the field trip for each 
child prior to each trip. 

Emergency information should be carried for the children during walking field trips. 

Note: The department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, includes a blanket authorization to take 
children on field trips. The department’s form, Field Trip or Other Activity Notification, or another type 
of notification such as a note to a parent may be used to provide specific information about a field 
trip. Information on how to obtain department forms is available on the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

3. A written agreement, signed by the parent, outlining the plan for a child to come to the 
center from school, home or other activities and to go from the center to school, home or 
other activities unless the child is accompanied by a parent or other authorized person or 
the child is transported by the center. 

A parent may authorize other persons to drop-off or pick-up a child through a note or on the 
Child Care Enrollment form. If a child is transported by a school bus, taxi, or transportation 
company that may have various individuals providing the transportation, then the written 
agreement should specify the transportation agency as the authorized pick-up or drop-off 
“person.” 

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Alternate Arrival/Release Agreement — 
Child Care, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s signed agreement. Information on 
how to obtain the form is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any 
regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

4. Documentation of each child’s most recent physical examination subject to the following: 
a. Each child under 2 years of age, including a provider’s own children in care, shall have an 

initial health examination not more than 6 months prior to nor later than 3 months after being 
admitted to the center, and a follow-up examination at least once every 6 months thereafter.  

b. Each child who is at least 2 years of age but who is not 5 years of age or older, 
including a provider’s own children in care, shall have an initial health examination not more 
than one year prior to nor later than 3 months after being admitted to a center, and a follow-
up health examination at least once every 2 years thereafter.  

c. Children 5 years of age and above are not required to have a health exam.  
d. A health examination report shall be made on an electronic printout from a licensed 

physician, physician assistant, or other EPSDT provider or a form provided by the 
department that is signed and dated by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or other 
EPSDT provider.  

See DCF 250.03(8m) – DEFINITION – EPSDT PROVIDER. 

Note: To document a health examination, use either an electronic printout from a medical 
professional or the department’s Form DCF-F-CFS0060, Child Health Report — Child Care Centers. The 
department’s form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

4m. Documentation that the child’s immunization history is in compliance with s. 252.04, 
Stats., and ch. DHS 144.  

Note: To record immunization information, use either an electronic printout from the Wisconsin 
Immunization Registry or other registry maintained by a health provider or the Department of Health 
Services Form F-44192, Child Care Immunization Record. The form is available on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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250.04(6)(a)4m. Note: continued 

Under s. 252.04, Wis. Stats., and Ch. DHS 144, the immunization record for each child must be on file 
no later than 30 school days (6 calendar weeks) after the first day of a child’s attendance. 

Immunization records are required to be on file for school-age children unless the child care 
center is operated on the school’s premises and the child care center has approved access to 
the school's vaccination records.  

The Student Immunization Law s. 252.04 (2), Stats., sets minimum requirements for children 
attending child care centers. The immunization history must indicate that the child has 
received at least the first dose of each immunization required for the child’s age or that the 
immunization requirement is waived for that child.  

If a parent claims a religious or personal conviction exemption, the parent may check the 
appropriate box and sign the Child Care Immunization Record form in place of providing an 
immunization history. Immunization requirements may also be waived upon signature of a 
physician that the child should not be immunized for health reasons, as indicated on the Child 
Care Immunization Record form. 

For children whose immunization record is not submitted within 30 school days of admission; 
whose record at 30 school days after admission indicates that they do not have at least the 
first dose of each required vaccine; or who fall behind schedule (i.e., do not obtain an 
immunization which their health care provider has indicated is due on a certain date), there 
are two courses of action for the center: 

1.  As required by Wisconsin law and administrative rule, the center will notify the district 
attorney that a child has failed to comply with immunization requirements. 

OR 
2.  The child who fails to comply with immunization requirements will be discharged 

(excluded) from the center until such time as immunization requirements are met. 

5. Written permission from the parents under s. DCF 250.07 (6) (k) for medical attention 
to be sought for the child if the child is injured. 

(b) The licensee shall maintain a current, accurate written record of the daily attendance 
that includes the actual time of arrival and departure for each child and the child’s birthdate. 
The record shall be kept for the length of time the child is enrolled in the program.  

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-2438 Daily Attendance Record — 
Licensed Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for recording a child’s daily attendance. The 
form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

See DCF 250.055 (1) (L) CHILD TRACKING PROCEDURE. 

A child must be signed in when the child arrives and signed out when the parent arrives to 
pick up the child. The center is responsible for children (i.e., knowing their whereabouts) from 
the time the parent, guardian, or responsible person brings the child to a center staff. Parents 
or legal guardians are responsible for the child until the child is safely in the center or received 
by center staff. 

A center may use the department’s Daily Attendance Record – Child Care Centers form, may 
choose to use their own paper form, or may use an electronic form or system to capture the 
same information included on the department’s Daily Attendance Record form. No exception 
is necessary. The daily attendance record could be a sign-in/sign-out book completed by 
either the parents or the center; however, the center is responsible for ensuring that this 
record is accurate. It is the child care program/provider’s responsibility to be able to access 
the electronic form to respond to the licensor’s request to review information 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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250.04(6)(b) continued 

Each enrolled child’s date of birth must be included on each daily attendance record to ensure 
appropriate staff-to-child ratios. 

Regardless of the format of the record, it is recommended that the date of discharge be added 
to the child’s record and that the center retain records for 3 years after a child is discharged. 

The attendance record must be up-to-date and must include each time a child (including the 
provider’s own child under age 7) is checked in to and out of care at the facility throughout the 
day (e.g., preschool, swim lesson, etc.). 

It is recommended that entries on the Daily Attendance Record be made in ink. If a time was 
entered incorrectly or by mistake, it is recommended that the incorrect information be struck 
through and initialed by the person correcting the error. 

The child should be signed in for actual hours of care. If a center is licensed for more than 12 
hours, times documented should include AM and PM designation. 

When the center provides transportation, the attendance tracking requirements apply. There 
may be 2 attendance records kept when children are transported. One record could reflect 
attendance during transportation, and the other could reflect attendance while the child is at 
the center. Attendance records must include the actual time of pick up and/or drop off. 

If the child is transported by means other than center-provided transportation, the transporter 
is responsible for the child once the child is placed in the vehicle or until the child is received 
by center staff. If a child is not received directly by center or school staff, an authorization for 
this time when the child is not supervised must be signed by the parent/legal guardian. If 
more than 8 children are in care, regardless of whether some children are being transported 
and others are at the center, the center is considered over-capacity. 

Wisconsin Child Care Subsidy rules require child care providers to retain the written daily 
attendance records for at least 3 years after the child’s last day of attendance. For questions 
related to requirements for retaining attendance records for WI Shares Child Care Subsidy 
Program purposes, contact the local child care coordinator. 

 (7) CONFIDENTIALITY. 
(a) The licensee is responsible for compliance by the center with s. 48.78, Stats., and 

this subsection. 

It is recommended that the center have a policy regarding the use of photos and social or 
electronic media involving children enrolled at the child care center. 

(b) The licensee shall ensure that all of the following occur:  
1. Persons with access to children’s records do not discuss or disclose personal 

information regarding the children and facts learned about the children and their relatives. 
This subdivision does not apply to any of the following:  

a. The child’s parent. 
b. Any person, business, school, social services provider, medical provider, or other 

agency or organization if written parental consent has been given. 
c. Agencies authorized under s. 48.78, Stats. 

A licensed child care facility may give access to confidential information regarding an 
individual in care to a public school, social welfare or law enforcement agency, or the 
Department of Children and Families. A social welfare agency is a county department of 
social or human services, an Indian tribal social service agency or agent, or a licensed child 
welfare agency under contract with the county department. A law enforcement agency is a 
sheriff or police department.  
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250.04(7)(b)1.c. 

“Relative" is defined by s. 28.02(15), stats., as a parent, stepparent, brother, sister, stepbrother, 
stepsister, half brother, half sister, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, first cousin, 2nd cousin, 
nephew, niece, uncle, aunt, step-uncle, step-aunt, or any person of a preceding generation as 
denoted by the prefix of grand, great, or great-great, whether by blood, marriage, or legal 
adoption, or the spouse of any person named in this subsection, even if the marriage is 
terminated by death or divorce. 

2. A parent, upon request, has access to all records and reports maintained on his or her 
child.  

Every parent has a right to their child’s school, medical, and dental records, and any video 
recordings of their child. The only exceptions to this rule are if a court specifically orders that 
a parent does not have access to the child. To prohibit or restrict access, the center must 
have a copy of the court order on file at the center. 

3. All records required by the department under this chapter for licensing purposes are 
available to the licensing representative. 

(8) REPORTING CHILD ABUSE OR NEGLECT. A licensee or provider who knows or has 
reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined in ss. 
48.02 (1) and 48.981 (1), Stats., shall immediately contact the county department of social 
services or human services or local law enforcement agency in compliance with s. 48.981, 
Stats.  

Licensees, employees, and volunteers are mandated reporters under the law. 

• A mandated reporter who witnesses or who has reasonable knowledge to suspect that a 
child has been abused or neglected is required to immediately contact the proper authority 
(county department of social or health and human services or law enforcement). 

• The witness or the person who has reasonable knowledge to suspect that a child has been 
abused or neglected should be the person to make the report. 

• When in doubt, report the suspected abuse or neglect. 
• Because child-to-child contact may be determined to be abuse, child-to-child sexual 

contact must be reported. 

When in doubt, report the suspected abuse or neglect. If a mandated reporter fails to report 
suspected child abuse or neglect, you may be fined up to $1,000, imprisoned for up to 6 
months, or both. In addition, a mandated reporter who fails to report suspected child abuse or 
neglect may receive a bar to owning and/or working in a licensed child care and future 
licensing applications may be denied. 

A report to the licensing specialist does not meet this requirement. 

Note: Child care providers are required to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect as 
specified in par. (a). Reporting to the licensee does not lessen this legal duty if the licensee fails to 
report as specified in par. (a).  
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250.04(8) continued 
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DCF 250.05 Staff. 

(1) DEFINITION. In this section, the “Wisconsin Registry” means a professional 
development recognition agency. 

Note: For further information, see https://www.wiregistry.org.   

(2) STAFF RECORDS. A licensee shall maintain a file for each provider, employee, volunteer, 
or substitute and shall make the file immediately available for review by a licensing 
representative at the center. The file shall contain all of the following:   

If the licensee is a provider, a file is required.  

Volunteers not counted in staff-to-child ratios are not required to have a complete staff file; 
they are only required to have documentation of completed orientation as per DCF 250.05 (4) 
(a).  

Licensees wishing to maintain electronic files on staff should ensure all the following: the files 
must be available for review by the licensing specialist during a licensing visit and the files 
must contain all the required information. The CCPP may be accessed here: 
https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/. 

A center may use the department’s Staff Record – Child Care Centers form, may choose to 
use their own paper form, or may use an electronic form or system to capture the same 
information included on the department’s Staff Record – Child Care Centers form. No 
exception is necessary. It is the child care program/provider’s responsibility to be able to 
access the electronic form to respond to the licensor’s request to review information.  

There is no retention requirement for staff files. Licensees are encouraged to consult with an 
attorney and/or an accountant for other potential requirements of retention of records. 

(a) The employee’s names, address, date of birth, education, position, previous work 
experience in child care, including the reason for leaving previous positions, and the name, 
address, and telephone numbers of persons to be notified in an emergency. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0053 Staff Record – Child Care 
Centers, or the licensee’s own form for recording staff information. The form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(b) Documentation from the department, either paper or electronic, that indicates that a 
child care background check was completed in compliance with the timelines and 
requirements specified in s. 48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13, and the person is eligible to work 
in a child care program.  

Providers submit a Background Check Request (BCR) for themselves and others through the 
Child Care Provider Portal (CCPP). The digital form must be submitted initially and reviewed 
every five years at the time the five-year fingerprint check is due. The CCPP may be accessed 
here: https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/.  

Per s. 48.686 (4m) (c), individuals may not begin working or residing at the child care center 
until they receive preliminary eligibility. New employees or new household members may 
begin working or residing at a family child care center with preliminary eligibility results, but 
they must be under supervision of someone with final eligibility until the new employee or 
household member receives final eligibility. 

As of 09/30/2018, the Preliminary Eligibility Determination and/or Final Eligibility 
Determination notices are the documentation accepted as the results of a complete child care 
background check.  

(c) Documentation of the actual hours a provider, substitute, employee, or volunteer worked 
if the hours were used to meet the applicable staff-to-child ratio under Table DCF 250.055. 

  

https://www.wiregistry.org/
https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/
https://mywichildcareproviders.wisconsin.gov/
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250.05(2)(d) 

(d) 1. Except as provided under subd. 2., a physical examination report completed within 
12 months before or 30 days after the person became licensed or began working with 
children in care. The physical examination report may be a printout of an electronic record 
from a medical professional or on a form provided by the department. The report shall be 
dated and signed by a licensed physician, physician’s assistant, or other EPSDT provider and 
shall indicate all of the following:  

a. The person is free from illness detrimental to children, including tuberculosis.  
b. The person is physically able to work with young children.  
Note: The optional Form DCF-F-CFS0054, Staff Health Report — Child Care Centers, is available on 

the department’s website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

See DCF 250.03 (14) – DEFINITION – EPSDT PROVIDER. 

An initial physical exam is required; subsequent physical exams are not required. 

2. The health examination requirement under subd. 1. does not apply to a provider who 
requests an exemption from subd. 1. based on the provider’s adherence to religious belief in 
exclusive use of prayer or spiritual means for healing in accordance with a bona fide 
religious sect or denomination.  

(e) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry that 
indicates the person is qualified for the position the later of 6 months after becoming 
licensed or beginning to work with children in care.  

Information about obtaining a Wisconsin Registry certificate can be found on the Wisconsin 
Registry’s website: http://www.wiregistry.org/.  

A Wisconsin Registry certificate issued before January 1, 2009, that indicates the person is 
qualified as a family child care provider is acceptable. 

Course completion post cards for department-approved, non-credit entry-level training may 
not replace a Wisconsin Registry certificate that indicates a person’s placement level on the 
career ladder. An individual’s Wisconsin Registry learning record will be accepted if it 
documents the individual’s Wisconsin Registry level and the position(s) for which the 
individual is qualified. 

A teaching license issued by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction or by another 
state may be used in place of a Wisconsin Registry certificate. Teaching licenses need not be 
current. 

A person holding a substitute, paraprofessional, or teaching assistant license issued by DPI 
must have a Wisconsin Registry certificate indicating that they meet the requirements for the 
position held. 

To check the progress of a Wisconsin Registry certificate, log into the Wisconsin Registry’s 
website using the applicant’s email and password. You may notice one of the following 
designations next to the applicant’s name: 

• Signed In: created a Wisconsin Registry account only but has not started the application 
process. 

• Submitted: submitted the application, Wisconsin Registry waiting on documentation. 
• In Process: Wisconsin Registry is reviewing documentation. 
• Pending: Application is incomplete. The Wisconsin Registry is requesting additional 

documentation. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://www.wiregistry.org/
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250.05(2)(e)2.a. 

2. a. A person is exempt from the requirement under subd. 1. if the person has been 
licensed or provided care for children in licensed child care continuously since December 31, 
2008, including any combination of licensure or employment in a family child care center 
licensed under this chapter, a group child care center licensed under ch. DCF 251, or a day 
camp licensed under ch. DCF 252.  

b. A substitute is not required to have a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry until the 
substitute has worked for 240 cumulative hours.  

(f) Documentation of compliance with continuing education requirements under sub. (4) (c). 

The Department forms Staff Continuing Education Record - Child Care Centers or Continuing 
Education Record - Independent Reading / Video Viewing may be used to document 
compliance with continuing education requirements. The Wisconsin Registry certificate, or a 
print-out from the individual’s learning record maintained by the Wisconsin Registry, may be 
used to document continuing education. See Appendix F, Instructions for Obtaining 
Department Forms. 

(g) Documentation of compliance with orientation requirements under sub. (4) (a). 

(3) QUALIFICATIONS OF STAFF.  
(a) A provider shall meet all of the following conditions:  
1. Be physically, mentally, and emotionally able to provide responsible care to all 

children, including children with disabilities.  
2. Be at least 18 years of age. 
(b) Before receiving a license or beginning to work with children in care, a licensee or 

provider shall satisfactorily complete one of the following:  

An employee or volunteer who assists in the child care center but is not counted in the staff-
to-child ratio is not considered a “provider” and is not required to meet the training 
requirements in this section. 

1. All of the following:  
a. Three credits in early childhood education or a department-approved, non-credit 

course in early childhood education. 
Note: The non-credit course called Introduction to the Child Care Profession is the course that has 

been approved by the department. Information on other acceptable courses and agencies offering 
department-approved courses is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing.  

The Assistant Child Care Teacher (ACCT) Skills Certificate Program offered by the 
Department of Public Instruction is an equivalent course to Introduction to the Child Care 
Profession. Abusive head trauma is covered in the curriculum. 

b. A noncredit, department-approved course in operating a child care business or 2 
credits in business or program administration. A person is exempt from this requirement if 
the person has been licensed or provided care for children in regulated child care 
continuously since December 31, 2008, including any combination of licensure under s. 
48.65, Stats., certification under s. 48.651, Stats., or employment in a licensed child care 
center or for a certified child care operator. 

Equivalent courses could include a credit-based business training course, a course in The 
Registry Administrator Credential, or a course in center administration taken as part of an 
associates or bachelor’s degree in early childhood education. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing
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250.05(3)(b)1.b. continued 

If a person was qualified as a child care provider before January 1, 2009, the person remains 
qualified after January 1, 2009 without an exception. A Wisconsin Registry certificate issued 
before January 1, 2009, indicating the person is qualified as a family child care provider is 
acceptable documentation that the person has met the requirement for courses in early 
childhood education and the business of operating a family child care center. 

If an individual is qualified as a family child care provider on the basis of completing the 
course “Early Childhood I,” it is recommended that the individual also complete the course 
“Fundamentals of Family Child Care,” which may be counted as continuing education. 

Note: The non-credit course entitled Fundamentals of Family Child Care is approved by the 
department to meet this requirement. A credit-based course in a business topic may also be used. 
Information on agencies offering the department-approved course is available on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing.  

2. The Registry Family Child Care Credential.  

The Wisconsin Family Child Care Credential is now titled The Registry Family Child Care 
Credential.  

3. A child development associate credential in family child care issued by the Council for 
Professional Recognition.  

(c) A substitute or volunteer that is used to meet the required staff-to-child ratio shall 
meet the training requirements specified in par. (b) after the substitute or volunteer has 
worked in the center for 240 hours.  

The 240 hours is cumulative, not each year. Training must be complete by the time the individual 
reaches 240 hours. Documentation of the hours worked must be kept on file at the center.  

See DCF 250.05 (2) (e) 2. b. – STAFF FILE – REGISTRY CERTIFICATE. 

(cm) A volunteer that is used to meet the required staff-to-child ratios under s. DCF 
250.055 shall be at least 18 years of age.  

 (d) If more than one provider is needed to meet the required staff-to-child ratio, each 
additional provider shall meet the training requirements in par. (b) within 6 months of 
beginning to work with children in care.  

Second providers have 6 months after beginning work to complete the required training. At a 
minimum, the training consists of the courses “Introduction to the Child Care Profession” and 
“Fundamentals of Family Child Care.” If the second provider is a volunteer, see (c) above. 

(e) 1. Within 3 months after licensure or date of hire, each licensee and provider shall obtain a 
certificate of completion for a department-approved course in infant and child cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation, including training in the use of an automated external defibrillator.  

The Department of Health Services, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services (BEMS) approves 
agencies to offer the CPR with Automated External Defibrillator (AED) training as required by 
statute. See the BEMS website https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm for a 
list of currently approved agencies. The training must result in a certificate of completion. If 
the certificate does not have a date specifying the length of time for which it is valid, the 
CPR/AED training must be renewed every year. If the center does not serve infants, the 
CPR/AED training could be child/adult CPR/AED. 

Substitutes and volunteers counted in staff-to-child ratio will need to have CPR/AED training 
by the time they have worked in a center for 240 hours. Emergency back-up providers are not 
required to have CPR/AED training. 

2. Each licensee and provider shall maintain a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
certification as specified under subd. 1.  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm
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250.05(3)(e)3. 

3. The time spent obtaining or renewing cardiopulmonary resuscitation training may be 
counted towards the required continuing education hours under sub. (4) (c). 

(f) Each licensee and provider shall have satisfactorily completed at least 10 hours of 
department-approved training in the care of infants and toddlers within 6 months after 
becoming licensed or working with children in care under 2 years of age.  

Fundamentals of Infant and Toddler Care is the non-credit, department-approved training. 
Credit-based training in the care of children under age 2 is also acceptable.  

If the only child under age 2 is the provider’s own child, and the center is not licensed to care 
for children under age 2, the training is not required. An exception to the age range on the 
license to care for their own child under age 2 should be in place. If a license is amended to 
include care of children under age 2, the training must be completed within 6 months of the 
license amendment date. 

(fm) Prior to working with children in care and at least every 2 years thereafter, each 
provider and substitute shall complete training in all of the following: 

1. Child abuse and neglect laws. 
2. How to identify children who have been abused or neglected. 
3. The procedure for ensuring that all known or suspected cases of child abuse or 

neglect are immediately reported to the proper authorities. 

The University of Wisconsin System provides a free online mandated reporter training that 
satisfies the child abuse and neglect training requirement. The training can be found at 
https://media.wcwpds.wisc.edu/mandatedreporter/. 

The department will no longer accept a review of the brochure “It Shouldn’t Hurt to Be a Child” 
to meet this requirement.  

The Department’s online training, “Mandated Reporter Online Training,” may be used to meet 
this requirement. “Strengthening Families” or “Darkness to Light” (also known as Stewards of 
Children) training may also be used to meet this requirement. 

Training may also be obtained from local child protective services, law enforcement, or other 
agencies that provide continuing education experiences.  Documentation could be a certificate 
of attendance at a formal training or completing the continuing education form. Training may be 
counted as continuing education. 

The Department-approved, entry-level course called Introduction to the Child Care Profession 
contains training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect and may be used 
to meet the requirement for 2 years after the completion date of the course. 

(g) Prior to obtaining a license or working with children in care under 5 years of age, a 
licensee, provider, substitute, volunteer, emergency back-up, or any other person providing 
care and supervision shall satisfactorily complete department-approved training in shaken 
baby syndrome and abusive head trauma, and appropriate ways to manage crying, fussing, 
or distraught children.  

As of September 1, 2020, the new training is titled Abusive Head Trauma Prevention Training 
for Child Care Providers. Providers who completed Shaken Baby Syndrome Prevention training 
prior to September 1, 2020 are not required to complete the new AHT Prevention training. Be 
advised that AHT Prevention training does not satisfy the child abuse and neglect training 
requirement. 

The Department of Children and Families provides a free online AHT prevention training that 
satisfies this requirement. The training can be found at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic/aht-
training. 

https://media.wcwpds.wisc.edu/mandatedreporter/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic/aht-training
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic/aht-training
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250.05(3)(g) continued 

Completion of the non-credit, department-approved courses “Introduction to the Child Care 
Profession” or “Fundamentals of Infant and Toddler Care,” taken after July 1, 2005 will meet this 
requirement. The Assistant Child Care Teacher course taken at the high school level that results 
in a certificate of completion issued by the Department of Public Instruction also meets this 
requirement.  Documentation that the course was completed after July 1, 2005 is all that is 
required to demonstrate that training in shaken baby syndrome prevention was completed. The 
credit course “Health, Safety and Nutrition” taken from a Wisconsin Technical College after 
January 1, 2006 will also meet this requirement. Documentation that the course was completed 
after January 1, 2006 is all that is required to demonstrate compliance.  

A Wisconsin Registry certificate or a print-out of the person’s learning record from the 
Wisconsin Registry may also be used to document completion of training in shaken baby 
syndrome prevention. 

A certificate of completion used to document the required AHT prevention training must 
contain all of the following: printed (typed) name of student; printed (typed) name of training 
agency; printed (typed) date the training was completed; printed (typed) name of approved 
trainer; printed (typed) name of training; and signature of trainer. 

Note: The department-approved training is included in the course called Health, Safety and 
Nutrition offered by a Wisconsin technical college or in the non-credit, department-approved courses 
called Introduction to the Child Care Profession and Fundamentals of Infant and Toddler Care, if the 
course was taken after July 1, 2005. Information on agencies offering the department-approved 
courses is available on the department’s website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing. 

(gm) A program aide shall meet all of the following conditions: 
1. Be at least 16 years old. 
2. Work under the direction and supervision of a child care provider. 
3. Satisfactorily complete at least one of the following no later than 6 months after 

assuming the position: 
a. An assistant child care teacher training program approved by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction. 

Coursework completed in a high school outside the state of Wisconsin is not acceptable as an 
equivalent to the Assistant Child Care Teacher (ACCT) Skills Certificate Program, as the 
coursework will not include regulatory information specific to Wisconsin. 

Coursework for credit is acceptable towards qualifying as a program aide. 

b. A noncredit department-approved course on early childhood education. 
Note: Introduction to the Child Care Profession is the noncredit course approved by the 

department to meet the entry-level training requirements for a program aide. 
4. A program aide may not be counted in the required staff-to-child ratios under Table 

DCF 250.055. 

Some examples of program aide responsibilities can include but are not limited to cleaning 
and organizing child care equipment, toys, and premises; setting up art projects and small and 
large group activities; and running errands for staff. 

(h) No person or agency may offer non-credit child care training as specified in this 
subsection unless the person or agency and the course have been approved by the 
department. The department may at any time withdraw its approval of a non-credit course. 
Instructors of non-credit department−approved courses shall be approved by the 
department prior to teaching a course.  

Note: Information on the approval process for non-credit courses is available on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing.   
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing
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(4) STAFF DEVELOPMENT. 
(a) Orientation of employees, volunteers, and substitutes. Each employee, volunteer, or 

substitute shall receive an orientation before the individual begins to work with children in 
care. The orientation shall be documented on a form initialed and dated by the staff person 
and trainer. The orientation shall cover all of the following:  

1. The names and ages of all the children in care.  
2. Current arrival and departure information for each child enrolled and the names of 

people authorized to pick up the child.  
3. A review of children’s records, including emergency contact information. 
4. Specific information relating to each child’s health care needs, including medications, 

disabilities, or special health conditions.  
5. If the center is licensed to care for children under one year of age, procedures to 

reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome.  
6. An overview of the daily schedule, including meals, snacks, nap, and any information 

related to the eating and sleep schedules of infants and toddlers enrolled in the center.  
7. A review of the center’s procedures for dealing with emergencies, including natural 

disasters, human-caused events, food emergencies, and allergic reactions.  
9. If the center is licensed to care for children between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 

a.m., the plan for evacuating sleeping children.  
10. The prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunizations.  
11. The administration of medications.  
12. The handling and storage of hazardous materials and disposal of biocontaminants. 

In this subdivision, “biocontaminants” includes blood, body fluids, or excretions that may 
spread infectious disease. 

13. The center policies and procedures required under s. DCF 250.04 (2) (e).  
14. The provisions in this chapter. 15. The reporting requirements for the child care 

background check under s. DCF 13.07 (3).  
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS2255, Staff Orientation Checklist - 

Family Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form to document completion of employee orientation. 
The form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

A center may use the department’s Staff Orientation Checklist – Family Child Care Centers 
form, may choose to use their own paper forms, or may use an electronic form or system to 
capture the same information included on the department’s Staff Orientation Checklist – 
Family Child Care Centers form. No exception is necessary. It is the child care 
program/provider’s responsibility to be able to access the electronic form to respond to the 
licensor’s request to review information.  

(b) Orientation of emergency back-up providers. Each time an emergency back-up 
provider cares for the children, the emergency back-up provider shall receive an orientation 
immediately before being left alone with the children. The orientation shall cover all of the 
following:  

1. The names and ages of all the children in care.  
2. Arrival and departure information for each child in care, including the names of people 

authorized to pick up the child.  
3. The location of children’s files, including emergency contact information and consent 

for emergency medical treatment.  
4. Information on any children with special health care needs.  
5. Procedures to reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome, if the center is 

licensed to care for children under one year of age.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(c) Continuing education. 
1. Each licensee and provider shall satisfactorily complete at least 15 hours of qualifying 

continuing education annually. Continuing education qualifies under this paragraph if it covers 
any of the following:  

The form, Staff Continuing Education Record, may be used to document continuing education 
hours. Fifteen hours of continuing education each year may be documented by class card, 
certificate, transcript, or Wisconsin Registry bar code. Documentation should include the 
training title, the date the training was completed, the number of hours completed, and the 
name of the instructor, if applicable. 

Attendance at meetings such as support group meetings may be counted as continuing 
education if the meeting is related to training on a topic related to caring for children or 
operating a business. Only that portion of the meeting devoted to the training topic may be 
counted.  

The required 10-hour Infant / Toddler, child abuse training, and CPR/AED course may be 
counted toward the continuing education requirement of 15 hours. 

Technical assistance and/or coaching received as part of the YoungStar program may be 
counted as continuing education for the individual(s) who participated in the technical 
assistance or coaching, verified by documentation from the technical consultant or coach. 
Time spent during a formal rating evaluation visit for YoungStar may not be counted as 
continuing education. 

Continuing education hours or credit courses may be used to meet the continuing education 
requirement during the year in which the hours are earned and for the following 2 years. Hours spent 
in observation in another program which results in college credits (such as in the mentor/protégé 
program) may not be counted, but the college credit will count. Credits should be converted to 
hours. See Appendix D Resources List, Credit to Hour Conversion – Technical Colleges and 
Universities. 

The department does not approve agencies or trainers for continuing education. However, the 
Wisconsin Registry’s Professional Development Approval System (PDAS) provides a platform for 
ensuring that trainers have met certain qualifications and that training topics are taught by qualified 
instructors. To find continuing education training, see the Wisconsin Registry’s website: 
www.wiregistry.org.  

The Continuing Education Record – Independent Reading / Video Viewing form available on the 
department’s website may be used to document each child care-related book, magazine, article, or 
digital media that is read/viewed as part of an employee’s continuing education effort. This may 
include time spent in study to develop a program and curriculum. It does not include time spent in 
the preparation of activities or instruction with children.  

a. Prevention and control of infectious diseases.  
b. Medication administration.  
c. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions.  
d. Identification of and protection from hazards.  
e. Building and physical premises safety.  
f. Emergency preparedness and response planning.  
g. Handling and storage of hazardous materials.  
h. Handling and disposal of biocontaminants.  
i. Child growth and development. 
j. Caring for children with disabilities.  
k. Guiding children’s behavior.  

  

http://www.wiregistry.org/
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L. Nutrition.  
m. Physical activity.  
n. Transportation safety.  
o. Identification and reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect.  
p. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  
q. First aid.  
r. Business operations.  
s. Any other topic that promotes child development or protects children’s health or safety.  
2. Continuing education under subd. 1. may be obtained through attendance at training events, 

workshops, conferences, consultation with community resource people, web-based training, 
observation of child care programs, independent reading, or viewing educational materials.  

Time spent doing research in the child development associate credential (CDA) process may be 
counted. Time spent assembling the portfolio in the CDA process does not count toward 
continuing education.  

The topic addressed by the continuing education experience must be one that would prepare a 
person to function better in their role as family child care provider and small business person. 

4. A provider shall have documentation of the 12-month period included in the provider’s 
training year for meeting continuing education requirements and begin a new training year in 
the same month each year.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0053, Staff Continuing 
Education Record - Child Care Centers, a copy of the individual’s learning record from the Wisconsin 
Registry, or the licensee’s own form to document the completion of continuing education. The 
department’s form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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DCF 250.055 Supervision and grouping of children. 

(1) SUPERVISION.  
(a) Each child shall be supervised by a provider to guide the child’s behavior and 

activities, prevent harm, and ensure safety. 

Electronic monitoring devices may be used for supervising sleeping children only. 
Consideration should be given to the quality of the device, proximity, and accessibility of 
provider and noise levels that may interfere with the provider's ability to hear. 

See DCF 250.03 (33) – DEFINITION – SUDDEN INFANT DEATH SYNDROME; DCF 250.03 (34) 
– DEFINITION – SUPERVISION; DCF 250.055 (1) (m) – SUPERVISION OF CHILDREN WHILE 
OUTDOORS; and DCF 250.07 (7) (e) – PETS & ANIMALS – SUPERVISION. 

(b) A provider shall be awake at all times when children are in care.  
(c) No individual provider may care for children for more than 16 hours in any 24-hour period.  

A license may be granted for more than 16 hours in a 24-hour period if a second qualified 
provider cares for and supervises children after 16 hours.  

See DCF 250.05 (2) (c) – STAFF FILE – DAYS, HOURS WORKED. 

(d) No child may be in care for more than 14 hours in any 24-hour period.  

An exception may be granted to a child care center for a child or children to be in care for more 
than 14 hours in a 24-hour period if a local business or corporation operates a 14-hour work 
shift for their employees or if the department determines that granting an exception would 
support the circumstances and the family. The exception does not need to be individual to each 
child if the exception is granted in relation to employees of a specific business. A written 
parental request for care in excess of 14 hours must be on file at the center. 

(e) At least one provider who has completed the training required under s. DCF 250.05 
(3) (b) shall supervise children at all times, except when a substitute is providing care. A 
substitute shall meet the requirements under s. DCF 250.05 (3) (c) and (4) (a).  

(f) No person under 18 years of age may be left in sole charge of the children.  
(g) The center shall have a written plan reviewed by the department for ensuring 

supervision of the children in an emergency or during a provider’s absence. 

See DCF 250.03 (7) – DEFINITION – EMERGENCY BACK-UP PROVIDER; DCF 250.04 (2) (e) 3. 
– POLICY SUBMITTED AND IMPLEMENTED – ABSENCES; and DCF 250.05 (4) (b) – 
EMERGENCY BACK-UP PROVIDER – ORIENTATION.  

(h) A provider may not be engaged in any other activity or occupation during the hours of 
operation of the center when children are in care, except for daily maintenance of the home.  

Daily maintenance of the home does not include time-consuming tasks which would prevent 
the provider from supervising and interacting with children. Acceptable tasks include dusting, 
floor sweeping, meal preparation, clean up, and laundry. 

Home-based occupations may not be practiced during hours of operation. 

HOME SCHOOLING or CHILDREN ATTENDING a VIRTUAL (ONLINE) SCHOOL: Home schooling 
is defined in Wis. Stat. § 115.001(3g) as “a program of educational instruction provided to a 
child by the child's parent or guardian or by a person designated by the parent or guardian. An 
instructional program provided to more than one family unit does not constitute a home-
based private educational program.” A virtual school or cyber school describes an institution 
that teaches courses entirely or primarily through online methods. The program must provide 
875 hours of instruction in a sequentially progressive curriculum of fundamental instruction in 
reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, science and health each school year.   
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Licensed family child care in a home where the provider's own children are receiving home-
based education or virtual schooling may be permitted through an exception if the following 
conditions are met: 
• The department is notified in writing that home-schooling or attendance through a virtual 

school is occurring. 
• Home-schooling does not primarily take place during hours of center operation. 
• Home-schooling and virtual attendance does not interfere with the family child care 

programming or the supervision of children in care. 

(i) The licensee may not combine the care of children enrolled in the child care center 
with foster care of other non-related children or adults without the prior written approval of 
both licensing agencies.  

Written approval must be obtained from the foster care licensing agency, and a stipulation 
must be signed by the licensee. 

Combining treatment foster care and family child care will not be approved. 

Care of adult family members will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis. 

(j) During the hours of the center’s operation, no provider or any other person in contact 
with children in care may consume or be under the influence of beverages containing 
alcohol or any non-prescribed controlled substance specified in ch. 961, Stats.  

(k) A child may not be released to any person who has not been previously authorized by 
the parent to receive the child. 

The Department recommends the center document any verbal authorizations. It is also 
recommended that the center check the photo identification of the person picking up the 
child. 

(L) The licensee shall implement and adhere to a procedure to ensure that the number, 
names, and whereabouts of children in care are known to the provider at all times.  

(m) A provider shall be outside with children and provide sight and sound supervision of 
the children, unless the children are playing inside the enclosed outdoor area on the 
premises specified under s. DCF 250.06 (11) (b).  

Exceptions will be considered for reasonable accommodations for providers with visual or 
audio impairment. Requests for exception must be submitted to the provider’s regional 
licensing office. The Exception Request form is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

The provider may supervise school-age children in or outside of the enclosed area from within 
the house if the provider is within sight or sound and the children have been informed of the 
boundaries. The provider must be able to guide the behavior and activities of the children as 
specified in the definition of supervision under DCF 250.03 (34). 

It is expected that children will play inside any enclosed area on the premises. If children are 
riding tricycles or other riding toys on a driveway or sidewalk or using sidewalk play items 
such as sidewalk chalk, they may play outside the enclosed area on an occasional basis. 

(n) A provider shall be outside with children providing sight and sound supervision of the 
children when a wading pool containing water is present in the outdoor play space specified 
in s. DCF 250.06 (11) (b).  

(2) GROUPING OF CHILDREN.  
(a) At no time may more than 8 children be in the care of the center. This limitation 

applies to all of the following:  
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1. All children under 7 years of age, including a provider’s own children.  

All licensing rules apply to the provider’s own children under age 7 including DCF 250.07(2)(a) 
– GUIDING CHILDREN’S BEHAVIOR; DCF 250.08(6) and (7) regarding transportation of 
children; and DCF 250.09 regarding care of infants and toddlers.  

See DCF 250.03(28) – DEFINITION – PROVIDER’S OWN CHILDREN. 

2. All children 7 years of age or older who are not a provider’s own children.  

See DCF 250.03(9) – DEFINITION – FAMILY CHILD CARE CENTER. 

Overlap periods in which more than 8 children are in care is a violation of the rule. 

If a child under age 18 is used as a volunteer, they must be outside the licensed age range and 
be able to go home at any time. The volunteer must meet all volunteer requirements and, as 
with any staff, the licensee is ultimately responsible for the care and supervision of the 
children and the acts and omissions of the volunteer. 

VISITING CHILDREN: There may be times when neighborhood or school playmates are on the 
premises to visit the provider’s own children. The licensing specialist may ask for additional 
information to determine whether the child is in care of the licensed provider. 

Children age 7 or older who visit the child care center to play with children in care (not the 
provider’s own children), or to act as a “helper” for the provider, are considered to be in the 
care of the provider. 

There may be occasions when a non-resident adult will visit the child care center bringing 
along their own children under the age of 7. Children must be properly supervised when a 
provider is visiting with another adult. Appropriate consideration must be given to the 
children’s activities during these visits. 

Individual situations will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. 

JOINT ACTIVITIES WITH MORE THAN ONE LICENSED/CERTIFIED PROVIDER: Licensing rules 
do not permit family child care centers to exceed the number for which the center is licensed. 

As an alternative to meeting at a family child care center, it is recommended that providers 
planning activities for multiple groups of children use a location off the premises of a licensed 
family child care center, e.g., the public library or a local park. These types of activities off the 
premises of a licensed facility are considered field trips. 

(b) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for is specified in Table 
250.055.  

A child who is enrolled in a 4-year-old kindergarten (4K) program may be considered a school-
age child once the child turns age 5, even if this occurs during the 4K school year. 

An exception may never be granted to exceed the licensed capacity of 8 children. 

(c) If the size of the group or the age distribution of the children exceeds the number that 
may be served by one provider, an additional qualified provider shall be present.  

Note: For example, if there are 3 children under 2 years of age present at one time and 5 children 
between the 2 years of age and 6 years of age present, a second provider is required. At no time may 
the maximum number of children in care exceed 8.  

See DCF 250.05 (3) (d) – PROVIDER TRAINING – ADDITIONAL REQUIRED PROVIDER; DCF 
250.05 (2) – STAFF FILE – MAINTENANCE & AVAILABILITY. 
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The qualified second provider may be a person under the age of 18 who has successfully 
completed the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction’s (DPI) approved Assistant Child 
Care Teacher course, documented by a certificate from DPI. This person may not be left in 
sole charge of children. 

(d) When care is provided on a level that is more than 6 feet above or below ground level, 
no more than 2 children under 2 years of age per provider may be in care. 

The number of children under the age of 2 years is per provider, not per level of the center. 

If there is more than one provider with the children, no more than a total of 4 children under 2 
years of age may be in the care of the center when care is provided on a level that is more 
than 6 feet above or below the ground level. 

Note: Section DCF 250.06 (4) (e) requires an interconnected smoke detection system in operating 
condition if one or more children under 2 years of age will be cared for in a location that is more than 
six feet above or below the ground level. 

Table DCF 250.055 
Maximum Number of Children in Family Child Care per Provider 

Children Under 
2 Years of Age 

Children 2 Years 
of Age and 

Older 

Maximum Number of Additional 
School-age Children in Care for 

Fewer Than 3 Hours a Day 

Maximum Number 
of Children 

Permitted at One 
Time 

0 8 0 8 
1 7 0 8 
2 5 1 8 
3 2 3 8 
4 0 2 6 
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(1) BUILDING.  
(a) Conformance with building codes. Family child care centers located in a building that 

is not a one or 2-family dwelling shall conform to the applicable Wisconsin commercial 
building codes. A copy of a building inspection report evidencing compliance with the 
applicable building codes shall be submitted to the department prior to the department’s 
issuance of a license.  

Note: The building inspection report should be sent to the appropriate regional office listed in 
Appendix A. 

The Building Inspection Report – Child Care Centers form may be used to document 
compliance with the applicable Wisconsin Commercial Building Codes.  

ZONING: S. 66.34, Wis. Stats., defines a family child care home as a “dwelling licensed as a 
child care center by the department of health and family services under s. 48.65 where care is 
provided for not more than 8 children.”  The statute then states in pertinent part, “[n]o 
municipality may prevent a family child care home from being located in a zoned district in 
which a single-family home is a permitted use. No municipality may establish standards or 
requirements for family child care homes different from the licensing standards established 
under s. 48.65. This subsection does not prevent a municipality from applying to a family child 
care home the zoning regulations applicable to other dwellings in the zoning district in which 
it is located.” This law gives a municipality the power to prevent a family child care center that 
is not used as a residence from being located in a district zoned for residential use unless the 
licensee is granted a conditional use permit. Some municipalities may also require that any 
home-based business have a conditional use permit to operate. This is also permitted under 
the law. It is recommended that you contact your local municipality prior to applying for 
licensure. 

Individual communities may determine what a one- or two-family dwelling is. In some 
municipalities, a one- or two-family dwelling is defined as a building that was built as a home 
regardless of whether someone lives in that building. In other communities, a one- or two-
family dwelling is defined as a building currently used as a residence. It is recommended that 
a licensee check with and obtain documentation from the local municipality specifying how a 
one- or two-family dwelling is defined to determine whether or not the commercial building 
codes apply. 

(b) Space and temperature.  
1. A center shall have at least 35 square feet of usable floor space per child. Usable floor 

space for children does not include passageways, bathrooms, lockers, storage areas, the 
furnace room, the part of the kitchen occupied by stationary equipment, and space occupied 
by furniture that is not intended for children’s use.  

2. The inside temperature of the center may not be less than 67 degrees Fahrenheit.  

A minimum temperature of 67 degrees Fahrenheit is determined by a thermostat reading. In 
rooms without thermostats, 67 degrees Fahrenheit is to be determined as follows: 
• Temperature is to be to be measured at 24 inches above the floor level. 
• Infant and Toddler Rooms: Measure 6 inches above the floor. 
• Room without windows: Temperature taken in center of a room. 
• Room with windows: Temperature taken one foot away from windows and at the center of 

room and then averaged. 
• Series of rooms with only one thermostat: The coldest room must comply with the 67 

degrees Fahrenheit minimum. 
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3. If the inside temperature at the center exceeds 80 degrees Fahrenheit, the licensee 
shall provide for air circulation with safe fans, air conditioning, or other means. 

Caution should be exercised regarding fan placement to prevent lacerations and toppling 
hazards. Windows may be opened if there is sufficient breeze to circulate the air. 

4. There shall be at least one toilet with plumbing and one sink with hot and cold running 
water available for use by children in care in the center. The hot water temperature may not 
exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 

A temperature between 100- and 105-degrees Fahrenheit is recommended. Scald-prevention 
devices are also recommended. 

When the only bathroom sink is on a second floor, the use of the kitchen sink for handwashing 
is not recommended but is not prohibited. 

(2) PROTECTIVE MEASURES.  
(a) Furnaces, water heaters, steam radiators, fireplaces, wood burning stoves, electric 

fans, electric outlets, electric heating units and hot surfaces such as pipes shall be 
protected by screens or guards so that children cannot touch them.  

High-energy/efficiency furnaces are cool to the touch and, unless there are other features of 
the furnace that pose a hazard, they do not need to be protected. 

Tamper resistant electrical outlets do not need to be covered by guards. No exception is necessary. 

(b) Firearms, ammunition, and bows and arrows with sharp tips located on the premises 
or in a vehicle used to transport children shall be kept in locked storage and may not be 
accessible to children.  

Trigger locks alone do not constitute locked storage. Separate storage for ammunition and 
firearms is recommended. Examples of acceptable locked storage are locked gun cabinets, 
locks on gun cases, and locked rooms / closets. Attics and / or rafters may be approved by 
exception. Accessible is defined as able to reach. 

(c) Potentially dangerous items and materials harmful to children, including power tools, 
flammable or combustible materials, insecticides, matches, drugs and any articles labeled 
hazardous to children, shall be in properly marked containers and stored in areas 
inaccessible to children.  

Inaccessible is defined as unable to reach. 

Any personal care items labeled “keep out of reach of children” should be placed out of the 
sight of children and out of their reach. This includes personal care items typically kept in the 
bath/shower area. Hand soap intended for use by children must be accessible to children for 
use with supervision. 

Alcoholic beverages and any items labeled "poisonous" or "keep out of reach of children" and 
items in spray cans are considered harmful to children and may not be accessible to children. 

Safety latches are an acceptable method to make items “inaccessible.” 

There may be times when a program wishes to use an item labeled “keep out of reach of 
children” for an organized art activity. These types of activities are permitted as long as the 
activity is closely supervised by a provider who is readily available to assist the children if 
necessary. The use of these materials for art projects should be based on the ages and 
developmental levels of children using the materials (e.g. it would not be appropriate for 
infants or toddlers to use shaving cream as a finger painting medium because they may put 
their hands in their mouths to “taste” the shaving cream).   
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 (d) The center shall have at least one working telephone with a list of emergency 
telephone numbers, including telephone numbers for the local fire department, police 
department, law enforcement agency, poison control center and emergency medical service, 
posted in a location known to all providers.  

If a center is located in a community with 911 service, the only phone numbers required to be 
posted are 911 and poison control. The Poison Control Center’s 24-hour emergency phone 
number is 1-800-222-1222.  

It is recommended that the street address for the center and the phone number for the local 
child protective services agency be listed near the phone as well. 

A working telephone is defined as a phone that is capable of making and receiving phone 
calls. Cell phones and cordless phones may be used as the only phone in a center if the phone 
is fully charged and there are no dead spots in the center that would prohibit calls from being 
received or made. If a cell phone or cordless phone is used as the only working phone in a 
center, the emergency numbers need to be conspicuously posted in an area readily visible to 
the provider. All center staff must have access to the designated phone and knowledge of the 
passcode, if applicable. Cell phones or cordless phones must remain at the center when 
children are present. When all the children are on a field trip, the phone may be carried by the 
provider. 

It is recommended that emergency numbers be saved in the cell phone. 

(e) The center’s indoor and outdoor child care space shall be free of hazards including 
any recalled products. 

Note: Lists of recalled products are available on the Department of Agriculture, Trade and 
Consumer Protection website at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Publications/KeepYourKidsSafeNewsletter.aspx or by contacting the 
United States Consumer Products Safety Commission (US CPSC) at 1-800-638-2772. 

See 250.03(13m) – DEFINITION – HAZARD. Licensing staff will not conduct a detailed review 
of equipment and materials to determine whether items in the center have been recalled. It is 
the licensee’s responsibility to ensure that they are aware of any recalled products and to 
remove them from the areas occupied by children. 

"Free of hazards" is a discretionary rule to cover a wide variety of hazardous conditions which 
may occur including, but not limited to, basement stairwells not protected by a fence or gate, 
lawn sprinkler valve boxes recessed several inches below ground with no cover, broken glass 
or cans, wood piles, holes, fences or enclosures with an opening that allows passage of an 
object that is larger than 4 inches in diameter, sharp edges or points near adjacent climbing 
equipment, etc. 

Certain pull toys may have a cord or string the length of which may present a strangling 
hazard to a child. Strings on pull toys should not be longer than 12 inches so that cords 
cannot be wrapped around necks. Strings or cords on window blinds must be short to prevent 
choking, must not hang in loops, and must be made inaccessible to children when blinds are 
raised. 

ASBESTOS: If there is suspicion of asbestos, providers should contact the Wisconsin 
Department of Health Services for asbestos treatment and abatement procedures. For more 
information, see https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/asbestos/index.htm. 

MOLD:  If there is a musty odor or you can see mold growth, steps should be taken to identify 
the source of moisture causing the mold. The local public health department or the Wisconsin 
Department of Health Services may be able to help find a consultant who specializes in 
building assessments to analyze the building and suggest remediation remedies. For more 
information, see https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/mold/index.htm.   

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Publications/KeepYourKidsSafeNewsletter.aspx
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/asbestos/index.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/mold/index.htm
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POISONOUS PLANTS: See Appendix D Resource List, Common Plants – What’s Poisonous 
and What’s Not? Outdoor play spaces must be free of poisonous plants. 

See 250.06 (11) (b) 3. – OUTDOOR PLAY SPACE – CCA TREATED LUMBER; and DCF 250.06 
(11) (b) 3m. – OUTDOOR PLAY SPACE – CREOSOTE AND PCP TREATED WOOD. 

When there are bodies of water such as a water garden, fishpond, etc. on the premises, or the 
body of water is within the fenced-in play area, an exception must be requested. The request 
for exception will need to include a detailed plan for the protection of the children. Some of 
the items to be considered when writing or evaluating the exception request include: 
• The ages of the children as specified in the terms of the license 
• The location of the water garden, fish pond, etc. in relation to the usual play area of the 

children 
• The location of the exits from the building and the play area in relation to the water garden, 

fish pond, etc. 
• Any other circumstances which may affect the safety of the children. 
• The compliance history of the center with respect to supervision of the children and 

previous enforcement actions. 

The exception request must include the condition that the provider or other adult be outdoors 
with the children under sight and sound supervision at all times. The exception request must 
be reviewed by the regional licensing manager and shall be periodically reviewed by the 
licensing specialist and manager to ensure that the circumstances of the exception remain 
essentially the same. Exceptions may be granted on a case by case basis as determined by 
the regional licensing manager. 

Failure to comply with the conditions of the exception could result in withdrawal of the 
exception and/or initiation of other enforcement actions such as forfeiture or revocation of 
the license. 

See DCF 250.06 (12) (a) – ON-PREMISE SWIMMING POOL – USE AND ENCLOSURE; and DCF 
250.06 (2) (i) – HOT TUB – COVERED OR FENCED. 

(f) A motor vehicle shall be immediately available at the center at all times in case of an 
emergency if an ambulance or first response unit cannot arrive within 10 minutes of a phone 
call.  

(g) Differences in elevation of more than 18 inches, either indoors or outdoors, including 
open sides of stairways, elevated platforms, walks, balconies, and mezzanines used by 
children shall be protected by railings at least 36 inches high and designed to prevent the 
passage of an object with a diameter larger than 4 inches through any openings in the railing 
bars.  

Although the Wisconsin Uniform Dwelling Code in SPS 321.04 (3) requires guardrails 
whenever a difference in elevation (indoors or outdoors) exceeds 24 inches in height, the 
department requires railings with differences in elevation of more than 18 inches. Railings and 
guardrails that are present in a facility, regardless of whether they are required, must meet the 
requirements specified in the rule. 

If it is a commercially manufactured piece that meets American Society for Testing Materials 
(ASTM) standards, as proven by documentation regarding height requirement, we would 
accept without exception. If it does not meet the ASTM standards, then you must meet rule 
requirements. 
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(h) Smoking is prohibited anywhere on the premises of a center or in a vehicle used to 
transport children when children are in care.  

Use of electronic cigarettes or other smoking devices is prohibited on the premises when 
children are present. 

Note: Section DCF 250.03 (26) defines “premises” as a building and the tract of land on which the 
building is located. 

(i) A hot tub located in a room or area accessible to children shall have a visible, locked, 
rigid cover or be enclosed by a locked fence at least 4 feet tall. The lock shall be installed so 
that the lock is inaccessible to children.  

(j) If a hot tub is located in a room or area that is not intended for use by children, access 
to the room or area shall be controlled through the use of a visibly locked door. The lock 
shall be installed so that the lock is inaccessible to children. 

A lock that cannot be opened by children will be considered inaccessible to children. 

(k) The premises shall have no flaking or deteriorating paint on exterior or interior 
surfaces in areas accessible to children. Lead-based paint or other toxic finishing material 
may not be used on any surface on the premises. 

The rule does not require that the whole room or total outside wall be refinished. The area of 
flaking or deteriorating paint should be refinished in a manner that protects the children in 
care. 

Administrative Rule DHS 163 applies to child care centers when renovation or repair is made 
to any surface where 6 sq. ft. or more of interior paint or 20 sq. ft. of exterior paint is disturbed 
in a building that was built prior to 1978. Any renovation or repair that involves windows in a 
building built prior to 1978 must also be conducted in accordance with DHS 163.  

See Appendix D, Resources List, Guidance for Child Care Providers Regarding Lead-Based 
Paint Hazards in Child Care settings. 

LEAD PAINT: Homes which were built prior to 1980 may contain lead-based paint. The 
licensee should check with the local city or county health department for the proper procedure 
to eliminate lead. 

When painted surfaces (built-ins, walls, ceilings, floors, stairs) are torn out or old paint is 
sanded, it is strongly recommended that abatement practices be initiated. When painted 
surfaces are peeling or deteriorating, samples of paint chips may be analyzed by the 
Laboratory of Hygiene in Madison or another certified laboratory. 

For more information on asbestos or lead regulations, training, certification, work practices, 
inspections, or other related questions, please contact the Division of Public Health, Bureau of 
Environmental & Occupational Health, Asbestos And Lead Unit, phone: (608) 261-6876, fax: 
(608) 266-9711, email: dhsasbestoslead@dhs.wisconsin.gov, website: 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/asbestos/overview.htm.  

(L)1. A family child care center in a one-family or two-family residence shall have a 
carbon monoxide detector installed in the basement and on each floor level, except the attic, 
garage, or storage area of each unit, in accordance with the requirements of s. 101.647, 
Stats.  

2. A family child care center in a building with at least 3 residential units shall have one 
or more functional carbon monoxide detectors installed in accordance with the 
requirements of s. 101.149, Stats. 
  

mailto:dhsasbestoslead@dhs.wisconsin.gov
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/asbestos/overview.htm
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 (m) The premises shall be well-drained, free from litter and vermin, in good repair, and 
maintained in a sanitary condition. 

“Well-drained” means no standing water; considerations may be given to the time of year and 
current weather conditions.  

Vermin is defined as any of various insects, bugs, or disease carrying animals such as mice, 
rats, weasels, flies, or roaches. This list is illustrative and should not be considered all-
inclusive. 

An integrated pest management program is recommended to reduce unnecessary exposure 
to pesticides. See https://datcp.wi.gov for more information. 

The exterior of the building should be free of openings around cables and utilities, under 
doors, or broken windows. The garbage storage area should be free of litter, rubbish piles, 
burrow holes, and animal droppings and should be rodent proof. Covered containers are 
recommended. 

"In good repair" means that there are no situations such as, but not limited to, broken 
windows, holes in walls, doors, door latches, steps and railings; torn linoleum or missing tiles; 
leaking roofs; or flooding or leaking basements. 

(n) 1. a. Each licensee shall test or have a test conducted for radon gas levels in the 
lowest level of the center that is used by children in care for at least 7 hours per week. The 
test shall be conducted for a minimum of 48 hours with the center’s windows closed. 

Many family child care centers are located in residential buildings. A “residential building” 
means a building that meets the definition of a “dwelling" in s. 101.71(2), Wis. Stats. Radon 
testing with a home test kit can range from $10 to $30 per test. When using a certified 
measurement professional, the price can range from $125 to $150 for a residential building. 
Follow the instructions included with a home test kit. If you operate a family child care out of a 
commercial building, see commentary under DCF 251.06(2)(p). 

When testing a building for radon, the state of Wisconsin recommends using a certified 
measurement or mitigation professional who holds a certification from the National Radon 
Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB). Certified contractors 
are more likely to understand best practices for radon measurement. If you choose to hire a 
certified radon professional to conduct the radon test in your center, it is recommended to 
follow all recommendations made by the certified radon professional. A list of certified radon 
measurement and mitigation contractors can be found on the Department of Health Services’ 
website here: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/radon-proficiency.htm. 

The best time to test is during the fall or winter months when the home or building is closed, 
and windows are not kept open. Radon levels will be the highest during these cold months. 
However, radon tests can be conducted any time of year if the windows and doors remain 
shut for 12 hours before and the entire duration of the test (minimum of 48 hours). Radon 
levels can go up and down due to weather patterns and home use like running HVAC, opening 
windows, and turning on fans. Avoid testing for radon during snow, rain, or windstorms as this 
can impact the test results and cause short term spikes/elevations in radon levels. It is 
recommended to test over a weekend so that the test is not disturbed. 

Radon tests should be conducted in all dwellings and all nonresidential rooms that are 
occupied, or intended to be occupied, that have floors or walls in contact with the ground or 
are the lowest level of the building over a crawl space, utility tunnel, parking garage or other 
non-habitable space that is in contact with ground. 
  

https://datcp.wi.gov/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/radon-proficiency.htm
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For residential homes, test in the lowest level that serves, or could serve as, a living area, 
sleeping quarters, office, playroom or otherwise be occupied for residential use at some time 
in the future. The test should be  placed at least 20 inches above the floor in a location where 
it will not be disturbed (away from drafts, high heat, high humidity, and exterior walls). Unless 
for investigative purposes, do not test for radon in hallways, closets, bathrooms, or shower 
areas unless they are open to other rooms that are occupied for other purposes. 

Radon measures higher in basements, cellars, and living spaces in contact with the ground. 
Providers may use the lowest level of their home with their family but not with enrolled 
children during licensed hours. In this case, providers can choose to test in a lower level that 
is not used by children in care for at least 7 hours per week. 

If you care for children in a residential or commercial building that already has a radon 
mitigation system or a continuous radon detection monitor, it will still be required to continue 
testing the building for radon every 2 years, or after any renovations are made on the home or 
building. This ensures that the mitigation system and/or radon detection monitor is properly 
installed and working. The only way to know if the building has high levels of radon is to test. 

b. In a center licensed prior to the effective date of this subd. 1. [March 1, 2023], a test 
for radon gas levels shall be conducted no later than 6 months after the effective date of 
this subd. 1. [September 1, 2023]. 

Individuals who began the pre-licensing process prior to March 1, 2023 will be included in this 
requirement. 

c. In a center licensed on or after the effective date of this subd. 1. [March 1, 2023], a 
test for radon gas levels shall be conducted within 6 months prior to providing care for 
children. 

2. The licensee shall submit a copy of the radon test results under subds. 1. and 5. To 
the department within 5 days after receipt. 

3. The lowest level of a center that is used by children in care for at least 7 hours per 
week may not have radon gas levels that exceed 4 picocuries per liter of air, except as 
provided in subd. 4. b. 

4. If the levels of radon gasses exceed 4 picocuries per liter of air in the lowest level of 
the center, the licensee shall do all of the following: 

For the purposes of licensing, the overall average of the radon test is the measurement used 
to determine the threshold for mitigation. 

a. Notify the parents of children in care. 
b. Have a radon mitigation system installed, test for radon gas levels following the 

procedures specified in subd. 1. a. and submit radon test results that meet the standard in 
subd. 3. to the department within 12 months after the date of the test under subd. 1. 

When mitigating a building for radon, the state of Wisconsin recommends using a certified 
measurement or mitigation professional who holds a certification from the National Radon 
Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB). Certified contractors 
are more likely to understand best practices for radon mitigation. In the state of Wisconsin 
there are no laws requiring radon mitigation companies to be certified. This can result in 
uncertified and inexperienced contractors throughout the state offering low priced radon 
systems that are installed incorrectly, leaving the consumer at risk of paying for a poorly 
installed system that doesn’t effectively remove radon. Using a certified contractor will reduce 
the risk of having a radon mitigation system installed incorrectly. A list of certified radon 
measurement and mitigation contractors can be found on the Department of Health Services’ 
website here: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/radon-proficiency.htm.  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/radon-proficiency.htm
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Child care centers will not be required to close if radon test results exceed 4 picocuries per 
liter of air. Licensees will be required to follow all other requirements specified in subd. 4. 

Radon Information Centers are located across the state and are available to providers as a 
resource. Find your local Radon Information Center here: 
https://dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/infocenters.htm. 

5. The licensee shall test radon gas levels in the center every 2 years after the test under 
subd. 1 or, if a radon mitigation system was installed, every 2 years after the test under 
subd. 4. b. The test shall be conducted following the procedures specified in subd. 1. a. 

Note: For more information, contact the state radon office or local radon information center at 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/infocenters.htm. 

(3) EMERGENCY PLANS AND DRILLS. 
(a) Each center shall have a written plan for taking appropriate action in the event of an 

emergency, including a fire, a tornado, a flood; extreme heat or cold; a loss of building 
services, including no heat, water, electricity, or telephone; human-caused events such as 
threats to the building or its occupants; allergic reactions; lost or missing children; vehicle 
accidents; or other circumstances requiring immediate attention. The plan shall include 
specific procedures that address all of the following: 

1. Evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, and lock–down.  
2. Ensuring that the needs of children under age 2 and children with disabilities are met.  
3. Communication with parents.  
4. Connecting children with their parents if the center is required to evacuate the 

building.  

The center emergency plan should address all the emergencies identified above that might 
occur at the center (e.g., if the center is not located in an area that is subject to floods, the 
emergency plan does not need to address floods). The plan should include staff member 
duties and responsibilities; exiting on all levels used by children in care; and identifying items 
that are recommended to be with the provider, such as an attendance list, emergency cards, 
flashlight, battery operated radio, or cell phone. The recommended exit time during a fire drill 
is 2 minutes maximum. The tornado shelter area should be accessible and free of hazards 
during tornado season. 

Use of a one-exit basement as an emergency shelter during tornadoes and similar 
emergencies is allowed. Use of a one-exit level is prohibited for any other purpose. 

Licensing specialists may ask a center to conduct a fire and/or drill during a licensing visit.  

Children are not required to exit the building completely during a fire drill in winter or 
inclement weather; however, they should be directed to proceed to the nearest exit and staff 
should review with the children how an actual fire would affect the program (e.g. children shall 
not take the time to put on their coats before evacuating a building). 

See DCF 250.10 – ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR NIGHT CARE. 

(b) The center shall practice the fire evacuation plan monthly, and the tornado plan 
monthly from April through October, with the children and shall document when the plans 
were practiced. 

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Fire Safety and Emergency Response 
Documentation — Family Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form to document when the fire 
and tornado emergency plans were practiced. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is 
available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office 
in Appendix A.  

https://dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/infocenters.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(4) FIRE PROTECTION. 
(a) 1. A center shall have a smoke detector installed according to the manufacturer’s 

instructions and maintained in operating condition at the head of every open stairway, on 
each level of the center, and in all areas used for nap or rest periods. 

Note: The smoke detector at the head of an open stairway may also serve as the smoke detector 
for that level. 

Chapter SPS 320 of the Uniform Dwelling Code defines a stairway as one or more risers and the 
necessary treads, which forms a continuous passage from one elevation to another. More information 
can be found here: 
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/safety_and_buildings_and_environment/. 

Standard placement of a smoke detector is within 6 feet of the head of a stairway per the Wisconsin 
department of safety and professional services.  

2. A center shall have an interconnected smoke detection system in operating condition 
if one or more children under age 2 will be cared for on a level that is more than 6 feet above 
or below ground level. 

3. All smoke detectors shall be tested monthly, and a record shall be kept of the time, 
date, and results of the test. A smoke detector shall be immediately repaired or replaced if 
any unit or part of a unit is found to be inoperative. 

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0460 Safety and Emergency 
Response Documentation – Family Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form to record the 
results of smoke detector test. The department’s form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

4. The battery in a single-station battery-operated smoke detector shall be replaced at 
least once each year. 

For questions regarding the appropriate placement of smoke detectors, contact your local fire 
department.  

Providers may record annual battery replacements on the department form, Safety and 
Emergency Response Documentation, or on an equivalent form of the provider’s creation. The 
form can be found here: https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

If the smoke detector has a 10-year internal battery, providers should record the date of which 
the smoke detector was installed. 

An attached garage does not require a smoke detector unless it is identified as usable child 
care center space. If an attic is used only for storage, a smoke detector is not required. 

If a second floor or other level of a house is rented to another occupant, statutes require each 
residence to have a smoke detector. See s. 101.645, Wis. Stats. If the center and the other 
occupant of the building have different addresses, DCF 250 does not apply to the 2nd address. 

A door serving as a smoke barrier is not required between the basement and first floor. See 
DCF 250.06 (4) (e) – SMOKE DETECTION SYSTEM – CARE PROVIDED ABOVE OR BELOW 
GROUND LEVEL. 

AREAS USED FOR NAP OR REST: If bedroom doors are kept open, neither a battery-operated 
nor an interconnected smoke detector is required in the sleeping room. However, one is 
required in the immediate area. If bedroom doors are closed, one battery-operated smoke 
detector or the interconnected smoke detector must be in the room used for sleeping even if 
there is an interconnected system outside the room. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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BEEPING OR CHIRPING ALARMS: If a smoke detector beeps or sounds another type of signal 
indicating a potential malfunction, the detector must be replaced or repaired and is not 
considered in operating condition at that time. 

(b) An operable fire extinguisher with a minimum rating of 2A-10BC shall be provided for 
the kitchen and cooking area and inspected annually, and a provider shall know how to use 
it. Inspection tags are not required, but documentation of the inspection must be kept on file 
at the center.  

Note: Licensees or a commercial fire extinguisher inspector may inspect fire extinguishers. 

The provider may perform the annual inspection of the extinguisher by reading the gauge. It is 
recommended that the extinguisher be rotated slowly before checking the gauge. 
Professional inspection of the extinguisher is recommended. It is recommended that fire 
extinguishers be recharged or replaced every 5 years. It is recommended that the fire 
extinguisher be easily accessible in or near the kitchen. 

Compliance with annual inspection requirements may be demonstrated by recording the 
inspection date on the tag of the extinguisher or on the Safety and Emergency Response 
Documentation – Family Child Care Centers form. See Appendix F, Instructions for Obtaining 
Department Forms. 

A larger extinguisher may be used without an exception.  

(c) Unvented gas, oil or kerosene space heaters are prohibited. 

If there are concerns regarding the installation of vented gas, oil, or kerosene space heaters, 
providers may be asked to obtain written documentation that it was properly installed. 

Electric space heaters should have an automatic shut off. 

Flammable materials should be kept away from space heaters. 

See DCF 250.06 (2) (a) – ELECTRICAL OR HOT SURFACE PROTECTION. 

(d) A woodburning stove may be used only if it meets standards specified under s. SPS 323.045. 

If there are concerns regarding the installation of stoves, providers may be asked to obtain 
written documentation that it was properly installed. External woodburning furnaces do not 
need written approval. Treated or painted wood should not be burned because of the chemical 
fumes. Treated wood is green, yellow, or brown.  

Stoves located in areas of the center accessible to children that are hot to the touch when 
used should be guarded as specified in DCF 250.06 (2) (a) – ELECTRICAL OR HOT SURFACE 
PROTECTION. 

(e) The center shall be equipped with an interconnected smoke detection system in 
operating condition if one or more children under age 2 will be cared for on a level that is 
more than 6 feet above or below the ground level. 

In this section, an interconnected smoke detection system means a system where smoke 
detectors located on each level of the building are connected so that all connected detectors 
sound an alarm when one detector is activated. The system does not necessarily need to be 
connected to the electrical system of the house or apartment (e.g., radio-controlled or battery-
operated). An interconnected smoke detector is not required in the attic portion of a house. 
Additional battery-operated, stand-alone detectors may be used in addition to an interconnected 
system. 

MEASUREMENTS TO DETERMINE WHETHER A LEVEL IS MORE THAN 6 FEET ABOVE OR 
BELOW THE GROUND LEVEL:  
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WINDOW EXITING (below ground level): 

If the window exits into a window well, the first measurement taken is from the floor of the child 
care space to the bottom of the exit window. The next measurement is on the outside of the 
building from the floor of the window well to the ground outside the window well. If these 
measurements combined are more than 6 feet, an interconnected smoke detection system is 
required.  

If the window exits directly to the ground (without a window well), the measurement is from the 
floor of the child care space to the bottom of the exit window. If the measurement is more than 
6 feet between the floor of the child care space and the ground outside the window, an 
interconnected smoke detection system is required. 

STAIR EXITING (above or below ground level): In cases where stairs are used for exiting you 
measure the riser height of one stair and multiply by the number of steps to get the total height 
(e.g., each riser is 6” X 13 steps = 78”. 78” divided by 12” = 6 ½ feet which is more than 6 feet 
and therefore an interconnected smoke detector would be required.) 

If any of these measurements total less than 6 feet, the center may care for any number of 
children under two years per staff-to-child ratios without interconnected smoke detectors. 

An exception is not required if a provider’s own child under age 2 sleeps in their own bed on the 
second floor of the child care center and the center is not equipped with interconnected smoke 
detectors. The licensee should have a plan if an emergency evacuation is necessary. 

See DCF 250.06 (7) (a) 7. a. – CARE PROVIDED IN BASEMENT – PRIMARY EXIT; DCF 250.06 (7) 
(a) 7. b. – CARE PROVIDED IN BASEMENT – SECONDARY EXIT; DCF 250.055 (2) (d) – CARE 
PROVIDED ABOVE OR BELOW GROUND LEVEL; and DCF 250.06 (1) (a) – COMMERCIAL 
BUILDING CODE.  

(6) WATER.  
(a) A safe supply of drinking water shall be available to children and staff at all times from 

a drinking fountain of the angle jet type or by use of a disposable or reusable cup or water 
bottle. Common use of drinkware is prohibited. 

If a building is closed and unused for an extended period (i.e., one week or longer), the 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) recommends flushing the building’s plumbing before 
reopening. Flushing involves opening taps and letting the water run to remove stagnant water 
from the interior pipes. More information can be found at https://www.epa.gov/. 

Some municipalities may have differing recommendations based on the period the building was 
closed. It is recommended that you contact your local municipality to check recommendations. 

It is recommended that any drinking or cooking water outlets are flushed for at least 30 seconds 
before use. Water fountains with a refrigeration cooler are recommended to be flushed for at 
least 15 minutes. 

Flushing water systems can increase the amount of debris found in faucet aerators. It is 
recommended to remove and clean aerators after flushing water systems. 

(b) If a center gets its water from a private well, the center shall comply with all of the 
following: 

1. a. The center shall have water samples from the well tested for total coliform and 
Escherichia coli (E. coli) bacteria annually using a laboratory certified by the department of 
agriculture, trade and consumer protection as specified in ch. ATCP 77. The laboratory 
report shall be available to the department upon request. 
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b. If the water test results indicate the presence of total coliform or E. coli bacteria, the 
water system shall be appropriately disinfected or treated and retested until it is determined 
to be free of bacteria. An alternative source of water shall be used for drinking and preparing 
food or infant formula until the well is free from bacteria. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for bacteria can be found on the Department of 
Natural Resources website: www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources of drinking water can include bottled water and water from a public 
water system that meets drinking water standards. 

2. a. The center shall have water samples from the well tested for nitrate annually using 
a laboratory certified under ch. NR 149. The laboratory report shall be available to the 
department upon request. 

b. If water test results indicate nitrate levels are above 10 mg/L, an alternative source of 
water shall be used for drinking and preparing food or infant formula until nitrate levels are 
below 10 mg/L. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for nitrate can be found on DNR’s website: 
www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources of drinking water include bottled water, water that has been treated 
with a device certified by the department of safety and professional services to remove nitrate, and 
water from a public water system that meets drinking water standards. 

3. a. The center shall have the well tested for lead every 5 years using a laboratory 
certified by the department of natural resources under ch. NR 149. The laboratory report 
shall be available to the department upon request. 

b. If water test results indicate lead levels are above 15 micrograms per liter (μg/L), an 
alternative source of water shall be used for drinking and preparing food or infant formula 
until action is taken to reduce lead levels below 15 μg/L as confirmed by an additional water 
test. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for lead can be found on DNR’s website: 
www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources for drinking water include, but are not limited to, bottled water, and 
water from a source known to be low in lead, such as a public water system that meets drinking water 
standards. 

(7) EXITS, DOORS AND WINDOWS.  
(a) Exits. 
1. All exits shall be clear of obstructions. 

Exits, including window wells that are accepted as exits, may not be blocked, inside or outside, 
with snow or other obstructions. 

Plastic sheeting that covers a window on the inside of the building is acceptable; however, 
plastic sheeting that covers a window from the outside is not permitted. 

2. Each floor or level occupied by children shall have at least 2 exits. 
3. Exits shall be located as far apart as practical. 
4. The width of every exit door shall be at least 2 feet 6 inches.  
5. The primary exit shall be a door or stairway providing unobstructed travel to the 

outside of the building at street or ground level. 
6. The secondary exit shall be one of the following: 
a. A door or stairway that provides unobstructed travel to the outside of the building at 

street or ground level. 
b. A door or stairway leading to a platform or roof with railings complying with sub. (2) (g), 

which has an area of at least 25 square feet, is at least 4 feet long, and is not more than 15 
feet above ground level. 
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c. Except in an upstairs duplex, a window that is not more than 46 inches above the floor, 
capable of being opened from the inside without the use of a tool or removal of a sash, and 
which has a nominal window opening size of at least 20 inches in width and 24 inches in height. 

In a center where care is provided on multiple levels, an outside platform is not required for a 
second-floor window identified as a secondary exit.  

A nominal window opening is the size of the exiting area when the window is open. 

The window must be capable of being opened from the inside by an adult. This includes 
storms and screens. If the storm or screen cannot be opened from the inside, the storm or 
screen may not be installed on the window serving as a second exit. 

An exception may be granted to the exact dimensions of the window if the manufacturer 
identifies the window as being acceptable as an egress window and it provides a window area 
equal to or larger than that specified in the rule and still permits the children in care to exit. The 
provider should develop a plan for exiting from the secondary exit after consulting with the local 
fire department, and it is recommended this be addressed in the center policies. 

d. A center located in the upstairs unit of a duplex shall have 2 exits leading directly to 
the ground floor or to a platform as described in subd. 6. a. and b.  

7. If care is provided in a basement, all of the following apply: 
a. The primary exit shall be a door or stairway that provides unobstructed travel to the 

outside of the building at street or ground level. 
b. The secondary exit shall be either a door or stairway leading to the ground level or a 

window not more than 46 inches above the floor that is capable of being opened from the 
inside without the use of tool or removal of a sash, and which has a nominal window 
opening size of at least 20 inches in width and 24 inches in height. The window shall open 
directly to the ground or to a window well with an area of at least 6 square feet that is not 
more than 46 inches below the ground. 

In the case of a basement, if a window is being used as the second exit, the window must meet 
the requirements of DCF 250.06 (7) (a) 7. b. – BASEMENT – SECONDARY EXIT. The bottom of the 
window may not be more than 46 inches from the floor of the basement or there must be a 
permanently fixed platform. If a window well depth is greater than 46 inches, there must be a fixed 
platform, ladder or steps to assist the children in exiting the window well. 

(b) Doors and windows. 
1. Every closet door latch shall be capable of being opened by children from inside the 

closet. 
2. Every toilet room door lock shall be designed to permit the locked door be opened 

from the outside in an emergency, and the opening device shall be readily accessible to a 
provider. 

3. Windows that are capable of being opened and located in areas of the center that are 
accessible to children shall have screens.  

If a window is locked or sealed shut and is not capable of being opened, it does not need a 
screen. 

(9) FOOD PREPARATION AND SERVICE.  
(a) Equipment and utensils for preparing, serving and storing food shall be clean and 

equipped for the safe handling of food. Eating surfaces shall be washed before use.  
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Eating surface includes tables and high chairs. It is recommended to use a two-step process 
of washing and sanitizing. Products including a cleaner and sanitizer could be used two 
times—the first to clean the surface and the second to sanitize the surface.  

Children may not be at the table when staff are sanitizing.  

See Appendix D Resources List, Cleaning, Sanitizing and Disinfecting in Child Care Centers. 
Only approved sanitizers may be used for eating surfaces and food preparation surfaces.  

(b) Reusable eating and drinking utensils shall be thoroughly cleaned with detergent and 
hot water and rinsed after use. Single use articles such as food containers designed to be 
used only once and discarded including plastic silverware, paper or styrofoam cups and 
plates may not be reused.  

A single-use plastic container may not be used to store food if it originally contained nonfood 
products. A single-use plastic container used by the processor to package food may be 
reused for food storage if the container is smooth, easily cleanable and durable. “Cool Whip” 
containers and deli containers are acceptable. Single-use food storage bags are acceptable. 
Bags with a zip-type closure are recommended. 

(c) Food shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage and from adulteration and 
misbranding, and safe for human consumption. Meat, poultry, fish, molluscan shellfish, 
eggs, and dairy products shall be from an inspected source. 

Meat and poultry must be processed in a facility inspected by the USDA or the state. 

Home-frozen foods are acceptable. 

Home-canned foods may not be used for children in care except for high-acid foods including 
apples, apricots, berries, cherries, grapefruit, peaches, pineapple, rhubarb, and tomatoes. 

Fresh produce from a farmer or the provider's garden is acceptable. Home-raised eggs are 
acceptable by exception with written parental notification and, if participating in the CACFP, 
food program permission. 

Food served from a single-use container may not be saved for later consumption. 

See Appendix D, Resources List, Safe Food Storage. 

(d) Food shall be covered and stored at temperatures that protect against spoilage. 
Refrigerators shall be maintained at 40 degrees Fahrenheit or lower and freezers shall be 
maintained at 0 degrees Fahrenheit or lower.  

Thermometers are recommended for each cold storage compartment to ensure that the 
appropriate temperature is maintained. 

Prepared food should not be allowed to sit out on counters for more than 2 hours. Frozen 
foods shall be thawed in the refrigerator, under cold running water, or on the defrost setting in 
a microwave oven. No frozen, potentially hazardous food may be defrosted by leaving it at 
room temperature. Food should be maintained at temperatures below 40º F. or above 140º F. 
“Potentially-hazardous food” includes all milk and milk products, meat, fish, shellfish, gravy, 
poultry stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads containing meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk 
products, and any other food or food product likely to spoil quickly if not kept at the proper 
temperature. 

See Appendix D, Resources List, Safe Food Storage. 
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(e) Extra food that was prepared but not served shall be dated, refrigerated promptly, 
and used within 36 hours, or frozen immediately for use within 6 months.  

(f) Food shall be provided based on the amount of time children are in care, as specified 
in Table 250.06. 

 
TABLE 250.06 

Meals and Snacks to be Served to Children 
Time Present  Number of Meals and Snacks  
At least 2½ but less than 4 hours  1 snack  
At least 4 but less than 8 hours  1 snack and 1 meal  
At least 8 but less than 10 hours  2 snacks and 1 meal  
10 or more hours  2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks  

 
(g) Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child may go without nourishment 

for longer than 3 hours.  

The 3-hour time determination is from the beginning of a snack or meal to the beginning of 
the next snack or meal. 

It is recommended that staff document if and when a child refuses food by their own choice 
and goes more than 3 hours without eating. 

(h) At a minimum, children shall be provided food for each meal and snack that meets 
the U.S. department of agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal 
requirements. 

According to changes to the minimum meal requirements specified by the USDA, milk served 
to children over age 2 must be 1% or fat-free (skim) milk. Beverages that are full-strength fruit 
or vegetable juice, or juices labeled “100% juice,” may be served to meet USDA Child and Adult 
Care Food Program (CACFP) requirements for a fruit or vegetable component. Other 
beverages, such as water, may be served in addition to the required components. 

When a program that operates for fewer than 2-1/2 hours chooses to serve a snack or has a 
snack provided by parents for all children, the snack must meet the USDA food program 
requirements. 

If meals are served pre-plated, all the required food items and amounts of food are served to 
the child at the same time. For example, a 4-year-old child must receive at the minimal on their 
plate for a noon meal the following: 1 ½ ounce meat/meat alternate; a total of ½ cup of at 
least 2 different fruit/vegetable items (e.g., ¼ cup peaches and ¼ cup mashed potatoes); ½ 
slice bread; and ¾ cup milk. The milk must be served with the meal and may not be withheld. 

If meals are served family style, all the required food items amounts must be made available. 
For example, there are ten 4-year-old children present which requires a total of 2 ½ cups each 
of two types of fruit/vegetable. The menu has broccoli so at a minimal there should be 2 ½ 
cups cooked broccoli available. Since the children may not consume the entire 2 ½ cups, the 
center may bring 2 cups to the dining area and keep the remaining ½ cup cooked broccoli in 
the kitchen in case the children want it. Milk must be served with the meal and may not be 
withheld. 

Note: The USDA meal program requirements are found on the U.S. Department of Agriculture 
website, http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks.  
  

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
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(i) Additional portions of vegetables, fruits, bread, and milk shall be available.  

The amounts indicated on the CACFP minimum meal requirements are used for determining 
amounts of food that must be prepared and are not considered “helpings."  It is recommended 
that small portions of all food items be served and that seconds be available. 

(j) Accurate records of meals and snacks served to children shall be available for review 
by parents and the licensing representative. Written records of meals and snacks served to 
children shall be retained for 3 months.  

Documentation could be attained through food program records, written menus, or a calendar 
listing meals and snacks served. Menus are not required to be posted. For providers 
participating in the CACFP, the USDA master plan is acceptable as long as it reflects meals 
actually served. The record must contain the meal number and the center must have a list of 
the meal numbers available for review by parents and the licensing staff. If the provider 
changes items on the plan, those changes must be documented on the meal record. If 
children bring their own lunch, no documentation is required. 

(k) When food for a child is provided by a child’s parent, the licensee shall give the parent 
information about the requirements for food groups and quantities specified by the U.S. 
department of agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal requirements.  

For information regarding CACFP minimum meal requirements for infants, see: https://fns-
prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_infantmealpattern.pdf. 

For information regarding meal requirements for children, see: https://fns-
prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_childmealpattern.pdf. 

(L) A child enrolled in school who is in attendance at the center when a meal or snack is 
served shall be offered the meal or snack.  

(m) A special diet based on a medical condition, excluding food allergies, but including 
nutrient concentrates and supplements, may be served only upon written authorization of a 
child’s physician and upon the request of the parent.  

Examples of special diets based on a medical condition are food delivered by feeding tubes, 
diabetic, gluten free, lactose intolerance, etc. Pediasure or Ensure may be used as part of a 
special diet. 

(n) A special diet based on a food allergy may be served upon the written request of the 
parent. 

(11) OUTDOOR SPACE.  
(a) Requirement for outdoor play space. A center shall have outdoor play space if any 

child is receiving care for more than 3 hours a day.  

Three hours means three consecutive hours. When a program is exempt from meeting the 
requirement for outdoor space by virtue of three or fewer hours of operation, but chooses to 
provide an outdoor play period, rules on outdoor space apply. 

(b) Required features of outdoor play space. Except when an exemption is requested and 
approved by the department under par. (c), a center shall comply with all of the following 
requirements for outdoor play space: 

If more than one family child care center is using an outdoor play space, the center needs to 
have a scheduled outdoor play time separate from the other group of children. Staff-to-child 
ratios must be maintained. 

  

https://fns-prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_infantmealpattern.pdf
https://fns-prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_infantmealpattern.pdf
https://fns-prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_childmealpattern.pdf
https://fns-prod.azureedge.net/sites/default/files/cacfp/CACFP_childmealpattern.pdf
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1. The outdoor play space shall be on the premises of the center. 
2. There shall be at least 75 square feet of outdoor play space for each child using the 

space at a given time. A center with a licensed capacity of 8 children is required to have a 
minimum of 600 square feet. 

3. Structures such as playground equipment, railings, decks, and porches accessible to 
children and built with CCA-treated lumber shall be sealed with an oil-based sealant or stain at 
least every 2 years.  

If your wood structure was built before 2004 and is not made of cedar or redwood, it was 
most likely constructed with CCA-treated lumber. If you are unsure if the wood structure has 
CCA-treated lumber, it is recommended that the structure is sealed with an oil-based sealant 
or stain. 

It is recommended that providers document in their personal records when the structure was 
sealed.  

See Appendix D, Resources List, What You Should Know About CCA-Pressure Treated Wood 
for Decks, Playgrounds, and Picnic Tables. 

3m. Wood treated with creosote or pentachlorophenol (PCP), including railroad ties, may 
not be used in areas accessible to children. 

Wood treated with the oil-based products creosote and pentachlorophenol (PCP) can also be 
toxic. These chemicals are typically found in railroad ties and utility poles. Structures made 
with these materials cannot be adequately sealed and will be considered a hazard. Children 
should not be permitted to come in contact with wood treated with either of these products. 

4. A permanent enclosure not less than 4 feet high shall be provided to protect the 
safety of children in care. Fencing, plants, or landscaping may be used to create a 
permanent enclosure. The permanent enclosure may not have any open areas that are 
greater than 4 inches.  

The 4-foot minimum height requirement must be maintained. A fence or other permanent 
enclosure that has settled over time and is no longer a minimum of 4-feet in height must be 
repaired to meet the 4-foot requirement, as measured from inside the enclosure. Materials 
added to the ground on the inside of the fence may affect the 4-foot minimum height 
requirement by decreasing the height of the fence. The Department recommends a fence 
higher than 4-feet in height due to settlement that occurs with Wisconsin weather. 

5. Concrete and asphalt are prohibited under climbing equipment, swings and slides. 

Asphalt and concrete are unsuitable for use under and around playground equipment UNLESS 
required as a base for a shock-absorbing unitary material that meets ASTM requirements and 
manufacturer recommendations. 

The Consumer Product Safety Commission has a publication titled, “Outdoor Home 
Playground Safety Handbook” available on their website: www.cpsc.gov. Energy-absorbing 
ground cover beneath slides, climbing equipment, and swings is recommended to the depth of 
at least 6 inches and within a fall zone of at least 4 feet.  
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(c) Exemption for off-premises play space.  

If on-premises play space is available, an exemption to use off-premises play space will not be 
approved. An exemption for the use of off-premises play space will not be granted based 
solely on a restriction by a community (a covenant) for installing a fence. The licensee has 
other options beyond installing a fence to enclose outdoor play space such as the use of 
landscaping and plants.  

See DCF 250.06 (11) (b) 4. – OUTDOOR PLAYSPACE – ENCLOSURE.  

1. In this paragraph, “main thoroughfare” means a heavily traveled street or road used by 
vehicles as a principal route of travel. 

2. If a center has no outdoor play space available on the premises of the center, the 
licensee may request an exemption from the requirements under subd. 3. for the center’s 
outdoor play space.  

3. A request for an exemption under subd. 2. shall be in writing and shall be 
accompanied by a plan for outdoor play space that does all the following: 

a. Identifies and describes the location to be used, the travel distance from the center to 
that location and the means of transporting the children to that location. 

b. Provides for adequate supervision of the children as specified in Table 250.055. 
c. Provides for daily vigorous exercise in the out-of-doors for the children. 
d. Describes the arrangements to meet the toileting and diapering needs of the children. 
e. Affirms the center’s compliance with the requirements included in subds. 4. to 7. 
Note: Send the request for an exemption, including the plan for the use of that space, to the 

licensing representative at the appropriate regional office of the Department’s Division of Early Care 
and Education. See Appendix A for addresses of the regional offices. 

4. The off-premises outdoor play space shall be free of hazards such as bodies of water, 
railroad tracks, unfenced swimming pools, heavily wooded areas and nearby highways and 
main thoroughfares. 

5. There shall be at least 75 square feet of play space for each child using the space at a 
given time. 

6. No climbing equipment, swing or slide in the play space may have concrete or asphalt 
under it. 

7. When the off-premises outdoor play space is reached by walking, the center shall 
transport children under 3 years of age in wheeled vehicles, such as strollers or wagons, with a 
seating capacity equal to the number of children under 3 years of age to be transported. 

8. A center’s plan for use of an off-premises outdoor play space is subject to approval by 
the department. Within 30 days after receipt of a plan and request for an exemption from the 
requirements under par. (b), the department shall either approve the plan and grant the 
exemption or not approve the plan and deny the request for exemption. The department shall 
notify the center in writing of its decision and if it does not grant an exemption, shall state its 
reasons for not granting the exemption. 

9. If any circumstance described in an approved plan for use of off-premises outdoor play 
space changes or if any condition for plan approval is not met, the department may withdraw 
its approval of the plan and cancel the exemption. A center with an approved plan shall 
immediately report to the department’s licensing representative any significant change in any 
circumstance described in the plan. 

(12) SWIMMING AREAS. 
(a) Swimming pools on the premises of the center may not be used by children in care. 

Swimming pools on the premises shall be enclosed by a 4-foot fence with a self-closing, 
self-latching door. In addition, all of the following restrictions apply:  
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Swimming pools on the premises may be used by the provider’s own children over the age of 
7 years during the hours of operation. The licensee must continue to maintain compliance 
with supervision and pool rules listed in this section when their own children are in the pool. 

“Self-closing” means that the door is weighted so that it will close and latch on its own without 
assistance. 

A self-closing, self-latching door is not required if the pool enclosure meets subd. 4. 

1. If access to the pool is through a gate, the gate shall be closed and locked during the 
center’s hours of operation. 

2. If access to the pool is through a door, the door shall be closed, visibly locked and 
equipped with an alarm at the door that signals when someone has entered the pool area. 
The door may not be used as an exit. 

3. Locks shall be located so that the locks cannot be opened by the children. 
4. The free-standing wall of an aboveground pool may not serve as an enclosure unless 

it is at least 4 feet in height and not climbable. If a ladder is present, the ladder shall be 
removed or raised up so that it is inaccessible to children. 

5. The area around the pool enclosure shall be free of toys or equipment that would 
allow a child to climb or otherwise gain access to the pool. 

(b) A wading pool on the premises may be used if the water is changed daily and the 
pool is disinfected daily. Supervision requirements and staff-to-child ratios under s. DCF 
250.05 (3) and (4) shall be met.  

See DCF 250.03(38) – DEFINITION – WADING POOL. 

The provider must be able to demonstrate that the pool can be easily dumped, appropriately 
cleaned, and disinfected daily.  

The American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Public Health Association, and the 
National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, in the 
collaborative book Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance 
Standards, Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, state that the use of wading 
pools for children is not recommended. Standing water, in addition to posing a risk of 
drowning, is a breeding ground for bacteria and disease-carrying insects. Instead, sprinklers, 
hoses, or water tables may be used as an alternative for water play. 

(c) A pool, wading pool, water attraction, or beach that is not located on center premises 
may be used by children if all of the following conditions are met: 

ATCP 76.04(53) "Water attraction" means a public facility with design and operational 
features that provide patron recreational activity other than conventional swimming and 
involves partial or total immersion of the body. Types of water attractions include activity 
pools, interactive play attractions, leisure rivers, plunge pools, vortex pools, vanishing edge 
pools, waterslides, run-out slides, drop slides, pool slides, wave pools, zero-depth entry pools, 
and any public pool with play features except wading pools. 

“Water attraction” does not include splash pads. 

1. The construction and operation of the pool meet the requirements of chs. SPS 390 
and ATCP 76 for public swimming pools and the beach complies with any applicable local 
ordinance. 

2. Certified lifesaving personnel are on duty. 

Lifeguards are required when children are in the water. Lifeguards may not be counted in the 
staff-to-child ratio. 
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3. While children are in the water of a pool, wading pool, water attraction, or beach, the 
following staff-to-child ratios for providers who can swim shall be met:  

See Appendix F, Instructions for Obtaining Department Forms for information on how to 
obtain a swimming staff-to-child ratio worksheet. 

Swimming staff-to-child ratios do not apply to organized swim lessons, but regular staff-to-
child ratios should be maintained in or near the pool area. 

a. For children under 2 years of age: 1:1. 
b. For children 2 and 3 years of age years of age: 1:3. 
c. For children 4 and 5 years of age: 1:6. 
d. For children 6 years of age and older: 1:8. 
4. When a mixed age group of children are swimming, the staff-to-child ratio shall be 

adjusted based on to the number of children in the water and each child’s age. 
Note: A worksheet to help calculate the staff to child ratio for mixed aged groupings during 

swimming is available from the department upon request. Requests may be made to the licensing 
representative or regional office in Appendix A. 

The department’s form DCF-F-2465 Staff-to-Child Ratio While Swimming Worksheet is 
available on the department’s website, http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

5. A child shall be restricted to the area of the pool or beach that is within the child’s swimming 
ability. 

Swimming ability may be determined by the parents or the center. 

The American Red Cross recommends assessing the following skills to determine swimming 
ability: 
• Enter the water that is over the individual’s head, then return to the surface. 
• Float or tread water for at least 1 minute. 
• Turn over and turn around in the water. 
• Swim at least 25 yards. 
• Exit the water. 

More water safety tips and resources can be found on the American Red Cross’ website here: 
https://www.redcross.org/get-help/how-to-prepare-for-emergencies/types-of-
emergencies/water-safety.html. 

6. If some of the children are in the water and others are not, there shall be at least 2 
providers supervising the children. One provider shall supervise the children who are in the 
water, and the other provider shall supervise the children who are not in the water. 

It is recommended that centers develop and implement a written policy to specify procedures 
for supervision of children while using public locker rooms and bathrooms.

http://www.dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND SCHEDULING.  
(a) A provider shall plan activities so that each child may be or do all of the following: 
1. Be successful and feel good about himself or herself.  

Examples of activities that will encourage self-esteem and positive self-image: 
• Group activities, such as games and songs where children's names are used. 
• Use of the child’s name when speaking to the child or participating in group activities. 
• Display of children's art work with names or photographs of children at child's eye level. 
• Activities involving books, pictures and other authentically representative learning 

materials relating to minorities as well as majority enrollment of the community, and 
cultural, ethnic, sexual differences, and differing abilities.  

• Dramatic-play activities involving the use of mirrors, multi-cultural dolls, dress-up clothes 
representing both sexes, and other props. 

• Thoughtful verbal recognition of the child's ideas, expressions, and contributions. 

2. Use and develop language.  

Examples of activities that will encourage self-expression and communication skills: 
• Non-directed creative-art experiences.  
• Asking questions to elicit responses from children.  
• Encouraging children to participate in discussions and give attention to each speaker, 

including, planning for the day, field trips, etc.  
• Providing opportunities throughout the day for children to converse and share ideas with 

others.  
• Activities which will allow a child to enlarge his/her listening and speaking vocabulary.  
• Use of stories, poems, nursery rhymes, picture and child-made books.  
• Language development activities.  
• Auditory discrimination games and activities.  
• Labeling of objects, feelings, actions, expressions.  
• Puppet play, flannel boards.  
• Creative dramatics. 
• Meal time conversation. 

3. Use large and small muscles.  

Examples of activities that will encourage large and small muscle development: 
• Large muscle: Use of large muscle equipment such as wooden hollow blocks, balls, 

climbing equipment, wheel toys, etc.; group activities (musical or non-musical) involving 
physical activity such as marching, skipping, jumping, dancing, physical fitness activities, 
tumbling, running; games that facilitate understanding of how our bodies move and that 
develop coordination, balance, strength, endurance. 

• Small muscle: Use of equipment and materials requiring manipulative skill such as 
puzzles small interlocking blocks, peg and lacing boards, etc. 

4. Use materials and take part in activities that encourage creativity.  

Examples of activities that will encourage creative expression: 
• Wide range of music, dance and movement activities.  
• Sand, water and block play.  
• Non-directive use of non-limiting materials such as clay, paint, crayons.  
• Woodworking.  
• Involvement with a variety of tools, materials, processes and techniques that involve the 

exploration of line, shape, color and texture. 
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5. Learn new ideas and skills. 

Examples of activities that encourage new ideas and skills: 
• Science activities.  
• Sensory experience such as tactile, auditory, smelling activities. 
• Discrimination activities involving symbols, shapes, colors, serration, categorizing, matching, 

etc.  
• Reading and math readiness activities.  
• Language development activities.  
• Practical life experiences such as putting on-clothes, tying shoes, creating order in the room, 

and self-feeding.  
• Activities involving problem solving and memory skills.  
• Opportunities to explore the environment and find developmentally appropriate challenges. 

6. Participate in imaginative play. 

Examples of activities that will encourage imaginative play: 
• Dramatic play, such as housekeeping, store, pretending to cook, restaurant, post office, 

dress-up, and puppets. 
• Block building with accessories, such as vehicles, animals, traffic signs, and people. 
• Self-selected cooperative play experiences which give children opportunities to interact.  
• Mealtime conversation.  
• For infants - proximity to one another outside of cribs.  
• Selected activities for children age 3 and older in small groups such as cooking, science, 

nature, and circle games. 

7. Be exposed to a variety of cultures.  

Examples of activities that allow children to be exposed to a variety of cultures: 
• Books, pictures, and other authentically representative learning materials relating to 

minorities as well as majority enrollment of the community, and cultural, ethnic, sexual 
differences, and differing abilities.  

• Dramatic-play activities involving the use of mirrors, multi-cultural dolls, dress up clothes 
representing both sexes, and other props. 

8. Develop literacy skills.  

Examples of activities that encourage literacy: 
• Reading to children. 
• Use of flannel board stories. 
• Puppets. 
• Reading readiness activities, such as letter, name, color, and shape recognition. 
• Language development activities. 
• Book making activities. 
• Journaling and other writing opportunities. 
• Labeling items in the classroom. 

Note: The Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards are voluntary standards that were designed 
to help centers develop programs and curriculum to help ensure that children are exposed to 
activities and opportunities that will prepare them for success in school and into the future. The 
Standards are primarily intended as guidance on developmentally appropriate expectations and are 
not intended to be used as a checklist to gauge a child’s progress. The Standards are based on 
scientific research. Copies of the Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards are available on the 
Wisconsin Early Childhood Collaborating Partners website at http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/ 
or through the Child Care Information Center at 1-800-362-7353.   
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Wisconsin has an information and referral service for persons with questions or concerns about a 
child’s development called First Step that is available to the public 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
When a call is placed to First Step at 1-800-642-7837, the caller will learn about early intervention 
services as well as other related services in the area. When a provider or a parent has concerns about 
a child’s growth or development a referral to a Birth-to-Three agency or the local public school should 
be considered to determine if the child is eligible for special services. With parental consent and 
consultation, it is recommended that centers who care for children who have an Individualized Family 
Service Plan (IFSP) or an Individualized Education Program (IEP) coordinate programming activities 
with the local school district or Birth to Three agency. 

(b) A provider shall plan daily activities according to the age and developmental level of 
each child in care and shall include a flexible balance of all of the following:  

The licensing specialist may monitor for compliance by talking with the provider or 
observation if a written activity plan is not available. 

A daily activities plan would include a schedule, a summary of the kinds of activities which will 
be planned, such as outdoor play, group and individual activities, field trips, stories and other 
language development activities, music, art, and time for child-selected free play. 

If children under two years of age are in care, the plan should also include time for one-on-one 
interaction between the provider and the infants and toddlers.  

1. Daily indoor and outdoor activities when a child is in care for more than 3 hours 
except that outdoor activities are not required during inclement weather or when not 
advisable for health reasons.  

See DCF 250.03 (15) – DEFINITION – INCLEMENT WEATHER. In the written health policy, the 
center determines the temperatures when children will go outside with no more than a 10-degree 
variation of the temperatures included in the definition. No exception is necessary as long as the 
variation is no more than 10 degrees. Consideration must be given to other conditions on the 
playground and include available shade, drinking water, protection from wind, etc. 

The center may determine what would constitute a situation when it is not advisable to go outside 
for health reasons. Center policies should reflect what would prohibit a child from going outside 
for health reasons: e.g., a written request by a parent or a written statement by a medical 
professional. The family child care provider would need to determine how he/she is going to 
ensure that the other children in care are provided outdoor activities. 

Daily physical activity is an important part of preventing excessive weight gain and childhood 
obesity. Some evidence also suggests that children may be able to learn better during or 
immediately after bursts of physical activity due to improved attention and focus. It is 
recommended that the center promote children’s active play every day. Children should have 
ample opportunity for vigorous activities such as running, climbing, dancing, skipping, and 
jumping. This could include two to three occasions of active play outdoors each day, weather 
permitting; two or more structured or caregiver/teacher/adult-led activities or games that promote 
movement over the course of the day—indoor or outdoor, and continuous opportunities to develop 
and practice age-appropriate gross motor and movement skills. It is recommended that children 
have time to play outdoors two times each day for at least 30 minutes per session unless the 
weather is inclement. Consideration must be given to other conditions on the playground and 
include available shade, drinking water, protection from wind, etc. 

Center-provided and maintained selection of warm outer garments is recommended for children 
whose parents do not provide appropriate clothing for out-of-doors. 

See DCF 250.07 (1) (b) – DAILY ACTIVITIES – PLAN FOR AGE & DEVELOPMENT LEVELS. 

See Appendix D Resources List, Child Care Weather Watch – Wisconsin.   
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2. Active and quiet play. 
3. Protection from excess fatigue and over stimulation. 
4. Individual and group activities. 
(c) Television, including videotapes and DVDs, may be used only to supplement the daily 

plan for children. No child may be required to watch television.  

If used, screen time should complement the daily activities / curriculum but should not 
constitute a major portion of the program for children. Media should be rated to the age and 
developmental level of the child. It is recommended that children over 2 years of age be 
restricted to no more than 30 minutes of screen time each day. This includes time spent 
watching television, videos and sitting by a computer. It is recommended that children under 2 
years of age not watch television or videos. Soap operas, game shows, situation comedies, 
talk shows, etc. are not appropriate when children are present.  

See DCF 250.07 (1) (b) above. 

(2) CHILD GUIDANCE.  
(a) Each family child care center shall provide positive guidance and redirection for the 

children and shall set clearly specified limits for the children. A provider shall help each child 
develop self-control, self-esteem and respect for the rights of others.  

(b) 1. In this paragraph, a “time-out period” means a break from the group that a provider 
offers a child to provide the child an opportunity to calm and regain composure while being 
supported by the provider. 

2. A center may use a time-out period to handle a child’s unacceptable behavior only if 
all of the following conditions are met: 

a. The child is 3 years of age or older. 
b. The provider offers the child the time-out period in a non-humiliating manner. 
c. The time-out period does not exceed 3 minutes. 
d. The child is not isolated. 
e. The child is not removed from room. 

There are some scenarios in which there are grounds for a child to be removed from the 
classroom. If the child is putting themself or others in danger, the child may be removed from 
the area. Staff must ensure that staff-to-child ratios are being met at all times. After a child is 
removed, staff will assist the child in regaining their composure. Centers should have a plan in 
place to ensure that the child is returned to the classroom within 3 minutes. 

If the child makes the choice that they would like to leave the classroom to go for a walk or 
visit the front office, staff may escort the child to that area. 

In some circumstances, an exception for the removal of the child from the classroom may be 
considered if the child has had an evaluation that resulted in an Individualized Family Service 
Plan (IFSP) or Individual Education Plan (IEP). The following conditions must be met: 
• The IFSP or IEP indicates the removal of the child as one part of a plan to help the child 

learn to manage their behaviors. 
• The center identifies a person(s) who will be assigned the responsibility of supervising the 

child.. 
• The center documents the removal of the child and the situation leading to the removal. 
• The center notifies the child’s parent of the removal of the child and the situation leading 

to the removal. 
• A copy of the documentation related to the removal of the child is submitted to the 

department within 24 hours of the removal of the child. 
• A copy of the IFSP or the IEP shall be available to all providers working with the child. 
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• The exception is reviewed and reapproved periodically (recommended every 3 – 4 
months). 

Time out may be used if:  
1. Use is identified in the center child guidance policy for specified types of behavior which 

child care workers wish to stop. 
2. The behaviors are identified to children. 
3. The child is within sight and sound and under the supervision of an adult. 
4. The reason for the time out is explained to the child. 
5. The provider has a conversation with the child to reflect on making better choices. 
6. The child is transitioned back to an activity.  

3. The procedures for time-out periods shall be included in the center’s written child 
guidance policy.  

(c) Actions that may be psychologically, emotionally or physically painful, discomforting, 
dangerous or potentially injurious are prohibited. Examples of prohibited actions include all of 
the following:  

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking, slapping, twisting, throwing, or inflicting any other 
form of corporal punishment on the child.  

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the child’s family. 

"Verbal abuse" means profane, insulting, or coarse language sometimes, but not always, 
delivered in a loud or threatening manner or language which is ego deflating, causing loss of 
self-esteem. 

3. Physical restraint, binding or tying the child to restrict the child’s movement or 
enclosing the child in a confined space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle. 

See DCF 250.03 (23) – DEFINITION – PHYSICAL RESTRAINT. 

Physical restraint does not include: 
• Briefly holding a child in order to calm or comfort the child. 
• Holding a child’s hand or arm to escort the child from one area to another. 
• Moving a disruptive child who is putting themself/others in danger and is unwilling to 

leave the area when other methods, such as talking to the child, have been unsuccessful. 
• Intervening or breaking up a fight. 
• Use of a weighted vest or blanket that a child is able to remove by themself whenever the 

child chooses. 

Placing a child in a crib or pack and play to restrict the child’s movement is prohibited.  

A high chair, feeding table, or seat may not to be used as a form of punishment or a method to 
restrict activity. A child is only to use the chair for meal / snack times or planned activities. 

If a child has an outburst that puts themself or another person in danger of harm, the center 
has the responsibility to protect the child and others from danger. In these instances, once the 
child is no longer a danger to themself or others, the restraint must be ended. If a child has an 
outburst, it is recommended that the center work with the parents to develop a plan to help 
manage the child’s behavior in a way that does not include the use of a physical restraint. The 
center may consider referring the child/family to their pediatrician, the local Birth to 3 
program, the local public school system, or a mental health professional for an evaluation. 
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In limited circumstances, an exception for the use of a physical restraint of an individual child 
may be considered if the child has had an evaluation that resulted in an Individualized Family 
Service Plan (IFSP) or Individual Educational Plan (IEP). The following conditions must be 
met: 
• The IFSP or IEP indicates the use of a physical restraint as one part of a plan to help the 

child learn to manage their behaviors. 
• The center identifies a person(s) who will be assigned the responsibility of implementing 

the restraint. 
• The person assigned to implement the restraint receives appropriate training in use of a 

restraint. 
• The center documents the use of the restraint and the situation leading to the use of the 

restraint. 
• The center notifies the child’s parent of the physical restraint and the situation leading to 

the use of the restraint. 
• A copy of the documentation related to a restraint is submitted to the department within 

24 hours of the use of the restraint. 
• A copy of the IFSP or the IEP shall be available to all providers working with children. 
• The exception is reviewed and re-approved periodically (recommended every 3 – 4 

months). 

4. Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.  

Children can be encouraged to try different foods, but they cannot be forced to try all foods or 
finish one food prior to receiving additional servings of other foods. Any component of the 
meal may not be withheld until the end of the meal or snack, including milk. 

5. Actions that are cruel, aversive, humiliating or frightening to the child.  
(d) A child may not be punished for lapses in toilet training.  
Note: See s. DCF 250.04 (8) for information on reporting suspected child abuse and s. DCF 

250.04 (3) (i) for rules requiring that prohibited actions to a child be reported to the department within 
24 hours after the occurrence. 

(3) EQUIPMENT AND FURNISHINGS.  
(a) Safe indoor and outdoor play equipment shall be provided and shall be all of the 

following:  
1. Scaled to the size and developmental level of the children. 
2. Of sturdy construction with no sharp, rough, loose, or pointed edges, in good operating 

condition, and anchored when necessary. 

Examples of unsafe play equipment include toys or equipment that are broken, coming apart, 
rusting, have protruding screws, or permanently installed outdoor equipment that is not safely 
anchored. 

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of accident or collision and to permit freedom of action. 
4. Maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. 
5. Used in accordance with all manufacturer’s instructions and any manufacturer’s 

recommendations that may affect the safety of children in care. 

It is recommended that the licensee maintain manufacturer’s instruction regarding the 
equipment. 

(b) Various types of play equipment shall be provided to allow for large and small 
muscle activity, dramatic play, creative expression and intellectual stimulation. 
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Age-appropriate books must be available for teachers to use with children and must also be 
available for children to use themselves. These may be one and the same or different sets of 
books. These may be center-owned or library-supplied books or a combination of both. The 
recommended amount is at least one book for every two children. 

Consumable art supplies such as, but not limited to, crayons, paper, paste or glue, paint, clay 
or play dough, finger paint, collage materials, etc., including the necessary and appropriate 
non-consumable accessories such as paint brushes, scissors, sponges, etc. should be 
available to children. Children under 2 years must be allowed to use appropriate art supplies 
under the close supervision of a child care worker. 

(c) Indoor play equipment shall be provided to allow each child a choice of at least 3 
activities involving equipment when all children are involved in using equipment. 

(d) Outdoor play equipment shall be provided to allow each child at least one activity 
when all children are using equipment at the same time.  

Outdoor equipment may be permanently installed, taken outdoors from the inside, or a 
combination of both. 

(e) Trampolines and inflatable bounce surfaces on the premises shall not be in areas 
accessible to children and may not be used by the children in care.  

Inflatable chairs or other such items not intended for bouncing, such as inflatable slides, may 
be used. Care should be taken to ensure that children are properly supervised, and the item is 
being used according to the manufacturer’s recommendation.  

Trampolines not located in areas accessible to children in care may be used by the provider’s 
own children over the age of 7 during the hours of center operation. 

(f) Furnishings shall be clean, durable, and safe with no sharp, rough, loose, or pointed 
edges.  

(g) The furnishings shall include all of the following:  
1. Table space and seating for each child.  

Highchairs and feeding tables for infants and toddlers are included in determining the 
required number of chairs. 

Booster seats are recommended for smaller children using adult-sized chairs at a table. 

2. Storage space for equipment, bedding, and children’s clothing and personal 
belongings. 

Examples of storage space for play equipment are drawers, shelves, cabinets, and boxes. 

Outer-garment storage may be on hooks, hangers, or in a clothing cubby. 

See DCF 250.07 (4) (d) – NAPS – BEDDING. 

Note: Lists suggesting kinds and numbers of equipment for centers are available from the Child 
Care Information Center by calling 1-800-362-7353. 

(4) REST PERIODS. 
(a) Children under 5 years of age in care for more than 4 consecutive hours shall have a 

nap or rest period. 

This rule does not prohibit children 5 years of age or older from having a nap or rest period. If 
the center provides a nap or rest period for children 5 years of age or older, the rules on rest 
periods apply. 

  



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.07 PROGRAM 

63 
250.07(4)(b) 

(b) A provider shall permit children who do not sleep after 30 minutes and children who 
wake up early to get up and shall help them to have a quiet time through the use of 
equipment or activities which do not disturb other children. 

Children who are awake shall be supervised by the child care provider and children who do not 
sleep or who awaken before other children must be allowed off their sleeping surface and 
given a choice of activities in a reasonably lighted area. 

(c) Each child one year of age or older who has a nap or rest period shall be provided 
with a sleeping surface that is clean, safe, washable, and placed at least 2 feet from the next 
sleeping child. The sleeping surface may be any of the following:  

Cots, sleeping bags, and padded mats shall be long enough so the child’s head or feet do not 
rest off the cot, sleeping bag, or mat. 

Sleeping bags or padded mats may be provided by the center or the parent. 

Cribs and cots may be placed end to end if a solid partition separates the children. 

Sofas may be used provided the child has a sleeping bag or sheet and blanket so that the 
child does not sleep directly on the sofa. 

See DCF 250.03(4m) – DEFINITION – CRIB; DCF 250.03(31) – DEFINITION – SLEEPING BAG; 
and DCF 250.09(2)(c) – INFANT & TODDLER – SLEEP POSITION. 

1. A bed.  
2. A cot.  
3. A padded mat.  
4. A sleeping bag.  
5. A crib or playpen.  
 (cm) Each child under one year of age who naps or sleeps shall be provided with a 

clean, safe, washable crib or playpen that meets the applicable safety standards in 16 CFR 
Part 1219 or 1220 and shall be placed at least 2 feet from the nearest sleeping child. Cribs 
or playpens may be placed end-to-end if a solid partition separates the crib or playpen, and 
an aisle not less than 2 feet in width is maintained between sleeping surfaces. 

All children under 1 year of age must be placed to sleep on their back in a crib or playpen; 
however, once a child is able to roll from front to back and back to front unassisted, the child 
may assume the sleep position that is most comfortable to them. This should be documented 
in the “Intake for Child Under 2 Years” form. If a child falls asleep in a swing or car seat, the 
child must be immediately removed from the swing or car seat and placed to sleep on their 
back in a crib. Only the child’s physician may authorize a sleep position other than the back in 
a crib or playpen for a child under 1 year of age. 

Bassinettes may be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications. 

 Positioning devices should not be used to adjust sleeping surfaces. Positioning devices 
include but are not limited to wedges, pillows, or any items placed under or over the mattress 
to elevate or angle the sleeping surface. 

Swaddling is not recommended if the infant is exhibiting signs of attempting to roll on their 
own. Weighted swaddle clothing or weighted objects within swaddles may not be used 
because an infant is not able to remove weighted objects on their own. Providers can find 
more information regarding safe sleep practices at the AAP’s website here: 
https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/safe-sleep/. 

See DCF 250.03 (4m) – DEFINITION – CRIB and DCF 250.09 – ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
FOR INFANT AND TODDLER CARE

https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/safe-sleep
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(d) Each child one year of age or older who is not using a sleeping bag shall be provided 
with an individually identified sheet and blanket that may be used only by that child until it is 
washed. Sleeping bags and bedding shall be stored in a sanitary manner and washed at 
least after every 5 uses or as soon as possible if wet or soiled.  

Children may share bedding if it has been laundered between uses by the different children. 
Each mat, cot, or crib mattress shall be covered with the child’s individual sheet for exclusive 
use by that child. No child shall sleep on a bare, uncovered surface. A large adult-sized blanket 
may be used as both sheet and blanket on a bed, cot, mat, or sofa used as a bed if it is placed 
under and over the child. If family beds are used, the sleeping bag or sheet and blanket should 
be placed over the family bedding. 

Seasonally appropriate coverings such as sheets or blankets that are sufficient to maintain 
adequate warmth shall be provided to the child while on the bed, cot, or mat. Blanket sleepers 
or sleep sacks may be used in place of a blanket covering. 

Storage in a "sanitary manner" means protection from cross-contamination. Care should be 
taken so that bedding for one child does not touch another child’s bedding. 

Cots that are stacked should not have bedding for an individual child hanging over the edge of 
the cot. If bedding is not stored on the cot, the center must have an alternative way to keep 
the bedding stored in such a manner that the sleeping surface is not exposed. Stacked cots 
should be covered with a clean sheet, blanket, or other cover that is not used as bedding for a 
child during times when the cots are not in use. Sleeping bags should be rolled up so that the 
inside sleeping surface is not exposed. Sleeping bags do not need to be stored inside an 
individual storage bag or container. Pillows should be stored on a child’s individual cot or 
rolled up in the child’s sleeping bag. 

If bedding is provided by parents, a supply of center-provided sleeping bags or sheets and 
blankets should be available for backup or emergencies such as illness or soiling. 

Bedding used by an ill child is considered soiled. 

Weighted blankets may be used with children ages 1 and older when the provider follows all 
manufacturer’s specifications for the blanket. The child must be able to remove the blanket 
themselves whenever the child chooses. 

See DCF 250.03(31) – DEFINITION – SLEEPING BAG. 

(e) Infants shall sleep alone in cribs or playpens. Two related children may share a 
double bed. No more than one child may occupy a single size bed, cot, mat or sleeping bag.  

(6) HEALTH. 
(a) Contact with others who are ill. 
1. No child or other person with a reportable communicable disease specified in ch. DHS 

145 may be admitted to, or be permitted to remain in, a center during the period when the 
disease is communicable. 

This rule applies to reportable communicable diseases only.  

1m. A licensee, provider, household member, employee, volunteer, visitor, parent, or a 
child in care may be admitted or readmitted to the family child care center if the person 
provides a written statement from a physician that the condition is no longer contagious or 
if the person has been absent for a period of time equal to the longest usual incubation 
period for the disease under ch. DHS 145.  
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Note: The Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Public Health, has developed 
materials that identify those communicable diseases that are required to be reported to the local 
public health officer. These materials also provide additional guidance on the symptoms of each 
disease and information on how long an infected child shall be excluded from the center. Copies of 
the communicable disease chart are available on the Department of Health Services website, 
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p4/p44397.pdf. 

2. a. A licensee, provider, household member, employee, volunteer, visitor or parent 
whose behavior with respect to any child, adult, animal or property, on or off the center’s 
premises, raises reasonable concern for the safety of the children, may not be in contact 
with the children in care. 

b. The department may require a licensee, provider, household member or other adult in 
contact with the children whose behavior gives reasonable concern for the safety of children 
to submit to an examination by a licensed mental health professional as a condition of 
licensure or employment. 

Note: See also s. DCF 250.11 (2) (e) which requires a written statement from a physician or 
licensed mental health professional when there is reason to believe that the physical and mental 
health of a person may endanger children in care. 

3. No person with a health history of typhoid, paratyphoid, dysentery or other diarrheal 
disease may work in a center until it is determined by appropriate medical tests that the 
person is not a carrier of the disease.  

4. a. Upon each child’s arrival at the center, a staff person shall observe the child for 
symptoms of illness or injury. 

b. Any child who appears to be ill shall be moved to a separate room or area. 
c. A child one year of age or older who appears to be ill shall be provided with a bed, crib, 

or cot and a sheet and blanket or sleeping bag. 
d. A child under one year of age who appears to be ill shall be placed in a rib or playpen 

with a tight-fitting mattress and mattress covering. 

Examples of illnesses or conditions that may require a child to be in a separate room or area 
until pickup include unusual lethargy, uncontrolled coughing, fevers associated with other 
symptoms, persistent crying, difficulty breathing, wheezing, or other unusual signs. 

See Appendix D Resources List, Communicable Diseases Chart. The center’s health policy 
should specify which symptoms would require removal of the child from the facility. 

(b) Medical log book. 

Entries regarding a specific child made in a medical log book must be available to that child’s 
parent in accordance with DCF 250.04 (7) (b). To protect a child’s confidentiality, centers are 
strongly encouraged to have separate entries for each child involved in an incident, such as 
biting. When parents ask to review the medical log book, the center should have a procedure 
for ensuring that a parent reviewing the record for their own child does not see information 
about another child in care. 

In addition to providing accountability to the parents and the department, bound books and 
recording as specified may be admissible in court as evidence in case of civil suit. 

The log should be kept as long as the center is in operation.  

See Appendix D, Resources List, Center Medication and Injury Log – Directions for Use. 

See DCF 250.07 (6) (k) 1. – EMERGENCY MEDICAL AUTHORIZATION & INJURY 
NOTIFICATION. 

1. The licensee shall maintain a medical log book that has a stitched binding with pages 
that are lined and numbered. 
  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p4/p44397.pdf
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2. Pages may not be removed from the medical log book under subd. 1. and lines may 
not be skipped. Each entry in the log book shall be in ink, dated, and signed or initialed by the 
person making the entry.  

3. A provider shall record all of the following in the medical log under subd. 1.:  
a. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations, or burns seen on a child, 

regardless of whether received in or out of the care of the center.  

It is recommended the provider document any comments made by a parent or child regarding 
injuries or bruises noted. 

See Appendix D, Resources List, Center Medication and Injury Log – Directions for Use. 

b. Any injuries received by a child while in the care of the center on the date the injury 
occurred. The record shall include the child’s name, the date and time of the injury, and a 
brief description of the facts surrounding the injury.  

Not every injury will be apparent immediately. It is recommended to record every accident / 
incident. For example, a child bumps their head and no mark or bump is readily apparent but 
there is the potential for a mark, bump or bruise to develop. This accident should be recorded. 

c. Any medication dispensed to a child, on the date the medication is dispensed. The 
record shall include the name of the child, type of medication given, dosage, time, date, and 
the initials or signature of the person administering the medication.  

d. Any incident or accident that occurs when the child is in the care of the center that 
results in professional medical evaluation.  

Note: See s. DCF 250.04 (8) for requirements related to reporting suspected child abuse or 
neglect. 

(f) Medications.  
1. A provider may give prescription or non-prescription medications such as pain 

relievers, teething gels or cough syrup to a child only under the following conditions: 

These rules allow prescription and non-prescription medication to be administered by the 
center under controlled circumstances as specified. The center health policy may be more 
stringent than the rule, such as not allowing any medication or only prescription medication. It 
is recommended that the medication administration procedures be included in information 
that is shared with parents upon admission. A written authorization from the parent is 
required for each medication and is time limited. 

Any over-the-counter topical, non-medicated lotion, cream, lip balm, or salve preparation may 
be applied to children upon authorization from the parent. The application information for non-
medicated topical preparations does not need to be recorded in the center medical log.  

Centers should ensure they meet any requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

See DCF 250.09 (4) (g) – INFANT & TODDLER - DIAPERING LOTIONS, POWDERS, SALVES. 

a. A completed written authorization on a form provided by the department, dated and 
signed by the parent is on file. Authorizations that exceed the period of time specified on the 
label are prohibited. 

It is recommended that medication authorization forms be kept with the medication during 
the specified time period. After the administration time period has passed, the authorization 
form should be placed in the child’s file. 

It is acceptable to keep the original authorization with the medication and a copy of the 
authorization in the child’s file or vice versa. 

Authorizations that exceed the period of time specified on the label are permitted if authorized 
or prescribed by a physician. 
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250.07(6)(f)1.a. Note: 

Note: The department’s form, Authorization to Administer Medication — Child Care Centers, is 
used to obtain the parent’s authorization to provide medications. Information on how to obtain the 
form is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional 
licensing office in Appendix A. 

b. The medication is in the original container and labeled with the child’s name and with 
dosage and administration directions. 

The rule requires that the dosage instructions must be included on the medication label. For 
some types of over the counter medications, such as Tylenol or cold syrup, the label 
instructions indicate that a physician should be consulted for children under a certain age 
(typically under age 2 years). 

The Authorization to Administer Medication form includes a statement to be initialed by the 
child’s parent indicating the child’s physician has been consulted and the dosage instructions 
are consistent with the physician’s recommendation. A parent’s authorization may not exceed 
the time specified on the label of the medication. 

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that over-the-counter multi-symptom cold 
products not be used for children under the age of 4 years. 

c. A written record, including the name of the child, type of medication given, dosage, 
time, date and the initials or signature of the person administering the medication shall be 
made in the medical log on the same day that the medication is administered.  

3. Medications shall be stored so that they are not accessible to children.  
4. Medications requiring refrigeration shall be kept in the refrigerator in a separate, 

covered container clearly labeled “medications.” 

Medications should be stored at temperatures in accordance with label instructions. 

5. No medication intended for use by a child in the care of the center may be kept at the 
center without a current medication administration authorization from the parent. 

Leftover medication or medication past its expiration date should be returned to the parent or 
discarded in a safe manner after the duration of the illness. 

6. Medication for a child in care shall be administered by the center as directed on the 
label and as authorized by the parent. 

If a medication authorization from the parent conflicts with the label instructions, the label 
instructions take precedence unless there is written authorization from the physician 
indicating a different dose or time frame. 

A medication past the expiration date as indicated on the label may not be administered to a 
child. It is recommended that medications kept on hand for chronic conditions, such as 
asthma inhalers, allergy epinephrine auto-injectors, seizure medications, etc., be reviewed 
periodically for expiration dates. 

(g) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a child’s hands shall be washed with soap and 
warm running water before meals or snacks, after handling pets or other animals, and after 
toileting or diapering. A child’s hands and face shall be washed when soiled. For children 
under one year of age, hands may be washed with soap and a wet fabric or a paper 
washcloth that is used once and discarded. 

Washing in a common bucket or pan is allowed after certain activities, such as finger painting, 
if this preliminary washing to eliminate excess paint is immediately followed up by individual 
hand washing under running water with soap. 
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250.07(6)(g)2. 

2. If running water is not immediately available when outdoors or on field trips, soap and 
water-based wet wipes may be used. When running water becomes available, hands shall be 
washed immediately with soap and running water.  

3. Disinfecting hand sanitizers may not replace the use of soap and water for washing 
hands.  

4. Bodily secretions from a child shall be wiped with a disposable tissue.  

Examples of bodily secretions are vomit, blood, nasal discharge, etc. 

5. All providers shall use universal precautions when exposed to blood or bodily fluids or 
discharges containing blood.  

6. All persons working with children in care shall wash their hands with soap and warm 
running water before handling food, before and after assisting with toileting or diapering, 
after handling pets or animals, and after being exposed to blood or bodily fluids containing 
blood or other types of bodily secretions. If gloves are used, hands shall be washed after 
removal of gloves.  

7. Single use disposable gloves shall be worn if there is contact with bodily fluids or 
tissue discharges that contain blood. Gloves shall be discarded in plastic bags. 

“Single use disposable gloves” means non-porous gloves without obvious seams made from 
latex, natural rubber, or plastic in various forms. 

(h) Health precautions. 
1. Surfaces exposed to bodily secretions, including toys, equipment, and furnishings, 

shall be washed with soap and water and disinfected. The disinfectant solution used shall 
be one that is registered with the U.S. environmental protection agency as a disinfectant and 
has instructions for use as a disinfectant on the label. The solution shall be prepared and 
applied as indicated on the label.  

See Appendix D Resource List, Prevention of Exposure to Blood and Body Fluids; and OSHA 
Regulations on Bloodborne Pathogens. The Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) is responsible for enforcing its standards. 

See Appendix D Resource List, Cleaning, Sanitizing and Disinfecting in Child Care Settings. 
Care should be used with the disposal of gloves and soiled items. 

2. Soap, towels or an air dryer, toilet paper, and a waste paper container shall be 
provided in the washroom and accessible to children.  

3. Towels and washcloths shall be individual to each person and used only once. Cups, 
eating utensils, or toothbrushes may not be shared.  

Toothbrushes are not required unless providing night care. However, if a center chooses to 
have children brush their teeth, toothbrushes must be labeled and/or stored so that they do 
not touch each other, and each child must use their own brush each time. 

See DCF 250.10 (2) (c) – NIGHT CARE – SLEEPING GARMENTS AND TOOTHBRUSHES. 

4. Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly from an available supply of clean 
clothing. 

4m. Children shall be clothed in seasonally appropriate clothing when outdoors. 

Changes of clothing may be provided by the parent or may be supplied by the center providing 
it is clean, gender neutral, and in a variety of sizes. If parents do not supply the clothing, the 
center is responsible for providing a backup supply of clothing. 

5. Section DCF 250.09 (4) applies when a child 2 years of age or older needs attention 
for diapering or toileting.  
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250.07(6)(h)6. 

6. As appropriate, children shall be protected from sunburn and insect bites with 
protective clothing, sunscreen, or insect repellent. Sunscreen and insect repellent may only 
be applied upon the written authorization of the parent. The authorization shall include the 
ingredient strength and be reviewed and updated periodically. If sunscreen or insect 
repellent is provided by the parent, the sunscreen or repellent shall be labeled with the 
child’s name. Recording the application of sunscreen or insect repellent is not necessary. 

Alternatives to traditional insect repellants (e.g. Skin So Soft, repellants containing citronella 
or homeopathic ingredients, etc.) may be used if authorized in writing by the parent. 

The center health policy should address at what age children will be allowed to self-apply 
these items and the procedure for ensuring that the application is completed in a way that will 
protect children. 

(k) Injuries. 
1. Written permission from the parent to call the child’s physician or refer the child for 

medical care in case of injury shall be on file at the center. A provider shall contact a parent 
of the injured child as soon as possible after an emergency has occurred or, if the injury is 
minor, when the child is picked up.  

A minor injury is one that can be treated at the center, such as bruises or scrapes. Slivers that 
can be removed without the use of a tweezers or other device may be removed. The wound 
should be washed with soap and water and protected. 

It is recommended that a reputable children's first aid manual or chart be readily available in 
the center for use by staff. 

See Appendix D, Resource List, Situations That Require Medical Attention Right Away. 

Note: See DCF 250.04 (3) (a) regarding reporting injuries that require medical attention to the 
Department within 48 hours after the occurrence. 

See DCF 250.04 (3) (a). Reporting is required within 24 hours after an incident or accident that 
results in professional medical evaluation.  

Note: The department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, includes authorization for the center to 
obtain emergency medical care for a child. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the 
department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

2. Superficial wounds shall be cleaned with soap and water only and protected with a 
bandaid or bandage.  

See DCF 250.07 (6) (f) – MEDICATION ADMINISTRATION. Since the administering of non-
prescriptive medication must be at specific parent direction for each incident, no medication 
(including anti-bacterial creams or ointments) may be given to the child by the center for 
injuries. 

3. Suspected poisoning shall be treated only after consultation with a poison control 
center.  

The statewide poison control number is (800) 222-1222. Calling 911 does not automatically 
connect the caller with poison control.  

Activated charcoal or any other vomit-inducing substance may only be used if advised by the 
poison control center. 

See Appendix D, Resources List, Common Plants – What’s Poisonous and What’s Not? 

4. The licensee shall designate a planned source of emergency medical care, such as a 
hospital emergency room, clinic or other constantly staffed facility and shall advise parents 
about that designation. 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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The center may advise parents about the designated emergency medical facility by posting 
this information in a visible place at the center or putting the information in policies or 
handbooks shared with parents. 

(7) PETS AND ANIMALS.  

This section does not apply to service animals. Therapy animals and emotional support 
animals are considered pets and this section applies. 

(a) Animals shall be maintained in good health and appropriately immunized against 
rabies. Rabies vaccinations shall be documented with a current certificate from a 
veterinarian.  

Dogs, cats, and ferrets must be vaccinated against rabies as documented by a current 
vaccination certificate. Other immunizations frequently given to dogs and cats are to prevent 
disease that is not communicable to children. Initial rabies immunization for dogs should be 
administered by five months of age and within one year after the initial immunization. Initial 
rabies immunization for cats should be administered at 8 – 12 weeks of age and within one 
year after initial immunization. Initial rabies immunization for ferrets should be administered 
at 12 weeks. Subsequent immunizations are to be administered at intervals stated on the 
certificate of vaccination. If no date is specified, the dog shall be vaccinated within three years 
of the previous vaccination, as specified in s. 95.21 (2) Wis. Stats. Wisconsin law does not 
allow persons to vaccinate their own animals for rabies. 

Pets suspected of being ill or infested with external lice, fleas, and ticks or internal worms 
shall be removed from the center. 

Barn cats that do not come in contact with child care children are not required to be 
vaccinated. 

(b) Animals that pose any risk to the children shall be restricted from the indoor and 
outdoor areas used by children. 

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), due to the risk of 
exposing children to salmonella and other diseases, chickens and ducks should not be in 
areas accessible to children under age 5 years unless the parents acknowledge in writing that 
the children will be allowed to have contact with the animals and the children wash their 
hands immediately after touching the animals. 

 (c) Licensees shall ensure that parents are aware of the presence of pets and animals in 
the center. If pets and animals are allowed to roam in areas of the center occupied by 
children, written acknowledgement from the parents shall be obtained. If pets are added 
after a child is enrolled, parents shall be notified in writing prior to the pets’ addition to the 
center. 

Documentation may be a signature sheet on the policies or other form developed by the 
provider. The sheet should contain the name and breed of the animal and what kind of access 
the animal will have with the children. The licensee may keep this information with the pet 
records. 

Visits to petting zoos are permitted. Pets or animals brought into the center for the purpose of 
exposing the children to animals must be handled carefully to ensure that the children and 
animals are protected. It is recommended that parents be notified in advance when an animal 
will visit. 
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(d) Reptiles, amphibians, ferrets, poisonous animals, psittacine birds, exotic and wild 
animals may not be accessible to children. 

“Not accessible” means the animal may not have any physical contact with the children, 
including the children reaching over or through a barrier to touch the animal. A kennel, cage, or 
gate in the child care area that has any opening large enough for a child’s fingers to get 
through is considered accessible and may not be used to separate an animal from the 
children. 

Note: Psittacine birds are hooked bill birds of the parrot family that have 2 toes forward and 2 
toes backward, including macaws, grays, cockatoos and lovebirds. 

(e) All contact between pets or animals and children shall be under the sight and sound 
supervision of a provider who is close enough to remove the child immediately if the pet or 
animal shows signs of distress or aggression, the child shows signs of distress, or the child 
is treating the animal inappropriately.  

Examples of aggressive behaviors include showing teeth, growling, hissing, excessive barking, 
hair standing up on the animal’s back, or tail between their legs. 

(f) Pets are prohibited in any food preparation or serving area when food is being 
prepared or served unless the pet is confined in a cage or kennel. Litter boxes are prohibited 
in any food preparation, storage or serving areas. Litter boxes and animal feeding dishes, 
excluding water dishes, may not be placed in areas accessible to children. 

Fish in an aquarium may be in a kitchen or food service area without an exception. 

(g) Indoor and outdoor areas accessible to children shall be free of pet and animal 
excrement. 

All areas accessible to children during hours of operation, including entrance/exit areas, must 
be free of pet and animal excrement. 

(i) Licensees shall ensure that the center is in compliance with all applicable local 
ordinances regarding the number, types and health status of pets and animals. 
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DCF 250.08 Transportation.  

(1) APPLICABILITY. 
(a) Except as provided in par. (b), this section applies to all transportation of children in 

care, including both regularly scheduled transportation to and from the center and field trip 
transportation, if any of the following apply:  

If a child care center contracts (either verbally or in writing) with a bus company or other agency 
and the driver and vehicle are regulated under ch. Trans 300 Transportation of School Children, 
the driver and vehicle do not need to meet the requirements under subsections (4) DRIVER and 
(5) VEHICLE. Subsection (8) (a) below will be monitored annually for compliance. A written 
contact between the center and the transportation company is recommended. The licensee is 
responsible for ensuring that all applicable rules are met.  

This rule does not apply when a center contracts for regularly scheduled transportation to and 
from the local school district school with the local school district bus company. The Alternate 
Arrival / Release Agreement form may be used to obtain authorization from the parent to have 
the local school bus company provide the transportation. See Appendix F – Instructions for 
Obtaining Department Forms. 

See DCF 250.04 (3) – DEFINITION – CENTER PROVIDED TRANSPORTATION 

See DCF 250.04 (6) (b) – CURRENT, ACCURATE DAILY ATTENDANCE RECORD. 

1. The licensee owns or leases the vehicle used.  
2. The licensee contracts with another person or organization that owns or leases the 

vehicle used.  
3. Employees, parents, or volunteers are transporting children other than their own at the 

direction of, at the request of, or on behalf of the licensee.  
(b) The following requirements do not apply to transportation provided in vehicles 

owned and driven by parents or volunteers who are not counted in the staff-to-child ratios 
specified in Table DCF 250.055: 

1. The requirement that a licensee obtain a copy of the driver’s driving record and review 
it under sub. (4) (c).  

2. The requirement to provide evidence that the vehicle is in safe operating condition at 
12-month intervals under sub. (5) (b).  

3. The requirements related to child care vehicle safety alarms under sub. (8).  
(c) The licensee shall document in the licensee’s policies that transportation provided 

through a written or verbal contract with another person or organization meets the 
requirements of this section.  

(2) PERMISSION AND EMERGENCY INFORMATION. Before transporting a child, a licensee shall 
obtain signed permission from the parent for transportation and emergency information for 
each child. The form shall include all of the following information:  

(a) The purpose of the transportation and the parent’s permission to transport the child 
for that purpose.  

(b) An address and telephone number where a parent or other adult can be reached in an 
emergency.  

(c) The name, address, and telephone number of the child’s health care provider.  
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250.08(2)(d) 

(d) Written consent from the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment.  

A copy of the child’s current enrollment form will also contain the information required under 
this rule. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, to obtain consent of 
the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on how to obtain forms is available 
on the department’s website, https:/dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(3) REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR EACH TRIP. The licensee shall ensure that written 
documentation of all of the following is maintained at the center and in any vehicle 
transporting children while the children are being transported:  

(a) A list of the children being transported. 
(b) A copy of the completed permission and emergency information form under sub. (2) 

for each child being transported.  
(c) For transportation to or from a child’s home or school, the transportation route and 

scheduled stops. 

(4) DRIVER.  
(a) The driver of a vehicle used to transport children in care shall be at least 18 years of 

age and shall hold a valid driver’s license from the state where the driver resides and for the 
type of vehicle driven.  

This is in conformity with Wisconsin Statutes 121.555, which prohibits anyone under 18 years 
old from driving children. No exceptions will be granted. 

A person may have a driver’s license card that has not expired but still have the license 
suspended or revoked. The only way to ensure that a driver’s license has not been suspended 
or revoked (and is still valid) is through a check of the person’s driving record maintained by 
the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, https://wisconsindot.gov, or by the department 
of transportation for the person’s state of residence. 

See DCF 250.03 (3) – DEFINITION – CENTER-PROVIDED VEHICLE. 

(b) Before a driver who is not the licensee first transports children and annually 
thereafter, the licensee shall provide the driver with an orientation. The licensee shall 
document the training. The training shall include all of the following:  

The department’s form Driver Training Checklist – Child Care Centers may be used for 
documenting training. 

1. The procedure for ensuring that all children are properly restrained in the appropriate 
child safety seat.  

2. The procedure for loading, unloading, and tracking of children being transported.  
3. The procedure for evacuating the children from a vehicle in an emergency.  
4. Behavior management techniques for use with children being transported.  
5. A review of applicable statutes and rules affecting transportation of children.  
6. A review of applicable center policies.  
7. First aid procedures.  
8. A review of child abuse and neglect laws and center reporting procedures.  
9. Information on any special needs a child being transported may have and the plan for 

how those needs will be met. 
10. A review of the use of the vehicle alarm, if applicable.  
11. Any other job responsibilities as determined by the licensee. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://wisconsindot.gov/
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(c) 1. Prior to the day a driver first transports children in care and annually thereafter, the 
licensee shall obtain a copy of the driving record for each driver and place the record in the 
staff file. The licensee shall review each driving record to ensure that the driver has no 
accidents or traffic violations that would indicate that having children ride with the driver 
could pose a threat to the children.  

2. In determining whether a driver may pose a threat to the children, the licensee shall 
consider the totality of the driver’s record, any other relevant facts, and the following factors 
in combination:  

a. The seriousness of any accidents or violations.  
b. The amount of time that has passed since an accident or violation occurred.  
c. The number of accidents or violations.  
d. The likelihood that a similar incident will occur.  
3. A driver whose driving record indicates that the driver poses a threat to the children 

may not transport children.  
Note: Information on how to obtain driving records may be obtained by contacting the 

Department of Transportation at (608) 261-2566 or 
http://dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/point/abstract.htm.  

(d) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a driver of a vehicle that is transporting children in 
care may not use a cellular phone or other wireless telecommunication device while loading, 
unloading, or transporting children, except when the vehicle is out of traffic, not in operation, 
and any of the following applies:  

a. The phone or device is used to call 911.  
b. The phone or device is used to communicate with emergency responders.  
c. The phone or device is used to communicate with the center regarding an emergency 

situation. 
2. A navigation device may be used during transportation of children if the device is 

programmed to a destination when the vehicle is out of traffic and not in operation. 

(5) VEHICLE.  
(a) The licensee shall ensure that each vehicle that is used to transport children is all of 

the following:  
1. Registered with the Wisconsin department of transportation or the appropriate 

authority in another state.  
2. Clean, uncluttered, and free of obstruction on the floors, aisles, and seats.  
3. In safe operating condition.  
(b) At 12-month intervals, the licensee shall provide the department with evidence of a 

vehicle’s safe operating condition on a form provided by the department.  

The Vehicle Safety Inspection form is to be signed by the owner/employee of a bona fide 
repair business such as a garage, auto repair shop or service station. The name of the repair 
business should appear on the form in addition to the signature. Signatures of persons not 
associated with a firm doing repair business with the public will not be acceptable. If the 
inspection report indicates needed repairs, the vehicle must be repaired, and the center must 
provide evidence of the necessary repairs, prior to transporting children.  

New and used vehicles purchased from an authorized dealer with inspection report will be 
accepted for one year. 

If a vehicle used to transport children has been involved in an accident, the department may 
request evidence that the vehicle is in safe operating condition. 

  

http://dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/point/abstract.htm
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The use of a 9- to 15-passenger van to transport children is not recommended. Federal law 
prohibits schools and school systems from purchasing or leasing a new 15-passenger van if it 
will be used significantly by the school or school system to transport preschool and school-
aged children to or from school or school-related events. More information is available on the 
National Highway Transportation Safety Administration website: https://www.nhtsa.gov/road-
safety/15-passenger-vans. See Appendix D Resource List, Transporting Children in 10+ 
Passenger Vehicles to and From School. 

See DCF 250.03 (3) – DEFINITION – CENTER-PROVIDED VEHICLE. 

Note: The department’s form, Vehicle Safety Inspection, is used to record evidence of the 
vehicle’s safe operating condition. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the 
department’s website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(c) The licensee shall obtain and maintain vehicle liability insurance with minimums no 
less than those specified in subch. VI. of ch. 344, Stats.  

(d) Hired or contracted school buses used to transport children shall be in compliance 
with ch. Trans 300.  

(e) At least once per year, the licensee shall make available to the department each 
vehicle that is required to have a child safety alarm under sub. (8) (a) to determine whether 
the child safety alarm is in good working order. 

 
(6) SEAT BELTS AND CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINTS. 
(a) No person may transport a child under 8 years of age in a motor vehicle, unless the 

child is restrained in a child safety restraint system that is appropriate to the child’s age and 
size in accordance with s. 347.48 Stats., and ch. Trans 310.  

Most child safety seats have an expiration date embossed in plastic on the bottom of the 
seat. Child safety seats may not be used past their expiration date. 

An integrated child safety seat may be used by children who meet the age, height, and/or 
weight requirements identified by the manufacturer of the vehicle. 

LIST OF RESTRAINTS: A list of currently approved child safety restraints and recalls may be 
obtained from the Wisconsin Information Network for Safety (715) 843-1890 or from the web 
site www.safekidswi.org. 

All child safety restraints sold in the USA are required to comply with the dynamic testing 
requirements of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) #213, Child Restraint 
Systems. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has developed an ease 
of use rating system of child safety restraints to help provide information about which child 
safety seat may be most appropriate for a child. See http://www.nhtsa.gov/Safety/CPS for 
more information on child safety restraints. Most child safety seats have an expiration date 
embossed in plastic on the bottom of the seat. Seats may not be used past their expiration 
date. 

Information on Recalled Car Safety Seats can be found at http://www-
odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/owners/SearchChildSeats. 

Information on the Wisconsin Child Passenger Safety Law can be found on the Department of 
Transportation website: http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/child-
safety/cps-law-card.pdf.  

  

https://www.nhtsa.gov/road-safety/15-passenger-vans
https://www.nhtsa.gov/road-safety/15-passenger-vans
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://www.nhtsa.gov/Safety/CPS
http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/owners/SearchChildSeats
http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/owners/SearchChildSeats
http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/child-safety/cps-law-card.pdf
http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/child-safety/cps-law-card.pdf
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250.08(6)(a) continued 

See Appendix D, Resource List, Car Safety Seat Information. 

 
Note: For further information on child safety restraints, see 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx. 
(b)1. Each child who is not required to be in an individual child car safety seat or booster 

seat when being transported under par. (a) shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in 
accordance with 347.48, Stats., and ch. Trans 315.  

2. Each adult in the vehicle shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in accordance with 
347.48, Stats., and ch. Trans 315. 

3. Seat belts may not be shared.  
(c) Children transported in school buses or vehicles built to school bus standards shall 

be properly seated according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  

If a center owns, leases, or contracts for a school bus, seat belts or car safety seats are not 
required because these vehicles were constructed to carry children without such devices. 

For additional information, contact the NHTSA Vehicle Safety Hotline at (888) 327-4236. 

(d) Children under 13 years of age who are in the care of the center may not ride in the 
front seat of a vehicle. 
  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx
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250.08(7) 

(7) VEHICLE CAPACITY AND SUPERVISION. 
(a) The center shall be responsible for a child from the time the child is placed in a 

vehicle until the child reaches his or her destination and is released to a person responsible 
for the child. A parent of a school age child may authorize a child to enter a building 
unescorted.  

Note: Form, Transportation Permission - Child Care Centers, may be used to designate an adult to 
receive a child being transported. The form is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

Children are considered in care as soon as they are picked up by center-provided 
transportation. 

See DCF 250.04 (6) (b) – CURRENT, ACCURATE DAILY ATTENDANCE RECORD. If the center 
picks up a child from their home or a designated pick-up or drop-off point, the daily 
attendance record must indicate the actual time the child was picked up and/or dropped off. 
Daily vehicle attendance records may be separate from the daily attendance record 
maintained to indicate when the child is at the center. 

See DCF 250.04 (2) (e) 3. – POLICY SUBMITTED & IMPLEMENTED - ABSENCES. If the center 
provides transportation services from the child’s home to the center, the procedure should 
address how the center is to be notified that a child is not attending that day (i.e. sign in the 
window of the home that the child is not attending, prior notification to the center that the 
child is not attending, a second adult on the vehicle walks to the door to pick up the child and 
is told that the child is not attending, etc.)  If the center is not notified that a child will not 
attend, the parent must be notified if the child does not arrive at the center as expected. 

(b) Children may not be left unattended in a vehicle.  
(c) When children are transported in a vehicle, there shall be at least one adult supervisor 

in addition to the driver whenever there are more than 3 children who are either under 2 
years of age or who have a disability that limits their ability to respond to an emergency.  

When evaluating the need to have an adult supervisor (in addition to the driver) present in the 
vehicle, the center needs to consider the ability of the child with a disability to evacuate the 
vehicle with limited additional help from the driver, the number and ages of other children 
being transported, and whether any children being transported have a behavioral history that 
might be disruptive during transportation. 

(d) The licensee shall develop and implement a procedure to ensure that all children exit 
the vehicle after being transported to a destination. 

(e) No child may be in a vehicle for transport to or from a center, a field trip, or other 
center activity for more than 60 minutes for a one-way trip. 

(8) CHILD CARE VEHICLE SAFETY ALARM. 

This section also applies to hired or contracted school buses. Alarms must be installed in 
accordance to manufacturer specifications.  

(a) A vehicle shall be equipped with a child safety alarm that prompts the driver to 
inspect the vehicle for children before exiting if all of the following conditions apply:  

1. The vehicle is owned or leased by a licensee or a contractor of a licensee.  
2. The vehicle has a seating capacity of 6 or more passengers plus the driver. The 

seating capacity of the vehicle shall be as determined by the manufacturer.  
3. The vehicle is used to transport children in care.  
(b) No person may shut off a child safety alarm unless the driver first inspects the 

vehicle to ensure that no child is left unattended in the vehicle.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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250.08(8)(c) 

(c) The child safety alarm shall be in good working order each time the vehicle is used 
for transporting children to or from a center.  

Note: Information on the required vehicle safety alarm is available on the department’s website at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/providers. 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccregulation/providers
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DCF 250.09 Additional requirements for infant and toddler care. 

(1) APPLICABILITY, QUALIFICATIONS AND GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
(a) Family child care centers providing care and supervision to infants and toddlers shall 

comply with the additional requirements of this section. 
(c) General requirements. 
1. A provider shall use information obtained on a department-provided form for children 

under 2 years of age to individualize the program of care for each child. The information 
shall be at the center before the child is left for care on the child’s first day of attendance. A 
provider and the child’s parents shall periodically discuss the child’s development and 
routines.  

Note: The department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0061-E, Intake for Child under 2 Years – Child Care Centers, is 
used to record information for individualizing the program of care for each child. Information on how to 
obtain the form is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional 
licensing office in Appendix A. Wisconsin has an information and referral service for persons with questions 
or concerns about a child’s development called Well Badger Resource Center that is available to the public 
24 hours a day, 7 days a week. When a call is placed to Well Badger Resource Center at 1-800-642-7837, the 
caller will learn about early intervention services as well as other related services in the area. When a provider 
or a parent has concerns about a child’s growth or development a referral to a Birth-to-Three agency should 
be considered to determine if the child is eligible for special services. With parental consent and consultation, 
it is recommended that centers who care for children who have an Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) 
coordinate programming activities with the local Birth-to-Three agency. 

A center may use the department’s Intake for Child Under 2 Years – Child Care Centers form, 
may choose to use their own paper form, or may use an electronic form or system to capture 
the same information included on the department’s Intake for Child Under 2 Years – Child 
Care Centers form. No exception is necessary. It is the child care program/provider’s 
responsibility to be able to access the electronic form to respond to the licensor’s request to 
review information.  

Written evidence of the periodic discussions is not required but updating the intake form is 
recommended every 3 months. 

Special emphasis is given to changes in sleeping/nap patterns, dietary needs (e.g., new foods, 
cup, utensils, or self-feeding skills introduced), and introduction of toilet training when age 
appropriate. 

2. Cribs and playpens shall contain a tight-fitting mattress and a mattress covering that 
fits snugly over the mattress.  

3. Sheets or blankets used to cover a child one year of age or older shall be kept away 
from the child’s mouth and nose, and if sleeping in a crib or playpen shall be tucked tightly 
under the mattress.  

If the child pulls the blanket out during nap time, the provider must ensure that the blanket is 
kept away from the child’s mouth and nose. 

4. A child under one year of age may not sleep in a crib or playpen that contains soft or 
loose materials, such as sheepskins, pillows, blankets, flat sheets, bumper pads, bibs, 
pacifiers with attached soft objects, or stuffed animals. No blankets or other items may be 
hung on the sides of a crib or playpen.  

Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards, Guidelines for Early 
Care and Education Programs, a collaborative project of the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
American Public Health Association, and the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in 
Child Care and Early Education, states that swaddling infants is not necessary or recommended. 

Swaddling of infants is permitted if requested by the parent on the department’s form Intake 
for Child Under 2 Years – Child Care Centers, but children may not be swaddled in a blanket. 
  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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250.09(1)(c)4. continued 

 Swaddling an infant is not recommended after one month of age. The use of blanket sleepers 
or sleep sacks is permitted. 

It is recommended that the center get written permission from the child’s parent if swaddling 
is requested. 

Weighted sleep sacks and other weighted products may not be used because an infant is not 
able to remove a weighted object on their own. 

4g. An audio monitoring device shall be used in any area or room where children under 
the age of one year are placed to sleep. 

Audio monitoring devices are to be used to supervise sleeping children only. 

“Area” means a self-contained area separated by permanent walls and has a door or doorway. 
Audio monitoring devices are not required if children sleep in a room, such as the living room, 
while directly monitored by a caregiver. 

Audio monitoring devices do not replace sound supervision. 

4r. Waterbeds may not be used by children under 2 years of age. 
5. Safety gates shall be used at open stairways when children are awake.  

Safety gates shall be installed according to the manufacturer’s specifications at the bottom 
and/or top of stairs depending on where children are. Gates may be installed a maximum of 
18” from the bottom step, or about 3 steps up, taking into consideration the landing surface. 

(2) DAILY PROGRAM. 
(a) Child care providers shall respond promptly to a crying child’s needs. 
(b) Each infant and toddler shall be allowed to form and follow his or her own patterns of 

sleeping and waking. 

Meals should be served related to the child's sleeping schedule rather than the schedule of 
the center. There shall be no specifically scheduled nap time for all infants as a group. As 
children begin to mature, a child's schedule will slowly be changed to eliminate the a.m. nap 
and begin to integrate the child into the center schedule. Priority will continue to be given to 
the individual eating and sleep needs of the child. 

(c) Each child under one year of age shall be placed to sleep on his or her back in a crib 
unless otherwise specified in writing by the child’s physician. The child shall be allowed to 
assume the position most comfortable to him or her when able to roll over unassisted. 

If a child falls asleep in a swing, bouncy seat, car seat, or on the floor, the child must be immediately 
removed from that area and be placed to sleep on their back in the crib assigned to them. 

See the American Academy of Pediatrics recommendations on best safe sleep practices to reduce 
the risk of sleep-related infant death on their webpage here: https://www.aap.org/en/patient-
care/safe-sleep/.  

(d) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and growth experience.  

The center The center shall individualize the program of care for each child in order to 
respond to the child’s developmental rhythms and the parent’s schedule. 

Examples of appropriate activities are: peek-a-boo and other object permanence games; pat-a-
cake and other imitation games; cause and effect activities; stimulating sensory and body 
feelings through touching, cuddling, rocking, etc.; finger games for finger and hand control; 
creating barriers for crawling under and over; practical life experiences. 

https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/safe-sleep/
https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/safe-sleep/
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250.09(2)(e) 

(e) Throughout the day, each infant and toddler shall receive physical contact and attention 
such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and taken on walks inside and outside the center. 

(f) Routines related to activities such as taking a nap, eating, diapering and toileting shall 
be used as occasions for language development and other learning experiences.  

(g) When a non-mobile child is awake, a provider shall change the child’s body position 
and location in the room periodically. Non-mobile awake children shall be placed on their 
stomach occasionally throughout the day. 

(h) Each non-walking child who can creep or crawl shall be given opportunities each day 
to move freely in a safe, clean, open, warm and uncluttered area. 

(i) A provider shall encourage infants and toddlers to play with a wide variety of safe toys 
and objects.  

Family child care centers are to be equipped with play equipment according to the 
developmental level of the children in care. Since children under 2 years of age are not always 
able to select their own playthings from shelves, play equipment should be made available to 
them. Play equipment may be commercially made or homemade. 

See 250.07 (1) (b) – DAILY ACTIVITIES – PLAN FOR AGE & DEVELOPMENT LEVELS. 

 (3) FEEDING. A provider shall do all of the following:  
(a) Feed each infant and toddler on the child’s own feeding schedule. 

A written authorization signed by the parent and the child’s physician is needed if the child is 
to be fed on a schedule that is not the child’s own schedule. 

(b) Ensure that food, breastmilk, and formula brought from home are labeled with the 
child’s name, dated, and refrigerated, if required 

(bm) Ensure each infant and toddler is correctly fed the food, breastmilk, or formula 
labeled with the infant’s or toddler’s name.  

Breast milk is considered food and each bottle or bag must be labeled with the child’s name 
and dated. A formula container will usually indicate a “use by” date. To ensure the formula 
remains in good condition and maintains the required nutritional value, any unused formula 
MUST be discarded after the “use by” date or manufacturer’s recommendation on the 
container, whichever is sooner. Pre-made bottles should be dated to ensure they are used 
according to manufacturer’s directions. 

(c) Ensure that the food, breastmilk, or formula offered to infants and toddlers is 
consistent with the requirements of the U.S. department of agriculture child and adult care 
food program. 

Age-appropriate solid food should not be fed in a bottle unless there is written authorization 
from the child’s physician. 

Note: Information on the meal program requirements of the USDA Child and Adult Care Food 
Program may be found on the website, http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks. 

(d) Provide formula or breast milk to all children under 12 months of age. 
(e) Provide another type of milk or milk substitute only on the written direction of the 

child’s physician. 
(f) Discard leftover milk or formula within 2 hours after each feeding, and rinse bottles 

after use.  

At the parent’s request, any unused formula or breast milk may be returned to the parent. 

 

  

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
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250.09(3)(f) continued 

Freshly expressed breast milk (not frozen) that has not been served to a child may remain at 
room temperature for up to 4 hours. 

Unused frozen breast milk which has been thawed in the refrigerator should be used within 24 
hours; it should never be refrozen. 

See “Ten Steps to Breastfeeding Friendly Child Care Centers” resource kit from the 
Department of Health Services for more information. 

(g) Refrain from heating breast milk or formula in a microwave oven. 

Breast milk should be defrosted in the refrigerator if frozen, and then heated briefly in bottle 
warmers or under warm running water, so the temperature does not exceed 98.6 degrees F. 
After warming, bottles should be mixed gently, not shaken. 

(h) Offer drinking water to infants over 6 months of age and toddlers several times daily.  

It is recommended that water not be given to infants under six months of age unless 
authorized by the child’s physician. Older infants and toddlers should be offered water several 
times a day, especially if outside in the summer or in a very hot environment while inside. 
Offering water at meals, in addition to the required milk or juice, is appropriate. 

(i) Hold a child unable to hold a bottle whenever a bottle is given. Bottles may not be 
propped 

(j) Hold or place a child too young to sit in a highchair or feeding table in an infant seat 
during feeding. Wide-based highchairs with safety straps or feeding tables with safety straps 
shall be provided for children who are not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.  

Booster seats used in accordance with manufacturer instructions and recommendations meet 
the highchair requirement. 

This requirement for a safety strap is intended to prevent the child from standing up in the 
high chair and falling out and to prevent a child from slipping down and under the tray. If the 
highchair or booster seat comes with safety straps, the straps must be used in accordance 
with manufacturer instructions and recommendations.  

(k) Ensure that eating utensils and cups are scaled to the size and developmental level 
of the children. 

(L) Infant bottles and nipples may not be reused without first being cleaned and 
sanitized. 

(4) DIAPERING AND TOILETING. A provider shall do all of the following:  
(a) Change wet or soiled diapers and clothing promptly. 
(b) Change the child on an easily cleanable surface that is cleaned with soap and water 

and a disinfectant solution after each use. The disinfectant solution used shall be one that is 
registered with the U.S. environmental protection agency as a disinfectant and has 
instructions for use as a disinfectant on the label. The disinfectant shall be used according 
to label instructions.  

An easily cleanable surface may be a changing table, a plastic covered mat, a plastic covered 
mattress, or any other surface that is impervious to water and capable of being disinfected. 
Surfaces that are ripped or torn must be replaced. Providers may not change a child directly 
on the floor without an easily cleanable protective barrier. 

All products must be used in a two-step procedure.  First soap and water to rid the surface of 
any organic material and then the disinfectant is to be used. Products containing both a 
cleaner and a disinfectant, such as Clorox cleanup products, must be applied using the 2-step 
process. Be sure to follow product label instructions on wait times. 
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250.09(4)(b) continued 

See Appendix D, Resources List, Cleaning, Sanitizing and Disinfecting in Child Care Settings. 

(c) If the diapering surface is above floor level, use a strap, restraint, or other structural 
barrier to prevent falling. A child may not be left unattended on the diapering surface. 

(d) Place soiled cloth diapers in a plastic bag labeled with the name of the child and 
send them home daily. 

Wet bags, bags that are cloth on the outside and plastic-lined on the inside, meet the intent of 
this rule and no exception is necessary.  

Both the Center for Disease Control and the American Academy of Pediatrics recommend that 
soiled cloth diapers and training pants not be rinsed. The fecal contents may be placed in the 
toilet, but diapers and training pants should not be rinsed in the toilet. 

Bags used for soiled clothing must be kept out of the reach of children. 

It is recommended that reusable waterproof coverings (wrap or pullover) used with cloth 
diapers must be changed after every use. 

(e) Place soiled disposable diapers in a plastic-lined, covered container and dispose of 
them daily. 

A hands-free diaper disposal container will prevent the lid of the container from becoming 
contaminated with bacteria that may be found on the gloves used during the diaper change 
procedure and in urine and fecal material. Care should be taken to keep children away from 
the diaper disposal container. 

(g) Apply lotions, powders or salves to the child during diapering only at the specific 
direction of a parent or the child’s physician. 

(h) Wash the child during diapering with a disposable towel used only once. 
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DCF 250.095 Additional requirements when the licensee is not providing care to children at 
least 50% of the center’s licensed hours. A licensee who does not provide care and 
supervision to children at least 50% of the center’s licensed hours shall comply with the 
following requirements: 

 
(1) The licensee shall complete at least one course from the Registry Administrator 

Credential within one year from the initial date that the licensee is not providing care and 
supervision for at least 50 percent of the center’s licensed hours.  

A course in program administration taken as part of an associate’s or bachelor’s degree in 
early childhood education is acceptable in place of a course in The Registry Administrator 
Credential. A business-related course is acceptable. See Appendix D, Resources List, The 
Registry Administrator Credential. 

 
(2) The licensee shall be responsible for the following: 
(a) Management, finance, physical plant, and day-to-day operations of the center. 
(b) Supervision of the planning and implementation of the center’s program for children. 
(c) Supervision of center staff, including the following duties:  
1. Implement and maintain a written job description for each staff position. 
2. Implement and maintain a written personnel policy that addresses hours of work, 

lunch and break times, holidays, vacations, sick leaves, leaves of absence, probationary 
periods, performance evaluations, grievance procedures, and the disciplinary process. The 
personnel policy shall contain a procedure that requires staff to notify the licensee and the 
licensee to notify the department as soon as possible, but no later than the next business 
day, when any of the following occurs:  

a. The employee has been convicted of a crime. 
b. The employee has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any 

other act, offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or 
threat of abuse or neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to 
misappropriation of a client’s property. 

c. The employee has a substantiated governmental finding against them for abuse or 
neglect of a child or adult or for misappropriation of a client’s property. 

d. A professional license held by the employee has been denied, revoked, restricted, or 
otherwise limited. 

3. Ensure that each employee is familiar with the employee’s job description, personnel 
policies, and applicable licensing rules. 

4. Conduct staff meetings at least 9 times in a calendar year and document that the 
meetings have been held. 

5. Ensure staff compliance with continuing education requirements.  
 
(3) The licensee shall be at the center for at least 30 hours per month for the exclusive 

purpose of carrying out licensee responsibilities in sub. (2). 

The licensee may be counted in the staff-to-child ratio during the time they are present at the 
center. These hours must be documented on the Daily Attendance Record form. Hours when 
the licensee is not counted in the staff-to-child ratio may be documented on a time sheet or 
other record. 
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DCF 250.10 Additional requirements for night care. 

(1) APPLICABILITY. Family child care centers that operate during any period of time 
between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. shall comply with the requirements of this section. 

(2) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
(a) When the same premises are used for the operation of both day care and night care, 

the number of children during any overlapping of the day care and night care periods may 
not exceed the maximum licensed capacity of the center.  

(b) Minimum staff-to-child ratios and group sizes under Table DCF 250.055 shall be 
maintained during night care. 

(c) The parent or center shall provide each child in care after 10:00 p.m. with an 
individually labeled sleeping garment and a toothbrush. 

(3) PROGRAM. 
(a) Child care staff shall ascertain from a child’s parent a child’s typical family activities 

during the period the child is at the center for night care and strive to replicate those 
activities with the child.  

It is recommended that the provider address this in the center’s policies.  

See DCF 250.09 (2) (b) – INFANT TODDLER SLEEP SCHEDULE and 250.09 (3) (a) – INFANT 
TODDLER EATING SCHEDULE. 

(b) A center offering night care shall provide a self-contained room away from sleeping 
children where an awake child may engage in activities. 

(c) An evening and morning schedule of program activities shall be planned for the 
hours that children in night care are awake. 

(d) School-age children shall have an opportunity to read or do school work. 

(4) PREVENTIVE MEASURES. 
(a) A provider shall develop, submit to the department, and implement a plan to evacuate 

sleeping children in an emergency. Review of the plan shall be part of orientation under s. 
DCF 250.05 (3).  

(b) Centers operating during hours of darkness shall have emergency lighting, such as 
an operable flashlight, readily available to a provider.  

(c) Providers shall be awake, available, within call and able to respond to the needs of 
the children whenever children are in care. 

(5) FEEDING. 
(a) Breakfast shall be served to all children in care for the night, unless the parent 

specifies otherwise. 
(b) A nighttime snack shall be available to all children in care.  
(c) A child present at the time the evening meal is served shall be served the evening meal.  

(6) SLEEP. 
(a) Children who attend the center for the evening hours but not the whole night shall 

have an opportunity to sleep, as needed. 
(b) Sleep routines for individual children shall be based on information provided by the parents. 
(c) A bed, crib or cot with sheets and blankets individual to each child shall be provided 

for children spending the night.  
(d) The center shall maintain a supply of extra sleeping garments and bedding for 

emergencies and accidents. 
(e) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs. 

See 250.03 (4m) – DEFINITION – CRIB. Center must follow the manufacturer’s height and 
weight specifications for cribs. 
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DCF 250.11 Licensing administration. 

(1) LICENSING REQUIREMENT. If a person provides care on a regular basis to 4 or more 
children under the age of 7 years, that person shall be deemed to be providing care for 
compensation and shall be licensed. 

(2) GENERAL CONDITIONS FOR APPROVAL OF LICENSE. 
(a) Prior to receiving or continuing a license, an applicant for a license under this chapter 

shall complete all application forms truthfully and accurately and pay all fees and forfeitures 
that are due to the department. 

(am) An applicant for a license to operate a family child care center shall be an 
individual. 

An applicant may set up their business or tax ID as an LLC, but for the purposes of their child 
care license, they cannot apply as an LLC. 

(ar) A person may not be issued a license to operate more than 2 family child care 
centers, unless the license for each center was issued prior to the effective date of this 
subdivision [March 1, 2023]. 

(b) The department may refuse to issue or continue a license if another center operated 
by the licensee is in substantial non-compliance with the licensing rules or has any 
outstanding fines or forfeitures. 

(c) Persons licensed to operate a family child care center shall be responsible, mature 
individuals who are fit and qualified. In determining whether an applicant is fit and qualified, 
the department shall consider any history of civil or criminal violations or other offenses 
substantially related to the care of children by the applicant, owner, manager, representative, 
employee, center resident or other individual directly or indirectly participating in the 
operation of the family child care center. A determination that a person is unfit and 
unqualified includes substantiated findings of child abuse or neglect under ch. 48, Stats., or 
substantiated abuse under ch. 50, Stats., or under similar statutes in another state or 
territory whether or not the abuse or neglect results in a criminal charge or conviction.  

(d) The department shall issue a family child care license to an applicant within 60 
working days after receipt and department approval of a properly completed application, 
satisfactory department investigation and determination that the applicant is fit and 
qualified. Continued licensure requires a licensee to remain fit and qualified. 

Note: See DCF 250.03 (11) for the definition of “fit and qualified.” 
(e) If the department has reason to believe that the physical or mental health of any 

person associated with the care of children at the center or any household resident of the 
center may endanger children in care, the department may require that a written statement 
be submitted by a physician or, if appropriate, by a licensed mental health professional that 
certifies the condition of the individual and the possible effect of that condition on the family 
child care center or the children in care. 

(f) The department may deny or revoke the license if the examination specified under 
par. (e) gives the department reasonable concern for the care of children. 

(g) The department may not process an application for a license if the applicant has had 
a license or certification to operate a child care center revoked or denied within the last 2 
years prior to the date of the application. An applicant is deemed ineligible to submit an 
application for a license and a person may not hire an employee within 2 years from the date 
an applicant or employee had a child care license or certification revoked or denied. 

(h) The department shall consider a licensee who fails to submit any of the materials 
described in sub. (4) or (5) by the expiration or continuation date of a license to have 
surrendered the license and to no longer hold title to the license. The former licensee may 
not continue to operate the child care center. 
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(3) INITIAL APPLICATION FOR A PROBATIONARY LICENSE.  
(a) An applicant for a license shall have obtained pre-licensing technical assistance that 

results in a completed initial licensing study checklist from a representative of the 
department prior to submitting an application for a license.  

Note: 1. Information on how to obtain pre-licensing technical assistance is available from the 
appropriate regional office in Appendix A. The Department will provide the application form to an 
applicant upon completion of the pre-licensing technical assistance. 

Note: 2. An initial licensing study checklist includes a list of those rules that must be met before a 
license can be issued. A copy of the checklist is available from a representative of the Department or 
the appropriate regional office in Appendix A. 

(b) An applicant for a license shall submit an application at least 60 days before the date 
proposed for the center to begin operating. 

(c) An applicant for an initial license shall include all the following with the application form: 
1. The license fee required under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats., applicable fees for child care 

background checks under s. 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 47.715 (3) or 
49.155 (7m) (a) 3., Stats, and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76., Stats. 

2. A completed background check request form for the applicant and, if the center will 
be located in a residence, any household member 10 years of age and above, and any 
applicable fees.  

3. A statement from a representative of the department that details the results of any 
pre-licensing technical assistance. 

4. A statement from the applicant that indicates the center is in compliance with all 
applicable items in this chapter. 

5. Results of a water test if the center has a private well. 
6. Results of a vehicle safety inspection if the center will transport children.  
6m. Documentation of liability insurance on a vehicle used to transport children, as 

required under s. DCF 250.08 (5) (c). 
7. Documentation of liability insurance on the child care business required under s. DCF 

250.04 (2) (g) if the center has cats or dogs that are in areas accessible to children. 
8. A copy of all center policies as specified under s. DCF 250.04 (2) (e). 
9. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 

department’s licensing investigation. 
(d) Upon submission of a complete application, the department shall conduct an 

investigation to determine whether the applicant is eligible for a license. 
(e) If the department determines that the applicant is eligible for a license, the 

department shall issue a probationary license having a 6 month duration. A probationary 
license may be renewed for one 6-month period. 

(f) If the department determines that an application does not comply with the applicable 
requirements of this chapter or the department’s investigation determines that the applicant 
is not eligible for a license, the department may deny the application. 

(4) OBTAINING A REGULAR LICENSE. 
(a) At least 30 days before the expiration date of a probationary license, an applicant for 

license renewal shall submit to the department the following materials: 
1. A completed license application. 
3. The license renewal fee under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats., applicable fees for child care 

background checks under s. 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3), Stats., 
and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats. 

4. Any changes to center policies, if not previously submitted. 
5. Results of a water test if the center has a private well. 
6. Results of a vehicle safety inspection if the center will transport children. 



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.11 LICENSING ADMINISTRATION 

88 
250.11(4)(a)6m. 

6m. Documentation of liability insurance on a vehicle used to transport children as 
required under s. DCF 250.08 (5) (c).  

7. Documentation of liability insurance on the child care business required under s. DCF 
250.04 (2) (g) if the center has cats or dogs that are in areas accessible to children. 

8. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 
department’s licensing investigation.  

(b) If the department determines that the applicant has met the minimum requirements 
for a license under this chapter and if the applicant has paid the applicable fees under ss. 
48.65 and 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a) or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., 
Stats., and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats., the department shall issue the 
applicant a regular license. 

(5) CONTINUING A REGULAR LICENSE. 
(a) A regular license shall be valid indefinitely, unless suspended or revoked by the 

department or surrendered by the licensee. The department shall review a regular license 
every 2 years after the date of issuance.  

(b) At least 30 days before the continuation review date of the license, an applicant for 
license renewal shall submit to the department the following materials: 

1. A completed license continuation application. 
3. The license renewal fee under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats., applicable fees for child care 

background checks under s. 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeitures under s. 48.715 (3) or 
49.155 (7m) (a) 3., Stats., and any unpaid penalties under s. 48.76, Stats. 

4. Any changes to center policies, if not previously submitted.  
5. Results of a water test if the center has a private well. 
6. Results of a vehicle safety inspection if the center will transport children.  
6m. Documentation of liability insurance on a vehicle used to transport children required 

under s. DCF 250.08 (5) (c).  
7. Documentation of the liability insurance on the child care business required under s. 

DCF 250.04 (2) (g) if the center has cats or dogs that are in areas accessible to children. 
8. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 

department’s licensing investigation. 
(c) If the department determines that the licensee has met the minimum requirements 

for a license under this chapter, and if the applicant has paid the applicable fees under ss. 
48.65 and 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a) or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., 
Stats., and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats., the department shall issue the 
applicant a regular license. Regular licenses shall be reviewed and continued for a 2-year 
period. 

(6) AMENDING A LICENSE.  
(a) A licensee shall submit to the department a written request for an amendment to the 

license if the licensee wishes to change any of the following aspects of the license: 
1. A change in the number of children served. 
2. The age range of the children. 
3. The hours of the center’s operation. 
4. The days of the week the center is in operation. 
5. The months of the year the center is in operation. 
6. The name of the center. 
(b) A licensee may not make a change that affects a condition of the license identified 

under par. (a) without the prior written approval of the department. 
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(c) A licensee may not move the center to a new location or change ownership of the 
center without notifying the department at least 30 days prior to the change. A new 
application and license is required when a center moves or changes ownership. 

Note: The department’s form CFS-0067, Initial License Application – Family Child Care Centers, is 
used to apply for a new license. The department will provide an application prior to the continuation 
date for a new license. 

(7) ADDITIONAL LICENSE. A licensee applying for a license for an additional center location 
shall demonstrate compliance with this chapter in the operation of any existing center he or 
she operates and compliance with rules for any other facility licensed by the department and 
operated by the licensee. The licensee shall pay any fines, forfeitures or other fees due and 
owing under s. 48.715, Stats., or s. 48.65, Stats., on other facilities licensed by the 
department before the department issues an additional license. 

(8) LICENSE DENIAL OR REVOCATION.  
(a) The department may deny, revoke or suspend a license, initiate other enforcement 

actions specified in this chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on the license if the 
applicant or licensee, a proposed or current employee, a volunteer, a household member or 
any other person having regular contact with the children is, has or has been any of the 
following:  

1. The subject of a pending criminal charge for an action that substantially relates to the 
care of children or activities of the center. 

2. Convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense that substantially relates to the 
care of children or activities of the center. 

3. Determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has 
been determined to have committed an offense which substantially relates to the care of 
children or the activities of the center. 

4. The subject of a substantiated finding of misconduct in the department’s nurse aide 
registry under s. DHS 129.10. 

5. The subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his or her child, has 
inflicted sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other 
than poverty, to provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter for 
his or her child or ward or a child in his or her care so as to seriously endanger the physical 
health of the child. 

6. Had a child care license or certification revoked or denied within the last 5 years. 
7. Violated any provision of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats., or fails to meet the minimum 

requirements of this chapter. 
8. Made false statements or withheld information. 
(b) The department may deny, revoke, refuse to renew or suspend a license, initiate other 

enforcement actions specified in this chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on the 
license if the applicant or licensee is not fit and qualified as determined under sub. (2). 

Note: See s. DCF 250.03 (11) for the definition of “fit and qualified.”  Examples of charges, 
actions or offenses the Department will consider when making a determination under this paragraph 
that an act substantially relates to the care of children include but are not limited to the following: 
abuse or neglect of a child; sexual assault; abuse of a resident of a facility; a crime against life and 
bodily security; kidnapping; abduction; arson of a building or of property other than a building; robbery; 
receiving stolen property from a child; a crime against sexual morality, such as enticing a minor for 
immoral purposes or exposing a minor to harmful materials; and interfering with the custody of a 
child. This list is illustrative. Other types of offenses may be considered. 
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(c) The department shall deny or refuse to continue or revoke a license if the applicant or 
licensee has failed to pay court-ordered payments of child or family support, maintenance, 
birth expenses, medical expenses or other expenses related to the support of a child or 
former spouse or for the failure of the applicant or licensee  to comply, after appropriate 
notices, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department or a county child support 
agency under s. 59.53 (5), Stats., and related to paternity or child support proceedings, as 
provided in a memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857, Stats. 
Notwithstanding s. 48.72, Stats., an action taken under this subsection is subject to review 
only as provided in the memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857, Stats., 
and not as provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

(d) The department shall deny an application for the issuance or continuation of a 
license or revoke a license if the department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301, Stats., 
that the applicant or licensee is liable for delinquent taxes. An action taken under this 
subsection is subject to review only as provided under s. 73.0301 (5), Stats., and not as 
provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

(9) EFFECT OF NOTICE TO DENY OR REVOKE A LICENSE. 
(a)1. If the department decides under sub. (8) to deny the grant of a license or to revoke 

a license, the department shall notify the applicant or licensee in writing of its decision and 
the reasons for that decision. 

2. If the department revokes a license, the effective date of the revocation shall be either 
immediately or 30 days after the date of the department notice in subd. 1., based on the criteria 
under s. 48.715 (4m) (a) and (b), Stats., unless the decision is appealed under sub. (11). 

(b) Upon receipt of the notice in par. (a) and during any revocation or denial procedures 
that may result, a family child care center may not accept for care any child not enrolled and 
in care as of the date of receipt of the notice without the written approval of the department. 

(10) SUMMARY SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE.  
(a) Under the authority of s. 227.51 (3), Stats., the department shall summarily suspend 

a license and close a family child care center when the department finds that the public 
health, safety or welfare requires emergency action and incorporates a finding to that effect 
into its order. A finding of a requirement for summary suspension of the license may be 
based on any of the following:  

1. Failure of the licensee to provide environmental protections for the children, such as 
heat, water, electricity or telephone service. 

2. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care has been convicted of or has a pending charge for a crime against life or 
bodily security. 

3. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense which 
substantially relates to the care of children or activities of the center or has a pending 
charge which substantially relates to the care of children or activities of the center. 

4. The licensee, employee, volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care is the subject of a current investigation for alleged child abuse or neglect 
pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has been determined by a child protective services agency 
or law enforcement agency to have abused or neglected a child. 

5. The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed an 
action or has created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the child care 
center that directly threatens the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the 
licensee. 
  



 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 250 

DCF-P-PFS4069 (R. 03/2024) DCF 250.11 LICENSING ADMINISTRATION 

91 
250.11(10)(b) 

(b) An order summarily suspending a license and closing a family child care center may 
be a verbal order by a licensing representative of the department. Within 72 hours after the 
order takes effect, the department shall either permit the reopening of the center or proceed 
under subs. (8) or (9) to revoke the license. A preliminary hearing shall be conducted by the 
department of administration’s division of hearings and appeals, within 10 working days 
after the date of the initial order to close, on the issue of whether the license shall remain 
suspended during revocation proceedings. 

(11) APPEAL OF DECISION TO DENY OR REVOKE A LICENSE. Any person aggrieved by the 
department’s decision to deny an initial license or the renewal of a license or to revoke a 
license may request a hearing on that decision under s. 227.42, Stats. The request for a 
hearing shall be in writing and submitted to the department of administration’s division of 
hearings and appeals. The request for a hearing shall be sent to the division of hearings and 
appeals within 10 days after the date of the notice under sub. (9).  

Note: A request for hearing should be submitted by mail to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 
P.O. Box 7875, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7875, or faxed to 608-264-9885. A copy of the request 
should be sent to the appropriate Division of Early Care and Education regional office listed in 
Appendix A. 
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(1) COMPLAINTS. 
(a) Anyone having a complaint about a licensed or illegally operating family child care 

center may submit that complaint to the department by telephone, letter or personal 
interview. A representative of the department shall investigate every complaint. If requested 
by the complainant, the department shall provide the complainant a written report of the 
investigation findings. 

Note: A complaint should be sent, phoned or delivered to the appropriate Division of Early Care 
and Education regional office listed in Appendix A. 

(b) The licensee may not discharge an employee because the employee has reported 
violations of this chapter to the licensing representative. 

(2) INSPECTION. Pursuant to s. 48.73, Stats., the department may visit and inspect any 
family child care center at any time during licensed hours. A department licensing 
representative shall have unrestricted access to the premises identified in the license, 
including access to children in care, staff and child records, and any other materials or 
individuals with information on the family child care center’s compliance with this chapter. 

(3) ENFORCEMENT ACTION. The department may order any sanction or impose any penalty 
on a licensee in accordance with s. 48.686, 48.715, or 48.76, Stats.  
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APPENDIX A 

REGIONAL OFFICES OF THE DIVISION OF EARLY CARE AND EDUCATION 

The Department of Children and Families licenses child care centers through five Division of 
Early Care and Education regional offices. Below are addresses and phone numbers of the 
regional offices and the counties and tribes within each region. 
 

REGIONS  COUNTIES 
Northeastern Regional Office 
200 North Jefferson, Suite 411 
Green Bay, WI  54301 
Gen: (920) 785-7811 
Fax: (920) 785-7869 

 Counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Green 
Lake, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marquette, 
Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, 
Shawano, Sheboygan, Washington, Waupaca, 
Waushara, Winnebago 
Tribes: Menominee, Oneida, Stockbridge-Munsee, 
Ho-Chunk 

Northern Regional Office 
2187 North Stevens Street, Suite C 
Rhinelander, WI  54501 
Gen: (715) 361-7700 
Fax: (715) 365-2517 

 Counties: Ashland, Bayfield, Florence, Forest, Iron, 
Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, Portage, Price, 
Sawyer, Taylor, Vilas, Wood 
Tribes: Bad River, Lac Courte Oreille, Lac du 
Flambeau, Red Cliff, Sokaogon, Forest County 
Potawatomi, Ho-Chunk 

Southeastern Regional Office 
141 NW Barstow, Room 104 
Waukesha, WI  53188-3789 
Gen: (262) 446-7800 
Fax: (262) 446-7991 

 Counties: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Racine, Waukesha 

Southern Regional Office 
201 W Washington Avenue 
P.O. Box 8947 
Madison, WI  53708-8947 
Gen: (608) 422-6765 
Fax: (608) 422-6766 

 Counties: Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, 
Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, 
Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth 
Tribes: Ho-Chunk 

Western Regional Office 
610 Gibson Street, Suite 2 
Eau Claire, WI  54701-3696 
Gen: (715) 930-1148 
Fax: (715) 930-1139 

 Counties: Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, 
Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, LaCrosse, 
Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, 
Trempealeau, Vernon, Washburn 
Tribes: Ho-Chunk 
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APPENDIX B 

KEY STATUTES RELATED TO LICENSING OF CHILD CARE CENTERS 

This appendix is based upon the 2019-20 Wisconsin Statues updated through 2021 Wis. Act 74 and 
through all Supreme Court and Controlled Substances Board Orders filed before and in effect on August 
5, 2021. Only pertinent portions of the statutes are included here and were obtained at 
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov. Action by the legislature may result in changes to these statutes. Only printed 
volumes are Official Text under s. 35.18(2), Wis. Stats. 

 
48.02 Definitions. [2021] 

(8) “Guardian" means the person named by the 
court having the duty and authority of guardianship. 

(13) “Parent" means a biological parent, a husband 
who has consented to the artificial insemination of 
his wife under s. 891.40, or a parent by adoption. If 
the child is a nonmarital child who is not adopted or 
whose parents do not subsequently intermarry under 
s. 767.803, “parent" includes a person conclusively 
determined from genetic test results to be the father 
under s. 767.804 or a person acknowledged under s. 
767.805 or a substantially similar law of another 
state or adjudicated to be the biological father. 
“Parent" does not include any person whose parental 
rights have been terminated. For purposes of the 
application of s. 48.028 and the federal Indian Child 
Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 to 1963, “parent" means a 
biological parent, an Indian husband who has 
consented to the artificial insemination of his wife 
under s. 891.40, or an Indian person who has lawfully 
adopted an Indian child, including an adoption under 
tribal law or custom, and includes, in the case of a 
nonmarital child who is not adopted or whose 
parents do not subsequently intermarry under s. 
767.803, a person conclusively determined from 
genetic test results to be the father under s. 767.804, 
a person acknowledged under s. 767.805, a 
substantially similar law of another state, or tribal law 
or custom to be the biological father, or a person 
adjudicated to be the biological father, but does not 
include any person whose parental rights have been 
terminated. 

(15) “Relative" means a parent, stepparent, brother, 
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, 
brother-in-law, sister-in-law, first cousin, 2nd cousin, 
nephew, niece, uncle, aunt, step-uncle, step-aunt, or 
any person of a preceding generation as denoted by 
the prefix of grand, great, or great-great, whether by 
blood, marriage, or legal adoption, or the spouse of 
any person named in this subsection, even if the 
marriage is terminated by death or divorce. For 
purposes of the application of s. 48.028 and the 
federal Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 to 
1963, “relative" includes an extended family member, 
as defined in s. 48.028 (2) (am), whether by blood, 
marriage, or adoption, including adoption under tribal 
law or custom. For purposes of placement of a child, 
“relative" also includes a parent of a sibling of the 
child who has legal custody of that sibling. 

48.48 Authority of department. [2021] The 
department shall have authority: (10) To license child 
welfare agencies and child care centers as provided 
in s. 48.66(1)(a). 

48.65 Child care centers licensed; fees. [2017] 
(1) No person may for compensation provide care 

and supervision for 4 or more children under the age 
of 7 for less than 24 hours a day unless that person 
obtains a license to operate a child care center from 
the department. To obtain a license under this 
subsection to operate a child care center, a person 
must meet the minimum requirements for a license 
established by the department under s. 48.67, meet 
the requirements specified in s. 48.686, and pay the 
license fee under sub. (3). A license issued under this 
subsection is valid until revoked or suspended, but 
shall be reviewed every 2 years as provided in s. 
48.66 (5). 

(2) This section does not include any of the 
following: 

(a) A parent, grandparent, great-grandparent, step-
parent, brother, sister, first cousin, nephew, niece, 
uncle, or aunt of a child, whether by blood, marriage, 
or legal adoption, who provides care and supervision 
for the child. 

(am) A guardian of a child who provides care and 
supervision for the child. 

(b) A public or parochial school or a tribal school. 
(c) A person employed to come to the home of the 

child's parent or guardian for less than 24 hours a day. 
(d) A county, city, village, town, school district or 

library that provides programs primarily intended for 
recreational or social purposes. 

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (c), before the 
department may issue a license under sub. (1) to a 
child care center that provides care and supervision 
for 4 to 8 children, the child care center must pay to 
the department a biennial fee of $60.50. Except as 
provided in par. (c), before the department may issue 
a license under sub. (1) to a child care center that 
provides care and supervision for 9 or more children, 
the child care center must pay to the department a 
biennial fee of $30.25, plus a biennial fee of $16.94 
per child, based on the number of children that the 
child care center is licensed to serve. A child care 
center that wishes to continue a license issued under 
sub. (1) shall pay the applicable fee under this 
paragraph by the continuation date of the license. A 
new child care center shall pay the applicable fee 
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under this paragraph no later than 30 days before the 
opening of the child care center. 

(b) A child care center that wishes to continue a 
license issued under par. (a) and that fails to pay the 
applicable fee under par. (a) by the continuation date 
of the license or a new child care center that fails to 
pay the applicable fee under par. (a) by 30 days 
before the opening of the child care center shall pay 
an additional fee of $5 per day for every day after the 
deadline that the child care center fails to pay the fee. 

(c) An individual who is eligible for a fee waiver 
under the veterans fee waiver program under s. 45.44 
is not required to pay a fee under par. (a) for a license 
under sub. (1). 

48.66 Licensing duties of the department. [2019] 
(1)(a) Except as provided in s. 48.715 (6) and (7), 

the department shall license and supervise child 
welfare agencies, as required by s. 48.60, group 
homes, as required by s. 48.625, shelter care 
facilities, as required by s. 938.22, and child care 
centers, as required by s. 48.65. The department may 
license foster homes, as provided by s. 48.62, and 
may license and supervise county departments in 
accordance with the procedures specified in this 
section and in ss. 48.67 to 48.74. The department 
may supervise a child care program established or 
contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) that receives 
payment under s. 49.155 for the child care provided. 
In the discharge of this duty the department may 
inspect the records and visit the premises of all child 
welfare agencies, group homes, shelter care facilities, 
and child care centers and visit the premises of all 
foster homes in which children are placed. The 
department may also inspect the records and visit 
the premises of all child care programs established 
or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) that receive 
payment under s. 49.155 for the child care provided. 

(c) A license issued under par. (a) or (b), other than 
a license to operate a foster home or secured 
residential care center for children and youth, is valid 
until revoked or suspended. A license issued under 
this subsection to operate a foster home or secured 
residential care center for children and youth may be 
for any term not to exceed 2 years from the date of 
issuance. No license issued under par. (a) or (b) is 
transferable. 

(2) The department shall prescribe application 
forms to be used by all applicants for licenses from 
it. The application forms prescribed by the 
department shall require that the social security 
numbers of all applicants for a license to operate a 
child welfare agency, group home, shelter care 
facility, or child care center who are individuals, other 
than an individual who does not have a social 
security number and who submits a statement made 
or subscribed under oath or affirmation as required 
under sub. (2m) (a) 2., be provided and that the 
federal employer identification numbers of all 

applicants for a license to operate a child welfare 
agency, group home, shelter care facility, or child care 
center who are not individuals be provided. 

(2m)(a)1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the 
department shall require each applicant for a license 
under sub. (1) (a) to operate a child welfare agency, 
group home, shelter care facility, or child care center 
who is an individual to provide that department with 
the applicant's social security number, and shall 
require each applicant for a license under sub. (1) (a) 
to operate a child welfare agency, group home, 
shelter care facility, or child care center who is not an 
individual to provide that department with the 
applicant's federal employer identification number, 
when initially applying for or applying to continue the 
license. 

2. If an applicant who is an individual does not 
have a social security number, the applicant shall 
submit a statement made or subscribed under oath 
or affirmation to the department that the applicant 
does not have a social security number. The form of 
the statement shall be prescribed by the department. 
A license issued in reliance upon a false statement 
submitted under this subdivision is invalid. 

(b) If an applicant who is an individual fails to 
provide the applicant's social security number to the 
department or if an applicant who is not an individual 
fails to provide the applicant's federal employer 
identification number to the department, that 
department may not issue or continue a license 
under sub. (1) (a) to operate a child welfare agency, 
group home, shelter care facility, or child care center 
to or for the applicant unless the applicant is an 
individual who does not have a social security 
number and the applicant submits a statement made 
or subscribed under oath or affirmation as required 
under par. (a) 2. 

(c) The subunit of the department that obtains a 
social security number or a federal employer 
identification number under par. (a) 1. may not 
disclose that information to any person except to the 
department of revenue for the sole purpose of 
requesting certifications under s. 73.0301 and to the 
department of workforce development for the sole 
purpose of requesting certifications under s. 108.227 
or on the request of the subunit of the department 
that administers the child and spousal support 
program under s. 49.22 (2m). 

(3) The department shall prescribe the form and 
content of records to be kept and information to be 
reported by persons licensed by it. 

(5) A child welfare agency, group home, child care 
center, or shelter care facility license, other than a 
probationary license, is valid until revoked or 
suspended, but shall be reviewed every 2 years after 
the date of issuance as provided in this subsection. 
At least 30 days prior to the continuation date of the 
license, the licensee shall submit to the department 
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an application for continuance of the license in the 
form and containing the information that the 
department requires. If the minimum requirements 
for a license established under s. 48.67 are met, the 
application is approved, the applicable fees referred 
to in ss. 48.68 (1), 48.685 (8), and 48.686 (2) (ag) are 
paid, and any forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a) or 
penalty under s. 48.76 that is due is paid, the 
department shall continue the license for an 
additional 2-year period, unless sooner suspended or 
revoked. If the application is not timely filed, the 
department shall issue a warning to the licensee. If 
the licensee fails to apply for continuance of the 
license within 30 days after receipt of the warning, 
the department may revoke the license as provided in 
s. 48.715 (4) and (4m) (b). 

48.67 Rules governing child welfare agencies, child 
care centers, foster homes, group homes, shelter 
care facilities, and county departments. [2015] The 
department shall promulgate rules establishing 
minimum requirements for the issuance of licenses 
to, and establishing standards for the operation of, 
child welfare agencies, child care centers, foster 
homes, group homes, shelter care facilities, and 
county departments. Those rules shall be designed 
to protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare 
of the children in the care of all licensees. The 
department shall consult with the department of 
safety and professional services, the department of 
public instruction, and the child abuse and neglect 
prevention board before promulgating those rules. 
For foster homes, those rules shall include the rules 
promulgated under s. 48.62 (8). Those rules shall 
include rules that require all of the following: 

(1) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees and volunteers of a child care center, who 
provide care and supervision for children under one 
year of age receive, before the date on which the 
license is issued or the employment or volunteer work 
commences, whichever is applicable, training in the 
most current medically accepted methods of 
preventing sudden infant death syndrome. The rules 
shall provide that any training in those methods that a 
licensee has obtained in connection with military 
service, as defined in s. 111.32 (12g), counts toward 
satisfying the training requirement under this 
subsection if the licensee demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the department that the training 
obtained in that connection is substantially equivalent 
to the training required under this subsection. 

(2) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees and volunteers of a child care center, who 
provide care and supervision for children under 5 years 
of age receive, before the date on which the license is 
issued or the employment or volunteer work 
commences, whichever is applicable, the training 
relating to shaken baby syndrome and impacted 
babies required under s. 253.15 (4) (a) or (c). 

(3) (a) That all child care center licensees, and all 
employees of a child care center, who provide care and 
supervision for children have current proficiency in the 
use of an automated external defibrillator, as defined in 
s. 256.15 (1) (cr), achieved through instruction provided 
by an individual, organization, or institution of higher 
education that is approved under s. 46.03 (38) to 
provide such instruction or through instruction obtained 
by the licensee in connection with military service, as 
defined in s. 111.32 (12g), if the licensee demonstrates 
to the satisfaction of the department that the instruction 
obtained in that connection is substantially equivalent to 
the instruction provided by a person approved under s. 
46.03 (38). 

48.68 Investigation of applicant; issuing of license. 
[2017] 

(1) After receipt of an application for a license, the 
department shall investigate to determine if the 
applicant meets the minimum requirements for a 
license adopted by the department under s. 48.67 
and meets the requirements specified in s. 48.685 or 
48.686, whichever is applicable. In determining 
whether to issue or continue a license, the 
department may consider any action by the applicant, 
or by an employee of the applicant, that constitutes a 
substantial failure by the applicant or employee to 
protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of 
a child. Upon satisfactory completion of this 
investigation and payment of the fee required under 
s. 48.615(1)(a) or (b), 48.625(2)(a), 48.65(3)(a), or 
938.22(7)(b), the department shall issue a license 
under s. 48.66(1)(a) or, if applicable, a probationary 
license under s. 48.69 or, if applicable, shall continue 
a license under s. 48.66(5). At the time of initial 
licensure and license renewal, the department shall 
provide a foster home licensee with written 
information relating to the monthly foster care rates 
and supplemental payments specified in s. 48.62(4), 
including payment amounts, eligibility requirements 
for supplemental payments, and the procedures for 
applying for supplemental payments. 

48.686 Criminal history and child abuse record 
search; child care. [2019] 

(1) In this section: 
(ac) “Approval” means a child care center license 

under s. 48.65, a child care provider certification 
under s. 48.651, or a contract with a child care 
provider under s. 120.13(14). 

(ag) “Caregiver” means any of the following: 
1. An employee or contractor of a child care 

program who is involved in the care or supervision of 
clients. 

1m. A person who has direct contact and 
unsupervised access to clients of a child care 
program. 

2. A person who has, or is seeking, a license, 
certification, or contract to operate a child care 
program. 
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(aj) “Child care program” means a child care center 

that is licensed under s. 48.65 or established or 
contracted for under s. 120.13(14), a child care 
provider that is certified under s. 48.651, or a 
temporary employment agency that provides 
caregivers to another child care program. 

(am) “Client” means a person who receives direct 
care from a child care program, from an entity under 
s. 48.685(1)(b) or from a caregiver specified in s. 
48.685(1)(ag)1.am., including all of the following: 

1. An adopted child for whom adoption assistance 
payments are being made under s. 48.975. 

2. A child for whom subsidized guardianship 
payments are being made under s. 48.623. 

3. A person who is 18 to 21 years old, is receiving 
independent living services under 42 USC 677(a) 
from an agency, is no longer placed in out−of−home 
care, and is residing in the foster home in which he or 
she was previously placed. 

(bm) “Household member” means a person who is 
age 10 or older, who resides, or is expected to reside, 
at a child care program, and who is not a client of the 
child care program or caregiver. 

(bo) “Licensing entity” means all of the following: 
1. The department when licensing a child care 

center under s. 48.65. 
2. The department in a county with a population of 

750,000 or more, a county department, or an agency 
or Indian tribe contracted with under s. 48.651(2) 
when certifying a child care provider under s. 48.651. 

3. A school board when contracting with a child 
care provider under s. 120.13(14). 

(bp) “Noncaregiver employee” means a person 
who provides services to a child care program as an 
employee or a contractor and is not a caregiver, but 
whose work at the child care program provides the 
ability to move freely throughout the premises and 
opportunities for interactions with clients of the child 
care program. 

(br) “Reservation” means land in this state within 
the boundaries of a reservation of a tribe or within the 
bureau of Indian affairs service area for the 
Ho−Chunk Nation. 

(c) “Serious crime” means any of the following: 
1. A violation of s. 940.12, 940.22(2) or (3), 

940.285(2), 940.29, 940.295, or 942.09(2). 
2. A violation of s. 940.302(2) if s. 

940.302(2)(a)1.b. applies. 
3. An offense under ch. 948 that is a felony, other 

than a violation of s. 948.22(2). 
4. A violation of s. 940.19(3), 1999 stats., or of s. 

940.19(2), (4), (5), or (6) or 940.20(1) or (1m), if the 
victim is the spouse of the person. 

5. A violation of s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 
940.06, 940.21, 940.225(1), (2), or (3), 940.23, 
940.305, 940.31, 941.20(2) or (3), 941.21, 943.02, 
943.03, 943.04, 943.10(2), 943.32(2), 948.081, 
948.21, 948.215, or 948.53(2)(b)1. 

6. Only for a caregiver, as defined in par. (ag)2., a 
violation of s. 943.201, 943.203, or943.38(1) or (2); a 
violation of s. 943.34(1), 943.395(1), 943.41(3)(e), 
(4)(a), (5), (6), or (6m), 943.45(1), 943.455(2), 
943.46(2), 943.47(2), 943.50(1m), or 943.70(2)(a) or 
(am) or (3)(a) that is a felony; or an offense under 
subch. IV of ch. 943 that is a felony. 

7. A violation of sub. (2) or s. 48.685(2), (3), 
(4m)(b), or (6), 2015 stats., if the violation involves the 
provision of false information to or the intentional 
withholding of information from, the department, a 
county department, an agency contracting under s. 
48.651(2), a school board, or a child care program. 

8. An offense involving fraudulent activity as a 
participant in the Wisconsin Works program under 
ss. 49.141 to 49.161, including as a recipient of a 
child care subsidy under s. 49.155, or as a recipient of 
aid to families with dependent children under s. 
49.19, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49, 
food stamps benefits under the food stamp program 
under 7 USC 2011 to 2036, supplemental security 
income payments under s. 49.77, payments for the 
support of children of supplemental security income 
recipients under s. 49.775, or health care benefits 
under the Badger Care health care program under s. 
49.665. 

9. A violation of s. 125.075(1), 125.085(3)(a)2., 
125.105(2)(b), 125.66(3), 125.68(12), 940.09, 
940.19(2), (4), (5), or (6), 940.20, 940.203, 940.205, 
940.207, 940.25, or 943.23(1g), a violation of s. 
346.63(1), (2), (5), or (6) that is a felony under s. 
346.65(2)(am)4., 5., 6., or 7. or (f), (2j)(d), or (3m), or 
an offense under ch. 961 that is a felony. 

10. A violation of s. 948.22(2), unless the person 
has paid all arrearages due and is meeting his or her 
current support obligations. 

11. A violation of the law of any other state or 
United States jurisdiction that would be a violation 
listed in subd. 1. to 10. if committed in this state. 

12. A violation of the laws of another state or 
United States jurisdiction that if committed in this 
state would constitute felony battery under s. 
940.19(2), (4), (5), or (6) or 940.20, a felony offense of 
domestic abuse, as defined in s. 813.12(1)(am), a sex 
offense or a violent crime under ch. 948, or a violation 
of s. 940.225 if the victim was a child. 

(2)(a) A licensing entity shall require any person 
who applies for an initial approval to operate a child 
care program to submit the information required for a 
background check request under par. (ag). If the 
licensing entity is a school board, county department, 
or contracted agency or tribe, the licensing entity 
shall submit the completed background information 
request to the department. 

(ab) Each child care program shall submit a 
request to the department for a background check 
for each potential caregiver, noncaregiver employee, 
and household member prior to the date on which an 
individual becomes a caregiver, noncaregiver 
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employee, or household member, and at least once 
during every 5−year period for each existing 
caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household 
member, except if all of the following apply to the 
individual: 

1. The individual has received a background check 
as described in par. (am) while working or seeking 
work with another child care program within the state 
within the last 5 years. 

2. The department provided to the child care 
program under subd. 1. a qualifying background 
check result for the individual. 

3. The individual works or resides at a child care 
program within the state or has been separated from 
work or residence at a child care program within the 
state for a period of not more than 180 consecutive 
days. 

(ag)1. A request for a background check to the 
department under par. (a) or (ab) shall be in the 
manner and on forms prescribed by the department, 
and shall include all of the following: 

a. Fingerprints of the subject that meet the 
standards of the department. 

b. Any additional information that the department 
deems necessary to perform the background check. 

2. A request for a background check is considered 
submitted on the day that the department receives all 
of the information required under subd. 1. 

3. The requester of a background check under this 
paragraph shall submit all fees required by the 
department pursuant to the instructions provided by 
the department, not to exceed the actual cost of 
conducting the background check. 

(am) Upon receipt of a request submitted under 
par. (a) or (ab), the department shall obtain all of the 
following with respect to the individual who is the 
subject of the request: 

1. A fingerprint−based or name−based criminal 
history search from the records maintained by the 
department of justice. 

2. Information that is contained in the registry 
under s. 146.40(4g) regarding any findings against 
the person. 

3. Information maintained by the department of 
safety and professional services regarding the status 
of the person’s credentials, if applicable. 

4. Information maintained by the department 
regarding any final determination under s. 
48.981(3)(c)5m. or, if a contested case hearing is 
held on such a determination, any final decision 
under s. 48.981(3)(c)5p. that the person has abused 
or neglected a child. 

5. Information maintained by the department of 
health services under s. 48.685 regarding any denial 
to the person of a license, continuation or renewal of 
a license, certification, or a contract to operate an 
entity or a child care program, for a reason specified 
in s. 48.685(4m)(a)1. to 5. and regarding any denial 
to the person of employment at, a contract with, or 

permission to reside at an entity or a child care 
program for a reason specified in s. 48.685(4m)(a)1. 
to 5. 

6. Information that is contained in the sex offender 
registry under s. 301.45 regarding whether the person 
has committed a sex offense that is a serious crime. 

7. A fingerprint−based criminal history search 
using the federal bureau of investigation next 
generation identification. 

8. A search of the national crime information 
center’s national sex offender registry. 

9. A search of the following registries, repositories, 
or databases in the state where the caregiver or 
nonclient resident resided for the period starting on 
the date 5 years prior to the department’s receipt of 
the background check request and ending on the 
date the department received the background check 
request: 

a. The state criminal registry or repository. 
b. The state sex offender registry or repository. 
c. The state−based child abuse and neglect 

registry and database. 
10. A search of the department’s background 

check records. 
(ar) After receiving a request under par. (a) or (ab), 

the department shall conduct the background check 
as expeditiously as possible and shall make a good 
faith effort to complete all components of the 
background check no later than 45 days after the 
date on which the request was submitted. 

(bb) If information obtained under par. (am) 
indicates a charge of a serious crime, but does not 
completely and clearly indicate the final disposition 
of the charge, the department shall make every 
reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to 
determine the final disposition of the charge. If 
information submitted to the department under par. 
(ag) indicates a charge or a conviction of a serious 
crime, but information obtained under par. (am) does 
not indicate such a charge or conviction, the 
department shall make every reasonable effort to 
contact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy of the 
criminal complaint and the final disposition of the 
complaint. If information obtained under par. (am), 
information submitted under par. (ag), or any other 
information indicates a conviction of a violation of s. 
940.19(1), 940.195, 940.20, 941.30, 942.08, 
947.01(1), or 947.013 obtained not more than 5 years 
before the date on which that information was 
obtained, the department shall make every 
reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to 
obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and judgment 
of conviction relating to that violation. 

(bd) Notwithstanding par. (am), the department is 
not required to obtain the information specified in 
par. (am)1. to 10., with respect to a household 
member under 18 years of age whose background 
check request under par. (ag) indicates that the 
household member is not ineligible to be permitted to 
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reside at a child care program for a reason specified 
in sub. (4m)(a)1. to 8. and with respect to whom the 
department otherwise has no reason to believe that 
the person is ineligible to be permitted to reside at the 
child care program for any of those reasons. This 
paragraph does not preclude the department from 
obtaining, at its discretion, the information specified 
in par. (am)1. to 10. with respect to a household 
member described in this paragraph. 

(br) The department shall require the person who 
is the subject of a search under par. (am) to be 
fingerprinted on 2 fingerprint cards, each bearing a 
complete set of the person’s fingerprints, or by other 
technologies approved by law enforcement agencies, 
unless the person has previously been fingerprinted 
under this paragraph. 

(3)(am) Every year or at any time that the 
department considers appropriate, the department 
may request the information specified in sub. 
(2)(am)1. to 5. for all caregivers, noncaregiver 
employees, and household members. 

(bm) Annually, by January 1, the department shall 
submit a report to the appropriate standing 
committees of the legislature under s. 13.172(3) 
describing the report prepared under sub. (4p) 

(a) with respect to caregivers specified in sub. 
(1)(ag)2., specifically any information indicating that 
the caregiver is ineligible under sub. (4m)(a) to be 
licensed, certified, or contracted to operate a child 
care program, and describing any action taken in 
response to the receipt of information under sub. 
(2)(am) indicating that such a caregiver is so 
ineligible. 

(4)(a) A child care program that violates sub. (2), 
(3), or (4m)(a) is subject to a forfeiture of not more 
than $1,000 and to other sanctions specified by the 
department by rule. 

(b) A person who provides false information to the 
department under sub. (2) is subject to a forfeiture of 
not more than $1,000 and to other sanctions 
specified by the department by rule. 

(4m)(a) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, and except as 
provided in par. (ad) and sub. (5), a licensing entity 
may not issue an approval to operate a child care 
program to a person, and a child care program may 
not employ or contract with a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee or permit a household 
member to reside at the child care program if the 
licensing entity or child care program knows or 
should have known any of the following: 

1. That the person has been convicted of a serious 
crime or adjudicated delinquent for committing a 
serious crime or that the person is the subject of a 
pending criminal charge or delinquency petition 
alleging that the person has committed a serious 
crime. 

2. That the person is registered or is required to be 
registered on a state sex offender registry or 
repository or the national sex offender registry. 

3. That a unit of government or a state agency, as 
defined in s. 16.61(2)(d), has made a finding that the 
person has abused or neglected any client or 
misappropriated the property of any client. 

4. That a final determination has been made under 
s. 48.981(3)(c)5m. or, if a contested case hearing is 
held on such a determination, a final decision has 
been made under s. 48.981(3)(c)5p. that the person 
has abused or neglected a child. 

5. That the department has determined the person 
ineligible to receive an approval to operate a child 
care program, to be employed by a child care 
program, or to be a household member of a child 
care program. 

6. That the person has refused to provide 
information under sub. (2)(ag), or that the person 
refused to participate in, cooperate with, or submit 
required information for the background check 
described in sub. (2)(am), including fingerprints. 

7. That the person knowingly made a materially 
false statement in connection with the person’s 
background check described in sub. (2). 

8. That the person knowingly omitted material 
information requested in connection with the 
person’s background check conducted under sub. 
(2). 

(ad) A licensing entity may issue an approval to 
operate a child care program to a person conditioned 
on the receipt of the information specified in sub. 
(4p)(a) indicating that the person is not ineligible to 
be so licensed, certified, or contracted with for a 
reason specified in par. (a)1. to 8. 

(c) A child care program may employ or contract 
with a potential caregiver or noncaregiver employee 
or permit a potential household member to reside at 
the child care program for up to 45 days from the 
date a background check request is submitted to the 
department pending the completion of the 
department’s report under sub. (4p)(a) if the 
department provides a preliminary report under sub. 
(4p)(c) to the child care program indicating that the 
individual is not ineligible to work or reside at a child 
care program. At all times that clients of a child care 
program are present, an individual who received a 
qualifying result on a background check described in 
sub. (2)(am) within the past 5 years must supervise a 
potential caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or 
household member permitted to work or reside at the 
child care program under this paragraph. 

(4p)(a) The department shall provide the results of 
the background check to the child care program in a 
written report that indicates only that the individual on 
whom the background check was conducted is 
eligible or ineligible for employment or to reside at the 
child care program, without revealing any disqualifying 
offense or other information regarding the individual. 
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(b) The department shall provide the results of the 

background check to the individual on whom the 
background check was conducted in a written report 
that indicates whether the individual is eligible or 
ineligible for employment or to reside at the child 
care program. If the individual is ineligible for 
employment or to reside at the child care program, 
the department’s report shall include information on 
each disqualifying offense and information on the 
right to appeal. 

(c) Before the department completes its report 
under par. (a), a caregiver under sub. (1)(ag)2. may 
submit a written request to the department for a 
preliminary report indicating whether a potential 
caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household 
member is eligible to work or reside at a child care 
program under sub. (4m)(c). If the department 
receives such a request, it shall provide a written 
preliminary report to that caregiver indicating whether 
the individual is barred from working or residing at a 
child care program on the basis of a background 
check under sub. (2)(am)1. or 7. If the individual is 
ineligible to work or reside at a child care program 
based on the results of the preliminary report, the 
department shall also provide a preliminary report to 
the individual containing information related to each 
disqualifying offense. 

(d) The results of a report under par. (c) may not 
be appealed by the individual until receipt of the 
department’s report under par. (b) following 
completion of all components of the background 
check. 

(4s)(a) An individual who is the subject of the 
department’s report on the results of a background 
check may appeal the department’s decision. Only 
the person who is the subject of the department’s 
report may appeal the department’s decision. Neither 
the child care program nor any other person may 
appeal the department’s decision. 

(b) An appeal request shall be submitted to the 
department at the address, e−mail address, or fax 
number identified in the statement of appeal rights 
no later than 10 days after the date of the 
department’s decision, unless the appellant requests, 
and the department grants, an extension for a 
specific amount of time prior to expiration of the 10 
day appeal period. Extensions may be granted for 
good cause shown. 

(c) An appeal shall be submitted in the manner 
and on forms prescribed by the department, and 
must include all of the following information: 

1. The information or issue disputed by the 
individual. 

2. Any information known to the individual, or 
available to the individual through the exercise of 
reasonable diligence, that supports the individual’s 
position. 

3. The current or last known names, addresses, 
telephone numbers, and electronic mail addresses of 

any persons known or believed to have information 
relevant to determination of the appeal. 

4. Copies of any documents or other materials in 
the possession of the individual, or reasonably 
available to the individual, that support the 
individual’s position regarding the disputed 
information. 

(e) The department shall attempt to verify the 
accuracy of the information challenged by the 
appellant, including making reasonable good faith 
efforts to locate any missing information regarding 
the disqualifying crime that is relevant to the issue 
identified for appeal. 

(f) The department shall sustain the results of its 
background check report if supported by a 
preponderance of the available evidence. 

(g) The department shall issue its appeal decision 
in writing. If the results of the original report are 
sustained upon review, the decision shall indicate the 
department’s efforts to verify the accuracy of the 
information challenged by the individual. The 
decision shall also indicate any additional 
reconsideration and appeal rights available to the 
appellant. 

(h) An appellant under this subsection may seek 
reconsideration of the department’s decision under 
par. (g) by the secretary or the secretary’s designee. 

(i) A request for reconsideration detailing the basis 
for the request must be sent to the secretary at the 
address, e−mail address, or fax number identified in 
the department’s decision no later than 30 days after 
the date of the department’s decision. 

(j) The secretary or secretary’s designee shall 
issue his or her reconsideration decision in writing 
and shall include information about any additional 
appeal rights available to the individual. 

(k) A denial of reconsideration under this 
subsection is a final decision of the department, and 
the appellant has a right to a contested case hearing 
under ch. 227. 

(L) The appeal and reconsideration process set 
forth in this subsection is the exclusive method for 
disputing a criminal history background report issued 
by the department. The department’s decision may 
not be appealed in a ch. 68 or 227 proceeding 
challenging the denial of a license, certification, or 
contract to operate a child care program based on 
the department’s criminal history background check 
report or challenging any other child care regulatory 
action taken in reliance upon that report. 

(m) Notwithstanding s. 19.35, the department may 
not publicly release or disclose the results of any 
individual background report it issues, except that the 
department may release aggregated data by crime 
as listed in sub. (1)(c) from background check results 
so long as the data does not contain personally 
identifiable information. The department may 
disclose and use information obtained in conducting 
background checks as necessary during an appeal or 
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reconsideration under this subsection or for another 
lawful purpose. 

(5)(a) A person may have the opportunity to 
demonstrate his or her rehabilitation to the 
department or to a tribe authorized to conduct a 
rehabilitation review under sub. (5d) if any of the 
following apply: 

1. An investigation under sub. (2)(am) indicates 
that sub. (4m)(a)2., 3., or 4. applies to the person. 

2. An investigation under sub. (2)(am) indicates 
that the person has been convicted or adjudicated 
delinquent of a serious crime as specified under sub. 
(1)(c)9. or for a violation of the law of any other state 
or United States jurisdiction that would be a violation 
listed in sub. (1)(c)9. if committed in this state, and 
the person completed his or her sentence, including 
any probation, parole, or extended supervision, or 
was discharged by the department of corrections, 
more than 5 years before the date of the investigation 
under sub. (2)(am). 

(b) If the department or tribe determines that the 
person has demonstrated rehabilitation in 
accordance with procedures established by the 
department by rule or by the tribe and by clear and 
convincing evidence, the prohibition in sub. (4m)(a) 
does not apply. 

(5c) Any person who is permitted but fails under 
sub. (5)(a) to demonstrate to the department that he 
or she has been rehabilitated may appeal to the 
secretary or his or her designee. Any person who is 
adversely affected by a decision of the secretary or 
his or her designee under this paragraph has a right 
to a contested case hearing under ch. 227. 

(5d)(a) Any Indian tribe that chooses to conduct 
rehabilitation reviews under sub. (5) shall submit to 
the department a rehabilitation review plan that 
includes all of the following: 

1. The criteria to be used to determine if a person 
has been rehabilitated. 

2. The title of the person or body designated by the 
Indian tribe to whom a request for review must be 
made. 

3. The title of the person or body designated by the 
Indian tribe to determine whether a person has been 
rehabilitated. 

3m. The title of the person or body, designated by 
the Indian tribe, to whom a person may appeal an 
adverse decision made by the person specified under 
subd. 3. and whether the Indian tribe provides any 
further rights to appeal. 

4. The manner in which the Indian tribe will submit 
information relating to a rehabilitation review to the 
department so that the department may include that 
information in its report to the legislature required 
under sub. (5g). 

5. A copy of the form to be used to request a 
review and a copy of the form on which a written 
decision is to be made regarding whether a person 

has demonstrated rehabilitation. 
(b) If, within 90 days after receiving the plan, the 

department does not disapprove the plan, the plan 
shall be considered approved. If, within 90 days after 
receiving the plan, the department disapproves the 
plan, the department shall provide notice of that 
disapproval to the Indian tribe in writing, together with 
the reasons for the disapproval. The department may 
not disapprove a plan unless the department finds 
that the plan is not rationally related to the protection 
of clients. If the department disapproves the plan, the 
Indian tribe may, within 30 days after receiving notice 
of the disapproval, request that the secretary review 
the department’s decision. A final decision under this 
paragraph is not subject to further review under ch. 
227. 

(5g) On January 1 of each year, the department 
shall submit a report to the legislature under s. 
13.172(2) that specifies the number of persons in the 
previous year who have requested to demonstrate 
that they have been rehabilitated under sub. (5), the 
number of persons who successfully demonstrated 
that they have been rehabilitated under sub. (5), and 
the reasons for the success or failure of a person 
who has attempted to demonstrate that he or she 
has been rehabilitated. 

(5m) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, a licensing entity 
may refuse to issue an approval to operate a child 
care program to a person, and a child care program 
may refuse to employ or contract with a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee or permit a household 
member to reside at the child care program if the 
person has been convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for an offense that is not a serious crime, 
but that is, in the  stimation of the department, 
substantially related to the care of a client. The 
department shall notify the provider and the 
individual of the results of a substantially related 
determination pursuant to the process set forth in 
sub. (4p) for background check determinations. The 
individual shall have the same appeal rights as set 
forth in sub. (4s), and the same appeal procedures 
apply. 

(7) The department shall conduct throughout the 
state periodic training sessions that cover 
procedures and uses of background investigations; 
reporting and investigating misappropriation of 
property or abuse or neglect of a client; and any other 
material that will better enable entities to comply with 
the requirements of this section. 

(8) The department may promulgate any rules 
necessary for the administration of this section. 

History: 2017 a. 59; 2017 a. 364 s. 49; 2019 a. 9; s. 
35.17 correction in (1)(c)12. In this case, the 
revocation of the petitioner’s license under the 
caregiver law did not violate the petitioner’s due 
process rights because the state provided adequate 
post−deprivation remedies. Petitioner’s equal 
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protection claim failed because the law does pass 
the rational basis test. Regardless of whether the law 
is rationally related to the goal of protecting children, 
the law is rationally related to the legitimate purpose 
of prohibiting individuals who dishonestly benefitted 
from government welfare in the past from obtaining 
government funding in the form of childcare 
subsidies. Brown v. Department of Children and 
Families, 2012 WI App 61, 341 Wis. 2d 449, 819 
N.W.2d 827, 11−1350. See also Blake v. Jossart, 
2016 WI 57, 370 Wis. 2d 1, 884 N.W.2d 484, 
12−2578. 

Jamerson, 2013 WI 7, instructs that prior to 
establishing that a conviction satisfies the 
requirements of s. 48.685(5)(br)5. [now sub. (1)(c)8.], 
evidence must clearly show that the conviction was 
for fraudulent activity. The title of the conviction and 
an uncorroborated criminal complaint presented at 
the administrative appeal hearing were insufficient to 
meet this standard. Blake v. Racine County Human 
Services Department, 2013 WI App 45, 347 Wis. 2d 
499, 831 N.W.2d 439, 12−0031. 

NOTE: The above annotations relate to licensure 
under the caregiver law under s. 48.685, stats., prior 
to the repeal of that section and the creation of s. 
48.686 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. 

48.69 Probationary licenses. [2009] Except as 
provided under s. 48.715(6) and (7), if any child 
welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or 
child care center that has not been previously issued 
a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) applies for a license, 
meets the minimum requirements for a license 
established under s. 48.67, and pays the applicable 
fee referred to in s. 48.68(1), the department shall 
issue a probationary license to that child welfare 
agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child care 
center. A probationary license is valid for up to 6 
months after the date of issuance unless renewed 
under this section or suspended or revoked under s. 
48.715. Before a probationary license expires, the 
department shall inspect the child welfare agency, 
shelter care facility, group home, or child care center 
holding the probationary license and, except as 
provided under s. 48.715(6) and (7), if the child 
welfare agency, shelter care facility, group home, or 
child care center meets the minimum requirements 
for a license established under s. 48.67, the 
department shall issue a license under s. 48.66(1)(a). 
A probationary license issued under this section may 
be renewed for one 6-month period. 

48.70 Provisions of licenses. [2009]  
(1) GENERAL. Each license shall state the name of 

the person licensed, the premises included under the 
license, the maximum number of children who can be 
received and their age and sex and such additional 
information and special conditions as the 
department may prescribe. 

48.715 Sanctions and penalties. [2021] 
(1) In this section, “licensee" means a person who 

holds a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary 
license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare 
agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child care 
center. 

(2) If the department provides written notice of the 
grounds for a sanction, an explanation of the types of 
sanctions that may be imposed under this 
subsection and an explanation of the process for 
appealing a sanction imposed under this subsection, 
the department may order any of the following 
sanctions: 

(a) That a person stop operating a child welfare 
agency, shelter care facility, group home, or child care 
center if the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, 
group home, or child care center is without a license 
in violation of s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license 
in violation of s. 48.69. 

(b) That a person who employs a person who has 
had a license under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary 
license under s. 48.69 revoked within the previous 5 
years terminate the employment of that person 
within 30 days after the date of the order. This 
paragraph includes employment of a person in any 
capacity, whether as an officer, director, agent or 
employee.  

(c) That a licensee stop violating any provision of 
licensure under s. 48.70(1) or rule promulgated by the 
department under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67. 

(d) That a licensee submit a plan of correction for 
violation of any provision of licensure under s. 
48.70(1) or rule promulgated by the department 
under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67. 

(e) That a licensee implement and comply with a 
plan of correction provided by the department or 
previously submitted by the licensee and approved by 
the department.  

(f) That a licensee close the intake of any new 
children until all violations of the provisions of 
licensure under s. 48.70(1) and the rules 
promulgated by the department under s. 48.658(4)(a) 
or 48.67 are corrected. 

(g) That a licensee provide training for the 
licensee's staff members as specified by the 
department. 

(3) If the department provides written notice of the 
grounds for a penalty, an explanation of the types of 
penalties that may be imposed under this subsection, 
and an explanation of the process for appealing a 
penalty imposed under this subsection, the 
department may impose any of the following 
penalties against a licensee or any other person who 
violates a provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1) or 
rule promulgated by the department under s. 
48.658(4)(a) or 48.67 or who fails to comply with an 
order issued under sub. (2) by the time specified in 
the order: 
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(a) A daily forfeiture amount per violation of not 

less than $10 nor more than $1,000. All of the 
following apply to a forfeiture under this paragraph:  

1. Within the limits specified in this paragraph, the 
department may, by rule, set daily forfeiture amounts 
and payment deadlines based on the size and type of 
facility or agency and the seriousness of the 
violation. The department may set daily forfeiture 
amounts that increase periodically within the 
statutory limits if there is continued failure to comply 
with an order issued under sub. (2). 

2. The department may directly assess a forfeiture 
imposed under this paragraph by specifying the 
amount of that forfeiture in the notice provided under 
this subsection. 

3. A person against whom the department has 
assessed a forfeiture shall pay that forfeiture to the 
department within 10 days after receipt of notice of 
the assessment or, if that person contests that 
assessment under s. 48.72, within 10 days after 
receipt of the final decision after exhaustion of 
administrative review or, if that person petitions for 
judicial review under ch. 227, within 10 days after 
receipt of the final decision after exhaustion of 
judicial review. The department shall remit all 
forfeitures paid under this subdivision to the 
secretary of administration for deposit in the school 
fund. 

4. The attorney general may bring an action in the 
name of the state to collect any forfeiture imposed 
under this paragraph that has not been paid as 
provided in subd. 3. The only contestable issue in an 
action under this subdivision is whether or not the 
forfeiture has been paid. 

(b) Suspension of the licensee's license for not 
more than 2 weeks.  

(c) Refusal to continue a license or a probationary 
license.  

(d) Revocation of a license or a probationary 
license as provided in sub. (4). 

(4) If the department provides written notice of 
revocation and the grounds for revocation as 
provided in sub. (4m) and an explanation of the 
process for appealing a revocation under this 
subsection, the department may revoke a license 
issued under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license 
issued under s. 48.69 for any of the following 
reasons: 

(a) The department has imposed a penalty on the 
licensee under sub. (3) and the licensee or a person 
under the supervision of the licensee either continues 
to violate or resumes violation of a rule promulgated 
under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a provision of 
licensure under s. 48.70(1), or an order under this 
section forming any part of the basis for the penalty.  

(b) The licensee or a person under the supervision 
of the licensee has committed a substantial violation, 
as determined by the department, of a rule 
promulgated under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 48.67, a 

provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1), or an order 
under this section.  

(c) The licensee or a person under the supervision 
of the licensee has committed an action or has 
created a condition relating to the operation or 
maintenance of the child welfare agency, shelter care 
facility, group home, or child care center that directly 
threatens the health, safety, or welfare of any child 
under the care of the licensee.  

(d) The licensee or a person under the supervision 
of the licensee has violated, as determined by the 
department, a rule promulgated under s. 48.658(4)(a) 
or 48.67, a provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1), or 
an order under this section that is the same as or 
similar to a rule promulgated under s. 48.658(4)(a) or 
48.67, a provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1), or an 
order under this section that the licensee or a person 
under the supervision of the licensee has violated 
previously.  

(e) The licensee has failed to apply for a 
continuance of the license within 30 days after 
receipt of the warning under s. 48.66(5). 

(4g)(a) If a person subject to a background check 
under s. 48.686 (2) who operates, works at, or resides 
at a child care center is convicted or adjudicated 
delinquent for committing a serious crime, or if the 
results of a background check conducted under s. 
48.686 indicate that the caregiver, household 
member, or noncaregiver employee is not eligible to 
be licensed, certified, employed, or permitted to 
reside at a child care program, the department shall 
revoke the license of the child care center 
immediately upon providing written notice of 
revocation and the grounds for revocation and an 
explanation of the process for appealing the 
revocation. 

(b) If a person subject to a background check 
under s. 48.686 (2) who operates, works at, or resides 
at a child care center is the subject of a pending 
criminal charge or delinquency petition alleging that 
the person has committed a serious crime, the 
department shall immediately suspend the license of 
the child care center until the department obtains 
information regarding the final disposition of the 
charge or delinquency petition indicating that the 
person is not ineligible to operate, work at, or reside 
at a child care center. 

(4m)(a) For a revocation under sub. (4)(a) or (d), 
the department shall provide to the licensee written 
notice of the revocation and the grounds for 
revocation not less than 30 days before the date of 
the revocation. The revocation will take effect only if 
the violation on which the revocation is based 
remains substantially uncorrected at the end of the 
30-day notice period. 

(b) For revocations under sub. (4)(b), (c) or (e), the 
department may revoke the license or probationary 
license immediately upon written notice to the 
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licensee of the revocation and the grounds for 
revocation. 

(5) The department may deny a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 
to any person who has had a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 
revoked within the previous 5 years. 

(6) The department shall deny, suspend, restrict, 
refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a license 
under s. 48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under 
s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, group 
home, shelter care facility, or child care center, and 
the department of corrections shall deny, suspend, 
restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a 
license under s. 48.66(1)(b) to operate a secured 
residential care center for children and youth, for 
failure of the applicant or licensee to pay court-
ordered payments of child or family support, 
maintenance, birth expenses, medical expenses, or 
other expenses related to the support of a child or 
former spouse or for failure of the applicant or 
licensee to comply, after appropriate notice, with a 
subpoena or warrant issued by the department or a 
county child support agency under s. 59.53(5) and 
related to paternity or child support proceedings, as 
provided in a memorandum of understanding 
entered into under s. 49.857. Notwithstanding s. 
48.72, an action taken under this subsection is 
subject to review only as provided in the 
memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 
49.857 and not as provided in s. 48.72. 

(7) The department shall deny an application for 
the issuance or continuation of a license under s. 
48.66(1)(a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 
to operate a child welfare agency, group home, 
shelter care facility, or child care center, or revoke 
such a license already issued, if the department of 
revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the applicant 
or licensee is liable for delinquent taxes or if the 
department of workforce development certifies 
under s. 108.227 that the applicant or licensee is 
liable for delinquent unemployment insurance 
contributions. An action taken under this subsection 
is subject to review only as provided under s. 
73.0301(5) or 108.227(5) and not as provided in s. 
48.72. 

48.72 Appeal procedure. [2005] Except as 
provided in s. 48.715(6) and (7), any person 
aggrieved by the department's refusal or failure to 
issue, renew, or continue a license or by any action 
taken by the department under s. 48.715 has the right 
to an administrative hearing provided for contested 
cases in ch. 227. To receive an administrative 
hearing under ch. 227, the aggrieved person shall 
send to the department a written request for a 
hearing under s. 227.44 within 10 days after the date 
of the department's refusal or failure to issue, renew, 
or continue a license or the department's action 

taken under s. 48.715. The department shall hold an 
administrative hearing under s. 227.44 within 30 days 
after receipt of the request for the administrative 
hearing unless the aggrieved person consents to an 
extension of that time period. Judicial review of the 
department's decision may be had by any party in the 
contested case as provided in ch. 227. 

48.73 Inspection of licensees and school district 
child care programs. [2021] The department may 
visit and inspect each child welfare agency, foster 
home, group home, and child care center licensed by 
the department and each entity certified by the 
department under s. 48.675, and for that purpose 
shall be given unrestricted access to the premises 
described in the license or certification. The 
department may visit and inspect each child care 
program established or contracted for under s. 
120.13 (14) that receives payment under s. 49.155 
for the child care provided, and for that purpose shall 
be given unrestricted access to the premises used 
for the child care program. 

48.735 Immunization requirements; child care 
centers. [2009] The department, after notice to a 
child care center licensee, may suspend, revoke, or 
refuse to continue a child care center license in any 
case in which the department finds that there has 
been a substantial failure to comply with the 
requirements of s. 252.04. 

48.737 Lead screening, inspection and reduction 
requirements; child care centers. [2009] The 
department, after notice to a child care provider 
certified under s. 48.651, or a child care center that 
holds a license under s. 48.65 or a probationary 
license under s. 48.69, may suspend, revoke, or 
refuse to renew or continue a license or certification 
in any case in which the department finds that there 
has been a substantial failure to comply with any rule 
promulgated under s. 254.162, 254.168, or 254.172. 

48.74 Authority of department to investigate 
alleged violations. [1979] Whenever the department 
is advised or has reason to believe that any person is 
violating any of the provisions of ss. 48.60, 48.62, 
48.625 or 48.65, it shall make an investigation to 
determine the facts. For the purposes of this 
investigation, it shall have authority to inspect the 
premises where the violation is alleged to occur. If it 
finds that the person is violating any of the specified 
sections, it may either issue a license if the person is 
qualified or may institute a prosecution under s. 
48.76. 

48.76 Penalties. [1993] In addition to the 
sanctions and penalties provided in s. 48.715, any 
person who violates s. 48.60, 48.62, 48.625, 48.63 or 
48.65 may be fined not more than $500 or 
imprisoned for not more than one year in county jail 
or both. 
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48.77 Injunction against violations. [1979] In 

addition to the penalties provided in s. 48.76, the 
circuit courts shall have jurisdiction to prevent and 
restrain by injunction violations of s. 48.60, 48.62, 
48.625, 48.63 or 48.65. It shall be the duty of the 
district attorneys, upon request of the department, to 
institute action for such injunction under ch. 813. 

48.78 Confidentiality of records. [2017] 
(1) Definition. In this section, unless otherwise 

qualified, “agency" means the department, a county 
department, a licensed child welfare agency, or a 
licensed child care center.  

(2) Confidentiality; exceptions.  
(a) No agency may make available for inspection or 

disclose the contents of any record kept or information 
received about an individual who is or was in its care or 
legal custody, except as provided under sub. (2m) or s. 
48.371, 48.38(5)(b) or (d) or (5m)(d), 48.396(3)(bm) or 
(c)1r., 48.432, 48.433, 48.48(17)(bm), 48.57(2m), 
48.66(6), 48.93, 48.981(7), 938.396(2m)(c)1r., 938.51, 
or 938.78 or by order of the court.  

(ag) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency 
from making available for inspection or disclosing 
the contents of a record, upon the request of the 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the child who 
is the subject of the record or upon the request of the 
child, if 14 years of age or over, to the parent, 
guardian, legal custodian, or child, unless the agency 
determines that inspection of the record by the child, 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian would result in 
imminent danger to anyone.  

(aj) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency 
from making available for inspection or disclosing 
the contents of a record, upon the request of a 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child 
expectant mother of an unborn child who is the 
subject of the record, upon the request of an 
expectant mother of an unborn child who is the 
subject of the record, if 14 years of age or over, or 
upon the request of an unborn child's guardian ad 
litem, to the parent, guardian, legal custodian, 
expectant mother, or unborn child's guardian ad 
litem, unless the agency determines that inspection 
of the record by the parent, guardian, legal custodian, 
expectant mother, or unborn child's guardian ad litem 
would result in imminent danger to anyone.  

(am) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency 
from making available for inspection or disclosing 
the contents of a record, upon the written permission 
of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the child 
who is the subject of the record or upon the written 
permission of the child, if 14 years of age or over, to 
the person named in the permission if the parent, 
guardian, legal custodian, or child specifically 
identifies the record in the written permission, unless 
the agency determines that inspection of the record 
by the person named in the permission would result 
in imminent danger to anyone.  

(ap) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency 
from making available for inspection or disclosing 
the contents of a record, upon the written permission 
of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child 
expectant mother of an unborn child who is the 
subject of the record, or of an expectant mother of an 
unborn child who is the subject of the record, if 14 
years of age or over, and of the unborn child's 
guardian ad litem, to the person named in the 
permission if the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or 
expectant mother, and unborn child's guardian ad 
litem, specifically identify the record in the written 
permission, unless the agency determines that 
inspection of the record by the person named in the 
permission would result in imminent danger to 
anyone.  

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the 
confidential exchange of information between an 
agency and another social welfare agency, a law 
enforcement agency, a health care provider, as 
defined in s. 146.81(1)(a) to (p), a public school, or a 
private school regarding an individual in the care or 
legal custody of the agency. A social welfare agency 
that obtains information under this paragraph shall 
keep the information confidential as required under 
this section and s. 938.78. A law enforcement agency 
that obtains information under this paragraph shall 
keep the information confidential as required under 
ss. 48.396(1) and 938.396(1)(a). A health care 
provider that obtains information under this 
paragraph shall keep the information confidential as 
provided under s. 146.82. A public school that 
obtains information under this paragraph shall keep 
the information confidential as required under s. 
118.125, and a private school that obtains 
information under this paragraph shall keep the 
information confidential in the same manner as is 
required of a public school under s. 118.125. 
Paragraph (a) does not apply to the confidential 
exchange of information between an agency and 
officials of a tribal school regarding an individual in 
the care or legal custody of the agency if the agency 
determines that enforceable protections are provided 
by a tribal school policy or tribal law that requires 
tribal school officials to keep the information 
confidential in a manner at least as stringent as is 
required of a public school official under s. 118.125.  

(c) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department 
or a county department from using in the media a 
picture or description of a child in the guardianship of 
the department or a county department for the 
purpose of finding adoptive parents for that child.  

(d) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department 
of health services or a county department from 
disclosing information about an individual formerly in 
the legal custody or under the supervision of that 
department under s. 48.34(4m), 1993 stats., or 
formerly under the supervision of that department or 
county department under s. 48.34(4n), 1993 stats., to 
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the department of corrections, if the individual is at 
the time of disclosure any of the following:  

1. The subject of a presentence investigation 
under s. 972.15. 

2. Under sentence to the Wisconsin state prisons 
under s. 973.15. 

4. On probation to the department of corrections 
under s. 973.09. 

5. On parole under s. 302.11 or ch. 304 or on 
extended supervision under s. 302.113 or 302.114. 

(e) Notwithstanding par. (a), an agency shall, upon 
request, disclose information to authorized 
representatives of the department of corrections, the 
department of health services, the department of 
justice, or a district attorney for use in the 
prosecution of any proceeding or any evaluation 
conducted under ch. 980, if the information involves 
or relates to an individual who is the subject of the 
proceeding or evaluation. The court in which the 
proceeding under ch. 980 is pending may issue any 
protective orders that it determines are appropriate 
concerning information made available or disclosed 
under this paragraph. Any representative of the 
department of corrections, the department of health 
services, the department of justice, or a district 
attorney may disclose information obtained under 
this paragraph for any purpose consistent with any 
proceeding under ch. 980. 

(g) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information about an individual in its care 
or legal custody on the written request of the 
department of safety and professional services or of 
any interested examining board or affiliated 
credentialing board in that department for use in any 
investigation or proceeding relating to any alleged 
misconduct by any person who is credentialed or 
who is seeking credentialing under ch. 448, 455 or 
457. Unless authorized by an order of the court, the 
department of safety and professional services and 
any examining board or affiliated credentialing board 
in that department shall keep confidential any 
information obtained under this paragraph and may 
not disclose the name of or any other identifying 
information about the individual who is the subject of 
the information disclosed, except to the extent that 
redisclosure of that information is necessary for the 
conduct of the investigation or proceeding for which 
that information was obtained.  

(h) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the 
department, a county department, or a licensed child 
welfare agency from entering the content of any 
record kept or information received by the 
department, county department, or licensed child 
welfare agency into the statewide automated child 
welfare information system established under s. 
48.47(7g) or the department from transferring any 
information maintained in that system to the court 
under s. 48.396(3)(bm). If the department transfers 
that information to the court, the court and the 

director of state courts may allow access to that 
information as provided in s. 48.396(3)(c)2. 

(i) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information to a relative of a child placed 
outside of his or her home only to the extent 
necessary to facilitate the establishment of a 
relationship between the child and the relative or a 
placement of the child with the relative or from 
disclosing information under s. 48.21(5)(e), 
48.355(2)(cm), or 48.357(2v)(d). In this paragraph, 
“relative" includes a relative whose relationship is 
derived through a parent of the child whose parental 
rights are terminated.  

(j) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from 
disclosing information to any public or private agency 
in this state or any other state that is investigating a 
person for purposes of licensing the person to 
operate a foster home or placing a child for adoption 
in the home of the person.  

(k) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the department 
of children and families from providing to the 
department of revenue, upon request, information 
concerning a recipient of payments under s. 
48.57(3m) or (3n) or aid under s. 48.645, including 
information contained in the electronic records of the 
department of children and families, solely for the 
purposes of administering state taxes, including 
verifying a claim for a state tax refund or a refundable 
state tax credit, and collecting debts owed to the 
department of revenue. Any information obtained by 
the department of revenue under this paragraph is 
subject to the confidentiality provisions specified in s. 
71.78.  

(L)1. In this paragraph, “ qualified independent 
researcher" means a faculty member of a university 
who satisfies all of the following:  

a. The faculty member has an approved protocol 
from an institutional review board for human 
subjects research to work with data containing 
personal information for the purposes of evaluating 
the program under s. 119.23. 

b. The faculty member has received from the state 
and properly managed data containing personal 
information for the purposes of evaluating the 
program under s. 119.23 before July 14, 2015.  

2. Notwithstanding par. (a), the department shall 
permit a qualified independent researcher to have 
access to any database maintained by the 
department for the purpose of cross-matching 
information contained in any such database with a 
database that both is in the possession of the 
qualified independent researcher and contains 
information regarding pupils participating in the 
program under s. 119.23. The department may 
charge a fee to the qualified independent researcher 
for the information that does not exceed the cost 
incurred by the department to provide the 
information.  
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48.981 Abused or neglected children and abused 

unborn children. [2021] 
(2) PERSONS REQUIRED TO REPORT. 
(a) Any of the following persons who has 

reasonable cause to suspect that a child seen by the 
person in the course of professional duties has been 
abused or neglected or who has reason to believe 
that a child seen by the person in the course of 
professional duties has been threatened with abuse 
or neglect and that abuse or neglect of the child will 
occur shall, except as provided under subs. (2m) and 
(2r), report as provided in sub. (3): 

1. A physician.  
2. A coroner.  
3. A medical examiner.  
4. A nurse.  
5. A dentist.  
6. A chiropractor.  
7. An optometrist.  
8. An acupuncturist.  
9. A medical or mental health professional not 

otherwise specified in this paragraph.  
10. A social worker.  
11. A marriage and family therapist.  
12. A professional counselor.  
13. A public assistance worker, including a 

financial and employment planner, as defined in s. 
49.141(1)(d). 

14. A school teacher.  
15. A school administrator  
16. A school counselor.  
16m. A school employee not otherwise specified 

in this paragraph.  
17. A mediator under s. 767.405. 
18. A child care worker in a child care center, group 

home, or residential care center for children and 
youth.  

19. A child care provider.  
20. An alcohol or other drug abuse counselor.  
21. A member of the treatment staff employed by 

or working under contract with a county department 
under s. 46.23, 51.42, or 51.437 or a residential care 
center for children and youth. 

22. A physical therapist.  
22m. A physical therapist assistant.  
23. An occupational therapist.  
24. A dietitian.  
25. A speech-language pathologist.  
26. An audiologist.  
27. An emergency medical services practitioner.  
28. An emergency medical responder, as defined 

in s. 256.01(4p). 
29. A police or law enforcement officer.  
30. A juvenile correctional officer. 
(e) No person making a report under this 

subsection in good faith may be discharged from 
employment, disciplined or otherwise discriminated 
against in regard to employment, or threatened with 
any such treatment for so doing. 

(3) REPORTS; INVESTIGATION. 
(a) Referral of report. 
1. A person required to report under sub. (2) shall 

immediately inform, by telephone or personally, the 
county department or, in a county having a 
population of 750,000 or more, the department or a 
licensed child welfare agency under contract with the 
department or the sheriff or city, village, or town 
police department of the facts and circumstances 
contributing to a suspicion of child abuse or neglect 
or of unborn child abuse or to a belief that abuse or 
neglect will occur. 

(4) IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY. Any person or 
institution participating in good faith in the making of 
a report, conducting an investigation, ordering or 
taking of photographs or ordering or performing 
medical examinations of a child or of an expectant 
mother under this section shall have immunity from 
any liability, civil or criminal, that results by reason of 
the action. For the purpose of any proceeding, civil or 
criminal, the good faith of any person reporting under 
this section shall be presumed. The immunity 
provided under this subsection does not apply to 
liability for abusing or neglecting a child or for 
abusing an unborn child. 

(6) PENALTY. Whoever intentionally violates this 
section by failure to report as required may be fined 
not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than 6 
months or both. 

66.1017 Family child care homes. [2009] 
(1) In this section: 
(a) "Family child care home" means a dwelling 

licensed as a child care center by the department of 
children and families under s. 48.65 where care is 
provided for not more than 8 children. 

(b) "Municipality" means a county, city, village or 
town. 

(2) No municipality may prevent a family child care 
home from being located in a zoned district in which 
a single-family residence is a permitted use. No 
municipality may establish standards or 
requirements for family child care homes that are 
different from the licensing standards established 
under s. 48.65. This subsection does not prevent a 
municipality from applying to a family child care 
home the zoning regulations applicable to other 
dwellings in the zoning district in which it is located. 

73.0301 License denial, nonrenewal, 
discontinuation, suspension and revocation based 
on tax delinquency. [2017] 

(2) DUTIES AND POWERS OF LICENSING 
DEPARTMENTS.  

(a) Each licensing department and the supreme 
court, if the supreme court agrees, shall enter into a 
memorandum of understanding with the department 
of revenue under sub. (4)(a) that requires the 
licensing department or supreme court to do all of 
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the following:  

1. Request the department of revenue to certify 
whether an applicant for a license or license renewal 
or continuation is liable for delinquent taxes. With 
respect to an applicant for a license granted by a 
credentialing board, the department of safety and 
professional services shall make a request under this 
subdivision. This subdivision does not apply to the 
department of transportation with respect to licenses 
described in sub. (1)(d)7. 

2. Request the department of revenue to certify 
whether a license holder is liable for delinquent taxes. 
With respect to a holder of a license granted by a 
credentialing board, the department of safety and 
professional services shall make a request under this 
subdivision.  

(b) Each licensing department and the supreme 
court, if the supreme court agrees, shall do all of the 
following:  

1. a. If, after a request is made under par. (a)1. or 
2., the department of revenue certifies that the 
license holder or applicant for a license or license 
renewal or continuation is liable for delinquent taxes, 
revoke the license or deny the application for the 
license or license renewal or continuation. The 
department of transportation may suspend licenses 
described in sub. (1)(d)7. in lieu of revoking those 
licenses. A suspension, revocation or denial under 
this subd. 1. a. is not subject to administrative review 
or, except as provided in subd. 2. and sub. (5)(am), 
judicial review. With respect to a license granted by a 
credentialing board, the department of safety and 
professional services shall make a revocation or 
denial under this subd. 1. a. With respect to a license 
to practice law, the department of revenue shall not 
submit a certification under this subd. 1. a. to the 
supreme court until after the license holder or 
applicant has exhausted his or her remedies under 
sub. (5)(a) and (am) or has failed to make use of 
such remedies.  

b. Send a notice of suspension, revocation, or 
denial under subd. 1. a. to the license holder or 
applicant. The notice shall include a statement of the 
facts that warrant the suspension, revocation, or 
denial and a statement that the license holder or 
applicant may, within 30 days after the date on which 
the notice of denial, suspension, or revocation is sent, 
file a written request with the department of revenue 
to have the certification of tax delinquency on which 
the suspension, revocation, or denial is based 
reviewed at a hearing under sub. (5)(a). With respect 
to a license granted by a credentialing board, the 
department of safety and professional services shall 
send a notice under this subd. 1. b. With respect to a 
license to practice law, the department of revenue 
shall send a notice under this subd. 1. b., and the 
notice shall indicate that the license holder or 
applicant may request a hearing under sub. (5)(a) 
and (am) and that the department of revenue shall 

submit a certificate of delinquency to suspend, 
revoke, or deny a license to practice law to the 
supreme court after the license holder or applicant 
has exhausted his or her remedies under sub. (5)(a) 
and (am) or has failed to make use of such remedies. 
A notice sent to a person who holds a license to 
practice law or who is an applicant for a license to 
practice law shall also indicate that the department 
of revenue may not submit a certificate of 
delinquency to the supreme court if the license holder 
or applicant pays the delinquent tax in full or enters 
into an agreement with the department of revenue to 
satisfy the delinquency.  

2. Except as provided in subd. 2m., if notified by 
the department of revenue that the department of 
revenue has affirmed a certification of tax 
delinquency after a hearing under sub. (5)(a), affirm a 
suspension, revocation or denial under subd. 1. a. A 
license holder or applicant may seek judicial review 
under ss. 227.52 to 227.60, except that the review 
shall be in the circuit court for Dane County, of an 
affirmation of a revocation or denial under this 
subdivision. With respect to a license granted by a 
credentialing board, the department of safety and 
professional services shall make an affirmation 
under this subdivision.  

2m. With respect to a license to practice law, if 
notified by the department of revenue that the 
department of revenue has affirmed a certification of 
tax delinquency after any requested review under 
sub. (5)(a) and (am), decide whether to suspend, 
revoke, or deny a license to practice law.  

3. If a person submits a nondelinquency certificate 
issued under sub. (5)(b)1., reinstate the license or 
grant the application for the license or license 
renewal or continuation, unless there are other 
grounds for suspending or revoking the license or for 
denying the application for the license or license 
renewal or continuation. If reinstatement is required 
under this subdivision, a person is not required to 
submit a new application or other material or to take 
a new test. No separate fee may be charged for 
reinstatement of a license under this subdivision. 
With respect to a license granted by a credentialing 
board, the department of safety and professional 
services shall reinstate a license or grant an 
application under this subdivision.  

4. If a person whose license has been suspended 
or revoked or whose application for a license or 
license renewal or continuation has been denied 
under subd. 1. a. submits a nondelinquency 
certificate issued under sub. (3)(a)2., reinstate the 
license or grant the person's application for the 
license or license renewal or continuation, unless 
there are other grounds for not reinstating the license 
or for denying the application for the license or 
license renewal or continuation. With respect to a 
license granted by a credentialing board, the 
department of safety and professional services shall 
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reinstate a license or grant an application under this 
subdivision.  

(c)1. Each licensing department and the supreme 
court may require a holder of a license to provide the 
following information upon request:  

a. If the license holder is an individual and has a 
social security number, the license holder's social 
security number.  

am. If the applicant is an individual and does not 
have a social security number, a statement made or 
subscribed under oath or affirmation that the 
applicant does not have a social security number. 
The form of the statement shall be prescribed by the 
department of children and families. A license issued 
in reliance upon a false statement submitted under 
this subd. 1. am. is invalid. 

b. If the license holder is not an individual, the 
license holder's federal employer identification 
number.  

2. A licensing department may not disclose any 
information received under subd. 1. a. or b. to any 
person except to the department of revenue for the 
purpose of requesting certifications under par. (a)1. 
or 2. in accordance with the memorandum of 
understanding under sub. (4) and administering state 
taxes, to the department of workforce development 
for the purpose of requesting certifications under s. 
108.227(2)(a)1. or 2. in accordance with the 
memorandum of understanding under s. 108.227(4) 
and administering the unemployment insurance 
program, and to the department of children and 
families for the purpose of administering s. 49.22. 

(5) HEARING. 
(a) The department of revenue shall conduct a 

hearing requested by a license holder or applicant for 
a license or license renewal or continuation under 
sub. (2)(b)1 b. or by an applicant for certification or 
recertification or a certificate holder under s. 
73.03(50) or 73.09(7m)(b) to review a certification or 
determination of tax delinquency that is the basis of a 
denial or revocation of a license in accordance with 
this section or of a certificate, certification or 
recertification under s. 73.03(50) or 73.09(7m). A 
hearing under this paragraph is limited to questions 
of mistaken identity of the license or certificate 
holder or applicant and of prior payment of the 
delinquent taxes for which the department of revenue 
certified or determined the license or certificate 
holder or applicant is liable. At a hearing under this 
paragraph, any statement filed by the department of 
revenue, the licensing department or the supreme 
court, if the supreme court agrees, may be admitted 
into evidence and is prima facie evidence of the facts 
that it contains. Notwithstanding ch. 227, a person 
entitled to a hearing under this paragraph is not 
entitled to any other notice, hearing or review, except 
as provided in par. (am) and sub. (2)(b)2. 

(am) If a person who holds a license to practice 
law or who is an applicant for a license to practice 
law receives a hearing under par. (a) to review a 
certification or determination of tax delinquency that 
is the basis for a denial, suspension, or revocation of 
a license to practice law and such certification or 
determination is affirmed as a result of the hearing 
under par. (a), the person may seek judicial review of 
the certification or determination of tax delinquency 
under ss. 227.52 to 227.60, except that the review 
shall be in the circuit court for Dane County.  

(b) After a hearing conducted under par. (a) or, in 
the case of a determination related to a license to 
practice law, after a hearing under par. (a) or, if the 
hearing is appealed, after judicial review under par. 
(am), the department of revenue shall do one of the 
following:  

1. Issue a nondelinquency certificate to a license 
holder or an applicant for a license or license renewal 
or continuation if the department determines that the 
license holder or applicant is not liable for delinquent 
taxes. For a hearing requested by an applicant for 
certification or recertification or a certificate holder 
under s. 73.03(50) or 73.09(7m)(b), the department 
shall grant a certification or recertification or reinstate 
a certification if the department determines that the 
applicant or certificate holder is not liable for 
delinquent taxes, unless there are other grounds for 
denying the application or revoking the certification.  

2. Provide notice that the department of revenue 
has affirmed its certification of tax delinquency to a 
license holder; to an applicant for a license, a license 
renewal or a license continuation; and to the licensing 
department or the supreme court, if the supreme 
court agrees. For a hearing requested by an applicant 
for certification or recertification or a certificate 
holder under s. 73.03(50), or 73.09(7m)(b), the 
department of revenue shall provide notice to the 
applicant or certificate holder that the department of 
revenue has affirmed its determination of tax 
delinquency. 

101.123 Smoking prohibited. [2019] 
(2) PROHIBITION AGAINST SMOKING. 
(a) Except as provided in sub. (3), no person may 

smoke in any of the following enclosed places: 
1r. Child care centers. 
8d. Common areas of multiple-unit residential 

properties. 
(d) No person may smoke at any of the following 

outdoor locations: 
2. Anywhere on the premises of a child care center 

when children who are receiving child care services 
are present. 

(8) PENALTIES. 
(d) Except as provided in par. (dm) or (em), any 

person in charge who violates sub. (2m)(b) to (d) 
shall be subject to a forfeiture of $100 for each 
violation. 
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253.15 Shaken baby syndrome and impacted 

babies. [2015] 
(4) Training for child care providers.  
(a) Before an individual may obtain a license to 

operate a child care center under s. 48.65 for the care 
and supervision of children under 5 years of age or 
enter into a contract to provide a child care program 
under s. 120.13(14) for the care and supervision of 
children under 5 years of age, the individual shall 
receive training relating to shaken baby syndrome 
and impacted babies that is approved or provided by 
the department or that is provided by a nonprofit 
organization arranged by the department to provide 
that training.   

(c) Before an employee or volunteer of a child care 
center licensed under s. 48.65, a child care provider 
certified under s. 48.651, or a child care program 
established under s. 120.13(14) may provide care 
and supervision for children under 5 years of age, the 
employee or volunteer shall receive training relating 
to shaken baby syndrome and impacted babies that 
is approved or provided by the department or the 
certifying county department or agency contracted 
with under s. 48.651(2) or that is provided by a 
nonprofit organization arranged by the department or 
that county department or contracted agency to 
provide that training. 

347.48 Safety belts and child safety restraint 
systems. [2011] 

(4) CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINT SYSTEMS 
REQUIRED; STANDARDS; EXEMPTIONS. 

(ag) In this subsection: 
1. "Child booster seat" means a child passenger 

restraint system that meets the applicable federal 
standards under 49 CFR 571.213 and is designed to 
elevate a child from a vehicle seat to allow the 
vehicle's safety belt to be properly positioned over the 
child's body. 

2. "Designated seating position" has the meaning 
given in 49 CFR 571.3. 

3. "Properly restrained" means any of the following: 
a. With respect to par. (as)1. and 2., fastened in a 

manner prescribed by the manufacturer of the child 
safety restraint system which permits the system to 
act as a body restraint but does not include a system 
in which the only body restraint is a safety belt of the 
type required under sub. (1). 

b. With respect to par. (as)3., wearing a safety belt 
consisting of a combination lap belt and shoulder 
harness approved by the department under sub. (2) 
and fastened in a manner prescribed by the 
manufacturer of the safety belt so that the safety belt 
properly fits across the child's lap and the center of 
the child's chest in a manner appropriate to the 
child's height, weight, and age that permits the safety 
belt to act as a body restraint. 

c. With respect to par. (as)4., fastened in a manner 
prescribed by the manufacturer of the system which 

permits the system to act as a body restraint. 
(am) No person may transport a child under the 

age of 8 in a motor vehicle unless the child is 
restrained in compliance with par. (as) in a safety 
restraint system that is appropriate to the child's age 
and size and that meets the standards established by 
the department under this paragraph. The 
department shall, by rule, establish standards in 
compliance with applicable federal standards, 
including standards under 49 CFR 571.213, for child 
safety restraint systems. 

(as) A child under the age of 8 years who is being 
transported in a motor vehicle shall be restrained as 
follows: 

1. If the child is less than one year old or weighs 
less than 20 pounds, the child shall be properly 
restrained in a rear-facing child safety restraint 
system, positioned at a designated seating position 
in a back passenger seat of the vehicle if the vehicle 
is equipped with a back passenger seat. 

2. Subject to subd. 1., if the child is at least one 
year old and weighs at least 20 pounds but is less 
than 4 years old or weighs less than 40 pounds, the 
child shall be properly restrained as provided in subd. 
1. or properly restrained in a forward-facing child 
safety restraint system, positioned at a designated 
seating position in a back passenger seat of the 
vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with a back 
passenger seat. 

3. Subject to subds. 1. and 2., if the child is at least 
4 years old but less than 8 years old, weighs at least 
40 pounds but not more than 80 pounds, and is not 
more than 57 inches in height, the child shall be 
properly restrained as provided in subd. 2. or properly 
restrained in a child booster seat. 

4. Subject to subds. 1. to 3., if the child is less than 
8 years old, the child shall be properly restrained as 
provided in subds. 1. to 3. or properly restrained in a 
safety belt approved by the department under sub. 
(2). 

(b) The department may, by rule, exempt from the 
requirements under pars. (am) and (as) any child 
who because of a physical or medical condition or 
body size cannot be placed in a child safety restraint 
system, child booster seat, or safety belt. 

(c) This subsection does not apply if the motor 
vehicle is a motor bus, school bus, taxicab, moped, 
motorcycle or is not required to be equipped with 
safety belts under sub. (1) or 49 CFR 571. 

(d) Evidence of compliance or failure to comply 
with pars. (am) and (as) is admissible in any civil 
action for personal injuries or property damage 
resulting from the use or operation of a motor vehicle 
but failure to comply with pars. (am) and (as) does 
not by itself constitute negligence. 
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948.53 Child unattended in child care vehicle. 

[2009] 
(1) DEFINITIONS.  In this section: 
(a) "Child care provider" means a child care center 

that is licensed under s. 48.65(1), a child care 
provider that is certified under s. 48.651, or a child 
care program that is established or contracted for 
under s. 120.13(14). 

(b) "Child care vehicle" means a vehicle that is 
owned or leased by a child care provider or a 
contractor of a child care provider and that is used to 
transport children to and from the child care provider. 

(2) NO CHILD LEFT UNATTENDED. 
(a) No person responsible for a child's welfare 

while the child is being transported in a child care 
vehicle may leave the child unattended at any time 
from the time the child is placed in the care of that 
person to the time the child is placed in the care of 
another person responsible for the child's welfare. 

(b) Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of one 
of the following: 

1. A Class A misdemeanor. 
2. A Class I felony if bodily harm is a consequence. 
3. A Class H felony if great bodily harm is a 

consequence. 
4. A Class G felony if death is a consequence. 
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APPENDIX C 

DCF 13 BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR CHILD CARE PROGRAMS 
Register March 2021 No. 783 

 
DCF 13.01 Purpose and scope 
DCF 13.02 Definitions 
DCF 13.03 Background check request 
DCF 13.04 Obtaining armed forces information 
DCF 13.05 Determining whether other offenses are 

substantially related 
DCF 13.06 Background check eligibility 
DCF 13.07 Reporting requirements 
DCF 13.08 Sanctions 
DCF 13.09 Appeal of background check 

determinations 

DCF 13.10 Rehabilitation reviews by agency 
DCF 13.11 Eligibility for rehabilitation review 
DCF 13.12 Applying for rehabilitation review 
DCF 13.13 Agency rehabilitation review process 
DCF 13.14 Appealing a rehabilitation review panel’s 

denial 
DCF 13.15 Compliance with rehabilitation approval; 

withdrawal 
DCF 13.16 Permissive acceptance of a rehabilitation 

approval 
DCF 13.17 Fees 

 

DCF 13.01 Purpose and scope. This chapter is 
promulgated under the authority of ss. 48.67 (intro.), 
48.686, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., to specify 
procedures necessary to implement background 
checks required under s. 48.686, Stats., for 
caregivers, noncaregiver employees, and household 
members at a child care program. 

Note: For further information on the scope of the 
child care background check, see s. DCF 13.02 for 
definitions of terms used in this section. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 
8−1−20. 

DCF 13.02 Definitions. In this chapter: 
(1) “Agency” means the department, a 

certification agency, or a school board that 
establishes or contracts for a child care program 
under s. 120.13 (14), Stats. 

(2) “Background check request form” means a 
form prescribed by the department on which a 
person completes required information for purposes 
of the child care background check. 

Note: DCF−F−5296−E, Background Check 
Request Form, is available electronically through the 
Child Care Provider Portal and on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms. 

(3) “Bar” means any of the following: 
(a) A barrier to a person’s eligibility for regulatory 

approval, employment, or contract as a caregiver. 
(b) A barrier to a person’s nonclient residency at 

a child care program. 
(c) A barrier to a person’s eligibility for 

employment or contract as a noncaregiver employee. 
(4) “Caregiver” means any of the following: 
(a) An employee or contractor of a child care 

program who is involved in the care or supervision of 
clients. 

(b) A person who has direct contact with clients 
of a child care program or has unsupervised access 
to clients of a child care program, including student 
teachers, household members age 10 and older, and 

volunteers counted for the purpose of meeting the 
required staff−to−child ratios. 

(c) A person who has, or is seeking, a license, 
certification, or contract to operate a child care 
program. 

(5) “Certification agency” means the department 
in a county having a population of 750,000 or more or 
a county department, person, or tribe that has a 
contract with the department to certify child care 
providers under s. 48.651 (2), Stats., in a particular 
county or tribal area. 

(6) “Child care background check” means the 
requirements in s. 48.686, Stats., and this chapter. 

(7) “Child care program” means any of the 
following: 

(a) A child care center that is licensed under s. 
48.65, Stats. 

(b) A child care provider that is certified under s. 
48.651, Stats. 

(c) A child care program established or 
contracted for under s. 120.13 (14), Stats. 

(d) A temporary employment agency that 
provides caregivers or noncaregiver employees to 
another child care program. 

(8) “Client” means a person who receives direct 
care from a child care program, from an entity, as 
defined in s. DCF 12.02 (14), or from a caregiver 
specified in s. 48.685 (1) (ag) 1. am., Stats., including 
all of the following: 

(a) An adopted child for whom adoption 
assistance payments are being made under s. 
48.975, Stats. 

(b) A child for whom subsidized guardianship 
payments are being made under s. 48.623, Stats. 

(c) A person who is 18 to 21 years old, is 
receiving independent living services under 42 USC 
677 (a) from an agency, is no longer placed in 
out−of−home care, and is residing in the foster home 
in which he or she was previously placed. 

(9) “Contractor” means, with respect to a child 
care program, a person who provides services to the 
child care program under an express or implied 
contract or subcontract, or that person’s agent. 
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(10) “County department” means a county 

department of social services established under s. 
46.22, Stats., or a county department of human 
services established under s. 46.23, Stats. 

(11) “Department” means the department of 
children and families. 

(12) “Direct contact” means face−to−face 
physical proximity to a client that affords the 
opportunity to commit abuse or neglect of a client or 
to misappropriate the property of a client. 

(13) “Division of hearings and appeals” means 
the division of hearings and appeals within the 
department of administration. 

(14) “Final substantiated finding” means all of 
the following: 

(a) A final determination made after January 1, 
2015, that a person has abused or neglected a child 
under s. 48.981 (3) (c) 5m., Stats., and s. DCF 40.04 if 
the final determination has not been reversed or 
modified on appeal. 

(b) A determination made before January 1, 2015, 
that a person has abused or neglected a child under s. 
48.981 (3) (c) 4., 2011 Stats., if the determination has 
not been reversed or modified on appeal. 

(5) “Household member” means a person who is 
age 10 or older, who resides, or is expected to reside, 
at a child care program, and who is not a client of the 
child care program or caregiver. 

(15m) “Noncaregiver employee” means a person 
who provides services to a child care program as an 
employee or a contractor and is not a caregiver, but 
whose work at the child care program provides the 
ability to move freely throughout the premises and 
opportunities for interactions with clients of the child 
care program. 

(16) “Regulatory approval” means any of the 
following: 

(a) Issuance, continuation, or renewal of a 
license by the department under s. 48.66, Stats. 

(b) Issuance or renewal of certification by a 
certification agency under s. 48.651, Stats. 

(c) Approval of the person subject to the child 
care background check for a child care program to 
be established or contracted for by a school board 
under s. 120.13 (14), Stats. 

(17) “Rehabilitation review” means an agency 
process in s. 48.686 (5), Stats., under which an 
eligible person who has a bar may seek approval for 
any of the following: 

(a) Regulatory approval. 
(b) Employment or contract with a child care 

program to be a caregiver or noncaregiver employee. 
(c) Residency at a child care program. 
(18) “Reside” means to be present at a child care 

program for more than an aggregate of 14 calendar 
days within a 90−day period. “Reside” does not 
include incidental presence that does not afford 
unrestricted access to the premises or to children in 
care. 

(19) “Role” means a person’s job as a caregiver 
or noncaregiver employee or a person’s status as a 
household member at a child care program. 

(20) “School board” means the board that has 
the powers specified in s. 120.13, Stats., for the 
schools of a school district. 

(21) “Serious crime” has the meaning given in s. 
48.686 (1) (c), Stats. 

Note: A table that lists the child care serious 
crimes is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/520
6.pdf. 

(22) “Tribe” means a federally recognized 
American Indian tribe or band in Wisconsin. 

(23) “Volunteer” means a person who is not 
compensated, but agrees to give time, with or without 
reimbursement for expenses, to transport or to work 
with children in a child care program. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; correction in (7) (a), (8) (intro.) made under 
s. 35.17, Stats., Register March 2020 No. 771; CR 
20−003: cr. (3) (c), r. and recr. (4) (a), am. (4) (b), (7) 
(d), (15), cr. (15m), am. (17) (b), (19) Register July 
2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.03 Background check request. 
(1) REQUIRED FORMS AND FEES. A background 

check request shall include a completed background 
check request form, armed forces records under s. 
DCF 13.04, release forms, child care background 
check fees, and any additional information that the 
department determines is necessary to obtain the 
records required under s. 48.686 (2) (am), Stats. 

(2) FINGERPRINT SEARCHES. 
(a) Prior to working as a caregiver or 

noncaregiver employee or residing in a child care 
program, the subject of the background check shall 
submit fingerprints in a manner directed by the 
department. 

(b) Every 5 years or as otherwise requested by 
the department, caregivers, noncaregiver employees, 
and household members shall resubmit fingerprints 
in a manner directed by the department and the 
information specified under sub. (1). 

Note: DCF−F−5296−E, Background Check 
Request Form, is available electronically through the 
Child Care Provider Portal and on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (2) Register July 2020 No. 
775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.04 Obtaining armed forces information. 
(1) If a person who is the subject of a 

background check served in a branch of the U.S. 
armed forces within the previous 3 years, including 
any reserve component, the department shall make 
every reasonable effort to obtain the discharge status 
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of that person, either from the discharge papers 
issued to the person or from the armed forces 
branch in which the person served. The department 
shall document the efforts made to obtain the 
discharge status of the person. 

(2) If the discharge status of the person 
described in sub. (1) is other than honorable, the 
department shall make every reasonable effort to 
obtain information on the nature and circumstances 
of the discharge. 

Note: The information from the armed forces 
may include military court findings or information 
relevant to making a background check 
determination. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20. 

DCF 13.05 Determining whether other offenses 
are substantially related. 

(1) CAREGIVERS, NONCAREGIVER EMPLOYEES, 
AND HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS. To determine whether 
a caregiver’s, noncaregiver employee’s, or household 
member’s conviction or delinquency adjudication for 
an offense that is not a serious crime is substantially 
related to the care of a child or the activities of a child 
care program, the department shall consider all of the 
following: 

(a) In relation to the person’s role at the child 
care program, all of the following: 

1. The nature and scope of the person’s contact 
with clients. 

2. The scope of the discretionary authority and 
independent judgment the person has to make 
decisions or take actions that affect the care of clients. 

3. The opportunity the role at the child care 
program presents for committing similar crimes. 

4. The extent to which acceptable performance 
of the role at the child care program requires the trust 
and confidence of clients and the parents or 
guardians of clients. 

5. The amount and type of supervision received. 
(b) In relation to the criminal conviction or 

delinquency adjudication, all of the following: 
1. Whether intent is an element of the crime. 
2. Whether the elements or circumstances of the 

crime are related to the person’s role at the child care 
program. 

3. Any pattern of criminal convictions or 
delinquency adjudications. 

4. The extent to which the crime relates to clients 
or other vulnerable persons. 

5. Whether the crime involves violence or a threat 
of harm. 

6. Whether the crime is of a sexual nature. 
(c) In relation to the person, all of the following: 
1. The number and type of crimes for which the 

person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent. 
2. The length of time between the conviction or 

delinquency adjudication and the decision affecting 

regulatory approval, employment, contract, or 
nonclient residency. 

3. The person’s participation in or completion of 
pertinent programs of a rehabilitative nature. 

4. The person’s probation, extended supervision, 
or parole status. 

5. If the person is a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, the person’s ability to perform or to 
continue to perform the role consistent with the safe 
and efficient operation of the program and the 
confidence of clients and the parents or guardians of 
clients. 

7. The age of the person on the date the crime 
was committed. 

(2) DOCUMENTATION. The department shall 
document how it reached the determination under 
sub. (1) that the criminal conviction or delinquency 
adjudication of a caregiver, noncaregiver employee, 
or household member is or is not substantially 
related to the care of a child or the activities of the 
child care program. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: am. (1) (intro.), (c) 5., (2) Register July 2020 
No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.06 Background check eligibility. 
(1) PRELIMINARY ELIGIBILITY. 
(a) The department shall issue a preliminary 

eligibility determination that indicates whether a 
person is barred from employment as a caregiver, 
noncaregiver employee, or household member at the 
child care program based on any serious crimes 
reported on the federal bureau of investigation and 
Wisconsin department of justice fingerprint results. 

(b) A child care program that receives a 
department determination that a person is 
preliminarily eligible may employ, contract with, or 
allow the person to reside at the child care program 
pending the department’s final eligibility 
determination under sub. (3). 

(2) SUPERVISION OF PERSONS WITH 
PRELIMINARY ELIGIBILITY. 

(a) Persons who begin work or residency with 
preliminary eligibility under sub. (1) shall be 
supervised at all times children are present. The 
supervision shall include periodic and direct 
observation of the person. 

(b) A person who has received a final 
determination of eligibility under sub. (3) within the 
past 5 years shall supervise a person with preliminary 
eligibility under sub. (1). 

(3) FINAL ELIGIBILITY. 
(a) After receiving all of the records required 

under s. 48.686 (2) (am), Stats., the department shall 
provide a final written report to the child care 
program indicating whether the person who is the 
subject of the report is eligible or ineligible to work or 
reside at a child care program, without revealing 
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information about any disqualifying offenses or other 
information regarding the person. 

(b) The department shall provide a final written 
report to the person on whom the child care 
background check was conducted, indicating 
whether the person is eligible or ineligible to work or 
reside at a child care program. If the person is 
ineligible, the report also shall include information on 
each disqualifying offense, the right to appeal under 
s. DCF 13.09, and the right to a rehabilitation review 
under s. DCF 13.10, if applicable. 

(4) TRANSFER OF ELIGIBILITY. A child care 
program may employ a person or allow the person to 
reside in the child care program without requesting a 
new child care background check on the person if all 
of the following conditions are met: 

(a) Within the past 5 years, the person received a 
final determination of eligibility under sub. (3) to work 
or reside in a child care program and the 
determination of eligibility has not been withdrawn or 
revoked. 

(b) Either of the following apply: 
1. The person is currently working or residing in a 

child care program. 
2. The person has been separated from 

employment or residence at a child care program for 
less than 180 days. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; CR 
20−003: am. (1) (a) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.07 Reporting requirements. 
(1) CHILD CARE PROGRAM OFFENSE 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. A child care program 
shall report to the agency that granted regulatory 
approval as soon as the child care program knows, or 
should have known, that any of the following apply to 
a caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or household 
member at the child care program: 

(a) The person is the subject of a delinquency 
petition alleging that the person committed a serious 
crime on or after his or her 10th birthday. 

(b) The person has been adjudicated delinquent 
on or after his or her 10th birthday for committing any 
crime. 

(c) The person is the subject of a pending 
criminal charge alleging that the person committed a 
serious crime. 

(d) The person has been convicted of any crime. 
(e) A final substantiated finding has been made 

that the person abused or neglected a child. 
(f) A finding that is comparable to a final 

substantiated finding has been made in any other 
jurisdiction. 

(g) A unit of government or a state agency as 
defined in s.16.61 (2) (d), Stats., made a finding that 
the person has abused or neglected a client or 
misappropriated the property of a client. 

(h) If a position requires a person to hold a 
credential, as defined in s. 440.01 (2) (a), Stats., the 

person has been denied a credential or had a 
credential restricted or otherwise limited. 

(2) OTHER CHILD CARE PROGRAM REPORTING. 
(a) A child care program shall report to the 

agency that granted regulatory approval as soon as 
possible, but no later than the agency’s next business 
day, if any of the following occurs: 

1. A person who is age 10 or over and is not a 
client begins residing at, or is expected to reside at, a 
child care program. 

Note: See the definitions in s. DCF 13.02 (15) and 
(18). 

2. A household member turns 10 years of age. 
3. A household member turns 18 years of age. 
4. A corporation or limited liability company 

designates a new person to be subject to the 
background check. 

5. A caregiver, noncaregiver employee, or 
household member at the child care program 
changes his or her name. 

6. A person’s role at the child care program has 
changed or will be changing and a new eligibility 
determination may be required for the child care 
background check. 

7. A new caregiver or noncaregiver employee 
begins work, or a prospective caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee intends to begin work, at the 
child care program. 

8. A caregiver or noncaregiver employee is no 
longer working in the child care program or intends to 
no longer work in the child care program, including 
the last date of employment. 

9. A prospective caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee was not hired. 

10. A former household member is no longer 
residing at the child care program or a household 
member intends to no longer reside at the child care 
program, including the last date of residence. 

(b) When a change specified under par. (a) 1. to 
7. occurs regarding a child care program, the 
program shall submit a completed background 
check request form no later than the agency’s next 
business day for the new person subject to the child 
care background check and ensure persons comply 
with the fingerprint requirements within the 
timeframe specified by the department. 

(3) CHILD CARE PROGRAM POLICY. A child care 
program shall include in its personnel or operating 
policies a provision that requires a person who is a 
caregiver specified in s. DCF 13.02 (4) (a) and (b) or a 
noncaregiver employee to notify the child care program 
as soon as possible, but no later than the child care 
program’s next working day, if any of the circumstances 
under sub. (1) (a) to (h) apply to the person. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4−1−20; 
CR 20−003: cr. (1) (intro.), (2) (a) 2., 3., 5., 7. to 10., (3) 
Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 
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DCF 13.08 Sanctions.  
(1) CHILD CARE PROGRAM. 
(a) A child care program that does any of the 

following may be subject to one or more of the 
sanctions specified in par. (b) by the department or 
the agency that granted the regulatory approval: 

1. Allows a person who has not received 
preliminary determination of eligibility to begin work 
or reside at the child care program in violation of s. 
DCF 13.06 (1). 

2. Allows a person who has not received a final 
determination of eligibility to work or reside at a child 
care program without direct supervision in violation 
of s. DCF 13.06 (2). 

3. Hires, employs, or contracts with a person that 
the department determined was ineligible to be a 
caregiver or noncaregiver employee in the child care 
program. 

3m. Permits a person that the department 
determined was ineligible to be a household member 
in the child care program. 

4. Fails to submit a background check request as 
required under s. 48.686 (2) (ab), Stats., and s. DCF 
13.03. 

5. Knows, or should know, that a caregiver, 
noncaregiver employee, or household member at the 
child care program committed an act barred under s. 
48.686 (4m) (a) 6., 7., or 8., Stats., including knowingly 
giving false information on or knowingly omitting 
material information relating to the child care 
background check. 

6. Fails to comply with applicable reporting 
requirements under s. DCF 13.07 (1) or (2). 

7. Fails to have a policy on reporting changes as 
required in 

s. DCF 13.07 (3). 
8. Violates any provision in s. 48.686, Stats., or 

this chapter regarding caregivers, noncaregiver 
employees, or household members. 

(b) Any of the following sanctions may be 
imposed on a child care program that commits any 
of the acts described in par. (a): 

1. Suspension, nonrenewal, denial, or revocation 
of regulatory approval. 

2. Specific conditions or limitations placed on the 
regulatory approval. 

3. A forfeiture of not more than $1,000. 
4. A requirement that the child care program 

develop a written plan that specifies corrections that 
will be made to personnel screening practices, obtain 
agency approval of the correction plan, and 
implement the correction plan. 

(2) APPLICANT. An applicant for regulatory 
approval who does any of the following is subject to 
denial of an application for regulatory approval: 

(a) Fails to complete and submit the background 
check request required under s. DCF 13.03. 

(b) Knowingly provides false information on or 
knowingly omits information from the background 
check request form. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (1) (a) 3., cr. (1) (a) 3m., am. 
(1) (a) 5., 8. Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.09 Appeal of background check 
determinations 

(1) APPEAL RIGHTS. 
(a) The department shall include a statement of 

appeal rights with a notification of ineligibility under s. 
DCF 13.06 (3) to the subject of background check. 

(b) The subject of a department determination 
under s. DCF 13.06 (3) may appeal the determination 
under s. 48.686 (4s), Stats. Only the subject of the 
background check may file the appeal. 

(2) SUBMISSION OF AN APPEAL. 
(a) To submit an appeal of an ineligibility 

determination under s. DCF 13.06 (3), the subject of a 
background check shall submit a completed petition 
for appeal form prescribed by the department to the 
department’s postal address, email address, or fax 
number that is identified in the statement of appeal 
rights. 

(b) An appeal under sub. (1) may be submitted 
no later than 10 days after the date of the 
department’s ineligibility determination, unless the 
subject requests, and the department grants for good 
cause shown, an extension for a specific period of 
time prior to the expiration of the 10−day appeal 
period. 

(c) If an appeal is not received under sub. (1) 
within 10 days after the department’s ineligibility 
determination and an extension has not been 
approved before the expiration of the 10−day appeal 
period, the department’s ineligibility determination 
made under s. DCF 13.06 (3) is final. 

Note: Form DCF−F−5331−E, Petition for Appeal 
of Ineligibility Determination, is available in the forms 
section of the department website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. Send the appeal request to 
the Department of Children and Families, Child Care 
Background Unit, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI  
53708−8916; email 
DCFPlicBECRCBU@wisconsin.gov; or fax (608) 
422−7155. 

(3) DEPARTMENT REVIEW OF APPEALS. 
(a) The department shall notify the subject of the 

background check that his or her appeal request 
under sub. (2) has been received within 7 business 
days after receipt. 

(b) The department shall review each timely 
appeal request under sub. (2) and issue a written 
appeal decision within 30 days after receiving the 
appeal request. The decision notice shall include 
information on the right to another appeal by 
requesting a reconsideration under sub. (4). 
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Note: Send the reconsideration request to the 

Department of Children and Families, Assistant 
Secretary, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI  53708−8916; 
email 
DCFMBChildcareEligibilityAppeals@wisconsin.gov; 
or fax (608) 422−7161. 

(4) RECONSIDERATION OF AN APPEAL. 
(a) The subject of the background check may 

request a reconsideration of the department’s appeal 
decision under sub. (3). A request for reconsideration 
shall be sent to the postal address, email address, or 
fax number identified in the appeal decision within 30 
days after the date on the decision. 

(b) The department secretary or the secretary’s 
designee shall review a reconsideration request 
under par. (a) and issue a written decision. The 
reconsideration decision shall include information on 
the right to another appeal by requesting a contested 
case hearing under sub. (5). 

(5) CONTESTED CASE HEARING. The subject of 
the background check who receives an adverse 
decision from the department secretary or the 
secretary’s designee under sub. (4) may request a 
contested case hearing under ch. 227, Stats., and ch. 
HA 1 within 10 days after the date of the 
department’s reconsideration decision. 

Note: Send a request for a contested case 
hearing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 
4822 Madison Yards Way, PO Box 7875, Madison, 
Wisconsin, 53707−7875. The fax number of the 
division is (608) 264−9885. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (2) (b), (c) Register July 
2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.10 Rehabilitation reviews by agency. An 
agency may conduct a rehabilitation review for a 
person who requests a rehabilitation review if the 
person is eligible under s. 48.686 (5) (a), Stats., and s. 
DCF 13.11 and is any of the following: 

(1) A person who has, or is seeking, regulatory 
approval from the agency as a caregiver specified in 
s. DCF 13.02 (4) (c). 

(2) A person who is, or is expected to be, a 
caregiver specified in s. DCF 13.02 (4) (a) or (b) for a 
child care program that is regulated by the agency. 

(3) A person who is, or is expected to be, a 
household member at a child care program that is 
regulated by the agency. 

(4) A person who is, or is expected to be, a 
noncaregiver employee for a child care program that 
is regulated by the agency. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (3), cr. (4) Register July 
2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.11 Eligibility for rehabilitation review. 
(1) Except as provided under sub. (2), a person 

may have the opportunity to demonstrate his or her 
rehabilitation if any of the following apply: 

(a) Section 48.686 (4m) (a) 2., 3., or 4. applies to 
the person. 

(b) The person has been convicted or 
adjudicated delinquent of a serious crime as 
specified under s. 48.686 (1) (c) 9., Stats., or for a 
violation of the law of any other state or United States 
jurisdiction that would be a violation listed in s. 
48.686 (1) (c) 9., Stats., if committed in this state, and 
the person completed his or her sentence, including 
any probation, parole, or extended supervision, or 
was discharged by the department of corrections, 
more than 5 years before the date of the investigation 
under s. 48.686 (2) (am), Stats. 

Note: A table listing child care serious crimes 
and availability of rehabilitation review for each 
offense can be accessed at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/publications/pdf/520
6.pdf. 

(2) A person may not have the opportunity to 
demonstrate his or her rehabilitation if within the 
preceding 12 months an agency denied the person’s 
request for rehabilitation approval, and the new 
request is for the same type of regulatory approval, 
job function, or status as a household member with 
the same level of direct contact with clients or 
unsupervised access to clients. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (1) (intro.), (2) Register July 
2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.12 Applying for rehabilitation review. To 
apply for rehabilitation review, a person who is 
eligible to request rehabilitation review under s. DCF 
13.11 shall do all of the following: 

(1) Obtain a rehabilitation review application on a 
form prescribed by the department and submit the 
completed application to the agency. 

Note: Form DCF−F−419, Rehabilitation Review 
Application Instructions, is available in the forms 
section of the department website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

(2) Submit any supporting documents and 
information required by the rehabilitation review 
application to the agency. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20. 
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DCF 13.13 Agency rehabilitation review 

process. 
(1) TIME FRAME. If an application for a 

rehabilitation review is not complete or any 
supporting documents or information required in the 
application are not submitted within 90 days after the 
date the application was first received by the agency, 
the request for a rehabilitation review shall be denied, 
unless the person requesting the rehabilitation review 
provides a good cause explanation. 

(2) REHABILITATION REVIEW PANEL. If a 
person who is eligible for rehabilitation review under 
s. DCF 13.11 submits an application that is complete 
under s. DCF 13.12 no later than the deadline in sub. 
(1), the applicable agency shall appoint a review 
panel of at least 2 persons to review the information 
submitted. The panel may request additional 
information from the person requesting the review or 
from other agencies or persons familiar with the 
person. 

(3) REQUESTOR APPEARANCE. A person for 
whom a rehabilitation review is conducted under sub. 
(2) shall be given an opportunity to appear before the 
review panel to present information and answer any 
questions the panel members may have. The 
person’s appearance before the review panel may be 
in person, by telephone, or other technology approved 
by the agency. 

(4) REHABILITATION REVIEW PANEL. After 
reviewing the information obtained, a review panel 
appointed under sub. (2) shall decide whether the 
person who is the subject of the rehabilitation review 
has demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence 
that he or she is rehabilitated for purposes of 
receiving regulatory approval, employment as a 
caregiver or noncaregiver employee, contracting with 
a child care program to be a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee, or residing at a child care 
program. The panel shall consider at least the 
following factors, as applicable: 

(a) Personal references and comments from 
employers, persons, and agencies familiar with the 
applicant and statements from therapists, 
counselors, and other professionals. 

(b) Evidence of successful adjustment to, 
compliance with, or proof of successful completion 
of parole, extended supervision, probation, 
incarceration, or work release privileges. 

(c) Any investigations or enforcement actions by 
a regulatory agency for substantial noncompliance 
with applicable laws. 

(d) Any subsequent contacts with law 
enforcement agencies, including arrests, charges, 
convictions, pending criminal or civil arrest warrants, 
civil judgments, or other legal enforcement actions or 
injunctions against the person. 

(e) Any aggravating or mitigating circumstances 
surrounding the barring crime, act, or offense. 

(f) Evidence of rehabilitation, such as public or 
community service, volunteer work, recognition by 
other public or private authorities for 
accomplishments or efforts or attempts at 
restitution, and demonstrated ability to develop 
positive social interaction and increased 
independence or autonomy of daily living. 

(g) The age of the person at the time of the 
offense and the amount of time between the crime, 
act, or offense and the request for rehabilitation 
review. 

(g) Whether the person is on the sexual offender 
registry under s. 301.45, Stats., or on a similar registry 
in another jurisdiction. 

(i) A victim’s impact statement, if appropriate. 
(j) The person’s employment history, including 

evidence of acceptable performance or competency 
and dedication to the person’s profession. 

(k) The nature and scope of the person’s contact 
with clients in the position requested. 

(L) The degree to which the person would be 
directly supervised or working independently in the 
position requested. 

(m) The opportunity presented for someone in 
the position to commit similar offenses. 

(n) The number, type, and pattern of offenses 
committed by the person. 

(o) Successful participation in or completion of 
recommended rehabilitation, treatment, or programs. 

(p) Unmet treatment needs. 
(q) The person’s veracity. 
(5) REVIEW PANEL DECISION 
(a) Scope. An agency review panel may grant 

rehabilitation approval only within the scope of the 
agency’s regulatory authority. 

(b) Deferral. A review panel may defer a final 
decision under sub. (4) for a period of not more than 
6 months, unless the person who is the subject of the 
rehabilitation review agrees to a longer time period. 

(c) Written decision. A review panel shall issue a 
written decision under sub. (4) that includes the 
following, as applicable: 

1. ‘Approval.’ An approval shall state all of the 
following: 

a. The type of child care program to which the 
decision applies. 

b. The types of approval that were requested and 
are approved in the decision, such as regulatory 
approval, employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, contract to be a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, or status as a household member at a 
child care program. 

c. Any conditions or limitations placed on the 
approval. 

Note: Examples of limited approval include 
approval for employment in specific child care roles. 
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2. ‘Deferral.’  A deferral shall state the reason for 

the deferral and the date that the review panel will 
reconvene to review any new information affecting 
the request. 

3. ‘Denial.’  A denial shall include all of the 
following: 

a. The type of child care program to which the 
decision applies. 

b. The types of approval that were requested and 
are denied in the decision, such as regulatory 
approval, employment as a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, contract to be a caregiver or noncaregiver 
employee, or status as a household member at a 
child care program. 

c. The reason for the denial. 
d. Notice that the person may appeal the denial 

and a summary of the appeal process under s. 
48.686 (5c), Stats., and s. DCF 13.14. 

(6) REVIEW PANEL DECISION DISTRIBUTION. 
(a) A review panel shall send a decision made 

under sub. (5) to the person who is the subject of the 
rehabilitation review and, if requested, a copy to 
entities specified by that person. 

(b) Within 10 days after sending a rehabilitation 
review decision to the subject of the rehabilitation 
review under par. (a), the review panel for an agency 
shall send all of the following to the department: 

1. A copy of the review panel’s decision. 
2. A copy of the person’s application under s. 

DCF 13.12. 
3. A completed rehabilitation review decision 

report on a form prescribed by the department. 
Note: Form DCF−F−418−E, Rehabilitation Review 

Panel Decision Report, is available in the forms 
section of the department website at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. The materials should be 
sent to Attn: Rehabilitation Review Coordinator, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Department of Children and 
Families, P. O. Box 8916, Madison, WI 53708−8916. 

(7) RETENTION OF REHABILITATION DECISION 
DOCUMENTATION.  

(a) The agency shall retain a copy of a written 
decision by a rehabilitation review panel and any 
decisions from filed appeals that may result. 

(b) The agency shall retain a copy of a 
rehabilitation review request and all materials or 
information obtained or notes made as part of a 
rehabilitation review decision for at least 10 years 
after the decision is made and any appeals are 
finalized. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (4) (intro.), (5) (c) 1. b., 3. b. 
Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.14 Appealing a rehabilitation review 
panel’s denial.  

(1) (a) A person who is denied rehabilitation 
approval under s. DCF 13.13 may submit a written 
request for review of the decision by the secretary or 
the secretary’s designee under s. 48.686 (5c), Stats. 
A request for review shall be submitted within 10 
days after the date of the written decision by the 
rehabilitation panel. No new evidence may be 
submitted. 

(b) A person who appeals under this subsection 
shall bear the burden of proving, by a preponderance 
of the evidence, that the rehabilitation review panel 
for the agency erroneously exercised its discretion in 
deciding that the person did not show sufficient 
evidence to demonstrate that he or she is 
rehabilitated. 

Note: Pursuant to s. 48.686 (5c), Stats., submit 
an appeal to the following, as appropriate: 

1. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review 
panel for the department or a certification agency, 
send the request to the Department of Children and 
Families, Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8916, 
Madison, WI  53708−8916. 

2. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review 
panel for the school board, send the request to the 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, 125 South 
Webster Street, Madison, WI 53703; or call (608) 
266−3390. 

3. To appeal a denial by a rehabilitation review 
panel for a tribe, send the request to the director of 
the appropriate tribe or the director’s designee. 

(2) A person who receives an adverse decision 
from the secretary of the department or the 
secretary’s designee under sub. (1) may request a 
contested case hearing under ch. 227, Stats., and ch. 
HA 1 within 10 days after the date of the written 
decision by the department. 

Note: Send a request for a contested case 
hearing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, 
4822 Madison Yards Way, PO Box 7875, Madison, 
Wisconsin, 53707−7875. The fax number of the 
division is (608) 264−9885. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20. 

DCF 13.15 Compliance with rehabilitation 
approval; withdrawal.  

(1) COMPLIANCE WITH APPROVAL 
CONDITIONS. A person whose rehabilitation is 
approved under s. DCF 13.13 shall comply with any 
conditions and limitations imposed with that 
approval. 

(2) WITHDRAWAL OF REHABILITATION 
APPROVAL. 

(a) An agency that granted a person a 
rehabilitation approval under s. DCF 13.13 may 
withdraw the rehabilitation approval if the person has 
done any of the following: 
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1. The person has failed to comply with or abide 

by any conditions or limitations imposed with the 
rehabilitation approval. 

2. The person knowingly submitted false 
information or withheld pertinent information that 
could have or would have affected the review panel’s 
decision to grant the rehabilitation approval. 

(b) If an agency withdraws a rehabilitation 
approval under par.(a), it shall issue a written notice 
that explains the reasons for the withdrawal and 
informs the person whose approval has been 
withdrawn that he or she may appeal as provided in 
s. DCF 13.14. 

(c) If an agency withdraws rehabilitation 
approval and the withdrawal results in a bar to 
regulatory approval, employment as a caregiver or 
noncaregiver employee, contracting with a child care 
program to be a caregiver or noncaregiver employee, 
or status as a household member at a child care 
program, the agency that withdraws the rehabilitation 
approval shall immediately report the withdrawal to 
the department. 

(3) INFORMING THE GRANTING AGENCY. A 
child care program or agency that becomes aware 
that a person has violated the conditions or 
limitations of a rehabilitation approval that was 
granted by another agency shall inform the agency 
that granted the approval of the violation. 

Note: Send reports of withdrawn rehabilitation 
approval to Attn: Rehabilitation Review Coordinator, 
Department of Children and Families, Office of Legal 
Counsel, P.O. Box 8916, Madison, WI  53708−8916. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; CR 20−003: am. (2) (c) Register July 2020 
No. 775, eff. 8−1−20. 

DCF 13.16 Permissive acceptance of a 
rehabilitation approval.  

(1) SCOPE.  
(a) 1. An agency may accept a rehabilitation 

approval granted to a person by another agency if the 
previous rehabilitation approval applies to the same 
type of child care program and the same type of 
approval. 

Note: For example, a certification agency in 
County B may accept a rehabilitation approval to be a 
household member in a certified child care home if a 
certification agency in County A granted the same 
type of approval. 

2. A certification agency may accept a 
rehabilitation approval granted to a person by the 
department if the previous rehabilitation approval 
applies to the same type of approval for a child care 
center that is licensed to care for 4 to 8 children 
under s. 48.66, Stats.  

3. A rehabilitation approval granted by a tribe that 
conducts rehabilitation reviews pursuant to a plan 
approved by the department under s. 48.686 (5d), 
Stats., may not be accepted by another agency. 

Note: A rehabilitation approval granted by a tribe 
under this chapter may be accepted by another 
agency. 

(b) An agency that accepts a rehabilitation 
approval granted by another agency shall enforce any 
limitations or conditions that were included in the 
approval if the conditions or limitations imposed by 
the agency that granted the approval have not been 
terminated or have not expired. 

(2) PROCESS. 
(a) If an agency learns that a person has had a 

previous rehabilitation review, the agency shall 
contact the department to request a copy of the 
rehabilitation decision and information on the status 
of any rehabilitation approval. 

(b) If the previous rehabilitation review decision 
was an approval and the approval has not been 
withdrawn, the agency shall determine whether the 
approval is eligible to be accepted under sub. (1). 

(c) If the previous rehabilitation approval is 
eligible to be accepted under sub. (1), the agency 
shall determine whether to accept or deny the 
previous approval. 

(3) INELIGIBILITY OR DENIAL. If an agency 
determines that a person’s previous rehabilitation 
approval may not be accepted under sub. (1) or the 
agency denies an eligible rehabilitation approval 
under sub. (2) (c), the agency shall inform the person 
of his or her right to submit an application for a new 
rehabilitation review under s. DCF 13.12 and shall 
process a submitted application under s. DCF 13.13. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20; correction in (1) (a) 3. made under s. 35.17, 
Stats., Register March 2020 No. 771. 

DCF 13.17 Fees. The department may charge a 
fee for the cost of background checks required under 
s. 48.686, Stats. A child care program shall submit all 
fees required by the department as directed by the 
department. 

History: EmR1918: emerg. cr., eff. 1−30−19; CR 
19−089: cr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 
4−1−20. 
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APPENDIX D 

RESOURCES LIST 

To obtain copies of the materials listed below, visit the DCF Licensing Rules with Commentary 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/commentary or contact the Child Care Information 
Center (CCIC) at 1-800-362-7353. Appendix D can be found in the commentary manual listed in 
separate parts. 

 
1. Car Safety Seat Information (Car Safety Seat Check-Up) 

2. Center Medication and Injury Log – Directions for Use 

3. Child Care Background Checks (CBC) FAQ – Licensed Child Care 

4. Child Care Weather Watch – Wisconsin  

5. Communicable Diseases Chart & Order Info 

6. Cleaning, Sanitizing, and Disinfecting in Child Care Settings 

7. Collaborative Child Care Program – Frequently Asked Questions 

8. Common Plants – What’s Poisonous 

9. Credit to Hours Conversion – Technical Colleges and Universities  

10. Daily Attendance Record – Licensed Child Care Centers 

11. DCF Approved Agencies Offering Non-Credit Child Care Courses 

12. Early Years Are Learning Years – Time Out for “Time Out”  

13. Entry Level Courses – Early Childhood Professionals  

14. Entry Level Courses – School-Age Professionals 

15. Guidance for Child Care Providers Regarding Lead-Based Paint Hazards in Child Care Settings 

16. Instructions for Obtaining Forms  

17. Managing Crying, Fussing or Distraught Children  

18. OSHA Regulations on Bloodborne Pathogens 

19. Prevention of Exposure to Blood and Body Fluids 

20. Required Items for Family Child Care Centers 

21. Safe Food Storage 

22. Situations that Require Medical Attention Right Away  

23. Staff-to-Child Ratio While Swimming Worksheet – Group and Family Child Care 

24. Storing and Warming Infant Bottles and Food 

25. Ten Steps to Breastfeeding Friendly Child Care Centers 

26. The Registry Administrator Credential 

27. The Registry Career Levels 

28. Together Child Grow – Quality Child Care for Children with Special Needs 

 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/commentary
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A 
Absence 

Policies ........................................................... 9, 76 
Supervision plan................................................. 28 

Accident 
Action plan ......................................................... 37 
Recording ........................................................... 65 
Reporting ............................................................ 11 

Activities 
During hours of operation .................................. 28 
Equipment .......................................................... 56 
Infants and toddlers ........................................... 77 
Night care ........................................................... 83 
Planning ............................................................. 50 

Additional Center .................................................... 87 
Address Change ...................................................... 86 
Administration .................................................... 8, 77 
Age 

Child care provider ....................................... 22, 28 
Driver .................................................................. 72 

Alcohol ................................................................ 4, 29 
Amending a License ............................................... 86 
Application 

Continuation application ................................... 86 
Initial application ................................................ 85 

Attendance Record ................................................. 16 
Automated External Defibrillator ................................ 26 

B 
Background Check Request form 

Definition .............................................................. 3 
Household member ........................................... 12 
Initial application ................................................ 85 

BandAids ................................................................. 68 
Bedding ............................................................. 61, 83 
Beds 

Night care ........................................................... 83 
Rest periods ....................................................... 61 
Sharing ............................................................... 63 
Waterbeds .......................................................... 78 

Blanket 
Infants and toddlers ........................................... 77 
Night care ........................................................... 83 
Rest periods ....................................................... 61 

Bottles ..................................................................... 79 
Building .................................................................... 35 

C 
Capacity..................................................................... 9 

Night care ........................................................... 83 
Certificate 

CPR ..................................................................... 26 
Rabies vaccination ............................................. 69 

Change 
Center location ................................................... 86 
Center policies ................................................... 86 
Off-premises play space plan ............................. 51 
Ownership of the center .................................... 86 
Room usage ....................................................... 14 
Terms of the license .......................................... 86 
Transportation services ..................................... 14 

Child Abuse 
Prohibited actions ............................................... 59 
Reporting to department ................................... 12 
Staff training ...................................................... 25 

Child Abuse or Neglect 
Reporting ............................................................ 27 

Child Care Background Check 
Definition ................................................................ 3 
Submit to department ....................................... 12 

Child Guidance 
Policy ............................................................ 14, 58 
Prohibited actions ............................................... 58 
Time outs ............................................................ 58 

Children's Records .................................................. 16 
Cleanliness 

Diaper changing surface ................................... 80 
Kitchens ............................................................. 47 

Commercial Building Codes ................................... 35 
Communicable Disease ................................... 14, 63 
Complaint Investigation and Reporting ................. 90 
Confidentiality ......................................................... 20 
Continuing Education 

Licensee responsibility ...................................... 30 
Controlled Substance ............................................. 32 
Cot 

Night care ........................................................... 83 
Rest periods ....................................................... 61 
Sharing ............................................................... 63 

CPR .......................................................................... 26 
Creativity ................................................................. 55 
Crib 

Night care ........................................................... 83 
Rest periods ....................................................... 61 
Sharing ............................................................... 63 
Soft materials .................................................... 77 
Tight-fitting mattress ......................................... 77 

Cultural Diversity ..................................................... 56 

D 
Daily Acctivities 

Planning ............................................................. 50 
Daily Activities 

Age-appropriate ................................................. 53 
Indoor and outdoor ............................................ 57 
Policy .................................................................. 10 

Dangerous Items .................................................... 36 
Days of Operation ..................................................... 9 
Denial ...................................................................... 87 
Diapering 

Infants and toddlers .......................................... 80 
Differences of Elevation ......................................... 38 
Discipline ..................................... See Child Guidance 
Dishwashing ........................................................... 48 
Disinfecting 

Diaper changing surface ................................... 80 
Wading pool ....................................................... 53 

Doors ....................................................................... 46 
Drugs ................................. See Controlled Substance 
Duplex ..................................................................... 47 
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E 

Electrical Outlets .................................................... 36 
Elevation ................................................................. 38 
Emergency 

Lighting .............................................................. 83 
Orientation of backup provider ......................... 29 
Supervision plan ................................................ 31 
Telephone numbers .......................................... 37 
Transportation information ............................... 71 
Vehicle ............................................................... 35 
Written plan ................................................. 42, 83 

Enforcement Action 
Summary Suspension ....................................... 88 

Enforcement Action 
Denial or revocation .......................................... 88 
Posting requirements ........................................ 11 
Statutory authority ............................................. 90 

Enrollment 
Infants and toddlers .......................................... 83 
Information ........................................................ 17 
Policy ................................................................. 10 

Equipment 
Kitchen ............................................................... 48 
Outdoor space .................................................... 50 

Equipment and Furnishings 
Requirements .................................................... 60 

Exception to a Requirement ..................................... 3 
Exits ........................................................................ 46 

F 
Fee Payment Policy ................................................ 10 
Feeding 

Infants and toddlers .......................................... 77 
Night care .......................................................... 83 

Fence 
Hot tub ............................................................... 39 
Outdoor space ................................................... 51 

Field Trips 
Parental authorization ....................................... 17 
Parental notification .......................................... 15 
Transportation policy ........................................ 11 
Transportation requirements ............................ 71 

Fire Extinguisher ..................................................... 44 
Firearms .................................................................. 36 
Fit and Qualified ..................................................... 84 
Food .................................................................. 48, 77 
Formula ................................................................... 77 
Foster Care ............................................................. 32 
Freezer .................................................................... 48 

G 
Group Size .............................................................. 32 
Guns ........................................................................ 36 

H 
Hazards ............................................................. 36, 52 
Health Care Policies ............................................... 10 
Health Examination 

Child ................................................................... 18 
Health History ................................................... 17, 64 
Highchair ................................................................. 80 
Hot Surfaces ........................................................... 36 
Hot Tub ................................................................... 39 
Hours of Operation ................................................... 9 

I 
Ill Child ..................................................................... 64 
Imaginative Play ...................................................... 56 
Immunization ........................................................... 18 
Incident 

Reporting ............................................................ 12 
Indoor Space ........................................................... 37 
Indoor Temperature ................................................ 35 
Infant Seat ................................................................ 80 
Inflatable Bounce Surface ...................................... 61 
Injury 

Authorization for emergency care ..................... 68 
Parental notification..................................... 15, 68 
Reporting ............................................................ 15 
Superficial wounds............................................. 68 

Inspection 
Building safety .................................................... 35 
Fire extinguisher ................................................. 44 
Licensing ............................................................ 90 

Insurance ................................................................. 85 
Written information to parents .......................... 10 

Intake forms ............................................................ 77 
Intellectual Stimulation ........................................... 60 

K 
Kitchen ..................................................................... 48 

L 
Language ........................................................... 55, 79 
Large Muscle 

Equipment .......................................................... 58 
Programming ..................................................... 55 

Law Enforcement .................................................... 13 
Lead-based Paint .................................................... 39 
Leftovers .................................................................. 49 
License 

Amending ........................................................... 86 
Continuation application .................................... 86 
Denial or revocation ........................................... 87 
Initial application ................................................ 85 
Posting requirements ........................................ 11 
Summary suspension ........................................ 88 
Terms of operation .............................................. 9 

Literacy .................................................................... 56 

M 
Meals 

Night care............................................................ 83 
Prohibited actions .............................................. 59 

Medical Log ............................................................. 64 
Medication 

Requirements ..................................................... 65 
Missing Child ........................................................... 42 
Months of Operation ................................................. 9 
Moving ..................................................................... 86 

N 
Naps......................................................................... 61 
Night Care ................................................................ 83 
Nutrition Policy ........................................................ 10 
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O 

Orientation 
Emergency back-up provider ............................. 29 
Employee, volunteer, substitute ........................ 26 
Written plan .................................................. 10, 83 

Other Employment .................................................. 31 
Outdoor Activities ................................................... 57 
Outdoor Space 

Equipment ........................................................... 61 
Exemption for off-premises play space ............ 51 
Hazards .............................................................. 37 
Requirements ..................................................... 50 
Supervision ......................................................... 32 
Swimming .......................................................... 52 

P 
Padded Mat 

Rest periods ....................................................... 62 
Parents 

Insurance coverage ........................................... 10 
Notifications ....................................................... 15 
Policies and procedures ................................ 9, 19 
Visitation ............................................................ 15 

Permanent Enclosure ............................................. 51 
Personnel Policy ..................................................... 82 
Pets 

Policy .................................................................. 10 
Requirements ..................................................... 69 

Physical Examination 
Child .................................................................... 18 

Play .................................................................... 55, 78 
Playpen 

Rest periods ....................................................... 62 
Poisoning .......................................................... 37, 68 
Policies .................................................................... 10 

Transportation ................................................... 71 
Pools.................................................................. 32, 52 
Program ................................................................... 55 
Protective Measures ............................................... 36 
Provider 

Duties ................................................................. 31 
Minimum age and competence ........................ 25 
Qualifications ............................................... 25, 82 

Punishment ................................. See Child Guidance 

Q 
Qualifications of Provider ................................. 25, 82 

R 
Railings .................................................................... 38 
Ratio 

Swimming .......................................................... 53 
Recalled Products ................................................... 37 
Records 

Access ................................................................ 20 
Children .............................................................. 16 
Confidentiality .................................................... 20 
Medication administration ................................ 65 

Refrigerator ............................................................. 48 
Refund Policy .......................................................... 10 
Religious Instruction Policy .................................... 10 
Relocation ............................................................... 86 
Reports .............................................................. 12, 21 
Rest Periods ............................................................ 62 
Revocation .............................................................. 87 

Rule Exception .................................................... 3, 12 
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